Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful
Loved it, can't wait to read the others ones. Not to. Often I find a new author that I really enjoy.
Published 2 months ago by Laurie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Teeth Grittingly Frustrating!
If you want to read an original, sensual, sci-fi romance pick up something by Dara Joy and skip over Robin D. Owens pale imatation. Gosh, I so wanted to like this book. I tried to, I really did, but reading it was like slogging through wet cement. I kept turning pages in hopes of something interesting happening, but it never did. I really liked Matrix of Destiny series,...
Published on Aug. 6 2002 by L. J Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Teeth Grittingly Frustrating!, Aug. 6 2002
By 
L. J Lewis "Miss Amii" (Collierville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
If you want to read an original, sensual, sci-fi romance pick up something by Dara Joy and skip over Robin D. Owens pale imatation. Gosh, I so wanted to like this book. I tried to, I really did, but reading it was like slogging through wet cement. I kept turning pages in hopes of something interesting happening, but it never did. I really liked Matrix of Destiny series, and I think that was what HeartMate was trying to recreate but fails miserably.
The action takes place on Celta, a world were everyone posesses Flair, which alternates between being a psychic and magical ability, with your status being determined by how great your Flair is. Which brings up frustrating point number one. The parameters of Celta and the mysticism of this culture are never clearly defined and, frankly, mind-boggling! It seems to be based on Wicca, and they use crystals and such, all in a tangled up web that's more confusing than complex. And the rules contradict themselves. A Heartmate can only see a HeartGift but that doesn't stop someone from stealing in the first chapter. The thief certainly saw it!
Rand T'Ash is the hero. His Flair is the most powerful on Celta and he's a nobleman who has just managed to reclaim his heritage after his family was wiped out by enemies. He lived many years as a street tough, and isn't every elegant, cultured, and doesn't feel like he fits in. He's a moody alpha-male, and as I got the feeling in this Just-Like-Dara-Joy book Owens was going for a Just-Like-Traed hero. Rand T'Ash is no Traed ta'al Krue! He's basically an annoying, macho insufferable jerk who isn't very sympathetic. No wonder Danith doesn't want him! Danith is so intimadated by him and his status that they just don't make a good match, destiny or no! But Rand bumbles through a boring courtship, trying to convince her or his love through jewerly and lots of italicized words.
Zanth, Rand's telepathic cat, was amusing. He's still a pale imatation of Dara Joy's Familiars, but by far the best character in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, Feb. 13 2014
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Celta) (Kindle Edition)
Loved it, can't wait to read the others ones. Not to. Often I find a new author that I really enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different paranormal premise, Aug. 6 2012
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
HEART MATE (Celta's Heartmates #1) by Robin D. Owens

HEART MATE is the first storyline in Robin D Owens' Celta's Heart Mates series. A fantasy romance novel, Heart Mate is the story of two people, each with a past filled with sorrow and pain, and a loneliness that threatens to engulf their being.

Background: Celta is a planet colonized by the people of Earth over 400 years ago. The people of Celta have magical powers known as Flairs and psychic ability is the norm. The political structure includes the 13 Greathouses and the colony First Families. A society and culture based on magical spells, Divination (foretelling) dice and cards, life Passages, animal familiars and a belief that each man and woman will find their Heart Mate-their one true love.

Rand T'Ash is 37 years old, a Greatlord, Nobleman and member of the Noble Council, Stonemaster, gem caller and the sole surviving member of the Ash Grand Family. As a Noble he is respected, but he is also feared for the 'berserker savagery' and the murder of the people who destroyed his family and his home when he was only 6 years old. Rand T'Ash knows he will find his Heart Mate this night, but will she accept the HeartGift he crafted during his last Passage almost 20 years earlier. But growing up in the Downwind ghettos of Druida have pummeled his self-esteem and with that the knowledge that he was never properly raised in the art or procedures of courting.

Danith Mallow is a bookkeeper, with little Flair who regularly shops at T'Ash Phoenix-a high end, upscale jewelry store where the pieces magically call to her. But this evening one piece in particular grabs her attention. Believing the necklace has been charmed, Danith runs from the shop to find that intentions of the shop owner are beyond her beliefs. When a mysterious stranger is found in her home bearing the necklace, she is once again drawn to its' powers. But the necklace had been stolen and someone from T'Ash's past has made his presence once again known.

Throughout the story Rand T'Ash will struggle in his attempts to convince Danith that they are Heart Mates. She is a non-believer in the lure of a Heart Mate and continues to refuse T'Ash's gifts of jewels and flowers. At times the number of gifts becomes humorous especially when Princess aka Pansy, Danith's cat struts through the house bedecked in all of the jewels including earrings and chains. Rand's Fam Zanth is an overgrown house cat who is both companion and conscience for a man troubled by his past and continues to play match maker whenever he can. And it is Zanth's presence that soothes Rand whenever his inner beast wants lose.

There are several storylines that coalesce and merge. Danith's discovery of her Flair and affinity to animals: Rand's friendship with the Holly Family and his honor to pay back a debt: the gang-style slayings and attacks against Rand, the Holly Family and his Fam: Danith's friendship and falling-out with the Clover family: and of course, Rand's sad albeit humorous attempts to woo and court Danith. Zanth's demands for an emerald collar will remind everyone of a spoiled child.

HEART MATE is a fantasy of fairy tales and the HEA. To be honest, I do not know WHAT the people of Celta are, but for the sake of the storyline, they are Celtans with magical powers and the ability to teleport and speak telepathically. As I read I thought Fae or Elves, but they are what they are 'characters from the imagination of Robin D Owens. A heart-warming storyline, that at times I had to reign in a few tears especially when Rand T'Ash admitted he was lost, a strong and powerful man lost in the knowledge that he had been rejected by the one person who could save his soul. These storylines get me every time.

see all of my reviews at :thereadingcafe.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a brilliant fresh voice, March 24 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
Sci-Fi type romance seem be hot right now and it's not surprising with writers like Susan Grant, Robin Popp, Catherine Spangler, and now CJ Barry and Robin Owens. I bought this book because of the kitty on the front. I LOVE kitty and my Mr. Mouse rules our home. So of course, the books is so enchanting with the "telephathic/talking" kitty and is meaner than a snake and loves chocolate deserts!
I love the characters, then tension, the romance, the self doubt and the trials to reach each other.
The WHOLE concept is just so original and loving. This was my FAVORITE book ever...until I read Heart Thief....so now I have two favorites!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting premise, awkward follow-through, Feb. 2 2004
By 
Jean Cooper "eleanordew" (Charlottesville) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
This book wasn't bad. Interesting characters, nice love scenes.
But there were some things I didn't like about it. First, I thought the writing was choppy - it didn't flow, and many of the scenes were too short. They were also somewhat repetitive. The author used the characters' ability to teleport (orb?) as a sort of shorthand to get them from one place to another. There was a lot of hand-to-hand combat, and it all kind of ran together. I never could figure out the purpose of the central fight scene - was it to give the hero and heroine a chance to make love between life-threatening sword fights (hey, how awkward is that?), or to show how good T'Ash was with a sword, or to show that he was no longer a street tough, or to set up the later revelation that he was now a responsible citizen interested in bettering society? I just wish that more space had been devoted to developing the relationship rather than let the events push it along.
That said, this is a book that I've kept, rather than trade it in, and I will read the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant tale!, April 21 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
It is amazing to think this is a first book from Owens. Her storyteller's ability is strong, her use of humour done with flair, her adapting ancient Celt lore into a whole new world is done with strong imagination. It is obvious there will be more
"Heart" tale from the world of Celta, where there are gifted people who are blessed with Fams (familiars). Anyone who loves kitties will enough this tale that is so original.
I cannot wait for Heart Thief! One of the best books I have ever read, so I hope there will be many more visits to Celta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Potential, But No Spark, April 15 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this book; I found it a pleasant way to while away a few hours. I liked it -- but I didn't love it, and I'm not entirely certain why. It has all the elements I look for in a paranormal romance: magic, strong characters, a good combination of drama and humor, and so on. But, after I finished it, I just shrugged and moved on. It didn't move me or enthrall me. It just lacked that certain something, the spark of interest, that makes the difference between good and great. As far as I'm concerned, "Heartmate" was fairly middle-of-the-road. It just didn't click with me.
However, that's an entirely subjective opinion, and I know there are bound to be many people who disagree. So if you are at all interested in paranormal romance novels, you should definately give this book a try. For what it's worth, I thought the universe the author created in this novel had the potential to provide really outstanding stories -- so I'm going to be on the lookout for her next book, whenever it comes out. "Heartmate" wasn't bad by any means; it just didn't thrill me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robin show she has "Flair" for a magickal tale!, April 13 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
Robin D. Owens has a strong voice and is endowed with magical imagery. I finished a similar offworld by another writer, one with potential, but the lack of imagery hurt the book. The writer failed to 'see' the world she created, failed to root in a sound logic, things happened because she decided they would, not because it was a natural extension of the special world and the characters. That is NOT the case with HEARTMATE. Owens paints a special world, grounds is solidly because of her logic and imagery.
In her tale of the world of Celta, a settlement by Earth space explorers, it Is ruled by the thirteen royal houses of the Twenty-five first families that settled this new planet. They had left Earth, because they were different, they were gifted with "Flair" meaning they were witches/warlocks. They have various powers and these have been developed over the centuries, and like no stronger than in Rand Ash, now called T'Ash. At six years old, his family is destroyed in a fire set by a rival house intent to destroy the whole house of Ash. But he escaped, watching his two older brothers, father and mother die as his world goes up in flames. He escapes to Downwind, a slums of Celta, but as a grown man he escaped the terrible life there, hunts down those who killed his family and rebuild the GreatHouse of Ash. His vibrant magick centers around gems, he is a master jeweler. He and his Fam, familiar Zanth and large tomcat that has magickal powers and can talk telepathically to T'Ash are respected among the GreatHouses for his skill as master craftsman, for his awesome Flair and his rep - reputation for rising to slay those who destroyed his family. Only life is hollow for T'ash. He needs his HeartMate. People can marry on Celta as they please, but the ultimate in marriages
is one with your HeartMate, a match to you in every way.
Using a scrying bowl and special diving dice, T'ash learns his HeartMate is a woman named Danith Mallow. She often comes to his jewellery store and makes small purchases. He is very pleased by what he can 'see' about this woman. However Zanth has his own inspection before he concurs and begins turning up on her doorstep to see if this woman is worth of his FamMan. Zanth tells Danith is special, her Flair aura is pink, unheard of in the Ruling Houses of Celta and that she is destined to be
a great animal healer.
T'ash immediately tries to woo her in his inept fashion, showering her and her cat Pansy, who prefers to be called Princess, with jewels and flowers. Instead of winning his HeartMate he frightens her. She feels she is a nobody. Raised in orphanage, deemed to have no Flair, she is content/secure in her common world. Only T'ash is relentless, and changes her whole world. These changes are not welcomed, but fought against as she fears him and his powers overwhelming her. She cannot possible be the HeartMate to this powerful lord.
Owens creative a vivid world of Celta, she uses her "Flair" of imagery to bring the magical realm to you with gentle, strong and emotional characters. She takes the pagan roots of the Lord and Lady and brings them to her new world and remakes
them into the foundation for the wonderful tale. Zanth is especially well done. The tomcat FAM that loves jewellery, is good at fighting and has his own way of doing things. You feel for poor Danith, her whole life nearly overwhelmed by this powerful lord, and yet you take T'Ash into your heart as well. A man with the ability to do anything he pleases, yet so inept in wooing the lady of his heart.
It just does not get any better than this. Heart Thief the sequel is out this month. Most especially impressive to know this is her first novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Missing something...., Nov. 20 2002
By 
C. Hipwell "Book Lover" (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
When reading everyone's reviews for this book it seemed that there was such high praise that I had to try it because I enjoy this genre so much.
The book though, was horrible. I would normally not write a review unless it was positive, but I did not want everyone to be drawn to it through "high praise" like I was.
In previous reviews as well as recommendations this book was likened to Dara Joy. It does not even come close. To compare them is to basically admit that you have never really read a Dara Joy novel.
The book is the main character T'Ash constantly repreating himself about how "You are my Heartmate.." blah blah blah. It really could have been a much shorter book.
The concept of the book was good, what with the "Flair" idea, but nothing seems to happen! Nothing! Its just T'Ash visiting her house or visa versa, trying to force Danith to accept the whole overplayed heartmate bit. It was not even like it was a romantic forcing it was strickly verbal.
Ah and the infamous cat, Zanth. What an annoying addition this was. The cat was always snippy, unintresting and I didn't really care for the halting way it spoke. C'mon if a cat is smart enough to achive mental telepathy shouldn't it be at least speak in complete sentances.
Also there dosen't seem to be no real character development till the last 3 pages. You do not get to see T'Ash become anything but the moody, one dimensional character that he portrays until the last couple paragraphs.
I really think that everyone should try a book on their own, and not by what everyone says. But don't be fooled by all the false praise about this book, its really not all its cracked up to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New and Interesting!, Oct. 18 2002
By 
Kim (Bawston, MA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Heartmate (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm an avowed (and avid) Fantasy and Romance reader. This means I've 'seen it all' and 'read it all'...*yawn* Ho Hum. But, I was incredibly surprised by this book!! It was a new and innovative world with a great twist in the caste system of society. The use of magic (always a welcome addition!) is not restricted to the high and mighty or necessarily a 'birthright'. I enjoyed the 'Equal Opportunity' way this book was written. It flowed. It moved gracefully and was brash when it should have been. The introduction of a telepathic cat species into Robin D. Owens' world was wonderful. For those of you who are catless, trust ne...this is what they are really like! I would have liked to see more...well, of *everything*! I gave it a 4 out of 5 because I thought the end was rushed - You get the feeling that she didn't know how to end a story. I'm hoping it was rushed because there is more planned for the 3 of them or more in this universe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa74892a0)

This product

Heartmate
Heartmate by Robin Owens (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 29 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews