Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Friendly and accessible, Feb. 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
I started this book with my daughter (who just turned ten), and she loves it. It's a good balance of history and grammar. I have a B.A. in Classics, and I took the Cambridge course in High School. I would definitely recommend this series for younger kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your child needs this book, Jan. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
I am a Latin teacher, grades 5 through 12. This is by far the best thing available for elementary students to use in learning Latin, The cartoons are well-designed and increase gradually in difficulty. My elementary students are able to trannslate the first story without any previoius Latin instruction. Grammar sections reinforce common English grammar concepts, like nouns, adjectives, and verbs. Culture of Roman Britain, as well as a soldier's life, is presented. Kids quickly become fond of the main character, Minimus the mouse. Classical roots to difficult English words, like patriarchal and infantile, are covered. Students are able to progress from Minimus to higher foreign language easily.
Parents without a Latin background, might want to obtain the teacher's book, which contains all the answers to the student book as well as reproducible masters for additional activities, suggestions for learning games and activities, and even a Roman recipe. The ISBN for the Teacher's Resource Book is 0-521-65961-2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Minimus Pupil's Book Starting Out In Latin" by Helen Forte, Dec 23 2003
By 
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
Introduced into Latin & then onto the Mediaeval in order to be able to translate ancient documents it is thought that every child should have the opportunity to do so. Finding in Amazon Books this splendid publication which gives children that knowledge & learning something about our ancient past. ROME.From this language although it is uncertain how in fact the Romans did speak helps with other languages & the English Grammar. Just thrilled with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Minimus makes Latin fun, Dec 16 2003
By 
J. Shammah "FairLeah-homeschool" (Lima, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
Open the first page to Minimus, read the cartoons, and immediately feel as if you have conquered Latin! Having had no Latin background, I was intimidated to begin teaching my challenging 12 year old. Despite any initial apprehension, my daughter took to the book without fear. The clear colors in the illustrations aren't overwhelming to the text, and the humor is evident immediately. I did think that the text type made "l" and "i" a tad hard to differentiate. My daughter already claims to have learned quite a bit, even with just a few lessons. The other day while having lunch, she asked me a Latin grammar question! Now that is a book I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very educational, Kinda Easy, Nov. 9 2003
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
Salvete Omnes
Hello everyone
This book is a great way to learn Latin. There are comics that help you with Latin dialogue, and there are also activities that help your vocabulary. The book is kind of easy though and is better for ages five through ten. By the way, Minimus Secundus is coming out soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Minimus the Great!, Nov. 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
This is an excellent start for children to begin building a foundation for many languages. The cartoons, and other illustrations catch their attention, and the short, but very informative stories keep it. Not only do they learn things about their own homes and families, but they get a taste of the larger world out there to discover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun way to start learning Latin, Oct. 11 2001
By 
Kori L. Carothers "KoriLinae" (Orange County, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
I have a 7 year old daughter and wanted to lay a foundation of a language for her. So, we bought this book. She actually pulls this book out and wants to learn more about Latin. We enjoy the stories that go along with it! We like history as well, and it delves into the Roman culture at that time! Purchase it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mus sum, Feb. 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
This is a delightful introduction to Latin for the younger set. Engaging, but not trivalizing, it managed to lead children into an understanding of Latin without overburdening them. It's also a fine source of background on Roman culture, and chock full of good stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Minimus is a maximus..., March 19 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin (Paperback)
This is the most enjoyable little book to get the kids into Latin for the first time. If you tought Latin is as dead as the dodo, you may have to thing again.It is a rigorous mind structuring discipline, and is the basis to really understand a very substancial part of the English language(and many others).The naive illustrations on the comic strips of the book are superb.Besides, the renaissance work that lies behind this book is a remarkable feat of culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin
Minimus Pupil's Book: Starting out in Latin by Barbara Bell (Paperback - Jan. 28 2000)
CDN$ 28.95 CDN$ 23.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews