Customer Reviews


2,860 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,711)
4 star:
 (297)
3 star:
 (95)
2 star:
 (81)
1 star:
 (676)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A work to inspire debate
The best thing one could wish for about this book - and I'm sure Al Franken will agree with this - is that it inspire debate. And, with 2,847 reviews here and counting, I think it's clear that "Lies..." has done the job.
I've been a fan of Al Franken's brand of humor since his first appearances on SNL with partner Tom Davis (by the way, whatever happened to...
Published on July 10 2004 by Andy Orrock

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No lies, but plenty self-serving
Al Franken is a funny man, as he has proven in a couple of decades of writing for "Saturday Night Live." And because some of the same right-wing celebrities raise as many hackles on him as they do on me, I wanted very much to like Franken's new book.
But Franken's "Lies And the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right".. is as repetitive and...
Published on Sept. 2 2003 by Steven Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A work to inspire debate, July 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right (Hardcover)
The best thing one could wish for about this book - and I'm sure Al Franken will agree with this - is that it inspire debate. And, with 2,847 reviews here and counting, I think it's clear that "Lies..." has done the job.
I've been a fan of Al Franken's brand of humor since his first appearances on SNL with partner Tom Davis (by the way, whatever happened to Tom Davis?), the 'Al Franken Decade' and then - after a hiatus - his return to the show which included, among other things, some dead-on impersonations of politicians like Paul Simon ("It's the bow tie, right?") and Pat Robertson. It's clear Franken has a political jones that won't go away.
Regardless of your political stripe, you've got to give Franken credit for the work that went into this book: marshalling a team of 14 over a two-year period, this is no hack, slap-and-paste effort. Definiitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Franken Hits Them Where it Should Hurt, Sept. 14 2003
This review is from: Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right (Hardcover)
This is a deliciously funny, and factually documented, puncturing of all the big right wing gas bags who dominate cable TV and, unfortunately, our politics in these debased times. Sure, Al is often shrill and sometimes profane but he backs up his outraged views with facts unlike the bull spouted by Coulter, O'Reilly, Hannity and their ilk. And, he does it entertainingly, though I'm sure it will go over the heads of a lot of the wing nuts he's aiming at. A real eye-opener for those who don't know what the fuss is about, too. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's about the lies, Sept. 5 2003
By 
"canoepad" (Rye, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right (Hardcover)
Every true American patriot should read Al Franken's most recent book. Honest, informed debate is the cornerstone of a healthy democracy. "Lies and the Lying Liars who Tell Them" opens the window to allow the fresh air of truth into public discussion. The book is not about conservative versus liberal. It is primarily about absolutes: lies and truths. A conservative like John McCain would find Franken's book to be a welcome bit of honesty given the current media climate. Many Americans have been misled to think that broadcast journalism is some hodgepodge of entertainment, opinions, selective man-on-the-street interviews, and slivers of facts delivered by videogenic models with the personalities of malicious frat boys. Mr. Franken's book dissects the "lie machine" and it is about time. Fortunately, the sales indicate it's not too late for truth reclamation. I do regret that Mr. Franken did not include the chapter he was working on about how chummy the Bushes are with the bin Ladens. One more thing - it's very, very funny. I am quite grateful that Mr. Franken did not follow in the footsteps of his fellow Lampoon alums, content to change nothing in the world, collecting checks to write unproduced scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No lies, but plenty self-serving, Sept. 2 2003
By 
Steven Bailey "Cinemaven" (Jacksonville Beach, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right (Hardcover)
Al Franken is a funny man, as he has proven in a couple of decades of writing for "Saturday Night Live." And because some of the same right-wing celebrities raise as many hackles on him as they do on me, I wanted very much to like Franken's new book.
But Franken's "Lies And the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right".. is as repetitive and unwieldly as its title. The book, in fact, gained some undue publicity because of that title. Fox News recently tried to sue Franken for using the words "fair and balanced," claiming that they had copyrighted those words as a trademark for their news broadcast. Franken, almost literally, laughed the case out of court.
However, that's one of the few genuine laughs the book earns. Franken tries hard--a bit too hard, at times--to humorously point out many of the distortions made by notable conservatives to support their beliefs. Franken doesn't pick on insignificant targets, either--his grouping of "The Right" includes Rush Limbaugh, Fox News' Bill O'Reilly (on whom he spends an inordinate amount of time), and the current President and Vice-President, among many others.
Based on the many inconsistencies documented here, Franken could have presented them straightforwardly and had quite a case. But there are two big problems with Franken's style. First, his intended humor is writ very large, as evidenced in the book's title. It isn't enough for Franken to present a point comedically--he has to repeat it and beat it to death, like a combination of Dennis Miller and Mel Brooks.
The second problem is that Franken appears to have as self-serving of an agenda as the people he tries to satirize. Throughout the book, he continuously refers to his careers as an "SNL" writer (at one point describing a '70s sketch he wrote that has nothing to do with the subject at hand) and as a "comedian" for corporate presentations. After a while, it starts to sound like Bob Hope complaining about the generals who hired him to do USO shows.
The book isn't painful to read, and some of its barbs are well-deserved. But if Franken had taken most of his overworked satire out of the book, it would have been half as long and twice as readable. As it stands, "Lies" is very difficult to take (you should pardon the expression) seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to read, Aug. 26 2003
By 
Dataviz (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right (Hardcover)
Too few people would read a book that did nothing but expose some of the shamelessly dishonest liars in the right-wing media and the current administration. But a lot of people are going to read this one because it is funny, too. The book does nothing major, just takes the time to examine statements, compare them to facts, and demonstrate falsehoods in the author's relentlessly amusing fashion. My appreciation to Al Franken and I wish we had more like him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, July 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right (Hardcover)
A hilarious look at the right wing neo-conservatives in America. Blunt and well cited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Has an Opinion, Sept. 3 2003
By 
Larry Sellers (Lake County, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right (Hardcover)
Al Franken uses his first amendment right in his book "Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right." If you're use to the usual political drivel which spews from Franken, funny, insightful drivel that is, you will surely appreciate his thoughts on current world topics and those who have created them.
Ultimately, this book is typical of the genre and not ground-breaking in any way. Fans will sheepishly agree on Franken's revelations of the "truth." Meanwhile, rightys will argue against the pretentious foundation of his statements. As a bonus, he manages to keep Stuart Smalley references to a tolerable 28 pages - just kidding, Al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty funny, Dec 20 2011
I'd probably have liked it more if I had watched fox news...everday from 1998 through 2004, otherwise a funny read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, May 19 2010
Very Good! Fun! Also look to ArtisanPacificPublishing Website for more Political Humour. Beaver Tales and a Canada Goosing George and Condi: The Last Decayed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best America has to offer, May 24 2006
By 
D. McIntosh (medicine hat, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right (Hardcover)
Love this guy-love his book. Loved him on SNL and actually got his autograph once! Okay, I'm a moderate, so get on that "sides" issue, but this is one great book. BUT, Franken does back up his assertions with hard evidence, so what can you do? Heck, he persuaded me. And the book is funny and knowing, like the writings of Pynchon or Jackson McCrae (Katzenjammer) or even some Vonnegut. But mostly, it is informative and from a dry-witted, highly intelligent guy who will convince you that he's right! Must highly recommend McCrae's "Katzenjammer" for those who are into Franken's sense of humor.A well-educated man, a great comedian, and a great writer. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews