Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent start for the non-fantasy reader!
Terry Brooks is an exceptional writer! This book had me hooked from the first page, and I am NOT a fantasy reader. A friend recommended the title to me, and I was skeptical at first, but I have no regrets about reading it. The story is a nice reprieve from your everyday, run-of-the-mill, fiction. It's suspenseful, thought provoking, and just plain fun to read. The...
Published on June 12 2003 by Cassie Alegria

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Between a 3 and a 3.5 star rating
Rating System:
1 star = abysmal; some books deserve to be forgotten
2 star = poor; a total waste of time
3 star = good; worth the effort
4 star = very good; what writing should be
5 star = fantastic; must own it and share it with others
STORY: As one editorial review nicely put: "Sinnissippi Park, in Hopewell, Illinois, has long hidden a...
Published on Dec 5 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Between a 3 and a 3.5 star rating, Dec 5 2003
Rating System:
1 star = abysmal; some books deserve to be forgotten
2 star = poor; a total waste of time
3 star = good; worth the effort
4 star = very good; what writing should be
5 star = fantastic; must own it and share it with others
STORY: As one editorial review nicely put: "Sinnissippi Park, in Hopewell, Illinois, has long hidden a mysterious evil, locked away from humankind by powers greater than most could even imagine. But now the malevolent creatures that normally skulk in the shadows of the park grow bolder, and old secrets hint at a violent explosion. The brewing conflict draws John Ross to Hopewell. A Knight of the Word, Ross is plagued by nightmares that tell him someone evil is coming to unleash an ancient horror upon the world. Caught between them is fourteen-year-old Nest Freemark, who senses that something is terribly wrong but has not yet learned to wield the budding power that sets her apart from her friends."
MY FEEDBACK:
I unknowingly listened to book 3 of the series first then I got my hands on this one (book1). I don't feel like I totally missed out because both books are contained stories which made the "out of orderness" (such a thing?) bearable.
I like the story since it leaves the typical fantasy and sci-fi genres and deals with magic and demons in the current world. There are enough mysteries to keep you in the story with a desire to want to know what happens next. He handles suspense situations fine and has enough subplot going on to add some depth and reality to characters and setting.
All I can say about the end of the story without giving anything away is that I personally found the ending very anti-climatic. If it was handled differently I would have given this a solid 4 stars.
OVERALL: Enjoyable story, characters and setting. It was a bit better than good because of the "uniqueness" of the story setting but not great because of the ending demise of the opposition. Worth a try and not a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not resting on his laurels, Nov. 26 2003
By 
Tyler Tanner (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
It is great to see Terry Brooks take yet another turn for the better and presents his fans with a brand new series. This takes place not in Shannara or in Landover but in modern day Hopewell, Illinios.
Nest Freemark is a girl who carries on the tradition of the women before by using magic to protect the local park. Namely her grandmother and her deceased mother. Brooks says within the first thirty pages that they are not witches, so Anne Rice fans calm yourselves. A demon arrives at Hopewell along with a Knight of the Word, the egnimatic John Ross. Guess who is caught in the middle.
The book starts with a great chase scene and then calms down for a bit before picking back up. At first it was a bit tedious, but in the last one hundred and fifty pages every bit of it proves very relevant.
The charm and heart of the book comes not from the protagonist Nest or even from John Ross. It comes from the supporting and peripheral characters that pop up throughout the book. Nest's grandmother and grandfather especially, and not keeping the book soley told from the perspective of one character. At the end of the book, you really want to know what happens to everyone. There is the sylvan Pick, a woodland creature but in my opinion he was variation of Abernathy in Brook's Landover series.
The author also blessedly knows how to write kids. He showed some great work in the Star Wars adaptation but it really comes across here.
The foreshadowing power of John Ross is intriguing, but does get a bit repetitive. Still, he is a very enjoyable character when he shows up.
A modern day fantasy told by one of the best. Brooks does not rely on gimmicks and creatures but implements real and relatable people (and sylvans) to drive the story. Other authors of the genre should follow Brooks' lead and not simply stay in one world (are ya listening Jordan & Goodkind?) I would love to see what he does with a collection of short stories or horror.
Get the book and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent start for the non-fantasy reader!, June 12 2003
By 
Cassie Alegria (Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terry Brooks is an exceptional writer! This book had me hooked from the first page, and I am NOT a fantasy reader. A friend recommended the title to me, and I was skeptical at first, but I have no regrets about reading it. The story is a nice reprieve from your everyday, run-of-the-mill, fiction. It's suspenseful, thought provoking, and just plain fun to read. The book is centered on the war between the "Word" and the "Void" (good and evil), and their fight to control the magic of a young girl who could change the future for either side. Nest (the young girl) must first discover the secrets of her family that her Grandmother has kept hidden from her, and then she must face a truth about her father that will change her life irrevocably. She must decide whether or not she will side with her Grandmother or her father in the great war that will either sustain, or end, humanity. The human characters are very well portrayed, and the fantasy characters are intriguing. If you're thinking of trying a book that is off the beaten path of ordinary fiction, this is it! Terry Brooks has made a fantasy reader of me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Running with the Demon, Jan. 15 2003
By A Customer
Over in my country, we get most books a bit late and I only read this book in Dec 2002 and was hooked!!
Imagine a world being fought over by the Forces of Good and Evil and the outcome of the battle rests in the hands of ordinary people like you and I, and you have a great story!
John Ross is a Knight of the Word who dreams every night of what the world would become if he fails and the Void wins. Nest Freeman is a 14 year old girl, born in a family who has the use of magic as part of their heritage and who unknowlingly does her part in the battle against the hurt and dispair pre-valent in the world. She must come face to face with her family's dark secrets and on doing so decide how it will affect her (and that of the world's) future.
The style of writing is a bit different to the Shannara series and the story line is down to earth and excellent. Anyone who has been different or could not fit in with the crowd or on the other hand would like to be a little different, would identify with Nest. Also John Ross is a very believable hero whose short-comings and weariness makes him very human.
Very good and riverting reading which also very subtly highlights to us that we all bear responsibility in how the future turns out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Running with boredom!, Dec 27 2002
By 
Jason A. Myers "jaypers" (Dallas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Heellooooooo Star Wars fans out there! If you liked the Luke/Vader son/father stuff, then you will love this story! the only problem is you'll probalby figure it out on page twelve or so.
This plot was tired. The writing was boring! If you read this review and still get the book, remember this: You can read the first episode where the Knight has his dream, and then you can skip every other time he has what is almost THE EXACT SAME DREAM!
Also, once Nest has gone through the park the first time, you can skip every other time she runs through the park. For some odd reason Brooks seems to think we need minute overkill descpriptions of the area our characters are moving through...even if he's already given us the dead on descriptions FIVE TIMES BEFORE! I was getting upset with this book because, you take out half the ridiculous scene descriptions and you take out half the internal dialogue and the book is about 150 pages! it was like he had this short idea for a story in his head, but he stretched the story so it would be a normal length novel. I wa skipping the internal dialogue and the dream sequences and the scene description by the 2nd half of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Day Fantasy Brought to Life, Nov. 7 2002
By 
Jeffrey T. Munson (Dixon, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On a hot Fourth of July weekend, two men have descended on the town of Hopewell, Illinois. One of them is John Ross, a Knight of the Word, sent to protect Nest Freemark, a young girl who has magical powers. The other is a demon, sent by the Void to destroy Nest. Ross suffers apocalyptic dreams of the future. It is the price he pays for being a Knight of the Word. In his visions, he sees a world destroyed by feeders, once-men, and demons. He must do what he can to prevent the dreams from coming true.
Nest Freemark has magic powers which were inherited from her mother and grandmother, and the demon realizes this. He has made it his sole purpose to turn Nest to the Void. While in Hopewell, the demon will use the anger and frustration of the town to attain his goal. Others will be sacrificed, but this is no consequense to the demon.
Brooks has written a masterful novel filled with suspense and action as well as family drama, fading innocence, and cataclysm. The plot is excellent, and the characters come alive as genuine people that the reader grows to genuinely care about. This is a book sure to be remembered long after it is finished. Read this fine book and discover what it feels like to run with the demon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well-crafted modern-day fantasy, Oct. 26 2002
By 
John Cmar "Doc Operon" (Columbia, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
PERSPECTIVE: sci-fi/fantasy fan, new to Brooks' work
Although a lifelong fan of sci-fi and fantasy, I've somehow gotten by without reading any of Brooks' original work (aside from an abridged audiobook of Knight of the Word and his Star Wars Episode I novel) until now. Needless to say, it seems I've been missing out.
Running With the Demon is a great book, and I recommend it not just to fantasy fans, but to general audiences as well. Brooks attempts to paint a world-spanning epic supernatural conflict between the Word and the Void as the backdrop to his story, with moderately successful results. The majority of the narrative takes place in modern-day Hopewell, IN, which is portrayed very convincingly... Being originally from Cincinnati, I love his little touches emphasizing the "Midwesterness" of the area -- calling soda "pop", his portrayal of the extremes of the weather, etc...
The characters are distinctively portrayed and consistant. Interestingly, all of the characters, even the most powerful protagonist (John Ross, the Knight of the Word) and antagonist (the Demon) have significant flaws, which are exploited and drive the story. Ross almost seems too unsure and oblivious of the Demon's machinations, in a way, given that he has been acting successfully as a Knight for several years, although it works in the context of thwe story. The Demon comes across excellently as a villainous presence that, despite all of its power, cannot overcome the complexities and weaknesses of its remaining aspect of humanity. It would have been nice to have spent a bit more time getting to know Nest Freemark's friends, especially the object of her budding romance (Jared Scott), but as this is the first book in the Word and Void series, the primary exposition needs to, and does, center around the pasts and purposes of Nest and Ross.
The plot is well-tooled and appropriately suspenseful, building to a satisfying, if somewhat predictable, conclusion. Brooks' style here is descriptive and expositional, but not so much as to slow down the pace of the tale. Some areas seem a bit stilted, such as Nest's friends acceptance of the odd doings concerning the sick oak tree, but mostly everything clicks on all cylanders... the unfolding of the Demon's final plan is a thing of beauty.
FINAL WORD: Read this book! Buy it, check it out from the library, or buy it and donate it to your local library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well-crafted modern-day fantasy, Oct. 26 2002
By 
John Cmar "Doc Operon" (Columbia, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
PERSPECTIVE: sci-fi/fantasy fan, new to Brooks' work
Although a lifelong fan of sci-fi and fantasy, I've somehow gotten by without reading any of Brooks' original work (aside from an abridged audiobook of Knight of the Word and his Star Wars Episode I novel) until now. Needless to say, it seems I've been missing out.
Running With the Demon is a great book, and I recommend it not just to fantasy fans, but to general audiences as well. Brooks attempts to paint a world-spanning epic supernatural conflict between the Word and the Void as the backdrop to his story, with moderately successful results. The majority of the narrative takes place in modern-day Hopewell, IN, which is portrayed very convincingly... Being originally from Cincinnati, I love his little touches emphasizing the "Midwesterness" of the area -- calling soda "pop", his portrayal of the extremes of the weather, etc...
The characters are distinctively portrayed and consistant. Interestingly, all of the characters, even the most powerful protagonist (John Ross, the Knight of the Word) and antagonist (the Demon) have significant flaws, which are exploited and drive the story. Ross almost seems too unsure and oblivious of the Demon's machinations, in a way, given that he has been acting successfully as a Knight for several years, although it works in the context of thwe story. The Demon comes across excellently as a villainous presence that, despite all of its power, cannot overcome the complexities and weaknesses of its remaining aspect of humanity. It would have been nice to have spent a bit more time getting to know Nest Freemark's friends, especially the object of her budding romance (Jared Scott), but as this is the first book in the Word and Void series, the primary exposition needs to, and does, center around the pasts and purposes of Nest and Ross.
The plot is well-tooled and appropriately suspenseful, building to a satisfying, if somewhat predictable, conclusion. Brooks' style here is descriptive and expositional, but not so much as to slow down the pace of the tale. Some areas seem a bit stilted, such as Nest's friends acceptance of the odd doings concerning the sick oak tree, but mostly everything clicks on all cylanders... the unfolding of the Demon's final plan is a thing of beauty.
FINAL WORD: Read this book! Buy it, check it out from the library, or buy it and donate it to your local library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Criminy, A Good Story Told Well, July 16 2002
By 
Gregory Bascom (San Jose Costa Rica) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a novel of Good and Evil, about a Knight of the Word and a demon from the Void. There is a bad ass, ugly maentwrog. It's ten feet tall and weighs well over five hundred pounds, has a wicked tongue and bad breath. Wraith by definition is a spook and an enigma in character. Pick the sylvan who is around 195 years old, is clearly a good guy however, because he says "criminy" every now and then. These creatures manage magic. The magic is uncertain. It dissipates. It might be spent on a lesser evil, or be exhausted while still required, and must be rejuvenated after each use, hopefully before the next need. If you think all this sounds silly, you're mistaken. This is a good story told well.
Terry Brooks did not write this story by himself. Sure, he had an idea about what was supposed to happen when he started writing, but then his characters took over the tale and did pretty much what they wanted. In a chronicle of good and evil, we know who is supposed to win, but you're going to wonder. I'm certain even Mr. Brooks didn't know how this one would turn out, because when you let the characters tell the story all hell breaks loose. You ought not to presume the ending; there's a sequel!
Nest Freemark, the protagonist, is a fourteen-year-old girl complete with freckles who runs like a bat out of hell. When Nest was very young her mother fell off a cliff, or perhaps she jumped, and her father disappeared before she was born. Nest lives with her grandpa, Old Bob, and Evelyn, her grandma. Grandma smokes and drinks a lot, and she mostly just sits at the kitchen table. "She (Nest) imagined her grandmother sitting alone at the kitchen table in the soft, tree filtered light of moon and stars, smoking her cigarettes, drinking her bourbon, and reflecting on the secrets she hid."
Grandma Evelyn is special because she is the only one besides Nest who can see the "feeders," those shadowy, yellow-eyed things that are more a concept than creatures. Nest likes her grandma. You will too, not because she bakes cookies, which she does, but because she's a tough cookie.
Old Bob is tough too. He knows that Evelyn has secrets, and during their long life together, she has mentioned the feeders and maybe the other creatures too. Of course, Bob doesn't believe in that nonsense, he's not ready yet, and maybe he never will be. As the story unfolds however, you're going to want to kick Old Bob in the butt to wake him up as to what's happening out there in Sinnissippi Park because Nest is in danger.
The spooky stuff works because Brooks' characters are real, even the demon. As the Knight of the Word told Nest, "The demon is not perfect.... He makes mistakes just like humans. He was human once...."
Running with the Demon is an enjoyable, suspenseful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and thought-provoking, May 25 2001
By 
Scott Granado (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Terry Brooks has cleverly fused his unique, contemporary, and personalized approach to the supernatural together with a dramatic coming-of-age story about a special 14-year-old girl. The plot is intricately constructed. Every event - big or small - happens for a reason. This theme of purpose in every event is carried one step further - small events add up to make life-changing occurrences. (A theme echoing the chaos theory touted in the contemporary social and physical sciences.) However, instead of randomness and chaos determining the significance of events in this story, the incremental orchestration of events is insidiously carried out by an evil being. This orchestrated plot is solid and brilliant. Character development is strong - another highlight of the book. The manner in which conflict is dealt with in the book is adequate. While Brooks' style in dealing with conflict does not interfere with the flow of the story, he could have refined his story-telling a bit more, providing further details for the reader to really feel engaged in the ongoing battle. Brooks is quite adept at actively engaging his reader elsewhere in the story through character development and plot construction. One measure of a book's worth is if you still ponder its themes a few days after you have completed the book. Brooks' treatment of the difficulty of coming-of-age, the balance of good and evil, and the purposeful methods taken by servants of good and evil may spark you to think about the fabric of truth, awareness, and balance in our real world. It did me.
Scott Granado
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running with the Demon
Running with the Demon by Terry Brooks (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 2 1999)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews