Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars20
2.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Price:$10.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Micah. The one character in the Anita Blake series that nobody really wants to see more of -- really, we've heard too much about his physique already.

And because of this, Laurell K. Hamilton has turned out a very short novella, "Micah," to show off her latest creation and his enormous member. "Micah" has many of the same problem as her latest books -- too much emphasis on sex, annoying attitude -- but it's also horribly boring and unnecessary.

Anita Blake is woken when a coworker calls her. A federal witness died before he could be put on the stand, and the coworker can't go, since his wife is suffering a miscarriage. So Anita hops on a plane. But since she needs the occasional quickie to feed the ardeur, her boyfriend Micah tags along.

Though Anita has been shacking up with Micah for the last year or so, she actually doesn't know much about him -- he's a wereleopard, has kitty-cat eyes, and that's about all. But as they spend time alone together (no Jean-Claude, alas, and no Richard), Anita begins to find out what her boyfriend's past contains.

Here's a warning for potential readers: "Micah" is short. Very short. Too short for its size. It strains to fill the few hundred pages of its length. In fact, it's more like a longish short story than a novella, really.

And at the end of the day, "Micah" commits that cardinal sin -- it's completely unnecessary. There's not much of a plot, no exposition, no new revelations worth knowing. There isn't even any excitement until the ending of the book, and that peters out quickly.

Even Hamilton doesn't seem terribly enthusiastic. She's going through the motions: unimaginative (and sometimes gross) sex, lots of Anita whinging, and soap-opera angst about Micah (horrors!) being a good boyfriend. The writing suffers the most, since there's little detail and equally little atmosphere. The sex scenes, of course, are the exception. We get too much detail in those.

Admittedly, Hamilton DOES try to give Micah new dimensions as a character, by giving him a traumatic background. Unfortunately, this trauma is that his girlfriend dumped him because Micah's Magnificent Member was, uh, too big for her to handle. It will move readers to tears... of laughter. And you can only imagine how the Magnificent Member's, uh, size has an impact on the rather icky sex scene that follows. Although since they have been together for a year, it's not clear why the size is suddenly such a problem.

With "Micah," Laurell K. Hamilton has served up a pint-sized story that doesn't really accomplish anything. It's not much of a story, but somehow that seems appropriate for someone who is not much of a character.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 19, 2006
After reading all of Laurell Hamilton's books and especially after her last book Incubus Dreams, to say that Micah is a disappointment is like describing a Tsunami as a ripple! Short on story development, short on descriptive content, short on character development, short on Micah's history and short on the love between Micah, Nathaniel and Anita Blake. I thought this was going to be about Micah. I think perhaps a page was devoted to his story. This book looks like it was written by a bored but well-known novelist who sells everything written based on previous novels. A big disappointment and so very, very short.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 15, 2006
250 odd pages of double spaced type with 2 to 3 blank pages between each chapter. Minimal plot. Reads more like (a) a short story (in which case it would have been a good one) or (b) a template with the spaces to be filled out. Paying $10 for this is a ripoff.
I guess Laurell is (a) bored with writing Anita Blake novels or (b) stuck for ideas and with a hard publishing deadline. Either way, there's no way this should have been published as it was. As a die-hard Anita Blake fan, I was very disappointed. My recommendation - don't waste your money - if you really want to read this, take an hour and read it in the bookshop - an hour is all it'll take and you'll feel a lot happier that if you'd wasted your money.
Shame, this is the first of Laurell Hamilton's books I've been disappointed with. And worse, I feel that I've been ripped off. You've been warned!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 2, 2008
This "Book" was so bad that it prompted me to write my first review. Short and boring. I read it in a single sitting and the general feeling I was getting from the last couple of books proved itself to me in this one. The sex is taking over and the actual Vampire Hunting is fading into the background.

This reminds me of the old GOR books by John Norman. First it was paragraphs, then pages, then chapters and finally an entire book devoted to sex. There was no "story" in this book. The plot is never explored. Everything just sort of "happens".

As Anita approaches godhood, it becomes more difficult to find strong enough foes to pit her against. LKH seems to be losing it. I really doubt that I'll be buying anymore books by her. Pity but I can't watch another writer I liked turn to assembly line publishing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on May 30, 2006
I picked this up despite bad reviews from my husband and co-workers and was still disappointed. Once again, Ms. Hamilton has published a 'story' which ended up being little more than a sex scene with a 2 page plot summary at the end.

I was hopeful that she'd editted out at least some of the pointless fluff that's messed up her last few novels, since this one looked so short, but is seems like she did the exact opposite. It's rare to have an entire novel with absolutely no story, but somehow this one achieves that.

I guess that's an accomplishment of sorts...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 9, 2006
I've read the reviews here and I agree with two of them. This book was woefully short.
The page count was a mere 245 pages. Between each chapter (which there are 12) was 2-3 blank pages. So you've lost easily 24 pages from the book right there. I'm not sure if it was double spaced, but it was at least 1.5.
Short doesn't even give an indication of it. Plot wise, none really there. We learn how Micah became a wereleopard. And Anita gets more powerful (some how just bam, hey look, I can do something different. What did she do, gain a level in Necromancer?)
Any fan out there will feel cheated shelling out the $10 for the book, as well as the fact that there was nothing in there that really moved things along. Anita still have her self-loathing over her lovers in her life. Still beats herself up for pages and pages. Still loses control of her anger at the drop of a hat. Heck, the hat gets touched and she's angry.
Don't waste your money on this unless you must have a complete collection. Go to the library and read it there. It shouldn't take more then 4-5 hours if you're a slow reader that gets distracted easily.
Its too bad too, cause I have enjoyed her books before. It just felt like she needed the money, and banged it out for a quick buck. Or that she got a fan to write the short story.
I wouldn't give it less then 1. I could see maybe 1.5 cause I do like the world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Whoever decided that Laurell K. Hamilton's "Micah" should be marketed as "An All-New Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel" made a big mistake. Certainly a lot of grief could have been avoided if we were not being told that a book that has only eleven chapters, 1.5 line spacing, and insists chapter numbers always appear on the right with a blank page behind it (and usually in front of it) was a "novel' just like "Incubus Dreams" with its 82 chapters. The people at Jove should know how to do this because they did it with "Blood Upon My Lips," the "new Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter tale" published in the "Cravings" anthology (that was 85 pages without chapters and with normal spacing in a hardcover book, which makes it a short story, versus 245 pages in this paperback, so "Micah" is longer, but that only makes it a novella). The fact that "Micah" follows up more on "Blood Upon My Lips" than "Incubus Dreams" should have been a clue too.

The plot, as befits the size of the story, is relatively simple. Anita gets a phone call in the middle of the night from an old friend and agrees to go to Philadelphia to raise a dead witness for the F.B.I. so the zombie can provide testimony. She needs to take somebody with her to feed the "ardeur," and as if the title does not give it away already for various reasons it has to be Micah, who gets to go as her "assistant" (I have to admit, that every time I see Micah's name I think of Jimmy Carter because in his Inaugural Address he quoted from the book of Micah, which seemed to be the first time most Americans had actually heard of that particular minor prophet). In Philly there are a pair of FBI agents waiting, one who has dealt with Anita before and is not happy to see her, while the other actually knows Micah.

Basically the novel has two key scenes. The first involves Anita and Micah in a hotel room alone with each other, and if you have not yet picked up on the idea that width is more important than length, here is another lesson (parenthetical aside omitted to save my marriage). The second is the scene at the ancient graveyard (Philadelphia has been around a long, long time) where Anita has to do her animator bit. It has been a while since she has done this, although her necromancer power has played a key role in other respects, and there are a couple of complications. Anita is now so powerful that blood is not necessary to do what needs to be done, but that has a downside in an ancient graveyard. Then there is the judge who wants things explained and the defense attorney who is asking way too many questions.

I like the second scene a lot more than the first, because this gets us back to old school Anita Blake. For me the most horrifying scene in the entire series is still the ending of "The Laughing Corpse," which was about raising the dead in a graveyard. But Hamilton finds a way of cutting the scene short, just when it is getting interesting (my complaint on "Danse Macabre" as well). Up to that point I was learning towards rounding up on this story, despite the novel hyperbole, because the sex was actually more physical than metaphysical this time around and I always like it when Anita talks out things with her enemies, even if they are just mob lawyers. Another problem is that by calling this a novel you might be wondering if this was a real honest to goodness novel that Hamilton abandoned, but I do not think that was the case. You could go beyond where this one ends, but there is really no reason to do so, and clearly the point is not the case, but the first night along with Micah.

The back of the book has the first chapter of Hamilton's next Anita Blake novel, "Danse Macabre." It runs 31 pages, which is basically the length of the first two chapters of "Micah," underscoring what a trifle this "novel" really is, although ironically the end of the first paragraph should be enough for most fans to want to pick up "Danse Macabre" (although clearly some will have a hard time getting over their anger as this book). Do you have to read "Micah" before you read "Danse Macabre"? Having read both I would say at this point the answer is no, because if there is something being set up in terms of Anita's ever-growing powers in this attempt to raise the bead, I did not see it in her newest novel. If after years of trying to decide between Richard and Jean-Claude you actually opted for Micah as the "man" for Anita, then you should like this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 14, 2006
Did Ms. Hamilton go on vacation and raise an empty headed zombie to write this particular book for her? Sure seems so. No plot, no interesting dialogue. Instead of turning the pages, I closed the cover. The Anita character is unlikeable and not true to form. The porn is written in simple one syllable, repeated phrases that are more suitable for high-school readers. Oh, John!!! Oh, Martha!!! Oh, no Mr. Bill!!! Don't buy this book. It will leave you feeling flat.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2006
I've read all the other Anita Blake series and have enjoy it immensely. But I guess the other review is correct, this book is more of a filler.
It seemed a bit short and lacking compared to her other books. I mean Anita was only involved in 1 case through the book. So the fighting/action/metaphysical magics is a bit on the low side. Not much development on the story line/plot or characters. Definitely not as interesting as her other books to my disappointment.
It does give you a glimpse into Micah's past and examines his personality a bit more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on April 18, 2006
The large double spaced font, plus all the blank pages added in to fluff the book up was horrible. The actual page count on this story would equal 50-75 pages of a regular Hamilton novel.
Short stories are fine if they are included with other stories in a novel, but $10 for this short story on its own is a complete ripoff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Cerulean Sins: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel
Cerulean Sins: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel by Laurell K. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 31 2004)
CDN$ 9.49