Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reacher Reaches the Insider's Place
If you have read any of the Jack Reacher novels you know he's the ultimate outsider, someone who was an insider and now enjoys his freedom. In Without Fail, old ties bring him into contact with the Secret Service to protect the Vice President. Reacher finds himself tied down a bit too as his brother's ex-lover becomes attracted to the resemblances between them...
Published on Dec 6 2008 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story but not edge of your seat.
I love Lee Child because his novels have the unique ability to keep me turning pages and not realizing where the time has gone. In Without Fail I found myself always wanting a little more. The story is interesting and the characters are equally interesting but it seems to lack the pace of other Reacher novels.

I think it's because the danger surrounds a minor...
Published 16 days ago by J Reader


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reacher Reaches the Insider's Place, Dec 6 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Without Fail (Mass Market Paperback)
If you have read any of the Jack Reacher novels you know he's the ultimate outsider, someone who was an insider and now enjoys his freedom. In Without Fail, old ties bring him into contact with the Secret Service to protect the Vice President. Reacher finds himself tied down a bit too as his brother's ex-lover becomes attracted to the resemblances between them.

The premise of this book is strong. Take someone who is tough and resourceful and have them probe for security weaknesses. Reacher is obviously perfect for that role.

While focused on that premise, the book works well.

But it turns out there's a real threat . . . and it's frightening! In the beginning, this premise also works well. But the premise eventually breaks down into a series of plot twists that left me feeling disappointed with who the baddies are and why they are after the Vice President.

The book's ending is clearly the weakest part of the story. It's too bad. The book starts off quite strong.

If you don't like to read books that end weakly, I suggest you read the next book in the series, Persuader, instead. It's a much more satisfying offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good story but not edge of your seat., April 2 2014
By 
J Reader (CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Without Fail (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Lee Child because his novels have the unique ability to keep me turning pages and not realizing where the time has gone. In Without Fail I found myself always wanting a little more. The story is interesting and the characters are equally interesting but it seems to lack the pace of other Reacher novels.

I think it's because the danger surrounds a minor character in the person of the Vice President he is more of a peripheral character while Reacher and the Secret Service are tracking down the threat. By not putting Reacher and the other major characters in danger Child striped the novel of a level of intensity that is typical of Child's novels.

This was still an enjoyable novel to read. The story was not predictable and it was overall a good Child mystery. However, Lee Child has created a very high bar for himself and this novel fell short for me. I wouldn't read it again but I would recommend it to anyone who's looking for quick easy read at the cottage this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars without fail, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
as usual a fairly realistic story but lots of suspense and drama.Good picks of characters and landscapes.Excellent read as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've read all of his novels & am awaiting his next one The whole Jack Reacher series is great, I'd recommend them all., Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Without Fail (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read all of his novels & anxiously awaiting his next one The whole Jack Reacher series is great, I'd recommend them all. The only problem is the movie. Jack Reacher is 6' 5" 230 lbs. Tom Cruise is 5' & maybe 150 lbs, Jack Reacher should be Dwayne Johnson instead,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars reacher, Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the novels seem to finish to quickly, i can't seem to get enough of jack reacher. his mind is interesting to explore and look forward to reading more about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book., July 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Without Fail (Mass Market Paperback)
again, in typical Jack Reacher fashion, the plot is one that keeps you guessing until the end. This is one of the better novels I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reacher Gainfully Employed, June 14 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Without Fail (Mass Market Paperback)
Without Fail is not going to disappoint fans of Jack Reacher. Lee Child comes up with a new setting for Reacher's persuasive combination of detailed analytical thinking and overwhelming violence. Actually the latter is fairly understated in this story, and our hero does not end up taking on two, four or six mindless heavies in a brawl, which seems to be the fairly normal scenario.

This time round there is a plot to assassinate the vice president elect, and Reacher and his female associate from the Army, Neagley are co-opted in by the Secret Service who are clearly struggling to bottom out the threat. As a novelty, and for the first time I can remember post his army days, Reacher is actually employed in gainful employment as opposed to drifting around, righting wrongs in his own inimitable fashion. Of course, we have the usual romantic attachment which surprisingly is not Neagley. This is fairly understated which I personally prefer to the rather physical and extended descriptions in other stories such as the more recent The Affair (Jack Reacher).

This is certainly a book which keeps you turning over the pages and whilst I normally end up rating Reacher stories at Four or Five Stars, this is, in my opinion, at the higher end. If I had a criticism of the plot it is only that I found the motivation of the would be assassins rather improbable, but maybe that's just me and in any case it does not detract from the tale which I thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reacher on the government payroll again??, June 8 2004
By 
Cory D. Slipman (Rockville Centre, N.Y.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Without Fail (Hardcover)
Lee Child's "Without Fail" has a slightly different onset than his previous novels. Ex-MP major Jack Reacher, for once hasn't inadvertantly stumbled into a quagmire requiring his expertise and skills, he's being sought out. Secret Service agent M.E. Froelich is relentlessly pursuing him. Froelich, a former girlfriend of Reacher's deceased U.S, Treasury agent brother, Joe, has just been promoted to command the entourage sworn to protect Vice President elect Brook Armstrong. Apparently during pillow talk, Joe bragged that his younger brother Jack would be the perfect individual to test the efficiency of the protective Secret Service net surrounding a high ranking government figure.
Froelich, remembering Joe's boast and now being in a position to authorize this type of audit was seeking out Reacher. She ultimately convinces Reacher to secretly stalk the V.P. and try to uncover opportunities to broach security and do him harm. Reacher recruits ex-Army master sergeant and lethal and capable colleague Frances Neagley to work with him.
During their mission Reacher and Neagley discover that the audit was a charade. The Secret Service has apparently been infiltrated and there actually have been threats made on the life of V.P. elect Armstrong. At the urging of Froelich's boss, Agent Stuyvesant they join with the Secret Service to help eradicate this dangerous threat to security. Reacher fans can imagine what happens next!
Suffice to say that Lee Child is an extraordinary entertaining writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Layer Upon Layer of Mystery and Violence, April 18 2004
By 
S. Schwartz "romonko" (alberta canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Without Fail (Hardcover)
This is a complex thriller, and in it we see Jack Reacher a little differently than we have in previous outings. He has been asked by a woman who was involved with his now-dead brother to help her find weak spots in the Secret Service protection of a newly-elected Vice-President. This meeting with M.E. Froehlich opens up a little of Jack's history to us and the life that he and his older brother led while they were growing up as army brats in various army bases throughout the world. We also see Jack request the aid of a former co-worker from the army. Neagley is the female equivalent of Jack - brilliant, well-trained and oh so cool. Jack and Neagley make a formidable team. Not only do they find the weaknesses in the Secret Service protection detail, they hunt down and take retribution themselves on the bad guys that not only threatened the Vice-President, but who hurt and killed people who were close to them. Child's writing is spare and chilling. Yes there is violence, but it's not over-drawn and seems to flow as part of the story and helps build the terrible tension that is simmering throughout the whole book. His form of writing keeps the reader hurriedly turning pages to find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Favorite new Author, Feb. 9 2004
By A Customer
LOVE Jack Reacher. Loved all the books, except maybe the Persuader... But all the ones that precede that one are well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc772d9fc)

This product

Without Fail
Without Fail by Lee Child (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 26 2008)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews