Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snap!
For those of you who're new to this series: Anita Blake, vampire hunter/zombie reanimator extraordinare, is involved with two men. One's a werewolf (he's the "nice" boyfriend) and one's a vampire ("naughty" boyfriend). For most of the series, she's been doggedly keeping her dual relationship chaste -- and the sexual tension has been stretching tighter and tighter, like a...
Published on July 13 2003 by Felixpath

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of improvement necessary
Anita has a contract on her head. Makes sense, she's upset a lot of people. So she has to go underground with all of her friends to stay alive while hunting for the killer. A much, much stronger plot from Hamilton with a nice villain twist that literally comes out of nowhere. Nice touch. But Grabriel and Raina, villains who are realy whacked and interesting had more...
Published on June 14 2002 by Omni


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snap!, July 13 2003
By 
Felixpath (Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
For those of you who're new to this series: Anita Blake, vampire hunter/zombie reanimator extraordinare, is involved with two men. One's a werewolf (he's the "nice" boyfriend) and one's a vampire ("naughty" boyfriend). For most of the series, she's been doggedly keeping her dual relationship chaste -- and the sexual tension has been stretching tighter and tighter, like a rubber band. In "The Killing Dance," it finally snaps -- and what a relief! Thanks, Laurell. You've been torturing your readers for so long, and now we finally get the payoff.
On a non-raunchy note, this book is just as action-packed, gory, and darkly humorous as the last five. In it, Anita is faced with three annoying dillemas. One: She's been approached by a vampire with a hideous blood-related disease who hopes that, as a powerful necromancer, she can cure him. Two: Her wolfish boyfriend, Richard, is trying to overthrow the current alpha male of the local pack and become alpha himself -- but since he refuses to kill anyone, he's likely to get himself killed instead. Three: An unknown someone has put a bounty on her head, and now she's become the target of various local assassins. Throw in an expansive supporting cast of bloodsuckers, werebeasts, zombies, cops, lawyers, etc., and you've got the usual tale. Ms. Hamilton is great at keeping our interest and making us care about the characters. I won't say which boyfriend Anita goes all the way with (some other reviewer on this page has probably given it away already), but it's still rather exciting to those of us who faithfully follow Anita's exploits.
Now if you'll excuse me, I've gotta go buy the rest of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most delicious one yet!, July 5 2004
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
These Anita Blake novels get better and better with each installment and Laurell K. Hamilton has outdone herself with The Killing Dance. What I love most about this novel is that it contains a particular unforgettable chapter. More on that later. The strong, independent, trigger-happy heroine's new dilemma is way out of her league. Someone has put a price on her head and it is up to her and her assassin friend (of sorts) Edward to find out who wants her out of the picture and why. Many people have wanted Anita dead, but this one's an unknown enemy, something that does not sit well with her. Seeking refuge from her two boyfriends, vampire master of the city Jean-Claude and alpha werewolf Richard, will give her enough time to investigate the murder of a vampire and a declared battle among lycanthropes before the hit man finds her...
The sixth part of the series is centered more on shape shifters, lycanthropes and whether or not Richard decides to be courageous (a sugarcoated way of putting it, really) enough to fight to the death with another alpha werewolf. His self-righteousness got irritating at times. Richard was fun and flirtatious in Circus of the Damned, but I no longer see anything remotely appealing about him. Why Anita loves him so much is beyond me. Jean-Claude on the other hand becomes sexier and more compelling in each installment. The love triangle between Anita, Richard and JC comes to a head in this one and readers will finally get some of the erotica that's been promised to them since Guilty Pleasures. But Ms. Hamilton makes us wait awhile until we get to read the juicy chapter I mentioned earlier. You can cut the sexual tension with a knife before said chapter comes along. But it was worth the wait. This is by far by the best part of the series! I cannot wait to continue to read more of these great characters, especially Jean-Claude. He's truly one sexy vampire! He can call me "ma petite" any time. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Read, but a bit Gorey, April 15 2004
By 
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
It's more of a werewolf/lycanthrope novel than a vampire one, but of course Master of the City Jean-Claude is a prominent member. Without giving away too much, the love triangle between Anita, Jean-Claude, and her werewolf boyfriend Richard comes to a head in this novel in more ways than one. Needless to say, don't expect the triangle to die out easily. This one seemed to enjoy the gore a little TOO much, and shows a lot of character flaws in Anita, in my opinion. The woman is starting to annoy me as a lead character, but I'm reading onwards because I like the rest of the cast thus far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!!, Feb. 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading all of the Anita Blake novels, I must say...Finally! You made the right choice Anita :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sex, blood, and rock-n-roll, Jan. 11 2004
By 
Ashley Megan "amazonfox" (Vernon, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
This is definitely my favorite Anita Blake novel yet. Why? Because it finally fulfills the promise of 5 previous books' worth of sexual tension between Anita and her two suitors, the vampire Jean-Claude and the werewolf Richard. And trust me, things do not turn out the way you'd expect.
As always, there are several subplots in this book that ultimately get woven together. One has Anita learning there's been a half-million dollar hit placed on her. Another involves a request from one of Jean-Claude's vampiric rivals, Sabin, to heal his disfiguring disease. And then there's Richard, who finally grows a pair and decides to go forward with his coup of his werewolf pack, throwing out the old leaders, Marcus and Raina.
If, however, you're like me and you care more about the characters than the eighty-seven guns Anita carries and exactly how she uses them, all you're going to care about is that Anita finally makes her choice between her boyfriends, after several steamy scenes with each (and one with both!). The relationship between all three takes a surprising turn, and I'm looking forward to seeing how it's handled in forthcoming books.
The only downside is the often-interminable descriptions of werewolf culture. Every time we turn around, there's another (often contradictory) point of protocol that has to be explained to Anita. Frankly, Hamilton gets carried away, instead of making it a simple hierarchy. It's all an effort to make the final showdown between Marcus and Richard a fairer fight, but it gets in the way of us believing that lycanthropes live normal lives three and a half weeks out of every month.
On the other hand, maybe reminding us that the werewolves aren't human was Hamilton's point, since Anita's acceptance of Richard's double life is key here. After nagging him for months to accept violence, can she really handle seeing her maybe-fiancé rip out someone's throat with his teeth? What about Jean-Claude, who looks like he may be willing to give up on ever being with Anita? (And this may be the first time, apart from a kiss in the very first book in the series, that I really believed how in love with her he is.) Oh, yeah, and someone wants Anita dead, bad (although the revelation of who took out the hit is anticlimactic at best), which brings mysterious hit man Edward back to her side in the dubious role of protector.
The best book to date in an above-average series. Very high on sex and violence (sometimes at the same time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :-), Nov. 21 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
excellent!
Strong in sex and gore, so if you can't handle or don't like it, don't pick this book up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong.., July 15 2003
By 
M. I. "krushedvelvet" (Old Bridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Killing Dance" felt a little slower when it came to action, but it made up for it with some thrilling new developments in Anita's personal life...developments that I have been impatiently waiting and waiting for..I was not disappointed!! Another definite must read from Laurell Hamilton...God I love Jean-Claude..... :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please hold me, June 26 2003
By 
Edwardia (new york, ny) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
I think either I get too emotionally attached to things or this book was just THAT good. LKH led us by the ear book after book, pressing to the limits of sexual tensions between Anita and Jean-Claude (and oh, that boring simpleton, Richard). Finally, FINALLY, she gives us what we want and it was amazing. It's like being 5 years old and begging, pleading to have that "cute", extremely expensive and large pony and then getting it. By the end, I was in tears.
But with that relieving of tensions between JC and Anita behind, the rest of the book was great too. The situations with the werewolves only further intensify and I found myself in love with every character (except for Richard as he keeps drawing Anita away from JC) and intrigued by every twisted personality she came across.
What I do suggest however is that this book not be read as one's first taste of LKH writing. It IS a great book but it's an amazing revlation of a work if read 6th in line to the other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Series, April 6 2003
I own the entire series. It was so interesting I got a friend to start reading for the first time in her life. Each book gets slightly more twisted. I wouldn't recommend for younger readers due to swearing and adult situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better, April 3 2003
This review is from: The Killing Dance (Mass Market Paperback)
Anita is being hunted this time, and she learns that wehn Edward, her bounty-hunter friend, turns up to say he was offered the contract. Who's hunting her becomes second to her continuing relationships with both Richard and Jean-Claude. She finally comes to terms with her life and who she really is. Richard deals with internal pack relations, that Anita is, of course, involved in. All the while Jean-Claude is right there. I love him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb7844ed0)

This product

The Killing Dance
The Killing Dance by Laurell K. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 26 2010)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews