Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good set-up for a new trilogy
It seems vampyres (as NR chooses to spell it) are no longer Laurell Hamilton's exclusive territory. Or maybe she's returning the favor since the latter named 2 characters Roarke and Dallas in a recent book. Still, NR's specialty is relationships, and the bonds between Hoyt and Cian, and between Cian and King are definitely worth the read. Possible downside? That given how...
Published on Sept. 4 2006 by dearth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but Not Great
There is an evil that hunts during the night. An evil so terrible that it would feast upon the flesh of humans. There are stories of these beasts, these demons; they are called the Vampyre. Hungry for flesh and the blood in our veins. Lilith, the darkest vampyre of them all, is preparing for war. And she's very hungry.

Having lost his brother Cian to Lilith's...
Published on Dec 7 2008 by Jamieson Villeneuve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good set-up for a new trilogy, Sept. 4 2006
By 
This review is from: Morrigan's Cross (Mass Market Paperback)
It seems vampyres (as NR chooses to spell it) are no longer Laurell Hamilton's exclusive territory. Or maybe she's returning the favor since the latter named 2 characters Roarke and Dallas in a recent book. Still, NR's specialty is relationships, and the bonds between Hoyt and Cian, and between Cian and King are definitely worth the read. Possible downside? That given how Book 1 ends, and how Book 2 is shaping up, the Circle of 6 may pair up within itself, which would make Book 3 interesting/predictable. Then again, as Eve once told Roarke, maybe it's not so much about the ending, but how you get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure romance and totally satisfying, June 26 2010
By 
Lotusland Lady (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Morrigan's Cross (Mass Market Paperback)
I have Morrigan's Cross and the other two in the Circle Series and have likely read them five times by now. If my copies ever are lost I will replace them. My only disappointment was the very ending of the final book because I did not want it to end quite so abruptly without a final moment with all six friends together. But that's a quibble. If you love romance and can totally suspend disbelief in fairy tales, this series is perfect for you. It's a bit like the Wizard of Oz for those of us who hoped Dorothy and the Tin Man might eventually get it on. Nora Roberts is a genius at creating likable, believable characters and just because this time they are a sorceror, a witch, a shapeshifter, a warrior, a princess and a vampire, they are still the sort you want for your best friends.
And there are dragons! It's hard to turn down a series filled with jewel toned dragons. Escapism at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but Not Great, Dec 7 2008
By 
Jamieson Villeneuve "Author at Large" (Ottawa Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is an evil that hunts during the night. An evil so terrible that it would feast upon the flesh of humans. There are stories of these beasts, these demons; they are called the Vampyre. Hungry for flesh and the blood in our veins. Lilith, the darkest vampyre of them all, is preparing for war. And she's very hungry.

Having lost his brother Cian to Lilith's kiss, Hoyt Mac Cionaoith is charged by the Goddess Morrigan to gather his own forces. He must gather five others: The witch, the warrior, the scholar, the one of many forms, and the one he's lost.

Together, with Hoyt as the Sorcerer, the circle will be complete. Morrigan takes Hoyt to The Dance of the Gods, where he is to meet his fate. There, traveling through time, he is thrust from the mythical town of Eire, in the region of Chiarrai, in the year of 1128 to modern day New York, in the year 2006.

There he meets Glenna, the fiery Witch with red hair. He also meets his brother, the long dead Vampire and Larkin his sidekick and protector. They also save Moira and Larkin, royalty from Chiarrai.

Together, they form a circle that stands together against the most evil Vampire of all time. Lilith is bent on world domination and will stop at nothing until Morrigan's Circle is all dead...

If this sounds a bit far fetched, that's because it is. This is the first book in the Circle Trilogy and Robert's first stab at all out fantasy. Though she's had fantasy and paranormal elements in her novels before, this is the first time she's strayed completely into that territory.

And boy does it show. That's not to say that Morrigan's Cross is a bad novel. Far from it. Once the novel finds it's feet somewhere after the first two hundred pages, oddly enough once Roberts leaves the fantasy setting. But rest assured, once the story gets going you're going to be hooked.

Morrigan's Cross has all the trademarks of a Nora Roberts novel that you've come to expect: Great characters, snappy dialogue, wonderful sub plots and well written sex scenes hot enough to make the pages damp. And the plus is that, once the story has found it's feet in Morrigan's Cross, there's no turning back. The next two books in the trilogy, Dance of the Gods and Valley of Silence, are incredible books that make you wish they went on forever.

But every trilogy has to start somewhere. And, for the Circle Trilogy, its starting point is Morrigan's Cross. If you don't like it at first, keep reading. It gets better, I promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LISTENERS WILL BE INTRIGUED, ENGROSSED, AND ENTERTAINED, Sept. 6 2006
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Any new book from popular novelist Nora Roberts causes a buzz but her first in a fantasy trilogy has really had readers turning pages. Now, in audio form as read by the incredible Dick Hill, dubbed a Golden Voice by AudioFile, listeners will be intrigued, engrossed and entertained.

Vampiress Lilith is evil with a capitol E. She has spent centuries seducing men with her kiss, turning them into soldiers in her dark army. She even lured Cian, twin brother of sorcerer Hoyt Mac Cionaoith. It is Ireland in the 12th century and Hoyt rues the day Lilith ever laid her beautiful but devilish eyes on Cian. Hoyt has tried to do battle with Lilith but has found himself almost helpless against her.

However, hope appears in the form of the goddess Morrigan who gives him power. She instructs him to form a circle, selecting five others who will then fight Lilith and her army on Samhain in the land of Geall. Hoyt is told that he must do this in order to save not only his brother but also the entire known world.

In order to accomplish this Hoyt is projected through time to the future where he meets Glenna Ward, a very modern witch, who not only falls in love with Hoyt but has some ideas of her own as to how Lilith should be brought to her knees.

Morrigan's Cross is a fantasy enhanced by the Roberts touch - enjoy!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Romancing the book, Nov. 25 2007
As far as romance novels go, this one is better than most. Roberts uses the idea of a paranormal in this book, throwing in 12th century Ireland and a sorcerer. If you're thinking "Harry Potter" here, don't. The book is nothing like that, in fact, it's pretty much totally opposite from that. There's great dialogue and much "dialect" in this not so short work, and Hoyt MacCionaoith--what a name!!!!!--is as fascinating as anything in modern literature today. Yes, he could be from a "Harry Potter" book character-wise, but that's about it. There's the usual showdown and fast pace, but if you're thinking this is going to be your usual Nora Roberts, you're wrong--it's much, much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lilith Unfair, Feb. 20 2011
By 
Chris (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Morrigan's Cross (Mass Market Paperback)
Nora Roberts and vampires: I wondered how that combination would work. Though she didn't create anything new mythology-wise, it worked fine. I thought the romance in this book was distracting; this is a Nora Roberts novel that didn't need it. And that unnecessary romance is the only thing that makes me hesitant to read the sequels. Just take on Lilith - we don't need predictable match ups!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a series!, Sept. 29 2007
This review is from: Morrigan's Cross (Mass Market Paperback)
I love NR's writing style. It always seems some how poetic to me. I highly recommend this book. It is intriguing and captivating. The circle of six is made to come to life and made real by pure and raw emotions given to the characters. Excellent overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morrigan's Cross, June 1 2014
By 
S. Anne Cox (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Morrigan's Cross (Paperback)
I did not expect to enjoy this series, but it was very good. Enjoyed it thoroughly even though I'm not usually drawn toward stories about the occult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Carol Says, Aug. 30 2006
By 
This review is from: Morrigan's Cross (Mass Market Paperback)
I just completed this novel. I could not put the book down. It totally engaged me from the beginning to the end. I am eagerly looking forward to the second novel of this triology. Nora Roberts never fails to amaze me. Her imagination knows 'no bounds'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morrigan's Cross
Morrigan's Cross by Nora Roberts (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 29 2006)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews