Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools Kindle

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars11
2.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Price:$9.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 6, 2010
I've been a Hamilton fan for many years, but the last few Anita Blake books, although well written, were a disappointment due to the brevity of content in the books. It's almost like she's turning this series into short stories to crank them out.

Good read, but in future I won't pay the hard cover price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 24, 2010
I've been a big fan of the series for the last 6 years. However, is it time for Anita to retire?

I bought this book and frankly, it was not worth the price. The story is flat, with only a single plot line that is more fitting of the short story book then its own novel. Also I find it hard to keep interested in the books when its the same thing each time. Someone attacks Anita or one of her many many lovers. Some how saving them has to do with sex, blood and killing and that's about that. In the end everything is, somewhat, back to the way it was and off they go.

The story is still good, but wait for it to come out in paperback. It's not worth the price of a hardcover.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on February 9, 2010
I was so looking forward to an other Blake book. BUT! A very fast read. A little over two hours. Not much plot, no build up, no spence, and no surprises. A BIG disapointment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2011
I was slightly disappointed in this novel. It was too short compared to most of her books, leaving me wanting more. It was like it was just a stopgap in the middle of the lengthy series. It is about Anita learning to flirt and about her 'flirts' Jason and Nathaniel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
According to Merriam Webster, flirting is, " a: to behave amorously without serious intent; b: to show superficial or casual interest or liking."

So it's kind of hard to see why one of Laurell K. Hamilton's books would be called "Flirt."Unfortunately, the title seems to refer to Hamilton's plot -- the entire novella is a disjointed tangle of unrelated subplots, inner animals and "feeeeeeeelings" therapy. And, of course, yet more assurance that Anita is the Kindest Smartest Strongest Yet Wounded person EVER.

After rejecting a man who wants his wife raised as a zombie (no, there really isn't a good reason), Anita goes off to lunch with Micah, Nathaniel and Jason. The waiter is floored by how stunningly gorgeous Anita and Nathaniel are, and Anita unloads all her personal woes about her evil granny and evil stepmother, and how they were SO mean to her because she's short and black-haired. Try not to flood the room with your sympathetic tears.

And after rejecting another client (this time for a good reason), Anita encounters a pair of werelion thugs who threaten to harm her "sweeties" unless she comes with them -- and of course, they want to have sex with her. It turns out that one of her rejected clients is determined to have her do the animation for them... after she has the required graveyard sex with one of the thugs.

Not only is "Flirt" a very short novella, but it's very short on plot as well -- it feels like Hamilton just cobbled together all the things she includes in every Anita Blake book (prolonged talky wangsting, ardeur sex scene, new boytoy, new superpower) and hoped it would gel into an actual story. Surprise surprise: it doesn't.

There are a few promising scenes, such as Anita having to deal with morally questionable clients at Animators Inc. But those are quickly swamped by Anita having a public boohooathon with her scantily-clad boyfriends(wah, my granny said I wasn't pretty! Worst thing in the world!). In fact, the absurd "flirting" scene (we're so sexy that people are struck dumb by us!) rapidly turns into another chance for Hamilton to air all her insecurities, and be assured by her imaginary harem that she's the best ever.

And the latter half of the book isn't any better -- it devolves into a long confusing tangle of people lusting after Anita and waving guns around. Even worse, Hasmilton peppers the book with ridiculous scenes (Anita cataloguing her scars for the bad guys' approval, so they'll know how tough she is) and equally absurd dialogue ("Harm none is the rule, Ellen; bad witch, no cookie").

Anita is even more repulsive than usual -- she's snotty, superior and callous; she makes a point of rejecting a client based on problems that exist only in her own head, then sits there publicly wailing about her evil family in a restaurant. By the end, she's casually enslaved yet another man and ripped someone to shreds via her zombies -- after she's gotten all the money she wants from them. Yes, this is allegedly the HEROINE, not the villain.

The werelions are just another round of traumatized sexy guys who are enraptured by Anita; the only halfway decent character is the villain, whose desperation and love are painful to read about. And as a final indignity, Hamilton tacks on a rambling epilogue and a bunch of boring comic strips about her friends and her being so sexy they knock people sideways ("HOTNESS!" You wish, lady).

You could say that Laurell K. Hamilton merely "Flirts" with a plot in this brief novella -- she assembles the components of an actual plot, then turns it into a therapy trip. Yawn.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
This particular book was not her best, but since I love the author it was a must read. I hope that she continues her other series as I believe her Anita Blake series has been tapped out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 4, 2010
I LOVE Laurell K. Hamiltons writing & have been a long time fan, BUT this book was too short and never really got off the ground for me. I was so disappointed......ugh.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on February 19, 2010
Flirt is a wonderful story about Anita Blake's "day" job as a reanimator. It takes Anita through her life so far and how she's both changed and remained the same since she first hung up her shingle. It's about the extremes people will go to, especially when they think they are entitled. It's about love and death and life and choices. It's about ethics and integrity and remaining true to yourself. In some ways, I think Flirt has more insights about Anita than any story yet written. And it is also a well-written story, as we have come to expect from Laurell K. Hamilton. Brava, Ms. Hamilton! I'm really looking forward to Bullet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2014
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on January 26, 2010
i thought this book was a 'quickie' book. it felt like i was being kept in orbit while the author took more time to produce another book in the series. it was a short, fast read with not half the usual characters and no real story advancement as far as i could tell. like i said, it felt like i was just being kept on the hook for the next one. I would have preferred that LKH tack this book on to "Bullet" and sell it for another 5 bucks and give me more to read and hopefully a less taken advantage for feeling. All that said, the book was fine, had most of the usual elements of sex and violence and magical 'stuff'. wait for the paperback or get it from your local library though, not much worth the price to add it to your home library i don't think.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Bullet by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - June 1 2010)
CDN$ 33.50

Affliction: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel
Affliction: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel by Laurell K. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - June 3 2014)
CDN$ 8.99