Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!
Flirt is a wonderful story about Anita Blake's "day" job as a reanimator. It takes Anita through her life so far and how she's both changed and remained the same since she first hung up her shingle. It's about the extremes people will go to, especially when they think they are entitled. It's about love and death and life and choices. It's about ethics and integrity and...
Published on Feb. 19 2010 by Zita Hildebrandt

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reminds me of a short story.....
I've been a Hamilton fan for many years, but the last few Anita Blake books, although well written, were a disappointment due to the brevity of content in the books. It's almost like she's turning this series into short stories to crank them out.

Good read, but in future I won't pay the hard cover price.
Published on March 6 2010 by Natasha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reminds me of a short story....., March 6 2010
By 
Natasha (Mississauga, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
I've been a Hamilton fan for many years, but the last few Anita Blake books, although well written, were a disappointment due to the brevity of content in the books. It's almost like she's turning this series into short stories to crank them out.

Good read, but in future I won't pay the hard cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should it end?, Feb. 24 2010
By 
Jocelyn Trim (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
I've been a big fan of the series for the last 6 years. However, is it time for Anita to retire?

I bought this book and frankly, it was not worth the price. The story is flat, with only a single plot line that is more fitting of the short story book then its own novel. Also I find it hard to keep interested in the books when its the same thing each time. Someone attacks Anita or one of her many many lovers. Some how saving them has to do with sex, blood and killing and that's about that. In the end everything is, somewhat, back to the way it was and off they go.

The story is still good, but wait for it to come out in paperback. It's not worth the price of a hardcover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a big disappointment, Feb. 9 2010
By 
B . Kats (Kingston Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
I was so looking forward to an other Blake book. BUT! A very fast read. A little over two hours. Not much plot, no build up, no spence, and no surprises. A BIG disapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flirting with a plot, Feb. 7 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
According to Merriam Webster, flirting is, " a: to behave amorously without serious intent; b: to show superficial or casual interest or liking."

So it's kind of hard to see why one of Laurell K. Hamilton's books would be called "Flirt."Unfortunately, the title seems to refer to Hamilton's plot -- the entire novella is a disjointed tangle of unrelated subplots, inner animals and "feeeeeeeelings" therapy. And, of course, yet more assurance that Anita is the Kindest Smartest Strongest Yet Wounded person EVER.

After rejecting a man who wants his wife raised as a zombie (no, there really isn't a good reason), Anita goes off to lunch with Micah, Nathaniel and Jason. The waiter is floored by how stunningly gorgeous Anita and Nathaniel are, and Anita unloads all her personal woes about her evil granny and evil stepmother, and how they were SO mean to her because she's short and black-haired. Try not to flood the room with your sympathetic tears.

And after rejecting another client (this time for a good reason), Anita encounters a pair of werelion thugs who threaten to harm her "sweeties" unless she comes with them -- and of course, they want to have sex with her. It turns out that one of her rejected clients is determined to have her do the animation for them... after she has the required graveyard sex with one of the thugs.

Not only is "Flirt" a very short novella, but it's very short on plot as well -- it feels like Hamilton just cobbled together all the things she includes in every Anita Blake book (prolonged talky wangsting, ardeur sex scene, new boytoy, new superpower) and hoped it would gel into an actual story. Surprise surprise: it doesn't.

There are a few promising scenes, such as Anita having to deal with morally questionable clients at Animators Inc. But those are quickly swamped by Anita having a public boohooathon with her scantily-clad boyfriends(wah, my granny said I wasn't pretty! Worst thing in the world!). In fact, the absurd "flirting" scene (we're so sexy that people are struck dumb by us!) rapidly turns into another chance for Hamilton to air all her insecurities, and be assured by her imaginary harem that she's the best ever.

And the latter half of the book isn't any better -- it devolves into a long confusing tangle of people lusting after Anita and waving guns around. Even worse, Hasmilton peppers the book with ridiculous scenes (Anita cataloguing her scars for the bad guys' approval, so they'll know how tough she is) and equally absurd dialogue ("Harm none is the rule, Ellen; bad witch, no cookie").

Anita is even more repulsive than usual -- she's snotty, superior and callous; she makes a point of rejecting a client based on problems that exist only in her own head, then sits there publicly wailing about her evil family in a restaurant. By the end, she's casually enslaved yet another man and ripped someone to shreds via her zombies -- after she's gotten all the money she wants from them. Yes, this is allegedly the HEROINE, not the villain.

The werelions are just another round of traumatized sexy guys who are enraptured by Anita; the only halfway decent character is the villain, whose desperation and love are painful to read about. And as a final indignity, Hamilton tacks on a rambling epilogue and a bunch of boring comic strips about her friends and her being so sexy they knock people sideways ("HOTNESS!" You wish, lady).

You could say that Laurell K. Hamilton merely "Flirts" with a plot in this brief novella -- she assembles the components of an actual plot, then turns it into a therapy trip. Yawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A favourite author, Jan. 9 2014
By 
Diane Cotton (DAVENPORT, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
This particular book was not her best, but since I love the author it was a must read. I hope that she continues her other series as I believe her Anita Blake series has been tapped out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flirt, March 4 2010
By 
T. Johnston-aldworth "trace" (waterloo, ontario, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
I LOVE Laurell K. Hamiltons writing & have been a long time fan, BUT this book was too short and never really got off the ground for me. I was so disappointed......ugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!, Feb. 19 2010
By 
Zita Hildebrandt (Halifax, NS Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
Flirt is a wonderful story about Anita Blake's "day" job as a reanimator. It takes Anita through her life so far and how she's both changed and remained the same since she first hung up her shingle. It's about the extremes people will go to, especially when they think they are entitled. It's about love and death and life and choices. It's about ethics and integrity and remaining true to yourself. In some ways, I think Flirt has more insights about Anita than any story yet written. And it is also a well-written story, as we have come to expect from Laurell K. Hamilton. Brava, Ms. Hamilton! I'm really looking forward to Bullet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flirt, Sept. 7 2011
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
I was slightly disappointed in this novel. It was too short compared to most of her books, leaving me wanting more. It was like it was just a stopgap in the middle of the lengthy series. It is about Anita learning to flirt and about her 'flirts' Jason and Nathaniel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars description, Jan. 26 2010
By 
R. Bennett (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
i thought this book was a 'quickie' book. it felt like i was being kept in orbit while the author took more time to produce another book in the series. it was a short, fast read with not half the usual characters and no real story advancement as far as i could tell. like i said, it felt like i was just being kept on the hook for the next one. I would have preferred that LKH tack this book on to "Bullet" and sell it for another 5 bucks and give me more to read and hopefully a less taken advantage for feeling. All that said, the book was fine, had most of the usual elements of sex and violence and magical 'stuff'. wait for the paperback or get it from your local library though, not much worth the price to add it to your home library i don't think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book but wait for the paperback, March 17 2010
By 
D. Paine (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flirt (Hardcover)
Very good book but wait for the paperback because it only has just under 200 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flirt
Flirt by Laurell K. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 22 2011)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews