Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Plethora of E. Allan Poe Material
This is an excellent book, it has gold leaf paper and its own bookmark and has a GREAT sum of his work although some 'may' be missing but all the great ones are there such as the infamous The Raven and The Masque of Red Death, The Fall of The House of Usher among many others; to keep this short and simple this book is well worth the price and looks better in person then...
Published on Nov. 23 2003 by Phillip G.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Go for the complete works
Edgar Allan Poe is one of America's greatest writers. He is an absolute master of the short story and the poem. A collection of Poe's writings is a welcome addition to any bookshelf. I would not, however, chose this particular collection.
Because all of his works fit handsomely in a single volume, there is no real need to purchase a "selected works"...
Published on April 24 2002 by Zack Davisson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Plethora of E. Allan Poe Material, Nov. 23 2003
By 
Phillip G. (Stanton, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book, it has gold leaf paper and its own bookmark and has a GREAT sum of his work although some 'may' be missing but all the great ones are there such as the infamous The Raven and The Masque of Red Death, The Fall of The House of Usher among many others; to keep this short and simple this book is well worth the price and looks better in person then what amazon shows. Do keep in mind like I said this is a very nice book and only buy it if your either an avid Poe fan or want a great book to add to your growing library (like me), otherwise buy a paperback if you want something to tote around with you between classes etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Father of the Horror Genre!, March 15 2003
By 
K. Mandalovic "KMandalov" (Largs Bay, SA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition (Hardcover)
Edgar Allan Poe is truely the father of Horror stories. My favourite creepy story is 'The Tell-Tale Heart' a short read that should be read late at night to get the atmosphere of a true Edgar Allan Poe work of art.
I also enjoyed 'The Masque of Red Death' - a little known short story as well as 'Murders in the Rue Morgue'. Poe's greatest known work - 'The Raven' is also included, and that is by far the best thing Poe has written.
There are not only short stories and poetry. Poe did give script writing a go, and the play 'The Power of Words' is an interesting read, and shows a discussion with a tutor and a pupil over various topics. This script is meant to be read and nor performed, however.
Edgar Allan Poe's best work is defienetly in this volume, and I recomened it for lovers of reading and not just poetry, and vice versa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Cast Of Amontillado", Dec 14 2002
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition (Hardcover)
Edgar Allen Poe's, "The Cast Of Amontillado," is a witty and daring tale between two enemies. It humorously portrays the foil of Fortunato, as he is led through the catacombs. Poe's humor is dark, sarcastic and very ironic, which quickly becomes a signpost of the tale. Poe sets himself apart from other authors in his works, based on how he depicts and encounters death. It accentuates the notion that at times, your worst enemy will appear as your best friend. Pride is the downfall of every man and the same can be said for fortunato. "Nemo me impune lacessit."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Go for the complete works, April 24 2002
By 
Zack Davisson (Seattle, WA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition (Hardcover)
Edgar Allan Poe is one of America's greatest writers. He is an absolute master of the short story and the poem. A collection of Poe's writings is a welcome addition to any bookshelf. I would not, however, chose this particular collection.
Because all of his works fit handsomely in a single volume, there is no real need to purchase a "selected works" version like this one. There are other "value priced" editions that have everything and you will be better off with one of them. Look for the term "complete works."
Poe's writings do not disappoint, but this presentation of his writings does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Only 19th Century Author to Name an NFL Team, April 13 2001
By 
George R Dekle "Bob Dekle" (Lake City, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition (Hardcover)
Edgar Allan Poe of Baltimore wrote the memorable poem, "The Raven", and that poem inspired the name of Baltimore's current NFL team. But naming football teams is not all he was good at. Poe wrote science fiction, horror, mystery, and detective stories. He is credited by some with the invention of the modern detective story. It is certain that Dupin, the hero of "Murders in the Rue Morgue", served as a model for Sherlock Holmes, who in turn inspired Hercule Poirot. One of Poe's short stories, "The Murder of Marie Roget", might even be classified as true crime. Although placed in Paris, it was based upon the true-life unsolved murder in New York of Mary Rogers. Poe never went to the scene of the crime, and everything he knew about the murder he got from the newspaper. Nevertheless he wrote a story in which he solved the murder and identified the murderer. His speculation was later confirmed in all major details by two confessions.
I read Poe's works as a pre-teen child, and some of the stories frightened me so badly that I can remember the details to this day. "The Pit and the Pendulum", "The Premature Burial", "The Black Cat", "The Fall of the House of Usher", "The Tell Tale Heart". All these stories and more will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Poe's longest work, "The Narrative of A. Gordon Pym", proved somewhat tedious, and his poetry isn't the best, but the short stories are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, March 20 2001
By 
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition (Hardcover)
I love edgar allan poe books, but this one is the best, because it has all of the stories and poems in it. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was great, Oct. 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition (Hardcover)
I loved THE BLACK CAT! IT was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the best horror and sci-fi book of all time., May 15 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition (Hardcover)
Edgar A.Poe's book"Works of Edgar Allan Poe" is a classic book of sci-fi and detective stories as well as the works he's most famous for. Anyone can get into it, even if they are 14 like me. The plots are unique and mind boggling, each story involving the complexity of the human mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae51abf4)

This product

Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition
Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works, Deluxe Edition by Edgar Allan Poe (Hardcover - Oct. 3 1990)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews