Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Series is Amazing
I have made it my rule to only review items that I purchased at Amazon. Even though I own the first 16 books in this series (purchased from another source-except book 3) I will only review "Circus Of The Damned" here, until I get to book 17 which I will buy on Amazon.

That said...the first two books were incredible and were read in two days each. Book 3 was...
Published 4 months ago by Bootsy Bass

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Anne Rice Material
Yeah well of course this is not Anne Rice material, I bought this book and the previous title at a discount after reading all the reviews I thought it would be a sexy dark read. Laurell K. Hamilton reads more like a gutsy thriller with a strong headed female protagonist (Anita Blake) and supernatural elements involved. It's a fast paced read and easy to digest, but Anita...
Published on Jan. 11 2004 by Jaclyn Tan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Series is Amazing, Dec 6 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have made it my rule to only review items that I purchased at Amazon. Even though I own the first 16 books in this series (purchased from another source-except book 3) I will only review "Circus Of The Damned" here, until I get to book 17 which I will buy on Amazon.

That said...the first two books were incredible and were read in two days each. Book 3 was even better! Hence my 5 star rating. I won't give anything away, but the climax "battle" at the end was out of this world! It was thoroughly captivating, and read in one sitting. This book was so good, in my opinion, it is hard to imagine how book 4 will compare.

I know the book takes place in a different universe than ours (obviously) but it is strange to see Anita with a "beeper" and looking for a phone booth! I found out this book was written mid 90's....but didn't we have cell phones etc. at that point. Maybe this universe just didn't.

Extremely well written and fast paced. I can't wait to dig into the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Circus Of The Damned, May 11 2011
This review is from: Circus of the Damned (Mass Market Paperback)
Anita Blake is a down to earth character; She doesn't get impressed easily. I had a hard time getting used to LK Hamilton's style but now, with the third book read, I'm completely immersed in this series and I look forward to the next one.
Circus Of The Damned was the best one yet, but the fist 2 were also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VAMPIRES...AND ZOMBIES...AND WEREWOLVES...OH MY..., July 19 2006
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Circus of the Damned (Mass Market Paperback)
In this, the third volume in the Anita Blake, vampire hunter, series of books, the author does not disappoint the reader. Anita, our intrepid vampire hunter, is once again called upon by the St. Louis police to assist with some unusual murders. It appears that someone or something is killing humans in the city, and it appears that it may be a renegade pack of vampires that is doing so, hell bent on challenging the power of Jean Claude, the vampire that reigns supreme as Master of the City.

Moreover, Anita is footloose and fancy free, notwithstanding her attraction to the Master of the City, when she meets Richard Zeeman, a hunky junior high school science teacher. The only thing is that Richard has a secret that may impact on how Anita may feel about him. Their budding romance, however, is never the focal point of the story. Rather, it is a sustaining and tantalizing backdrop to the adventures of Anita, as our feisty, tough talking heroine tries to save the city of St. Louis from a fate worse than death.

Once again, the author holds the readers' interest with her richly detailed alternate universe, where vampires, werewolves, zombies, and other monsters are part of the landscape and live side by side with humans in a somewhat uneasy alliance. The plot is fully fleshed, as are most of the characters, and the dialogue is crisp and snappy. This is a fun, fast-paced series of books, and I look forward to reading each and every one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will the real Master of the City please stand up?, July 4 2004
Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Zombie Queen, Necromancer, really didn't love Jean-Claude. At least, that's what she kept telling herself. But soon Jean-Claude is not the only vampire trying to make her his servant. There seems to be a bunch of Master Vampires and they ALL want to become Master of the City. To do that they have to find and kill Jean-Claude. Which means they need Anita to tell them where he is, whether she wants to or not!
The undead battle is about to begin, with vampires, werewolves and even an immortal tossed in for the fun of it. Add Edward (and his lovely flamethrower) and you have the fight of the century. Winner take all. The only problem Anita has with all this is she seems to be First Prize.
Lets get ready to rumble!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another action-packed tour de force from Ms. Hamilton!, June 18 2004
This review is from: Circus of the Damned (Mass Market Paperback)
I've become addicted to this series! Laurell K. Hamilton knows how to keep you turning the pages all the way to its staggering conclusion. Circus of the Damned is the third part of the Anita Blake series and the best one thus far. A pack of vampires has murdered several people. Anita has to figure out who is in charge of the crimes. What ensues is a battle between various vampire masters who want to replace Jean-Claude as the Master of the City, and Anita is right in the middle of said battle. Jean-Claude and Alejandro want her as a human servant. She has to choose between the two -- something she isn't prepared to do...
Circus of the Damned, like the first two novels, is action-packed from beginning to end. Hamilton does not allow any breathing room between the horror scenes. Her novels are riveting and suspenseful from beginning to end. What I like most about this novel is the progress, however small, between Anita and Jean-Claude. Anita has reluctantly caved to Jean-Claude's charms a bit. I love Jean-Claude! He is a great character -- mysterious, complex, sensual. The reader also gets a glimpse of erotica in this offering. The building of tension is second to none. The action, horror and suspense aspects are better than ever. I recommend this series and I cannot wait to start on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one that got me hooked, June 11 2004
By 
"celes1" (Havre de Grace, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Circus of the Damned (Mass Market Paperback)
Looking back many years ago to when I was reading this book for the first time, I think this is the one that got me hooked. This is partly because of the love triangle that is introduced and partly because this is where the series hits it's stride. This installment, more than any other, has the perfect blend of romance and plot. This is one of my favorites in the series and after four or five rereads it's still highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Action with just a hint of sexuality, May 8 2004
This review is from: Circus Of The Damned (Hardcover)
Anita Blake has a full time job animating zombies (to serve as witnesses, finalize their estates, or comfort families), but she can't escape her part-time job as paranormal advisor to the police and vampire hunter. When she gets a police call about a murder, she suspects vampires--but the scene of the crime reveals something much worse--multiple vampires attacked. It can only mean one thing--a rogue master vampire and his servants is loose in St. Louis. And a vampire pack requires frequent feedings. Anita knows that the killing will be only the first in a series--unless she can stop it.
The thing is, a rogue master vampire should be impossible. Jean-Claude is master of the city and no master vampire should be able to enter his domain without his being aware of it. But the invader isn't some weak and fresh corpse--he's the oldest, most powerful, and deadliest vampire Anita has ever faced. And he's intent on ending the current rules that treat vampires as citizens--even though it means he'll have to overthrow Jean-Claude first.
Anita faces a dilemma. Jean-Claude is gradually turning Anita into his human servant--something she doesn't want despite the sexual feelings she has for Jean-Claude. But does she fear him enough to turn him over to his enemies? Complicating her feelings toward Jean-Claude, Anita meets Richard--a too-good-looking science teacher with a secret and an obvious desire to date Anita. Then there's her fellow vampire killer, Edward who just might have to kill Anita to get at Jean-Claude. The poor girl isn't having much luck with her love life.
CIRCUS OF THE DAMNED is an early novel in the Anita Blake series. In CIRCUS, the lines between good and evil are faded, but they still exist. Vampires are evil and must be killed. Some can become temporary allies, but they can never be trusted. And Anita dare not put herself in any vampire's power--even if the alternative is her death. Although CIRCUS is sensual, it lacks the outright sexual orientation of more recent Anita Blake stories.
Author Laurell K. Hamilton always writes compelling action and CIRCUS shows the young Anita as she battles through waves of vampires, vampire-hating fundamentalists, and snake people. It's exciting and compelling stuff with just enough sexuality to entice the reader and make us wish for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and brilliant!, April 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Circus of the Damned (Mass Market Paperback)
Anita Blake is the best Vampire Hunter ever and coming from me, one of the biggest Buffy fans ever, this is a huge huge compliment! The action is almost non-stop in this book, which is part of a powerful series by Laurell K. Hamilton. Anita is strong, witty and still seems human. She feels like a real character and though her world is more fantastic than ours, her self admitted flaws and her undoubtable strengths make her seem like a real human being. I have read up till Cerulean Sins and I advise everyone else who is a fan of either Buffy or Vampires and the supernatural in general to read the whole series as well! =^) I love this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Anita says: "Brownie point for Laurell Hamilton", April 12 2004
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Circus of the Damned (Mass Market Paperback)
After the second book in the Anita Blake series I was hoping that the series would keep up its quality. That would have been more than enough for me, but I was surprised by a book that is even better than "The Laughing Corpse". Anita, the animator / vampire slayer / necromancer, returns in a fast-paced, riveting thriller that does not let the reader go, not even for a second. For those fans of the series, you will even find some new elements in this book, like a new creature called lumia, but I will let you find out for yourself what its "features" are.
After some rowdy encounters in the last episode, Anita finds herself contacted by Inger and Mr. Reubens, two former human against vampires (HAV) members who are now part of a more radical group. In the eve of a new era, where the legislators are considering giving vampires the right to vote, Reubens and Inger are looking to kill every vampire in USA, starting with the master of the city. Naturally, the master of the city is none other than Jean-Claude, the vampire who has marked Anita twice and only needs two more marks to convert her in his human servant. Anita refuses to help the former HAV members and as usual will face unorthodox persuasion methods. In the midst of this problem and in her capacity of police advisor on vampires, zombies and the like, Anita is faced with a murder victim that shows fang marks from several different vampires. This is a clear indication that there is a rogue master vampire on the loose and that he is extremely dangerous. There are a couple of vampires that fit the "description", including Jean-Claude and Malcolm, but there also are new guys in town!
There are a lot of connections to previous events in the series, and even though certain explanations are given to allow those the are encountering Anita for the first time to follow the story, it is much better if the reader is familiar with what happened in the past: Nikolaos, Phillip, Edward, Jean-Claude and the marks he gave Anita, etc. Compared to the previous books, I found that this one has more humorous moments and sexual tension, while maintaining the level of action and gore. For those that like vampire stories this is a series that you cannot afford to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best author! Very good book., March 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Circus of the Damned (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third in LKH's Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series, and as usual this book is excellent. I'm sure that someone out there doesn't like this series and can tear it to pieces, I'm not that person. In this book Anita is having problems (again) with Jean-Claude, her nemisis and walking fantasy. Jean-Claude is a vampire who wants to possess Anita in more ways than one. Someone bigger and badder than Jean-Claude is in town and Anita has to decide who she wants to back in the final confrontation. The in/famous Richard is introduced in this book. I'll let you form your own opinion, you either love him or hate him. I am partial to the witty repartee between J-C and Anita. The secondary characters in this book just won't stay secondary. You'll fall in love with moody Asher, fun-loving Jason and too many more to name. This is a must read series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb7844ed0)

This product

Circus of the Damned
Circus of the Damned by Laurell K. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 27 2009)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews