Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human Error - by James Reason
An excellent treatise on the subject of human error, written with a cognitive psychology approach. The treatment of the subject matter is more theoretical and less practice-oriented. The book begins with clear definitions, classifications and explanations on the different types of errors, quickly runs through the relevant literature and scientific studies and expands on...
Published on Jan. 9 2002

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Human Errors by James Resson
I'm Manassawee Lila, I'm Buyer form Johnson Control@Summit
Interiors Ltd. My team interesting in your books but I have some problem :-
I want to order your books for Human Errors by James Resson
I did't pay by cradit card but I need by mail. If I can choose this
case please tell me more imformation.
Published on July 16 2002 by MS. Manaswee Lila


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human Error - by James Reason, Jan. 9 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Human Error (Paperback)
An excellent treatise on the subject of human error, written with a cognitive psychology approach. The treatment of the subject matter is more theoretical and less practice-oriented. The book begins with clear definitions, classifications and explanations on the different types of errors, quickly runs through the relevant literature and scientific studies and expands on the typology using Rasmussen's classification as a base. The author then goes on to describe his well-known Swiss Cheese model and provides an excellent overview of accident causation from a system-thinking perspective. He ends with a note on the methodological assessment of error risks which is perhaps more relevant to safety practitioners. The entire book is written in clear simple language that is easily understood, fascinating and intellectually stimulating, even to non-psychologists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best the third time through, Sept. 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Human Error (Paperback)
This book is a very complete and well done review of the history and mechanisms of human error. I can't think of a better reference book. It takes some work to extract the knowledge from the rather concentrated material, but it is well worth it. I generally like an easier, novel-type read, but there are plenty of other books on human factors that provide that. This one shines in the very systematic and complete treatment of the subject. And the bibliography is excellent, because it facilitates the easy branching out into all of his sources. Speaking of people mentioned, I knew I would like it when he spoke highly of Donald Norman. He also mentions Perrow's 'Normal Accidents', which is an excellent book. Also the quote from Ernst Mach can lead into a fascinating side trail of discovery on that man. But mainly his dedication of the book to Jens Rasmussen sent me off on a trail of his work, which is quite prolific. I think this is academia at its best - building on the work of predecessors to help further development of tools and understanding on how to solve practical, real world problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Resource for Latent Human Errors, May 2 2002
By 
T. Herrmann "TJH" (Aurora, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Human Error (Paperback)
This book is a must have resource for the serious failure analyst. I am responsible for root cause analysis of events at a nuclear power station and we have this as required reading for our root cause analysts.
Furthermore, my experience with other companies who specialize in failure analysis and nuclear industry oversight agencies indicates that the information presented in this book is widely used and respected. More than that - the information helps you to prevent events and solve recurring problems because you get to the latent organizational and human roots.
My copy has gotten dog-eared and has all kinds of notes in the margins. It's absolutely indespensible as a resource for any organization where a strong safety culture (for your employees and your customers) is a necessary part of your business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The fundamentals, May 17 2000
By 
This review is from: Human Error (Paperback)
Anyone with any interest in error reduction, or in the way humans interact with technology should start here. The psychological analysis of how and why we commit errors is fascinating, and influences the way one thinks about daily events. I find myself saying "Aha, that was a capture error," and "Damn! I've fallen for the fundamental attribution error again." The real lesson is that errors derive from the very nature of human behavior--the mechanisms which enable us to solve complex problems also make errors inevitable. This realization changes entirely one's concept of industrial accidents and medical mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reason--More than the author's name, April 17 2000
This review is from: Human Error (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book; it's lessons will be appreciated by everyone who has experienced working with complex systems and the problems they create for managers. I have used it for many years to introduce residents in Pathology to human errors in clinical laboratories. The classification of errors which Reason presents is applicable to all areas of human activity. I am constantly reminded by this book and by personal experience of the old adage.. "No one can think of all the answers that come to fools." This book provides a deep insight into the psychological mechanisms all of us use in the decision making process. Accidents are one of the types of human error covered in great detail. Several examples from the nuclear power industry are presented and the clear message is that that accidents begin in conventional ways but rarely proceed along predictable lines. One can only marvel that there has been no reported major accident involving nulcear weapons--yet. What applies to the nuclear power industry appears to have broad application and suggests to me that our species has not descended as faras it needs to since automatic behaivor is so prevalent and persistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Human Errors by James Resson, July 16 2002
This review is from: Human Error (Paperback)
I'm Manassawee Lila, I'm Buyer form Johnson Control@Summit
Interiors Ltd. My team interesting in your books but I have some problem :-
I want to order your books for Human Errors by James Resson
I did't pay by cradit card but I need by mail. If I can choose this
case please tell me more imformation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human Error
Human Error by James Reason (Paperback - Oct. 26 1990)
CDN$ 50.95 CDN$ 40.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews