biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars279
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$33.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 19, 2015
This was the second book I ever read regarding climate science. He is an economist/environmentalist who accepts the man-made global warming principle, although he doesn't specifically agree with the projected impact. His point is that it makes much more sense to plan for the adaptation to possible effects over time than to kill the world's economy in the short term.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
Finally a truthful environmentalist... they are in short supply nowadays . Great read. Thanks
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
In our politically correct world, where special interests work so hard to manipulate us to match their thinking, we need more and more balance. This book does not debunk or preach, it gives a grounded alternate view of environmental reality. Strip away the retoric of various groups, and you will see what really needs to be done. If we viewed the world with this sane and rational approach, we would make much more headway.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2004
This book shows concern for the earth's environment, but at the same time refutes catastrophic ecological events and processes. It's clear that both sides (environmentalists vs. everyone else) have their own agendas, which is why they argue their viewpoints as they do. So many biases based on innumerable experiences, ideologies, faiths, etc. come into play when discussing environmental issues that any debate is futile unless certain standards are set. In my view, this book is used best for studying the data provided, and making a conclusion based on your own educated reasoning - of course not until you have read the same data as interpreted by true blue 'environmentalists'. Data can be manipulated in countless ways to accommodate many viewpoints, so instead of looking at numbers in order to prove their point, I would say it's time to use some common sense, and perhaps some plain old human emotion to determine our environmental policy stances. The book itself is well written, interesting, and informative, but I wouldn't use it as a sole basis for determining an environmental viewpoint.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2004
I have read the (book-length) debates between the author and environmental scientists, and from that I've learned a tremendous amount about the extent of our knowledge of weather and ecosystems. The most informative debate is Lomborg's point-by-point rebuttal of criticism which appeared in Scientific American. (You can find all of this on the web.) In a nutshell, the scientists do not sound very scientific.
I think there is a reason for the disgust of many scientists. Lomborg attacks the evidence of several kinds of environmental catastrophe. The scientists, on the other hand, begin from a conservative point of view in their concern for the mere possibility of irreparable damage to the earth. They are obviously correct to realize that we cannot afford to lose the earth, and we should therefore be wary of any significant perturbation made by mankind.
I believe that the scientists get angry because Lomborg refutes their favorite arguments in favor of strict environmental policies, those which purport that a catastrophe has already begun. Lomborg, on the other hand, does not understand that the strongest argument is that we can always be wrong.
We cannot afford a mistake which destroys our only viable planet, which is why we must limit the global impact of our activities. But this is not the point addresed by either Lomborg or his critics.
Lomborg has done a significant service in pointing out some flaws and biases in scientific research, but you would learn more by following the debates than by reading this large, tendentious book.
0Comment8 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2004
This excellent book illustrates that the world isn't on the verge of some "Day After Tommorrow" Apocalypse. If you need this proven to you, if you're skeptical of the skeptics, you should read this book w/ an open mind. Many environmentalists are sincere--however, many are members of a "secular" cult, reverse-evangelicals, who have a God (Mother Nature), a Devil (Man), prophets (Ehrlich, Nader), demons (Capitalists), a way of salvation (Green Socialism), and a nightmare Armageddon (when Nature takes her vengeance on man's greed). The former, the reasonable people should read this book, because they can be persuaded by Lomborg's most important thesis: that the solution to whatever environmental problems we face, will come from economic growth, not anti-industrialism, anti-globalization.
The Kyoto Treaty is not the solution, but would actually exacerbate the problem of Global Warming by restraining technological development and human employment. You want a worldwide Great Depression, put the Kyoto Treaty in practice, and then see if mankind has the collective resources to find alternative sources of fuel or, heck, build new air conditioners. Lomborg shows that as the economy grows, so does environmental problems like pollution reduce.
He also shows that the warming and cooling of the Earth is cyclical, possibly (or probably) tied to Sunspots. At the end of the Medieval Period, the earth was as warm as it is now (possibly warmer), and 1400-1900 the Earth was in a mini-Ice Age. London had worse pollution in 1700 than today. I guess you could say that the internal combustion engine is so metaphysically evil, so powerful, that it's vile emissions travelled back in time to warm the earth around 1300 and to pollute London in 1700. But more likely, the .6% increase in worldwide temperature since 1900 is the result of the workings of the solar system and not evil, vile technology.
0Comment5 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2004
Outstanding analysis. Lomborg makes a point of using the same data sources (mainly the UN development agencies) that the rabid "don't confuse me with facts" environmentalists use. General complaints about Lomborg by fanatics are "uses discredited studies" and "picks and chooses data". The book has 2930 footnotes and the bibliography is 72 pages long, so how he left anything out boggles me. Lomborg gives the reader ALL the facts, and shows that our priorities should be based upon the data, not religious zealotry for environmental concerns.
0Comment6 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2004
This is a terrific book that should be on the bookshelf of everybody that believes that reason is more powerful than passion or faith. Using detailed statistical analysis, the author essentially tears apart most of the arguments that environmentalists have been using to push their agenda on the rest of us. Reading this book, it became obvious to me that environmentalists for the most part, are *not* interested in the environment and in the health of the people on it (if they were, they would at least get their facts straight, and stop the constant barrage of misinformation that they constantly throw at us). They are indeed, more interested in their political agenda, a combination of fascism and socialism, because of course, "they know best".
Use this book as a fact finder. And then watch your so-called environmentalist friends squirm when you feed them the facts. Guaranteed, they will not have a response, and then eventually concede that the facts don't matter one way or another.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2004
A splendid read and well written, too.
The message: Capitalism provides the best environment.
If you hear that all libertarians want to "sail the seas," listen again because you probably heard the maxim that all libertarians want to "sell the seas."
Libertarian environmentalists use the following phrases in a sincere positive manner: sell the oceans, sell the seas, sell the gulf, sell the lakes, sell the rivers, sell the parks, sell the Everglades.
As a contender for the honorific title of "Top Libertarian Environmentalist," I spend a lot of time writing about libertarian environmentalism and how to speak to environmentalists. There is a lot of material available on the internet from that point of view, and this book provides superb help, too.
"We love manatee!" Libertarians quip, "They taste just like chicken." But the reasoning of free market environmentalism shines.
Cuba, eastern Europe, the former Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, The Peoples' Republic of China and other socialist messes have demonstrated that the Malthusian theory is manifested only in socialist economies. The book gives many insights as to why.
As the free market environmentalist Rex Curry said "Socialism is an environmental disaster."
The color of a healthy environment and the color of money are the same. Mother Nature is a capitalist. Capitalists are the true greens.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2004
I focused on the section on Global Warming. Lomberg agrees that the Earth is warming (politicians, please take note). There are many graphs and notes to back up a thoughtful discussion of the costs of global warming and the costs of preventing it. This type of analysis is indeed the foundation for determining what to do. Lomberg concludes we are better off letting the Earth warm but admits a lot of Bangladeshis will die in severe weather. And Danes may get a bit more tan.
The level of detail is dazzling but the book does not attempt to address what the actual costs are for prevention. It therefore did not convince me it's impossible for the developed world to change its behaviors without damaging the economic future.
To my way of business thinking, spending less on fossil fuel per GDP dollar and inventing devices to allow others to do the same is going to be a economic benefit, not a cost. Having been asked by President Bush to take it on faith that adopting the Kyoto Protocol would harm our economy, I had hoped to find some proof in this book. I did not, but would still recommend it for its richness in data. And be sure to note what kind of science Mr. Lomborg teaches.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse