Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Price:$34.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 16, 2003
Open the first page to Minimus, read the cartoons, and immediately feel as if you have conquered Latin! Having had no Latin background, I was intimidated to begin teaching my challenging 12 year old. Despite any initial apprehension, my daughter took to the book without fear. The clear colors in the illustrations aren't overwhelming to the text, and the humor is evident immediately. I did think that the text type made "l" and "i" a tad hard to differentiate. My daughter already claims to have learned quite a bit, even with just a few lessons. The other day while having lunch, she asked me a Latin grammar question! Now that is a book I like.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 13, 2003
I am a Latin teacher, grades 5 through 12. This is by far the best thing available for elementary students to use in learning Latin, The cartoons are well-designed and increase gradually in difficulty. My elementary students are able to trannslate the first story without any previoius Latin instruction. Grammar sections reinforce common English grammar concepts, like nouns, adjectives, and verbs. Culture of Roman Britain, as well as a soldier's life, is presented. Kids quickly become fond of the main character, Minimus the mouse. Classical roots to difficult English words, like patriarchal and infantile, are covered. Students are able to progress from Minimus to higher foreign language easily.
Parents without a Latin background, might want to obtain the teacher's book, which contains all the answers to the student book as well as reproducible masters for additional activities, suggestions for learning games and activities, and even a Roman recipe. The ISBN for the Teacher's Resource Book is 0-521-65961-2.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2003
Introduced into Latin & then onto the Mediaeval in order to be able to translate ancient documents it is thought that every child should have the opportunity to do so. Finding in Amazon Books this splendid publication which gives children that knowledge & learning something about our ancient past. ROME.From this language although it is uncertain how in fact the Romans did speak helps with other languages & the English Grammar. Just thrilled with this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2000
This is the most enjoyable little book to get the kids into Latin for the first time. If you tought Latin is as dead as the dodo, you may have to thing again.It is a rigorous mind structuring discipline, and is the basis to really understand a very substancial part of the English language(and many others).The naive illustrations on the comic strips of the book are superb.Besides, the renaissance work that lies behind this book is a remarkable feat of culture.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2002
This is an excellent start for children to begin building a foundation for many languages. The cartoons, and other illustrations catch their attention, and the short, but very informative stories keep it. Not only do they learn things about their own homes and families, but they get a taste of the larger world out there to discover.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2001
I have a 7 year old daughter and wanted to lay a foundation of a language for her. So, we bought this book. She actually pulls this book out and wants to learn more about Latin. We enjoy the stories that go along with it! We like history as well, and it delves into the Roman culture at that time! Purchase it and enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2003
Salvete Omnes
Hello everyone
This book is a great way to learn Latin. There are comics that help you with Latin dialogue, and there are also activities that help your vocabulary. The book is kind of easy though and is better for ages five through ten. By the way, Minimus Secundus is coming out soon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2001
This is a delightful introduction to Latin for the younger set. Engaging, but not trivalizing, it managed to lead children into an understanding of Latin without overburdening them. It's also a fine source of background on Roman culture, and chock full of good stories.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
I started this book with my daughter (who just turned ten), and she loves it. It's a good balance of history and grammar. I have a B.A. in Classics, and I took the Cambridge course in High School. I would definitely recommend this series for younger kids.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin
Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin by Barbara Bell (Paperback - April 26 2004)
CDN$ 34.95