summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars13
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$10.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 28, 2016
It's a good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2016
This is a great book. Full of adventure, easy to read, romantic but not sappy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2016
Horrible book never finished
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2015
Thanks. a great read. Spinney
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2014
I did not expect to enjoy this series, but it was very good. Enjoyed it thoroughly even though I'm not usually drawn toward stories about the occult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2011
Nora Roberts and vampires: I wondered how that combination would work. Though she didn't create anything new mythology-wise, it worked fine. I thought the romance in this book was distracting; this is a Nora Roberts novel that didn't need it. And that unnecessary romance is the only thing that makes me hesitant to read the sequels. Just take on Lilith - we don't need predictable match ups!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2010
I have Morrigan's Cross and the other two in the Circle Series and have likely read them five times by now. If my copies ever are lost I will replace them. My only disappointment was the very ending of the final book because I did not want it to end quite so abruptly without a final moment with all six friends together. But that's a quibble. If you love romance and can totally suspend disbelief in fairy tales, this series is perfect for you. It's a bit like the Wizard of Oz for those of us who hoped Dorothy and the Tin Man might eventually get it on. Nora Roberts is a genius at creating likable, believable characters and just because this time they are a sorceror, a witch, a shapeshifter, a warrior, a princess and a vampire, they are still the sort you want for your best friends.
And there are dragons! It's hard to turn down a series filled with jewel toned dragons. Escapism at its best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2008
There is an evil that hunts during the night. An evil so terrible that it would feast upon the flesh of humans. There are stories of these beasts, these demons; they are called the Vampyre. Hungry for flesh and the blood in our veins. Lilith, the darkest vampyre of them all, is preparing for war. And she's very hungry.

Having lost his brother Cian to Lilith's kiss, Hoyt Mac Cionaoith is charged by the Goddess Morrigan to gather his own forces. He must gather five others: The witch, the warrior, the scholar, the one of many forms, and the one he's lost.

Together, with Hoyt as the Sorcerer, the circle will be complete. Morrigan takes Hoyt to The Dance of the Gods, where he is to meet his fate. There, traveling through time, he is thrust from the mythical town of Eire, in the region of Chiarrai, in the year of 1128 to modern day New York, in the year 2006.

There he meets Glenna, the fiery Witch with red hair. He also meets his brother, the long dead Vampire and Larkin his sidekick and protector. They also save Moira and Larkin, royalty from Chiarrai.

Together, they form a circle that stands together against the most evil Vampire of all time. Lilith is bent on world domination and will stop at nothing until Morrigan's Circle is all dead...

If this sounds a bit far fetched, that's because it is. This is the first book in the Circle Trilogy and Robert's first stab at all out fantasy. Though she's had fantasy and paranormal elements in her novels before, this is the first time she's strayed completely into that territory.

And boy does it show. That's not to say that Morrigan's Cross is a bad novel. Far from it. Once the novel finds it's feet somewhere after the first two hundred pages, oddly enough once Roberts leaves the fantasy setting. But rest assured, once the story gets going you're going to be hooked.

Morrigan's Cross has all the trademarks of a Nora Roberts novel that you've come to expect: Great characters, snappy dialogue, wonderful sub plots and well written sex scenes hot enough to make the pages damp. And the plus is that, once the story has found it's feet in Morrigan's Cross, there's no turning back. The next two books in the trilogy, Dance of the Gods and Valley of Silence, are incredible books that make you wish they went on forever.

But every trilogy has to start somewhere. And, for the Circle Trilogy, its starting point is Morrigan's Cross. If you don't like it at first, keep reading. It gets better, I promise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2007
As far as romance novels go, this one is better than most. Roberts uses the idea of a paranormal in this book, throwing in 12th century Ireland and a sorcerer. If you're thinking "Harry Potter" here, don't. The book is nothing like that, in fact, it's pretty much totally opposite from that. There's great dialogue and much "dialect" in this not so short work, and Hoyt MacCionaoith--what a name!!!!!--is as fascinating as anything in modern literature today. Yes, he could be from a "Harry Potter" book character-wise, but that's about it. There's the usual showdown and fast pace, but if you're thinking this is going to be your usual Nora Roberts, you're wrong--it's much, much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2007
I love NR's writing style. It always seems some how poetic to me. I highly recommend this book. It is intriguing and captivating. The circle of six is made to come to life and made real by pure and raw emotions given to the characters. Excellent overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items