Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!
I thought this was a great book. Laurell Hamilton's books are all on my "buy hardcover when possible" list. This was written well and was very enjoyable. Can't wait until Mistrell's Kiss is out.
Published on Oct. 15 2006 by C.Hamilton

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The magnificent member
Micah. The one character in the Anita Blake series that nobody really wants to see more of -- really, we've heard too much about his physique already.

And because of this, Laurell K. Hamilton has turned out a very short novella, "Micah," to show off her latest creation and his enormous member. "Micah" has many of the same problem as her latest books -- too much...
Published on Feb. 22 2007 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The magnificent member, Feb. 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
Micah. The one character in the Anita Blake series that nobody really wants to see more of -- really, we've heard too much about his physique already.

And because of this, Laurell K. Hamilton has turned out a very short novella, "Micah," to show off her latest creation and his enormous member. "Micah" has many of the same problem as her latest books -- too much emphasis on sex, annoying attitude -- but it's also horribly boring and unnecessary.

Anita Blake is woken when a coworker calls her. A federal witness died before he could be put on the stand, and the coworker can't go, since his wife is suffering a miscarriage. So Anita hops on a plane. But since she needs the occasional quickie to feed the ardeur, her boyfriend Micah tags along.

Though Anita has been shacking up with Micah for the last year or so, she actually doesn't know much about him -- he's a wereleopard, has kitty-cat eyes, and that's about all. But as they spend time alone together (no Jean-Claude, alas, and no Richard), Anita begins to find out what her boyfriend's past contains.

Here's a warning for potential readers: "Micah" is short. Very short. Too short for its size. It strains to fill the few hundred pages of its length. In fact, it's more like a longish short story than a novella, really.

And at the end of the day, "Micah" commits that cardinal sin -- it's completely unnecessary. There's not much of a plot, no exposition, no new revelations worth knowing. There isn't even any excitement until the ending of the book, and that peters out quickly.

Even Hamilton doesn't seem terribly enthusiastic. She's going through the motions: unimaginative (and sometimes gross) sex, lots of Anita whinging, and soap-opera angst about Micah (horrors!) being a good boyfriend. The writing suffers the most, since there's little detail and equally little atmosphere. The sex scenes, of course, are the exception. We get too much detail in those.

Admittedly, Hamilton DOES try to give Micah new dimensions as a character, by giving him a traumatic background. Unfortunately, this trauma is that his girlfriend dumped him because Micah's Magnificent Member was, uh, too big for her to handle. It will move readers to tears... of laughter. And you can only imagine how the Magnificent Member's, uh, size has an impact on the rather icky sex scene that follows. Although since they have been together for a year, it's not clear why the size is suddenly such a problem.

With "Micah," Laurell K. Hamilton has served up a pint-sized story that doesn't really accomplish anything. It's not much of a story, but somehow that seems appropriate for someone who is not much of a character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 19 2006
By 
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading all of Laurell Hamilton's books and especially after her last book Incubus Dreams, to say that Micah is a disappointment is like describing a Tsunami as a ripple! Short on story development, short on descriptive content, short on character development, short on Micah's history and short on the love between Micah, Nathaniel and Anita Blake. I thought this was going to be about Micah. I think perhaps a page was devoted to his story. This book looks like it was written by a bored but well-known novelist who sells everything written based on previous novels. A big disappointment and so very, very short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time to let this series go., March 2 2008
By 
Robert Russell "Rob" (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
This "Book" was so bad that it prompted me to write my first review. Short and boring. I read it in a single sitting and the general feeling I was getting from the last couple of books proved itself to me in this one. The sex is taking over and the actual Vampire Hunting is fading into the background.

This reminds me of the old GOR books by John Norman. First it was paragraphs, then pages, then chapters and finally an entire book devoted to sex. There was no "story" in this book. The plot is never explored. Everything just sort of "happens".

As Anita approaches godhood, it becomes more difficult to find strong enough foes to pit her against. LKH seems to be losing it. I really doubt that I'll be buying anymore books by her. Pity but I can't watch another writer I liked turn to assembly line publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total Ripoff, March 15 2006
By 
Kiwi (Mississauga, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
250 odd pages of double spaced type with 2 to 3 blank pages between each chapter. Minimal plot. Reads more like (a) a short story (in which case it would have been a good one) or (b) a template with the spaces to be filled out. Paying $10 for this is a ripoff.
I guess Laurell is (a) bored with writing Anita Blake novels or (b) stuck for ideas and with a hard publishing deadline. Either way, there's no way this should have been published as it was. As a die-hard Anita Blake fan, I was very disappointed. My recommendation - don't waste your money - if you really want to read this, take an hour and read it in the bookshop - an hour is all it'll take and you'll feel a lot happier that if you'd wasted your money.
Shame, this is the first of Laurell Hamilton's books I've been disappointed with. And worse, I feel that I've been ripped off. You've been warned!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic, May 30 2006
By 
Seraph (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked this up despite bad reviews from my husband and co-workers and was still disappointed. Once again, Ms. Hamilton has published a 'story' which ended up being little more than a sex scene with a 2 page plot summary at the end.

I was hopeful that she'd editted out at least some of the pointless fluff that's messed up her last few novels, since this one looked so short, but is seems like she did the exact opposite. It's rare to have an entire novel with absolutely no story, but somehow this one achieves that.

I guess that's an accomplishment of sorts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Writer?, Sept. 14 2006
By 
B. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
Did Ms. Hamilton go on vacation and raise an empty headed zombie to write this particular book for her? Sure seems so. No plot, no interesting dialogue. Instead of turning the pages, I closed the cover. The Anita character is unlikeable and not true to form. The porn is written in simple one syllable, repeated phrases that are more suitable for high-school readers. Oh, John!!! Oh, Martha!!! Oh, no Mr. Bill!!! Don't buy this book. It will leave you feeling flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced Short Story, April 18 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
The large double spaced font, plus all the blank pages added in to fluff the book up was horrible. The actual page count on this story would equal 50-75 pages of a regular Hamilton novel.
Short stories are fine if they are included with other stories in a novel, but $10 for this short story on its own is a complete ripoff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of time, April 17 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
There is no point to this book. It was probably written for a contribution to an anthrology but greediness caused it to be published as a stand alone. Awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh the grief that could have been spared by not calling "Micah" a "novel", July 4 2006
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
Whoever decided that Laurell K. Hamilton's "Micah" should be marketed as "An All-New Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel" made a big mistake. Certainly a lot of grief could have been avoided if we were not being told that a book that has only eleven chapters, 1.5 line spacing, and insists chapter numbers always appear on the right with a blank page behind it (and usually in front of it) was a "novel' just like "Incubus Dreams" with its 82 chapters. The people at Jove should know how to do this because they did it with "Blood Upon My Lips," the "new Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter tale" published in the "Cravings" anthology (that was 85 pages without chapters and with normal spacing in a hardcover book, which makes it a short story, versus 245 pages in this paperback, so "Micah" is longer, but that only makes it a novella). The fact that "Micah" follows up more on "Blood Upon My Lips" than "Incubus Dreams" should have been a clue too.

The plot, as befits the size of the story, is relatively simple. Anita gets a phone call in the middle of the night from an old friend and agrees to go to Philadelphia to raise a dead witness for the F.B.I. so the zombie can provide testimony. She needs to take somebody with her to feed the "ardeur," and as if the title does not give it away already for various reasons it has to be Micah, who gets to go as her "assistant" (I have to admit, that every time I see Micah's name I think of Jimmy Carter because in his Inaugural Address he quoted from the book of Micah, which seemed to be the first time most Americans had actually heard of that particular minor prophet). In Philly there are a pair of FBI agents waiting, one who has dealt with Anita before and is not happy to see her, while the other actually knows Micah.

Basically the novel has two key scenes. The first involves Anita and Micah in a hotel room alone with each other, and if you have not yet picked up on the idea that width is more important than length, here is another lesson (parenthetical aside omitted to save my marriage). The second is the scene at the ancient graveyard (Philadelphia has been around a long, long time) where Anita has to do her animator bit. It has been a while since she has done this, although her necromancer power has played a key role in other respects, and there are a couple of complications. Anita is now so powerful that blood is not necessary to do what needs to be done, but that has a downside in an ancient graveyard. Then there is the judge who wants things explained and the defense attorney who is asking way too many questions.

I like the second scene a lot more than the first, because this gets us back to old school Anita Blake. For me the most horrifying scene in the entire series is still the ending of "The Laughing Corpse," which was about raising the dead in a graveyard. But Hamilton finds a way of cutting the scene short, just when it is getting interesting (my complaint on "Danse Macabre" as well). Up to that point I was learning towards rounding up on this story, despite the novel hyperbole, because the sex was actually more physical than metaphysical this time around and I always like it when Anita talks out things with her enemies, even if they are just mob lawyers. Another problem is that by calling this a novel you might be wondering if this was a real honest to goodness novel that Hamilton abandoned, but I do not think that was the case. You could go beyond where this one ends, but there is really no reason to do so, and clearly the point is not the case, but the first night along with Micah.

The back of the book has the first chapter of Hamilton's next Anita Blake novel, "Danse Macabre." It runs 31 pages, which is basically the length of the first two chapters of "Micah," underscoring what a trifle this "novel" really is, although ironically the end of the first paragraph should be enough for most fans to want to pick up "Danse Macabre" (although clearly some will have a hard time getting over their anger as this book). Do you have to read "Micah" before you read "Danse Macabre"? Having read both I would say at this point the answer is no, because if there is something being set up in terms of Anita's ever-growing powers in this attempt to raise the bead, I did not see it in her newest novel. If after years of trying to decide between Richard and Jean-Claude you actually opted for Micah as the "man" for Anita, then you should like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!, Oct. 15 2006
This review is from: Micah (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this was a great book. Laurell Hamilton's books are all on my "buy hardcover when possible" list. This was written well and was very enjoyable. Can't wait until Mistrell's Kiss is out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc312f534)

This product

Micah
Micah by Laurell K. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 28 2010)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews