Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great all around animation book
The aspect of this book that i enjoyed the most was it's breadth. It discussed the basics of a variety of different animation techniques, providing enough detail to try each one. The descriptions of the equipment and techniques involved are also very helpful. I liked the case study format, i found it to be a good way to see the different techniques and the different...
Published on Dec 13 2001 by klayre13

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very general, not enough updated info
Although it is almost impossible for a book to provide the most up-to-date info, this book tries it's best. I really think that an animation book should be specified (ie 2d, stop-motion, 3d, etc) in order to not "cheat" the reader out of more intense knowledge. However, if a broad introduction is what you seek, then this book will work (but there are less expensive books...
Published on Nov. 6 2002 by Kimotion


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad., April 11 2010
By 
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
Well for the service, it's been excellent. For the book i'm kinda sad. It's the quality I expected. Well it goes with the price ! Thanks anyway, a book more its more knowledge anyway !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Animation, Nov. 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
I am using this book for background info for an animation unit I teach with my graphics students. It gives you a good overview of many different animation techniques. It answered a lot of my questions. This book is a good start, but you might also want to check out animation by preston blair, and Animation from script to screen by Shamus Culhane. Shamus will make an animator out of you by the end of his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very general, not enough updated info, Nov. 6 2002
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
Although it is almost impossible for a book to provide the most up-to-date info, this book tries it's best. I really think that an animation book should be specified (ie 2d, stop-motion, 3d, etc) in order to not "cheat" the reader out of more intense knowledge. However, if a broad introduction is what you seek, then this book will work (but there are less expensive books that will do just the same).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Broadly Scoped book, April 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
In my opinion, the amount of topics this book tries to cover is too large. The book jumps from topic to topic without going into any majort detail on a particular topic. For istance, there is a chaper on 3d Animation which provides so little information that it is virtually usless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great all around animation book, Dec 13 2001
By 
"klayre13" (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
The aspect of this book that i enjoyed the most was it's breadth. It discussed the basics of a variety of different animation techniques, providing enough detail to try each one. The descriptions of the equipment and techniques involved are also very helpful. I liked the case study format, i found it to be a good way to see the different techniques and the different styles of animation they can create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First book to read about animation!, March 14 2001
By 
Basil (APO, AE United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
I was very happy with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was lost until now!, May 22 2000
By 
D. David (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
I'm familiar with animation in theory. I had experience in using some techniques but never translating any animation into a recorded movie or a digital format movie. This book explained me few things I was asking myself for a very long time. I mostly liked the table included in the book for what is the hardware configuration for a budget you have, as well as a table for best computer programs - today you can produce everything through a computer. If you think you know alot, but something IS STILL missing from your knowledge, grab the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this book is good..., Aug. 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
This book is just packed with iformaiton and is easy to read, well it was for me and i'm just a student. It goes through the basics of every kind of animation out there and turned out to be really usefull for all sorts of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great starting place for the independent animator., Aug. 16 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
This book is a great guide to the starting animator, covering all aspects of animation with some general information of everything. This new digital edition is more comprehensive than the first edition because it explains how to use the computer as a tool for animation in both the 2D and 3D formats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most definitive guide to animation of every kind, July 12 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation (Paperback)
Kit Laybourne should be commended for gathering the most up to date (as of 1998) and comprehensive information about animation of EVERY kind. I hope that there will be updates of this book. The animation field is exploding and transforming constantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Animation Book: A Complete Guide to Animated Filmmaking--From Flip-Books to Sound Cartoons to 3- D Animation
CDN$ 32.00 CDN$ 20.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews