summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars84
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 3, 2016
Came in promptly. Thoroughly enjoying the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2016
Brilliant! Hazlitt is a champion of free market economics, capitalism and libertarianism and debunks any myths people carry or refuse to let go of regarding socialism or Keynesian ideas and he is very enjoyable to read. I read this two years ago to learn basic economics and ended up being persuaded to reAssess my political beliefs and see the common sense in less government.

Must read for everyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
More people need to read this book. very good thought experiments exposing the toxicity of government intervention
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 3, 2015
Hazlitt's book is still a classic many years on from its original publication date, and provides an excellent introduction for those new to the subject. If you are taking a college course, or simply want to familiarize yourself with the subject that our media is so obsessed with, this book is a good chance to get up to snuff on the basics. Hazlitt organizes things in a nice way and discusses economic basics in a way that most can understand.

The only problem with this book, as with so many others on the subject, is that Hazlitt subscribes to a one-sided libertarian view of economics, which unfortunately is not always supported with historical case studies and evidence. In the twenty-first century there are just as many arguments for government intervention (within reason of course) in the economy as there are for the laissez-faire hands-off approach that so many economists still push. Thus, Hazlitt's book is a great start, but you will want to broaden out after reading this and look at books that are a little more circumspect and give a good shake to the other side of the debate as well. For that, check out Ha-Joon Chang's "Economics: A User's Guide."

Aside from his bias, Hazlitt's work is still very informative and well worth reading. Many of his points are still cogent even long after he first wrote them, and it most certainly deserves to be on any shelf with other economic classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
This was bought for a friend. My husband read it first and he was very pleased. He was a professor of economics, and found it very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2015
good read. Helpful towards a thorough understanding of the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2015
The content is great. I can understand this book easily. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
There was writing and highlighting in the book from the previous owner. It was a mild annoyance, but didn't affect the quality of the read. The book itself is a real eye opener in terms of explaining what should be obvious, but has become muddled in a sea is disinformation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2015
Hands down the best book on economics. It was life changing for me. Easy to read, easy to understand, no math or statistics, just logic. My only complaint would be that chapter 1, on the broken window fallacy is a bit brief, and he should probably spell out for the reader that many of the other chapters are just different manifestations of the broken window fallacy. Overall though, I have bought many copies of this to lend out, it's my go-to book to recommend to others interested in Economics, political or otherwise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
A concise summary of how legislation and the outcome of ithe legislation sometimes differ in practise from the intended purpose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse