Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good as an introductory survey type book
This book summarizes the high points of what in past years would have been at least 50% of the course work for obtaining a BSEE. As a result of compressing this information into a single volume, the coverage is superficial and only presents results and not derivations. This is a good first book on the subject and will get you oriented so that reading more detailed books...
Published on Sept. 12 2002 by it

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special !
This is a mediocre book, there are other books in the market
which are just as good or better, I am suprised by the 5 stars
rating on this book...
So, I am leaving this review here to caution future
buyers: Don't be lured by the rating, I am in RFIC design and
I have this book but I haven't use this book for more than a
year now, it justs...
Published on Nov. 12 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very good as an introductory survey type book, Sept. 12 2002
By 
it (Sunnyvale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This book summarizes the high points of what in past years would have been at least 50% of the course work for obtaining a BSEE. As a result of compressing this information into a single volume, the coverage is superficial and only presents results and not derivations. This is a good first book on the subject and will get you oriented so that reading more detailed books will be easier. There are errors that are easily spotted, such as a passive mixer with more output signal power than input power. The author sets up straw men by misconstruing conventional wisdom and shows how he has found the true light. After reading this book you should have the technical skill level of what in past years would be an advanced level amateur radio hobbyist or middle level electronic technician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to CMOS RF Design, Feb. 10 2000
By A Customer
Possibly the most well-written book on CMOS design I have ever read. Relaxed, readable style and an emphasis on core ideas and rule-of-thumb design rules, makes this an extremely useful practical guide, as well as a great introduction to a complex topic. Some excellent advanced material on oscillator design too. I particularly liked the first and last chapters giving a history of radio design - very interesting background. I think the best compliment I can give this book is that I found it difficult to put down - for a circuits textbook, that is truly an incredible achievement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first chapter alone is worth the money., May 22 2001
By 
Darrin Taylor (Loma Linda, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
The first chapter of this book gives a history of radio design with schematics. The cmos portion gives a good coverage of RF components, smith charts, CMOS inductors, Bandwidth estimation techniques etc. More an RF issues book than a cmos layout book with almost all layout examples being single components. This is an excellent single issue book focused on Radio design specifically CMOS radio design. Those looking for a book focused on CMOS design should buy this book in addition to another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Cookbook, March 5 2004
By A Customer
In regards to the first edition. This book is not a cookbook for design, but more an introductory "textbook", which follows with end of chapter problems. Although, it IS very useful for design. The chapters introducing noise and LNA's are excellent. Good chapters on RF PA'S ,Feedback, and PLL's. It is pretty widely known to be a must have in this subject area. The analysis pushes the envelope and is cutting edge for its time to paper. Look forward to checking out the 2nd edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a treasure, June 24 2000
It was sheer pleasure reading this book, its insightful and practical - particularly the sections on history of some of the inventions. The writer comes out as a master and a guru with lot of enthusiasm about the subject. Another book I considered insightful reading was 'Art of Electronis' by Hayes. I would request readers to point out similarly well-written books so that we could all benefit from these treasures. Again my hats off to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easiest reading from a textbook I've ever had., Feb. 24 2009
By 
Paul Coutts "Paul" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Design of CMOS Radio-Frequency Integrated Circuits (Hardcover)
Dr. Lee actually makes theory easy to read. I've been using the book as a reference for my RF-CMOS course and his methodology clarifies everything beautifully. His wit and humour make the subject matter easy to bear.

I gave the book four stars because it could be improved by adding some colour to the pages and some more descriptive figures. On the whole it is a great book for someone who is just getting started in RF-CMOS and wants a clear text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special !, Nov. 12 2003
By A Customer
This is a mediocre book, there are other books in the market
which are just as good or better, I am suprised by the 5 stars
rating on this book...
So, I am leaving this review here to caution future
buyers: Don't be lured by the rating, I am in RFIC design and
I have this book but I haven't use this book for more than a
year now, it justs sits in my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Text of limited value, Oct. 28 2001
By 
"lv_dean" (Chandler, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This book presents the material in a conversational manner. The strength of this book is that it includes many important, rarely discussed topics. It also contains an interesting history of Radio Frequency Circuits. However it needs more examples and a more extensive listing of its references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A required arrow for any technical quiver, July 3 2000
By 
Vince & Wendy (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
This book is the best written, light hearted, and historically accurate rendition of CMOS design.
Very easy reading that is peppered with little factoids and anecdotes.
Look for the footnotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, Jan. 6 2000
By A Customer
Thomas H. Lee has assembled one of the easiest and most enjoyable books to read on the topic of CMOS RF Design. A "cut to the chase" book for folks who wish to gain a working knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Design of CMOS Radio-Frequency Integrated Circuits
The Design of CMOS Radio-Frequency Integrated Circuits by Thomas H. Lee (Hardcover - Dec 22 2003)
CDN$ 111.95 CDN$ 89.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews