summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars1,221
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$31.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 9, 2013
In case this is your first encounter with this book, It is a fresh story but a continuation to Ayn Rand's philosophy that started out with books like "We the living" where she new something was wrong but could not put her finger on it. She progressed to books as "The Fountainhead" where she could describe the problem quite well. Now in "Atlas Shrugged she has come up with a plausible answer to the problem. In essence your head can work without your hands yet your hands can not work without your head.

The story is not unique but it still holds you attention. The world is becoming more socialized and it is harder for individuals to make an impact without having a multitude of parasites on their back. Some chose to fight, others chose to ignore; some do not have a clue as to what is happening. The world seems to be gearing down is just coincidence or is there some one taking a hand in it. "Who is John Galt?"

I can tell you of my experience with the book. I must have been a late bloomer or just unlucky, because I did not come across "Atlas shrugged" until I was 20 years old. I was in the military and needed some reading material. My younger sister sent me the book. It looks just a little thick to me but I started reading, and reading and reading. I do not know if it was the story or the clarity of thought. Now I saw everything in a new or different light. It felt weird to see the newspapers and politics paralleling the book.

I was in New York (West Point) at the time and three things stood out to this day. This was a public service announcement on the TV "The law says that an apartment owner can not charge more than 30% of what you make" and at the same time the apartment buildings were closing down. The postal carriers went on strike and the military had to deliver the mail. That winter the snowplow drivers went on strike. When the strike was over the snowplows were missing. They found them the next summer in an empty lot.

There is nothing quite as convincing as watching the world and book parallel each other. I have mellowed out some lately. However, I really think that this book should be read by high school age where it would have maximum impact of one's train of thought.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2004
Well this is a 1000 page novel that could easily have been 300. You know from the backcover of the novel all that will happen up to page 650, and you can guess the end from there.
Rand's voice and idea that collectivism was more brutal and inhuman than competition is interesting and valid, but I wonder why she tried to masquerade what is clearly a political manifesto behind a character story. Her characters are horrible from any artistic standpoint, they are inhuman themselves. The novel's view of humanity seems to be that you are either a useless, whining slob or a perfect independent specimen (note how all "bad" people are ugly, and usually fat). No middle. By the way I would love to hear one historical example of a genius inventor/administrator/financier/etc that Rand makes some 50 characters into. I can only assume she meant the story to be an allegory, but it is far to long for an allegory; and far to inhuman for a novel.
Even thought I agree in many aspects with Rand's thought I would truly wish for the novel to be more compact and less repetitious. This could truly have been another 1984 if it were 300 pages long instead.
The most excruciating moments of the novel seem to be when her superficial idealized (or demonized) characters discuss love or try to have an emotion. Other than that the ideas of truly meritocratic system of values is interesting (specially coming from the 50s), and for all its failed characterization the prose moves at a reasonable speed (although it goes nowhere at a reasonable speed most of the time). Sadly the fact that some comments on Amazon mention the "lack of a moral system" indicates how perhaps even 1000 pages of discussion wasn't enough to penetrate some pre-conceived ideas which she wished to challenge.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
For a book that was published in the 1950's, it is amazing how relevant it is today. A story of what happens when individuals become government property and other peoples' money runs out. A battle of individual importance over the elitist power base.

There's a reason this book keeps showing up on the bestseller list decade after decade.

Bonus: if you want to drive your Lefty friends nuts leave a copy on your coffee table for them to spot. They absolutely become unhinged knowing there is a book where capitalists are the heroes and the government and the politically correct are the villains. Watch for their minds to slam shut as they run off at the mouth about the book.

The book makes progressives nuts as it takes apart their value system - piece by piece. There aren't many books out there like this one.

Warning: plenty of monologues.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2016
the one drawback to this novel is that it is overlong at 1074 pages but for those who have never read ayn rand or know her philosophy it is a must read. Much more than the fountainhead this is essential rand where she details much of her philosophy in the following pages in the novel but there is also a story here apart from her philosophy and the book is infused with good characters. There is dagny the female industrialist working in a mans world as an executive her brother jim taggart the industrialist hank reardon and francis d'ancona all make this a fascinating read and its hard to put down the novel.

The novel is interesting for the story it tells of the collapse of the u.s. and the western world even though it is one that never came close to coming true but in the following pages despite the collapse rand also details her conservative and atheist philosophy. None of the characters are close to being religious in any sense of the term and they are all irreligious and secularized all the characters but none but rand is well known as a proponent of her conservative philosophy and that is detailed in amazing depth in the following pages in the novel. There are so few socratic type novels which detail the ideas of conservatism so rand is important to read since there is so much writing written from the left its good to hear once in a while a writer coming from the right and even though its too bad there are no religious figures or sympathy for religion in the novel its good to read a novel which comes from the far right of the political spectrum its too bad the book is padded and overlong but its never ponderous and is a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2004
Atlas Shrugged, by Ayn Rand, presents a story about the struggle between good and evil. In doing so, an entire philosophy about business and life is developed. This philosophy teaches that the mind is the ultimate tool and power of civilization, and that reason is the world's only constant. Economics especially is highlighted by these ideas. Rational self interest and the pursuit of success are shown to be the only way people can achieve happiness. Rand uses brilliant, motivated industrialists as her protagonists in order to show the evils of charity and collectivism. Her book succeeds in getting across her points because of the way she employs logic, reason and intelligence into her characters and their actions.
Who is John Galt? This strange question eventually comes to represent the central themes and events in this incredible book. Atlas Shrugged is mystery about the significance of this phrase and what it truly means. Telling the story of a railroad tycoon, a steel industrialist, an overly wealthy playboy, and several other characters, this book shows how they all play a part in the unraveling of the mystery.
Many of the ideas presented by Atlas Shrugged focus on the central importance of the mind in human civilization. The protagonist of the book is Dagny Taggert, a young, brilliant railroad owner who succeeds because of the way she overcomes her problems through rational thought. Most of the other main characters are also extremely intelligent businessmen who have gained their place in life because of the way they use their minds. These characters are contrasted by the "looters", people who expect to be carried by the successful people and seek moral sympathy because of their positions in life. In one passage Rand writes, "Money is not the tool of the moochers, who claim your product by tears, or of the looters, who take it from you by force. Money is made possible only by the men who produce(806). This is shown by Rand as the only real evil of the world. Rand's ideas of the difference between right and wrong is very black and white in this book. Characters are either good or they are bad and this judgment is usually based on how they use their minds. This sharp contrast is helpful in the book because it makes the ideas presented clearer, however it also makes it seem a bit less realistic. Overall the book does well at showing that the mind is the most important aspect and also the driving force behind civilization.
Rand's economic principles shine through very brightly in Atlas Shrugged. Capitalism and free trade are shown as the tools of success and happiness. Many of her ideas about how people should act towards themselves and others in dealing with money are also explained through the story. Charity is viewed as evil and degrading. In one point in the book, Rearden, an extremely successful industrialist, is asked by his mother if he will give his incompetent younger brother a job, just because he is his brother. Rearden then says, "Are you asking me to stage a fraud of that kind? I don't know what it is that you call morality. If I gave Philip a job, I wouldn't be able to face any competent man who needed work and deserved it(196-197)." In this book, personal achievement and self-interest are stressed as the right way to live while thinking of or giving to others is viewed as the root of evil. John Galt says at one point, "I swear by my life and my love of it that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine(622). Rand believes people have no obligation towards others, except to not impede on their rights of free will and self interest. In this way, selfish behavior is shown as a virtue, while giving to the undeserving is blamed as the source of many of society's problems. This idea is very different from what is normally taught and its uniqueness makes it interesting. Even though it may go against certain beliefs and moral values, the teachings of this book are hard not to share because of the reason and intelligence that Rand gives them.
Atlas Shrugged is well worth reading, even at 1100 pages, because of its intelligence and unique outlook on life. Everything in this book makes sense and is logical, even if you don't agree with it. Views and opinions are explained and backed up using the story as a guide. The way this book is written does not allow for someone to be neutral on what is put forth. Either you agree strongly with what is being said or you disagree strongly. Either way, Rand's writing is gripping and interesting. It forces you to think about what she is saying and form your own opinion about it. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something that will make them use their intelligence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2004
Wow, this is nasty! I have to admire a writer passionate enough to say what she really believes, with absolutely no consideration for political correctness or intellectual fads. It reminds you that there was once a time when it was OK to create dialogue with offense. It's crude, but it's fascinating. Now, you'll hate this book if you think the term 'conservative intellectual' is an oxymoron. That's basically it in a nutshell. If you think that, by definition, intellectuals MUST be open-minded, politically-correct, liberals you're gonna hate this. It's none of those things. If you can look beyond the fact that polemical writing is a legitimate literary device used by many of the world's finest writers and not just by 'pop philosphers', you may actually get something from this book. I challenge you to ignore the hackneyed claim from many a review that Rand is nothing more than a philosopher for teenagers and really THINK about what she is saying. You may find that it's possible to be conservative AND intellectual too, God forbid.
And if you like this book, you'll also like the more arcane and subtle Czeslaw Milosz work called THE CAPTIVE MIND.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2004
I first read Atlas Shrugged 42 years ago, and have read it 4 or 5 times more over the decades following. I found it to be a powerful influence on my life, probably more than any single other book I have read.
I recognize as well as anyone its shortcomings and imperfections, but see through them to a powerful message that has been a rock for me. It is something like this: the world is real, and your ideas about how it functions matter, and influence the sort of life you will live. That heroes, producers and achievers are more worthy of admiration than victims; that moochers and mystics, quacks and charlatans are only to be scorned; that to believe in the salvation of a sky god is nothing but superstition; that a hard-headed, objective point of view is superior to a fuzzy sentimentality and that hard work is a virtue that eventually leads to a better life than one that concentrates on satisfying the whims and indulgences of the moment.
While Ayn Rand's prose style never approaches that of another hero of mine, H. L. Mencken, it is certainly respectable enough to produce a novel of great originality and is, for many people, very difficult to put down once well started. It is well suited to her primary goal to communicate a coherent world view, an epistemology, and a derived ethic that can actually be lived. A mathematician struggling after a theorem hardly uses humor as a tool, and Rand has no room here for it either.
As for Rand's analysis of Capitalism, I find it superior to Marx's. But I know that economics is complicated, and hardly a science yet, so her appreciation of the laissez faire variety is probably a bit of an oversimplification. And a naive libertarianism, much influenced by her objectivism, while hardly sweeping the world for now, has something to contribute too. Her biggest failure to me, though, is the problem of race, which she never discusses. It is no easy task to apply her approach to such a difficult problem, and I am not aware of any. The alternative basis in a hard-headed sociobiology, though, would probably have been quite comfortable for her, had it been available then.
Rand's message is powerful and a positive contribution to the progress of the world. Take a look--I doubt you will be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2004
This book is about people who love to think and create useful ideas and processes. They decide to go on strike because they are tired of being used and attacked for being alive. Moochers, thieves, governments, and other looters go crazy and lose out in this story.
Prior to reading this book the first time (I've re-read some passage 2,3 or more times), I had always found myself with few people worthy of my full friendship and value. After reading this a couple of years ago, I finally knew what kind of people I prefer to deal with. This is not some book that will do anything to you at all. It may spark your mind or piss you off. Had I read this in middle school or high school, it would have little effect on me. Of hundreds of books read, this one made the biggest influence (that includes the Bible).
To not deal with heroes of the story allowing contradictions, was great. You will most likely enjoy this book if you have problems with any of the following: welfare, taxes, loss of freedom, increased powers of police, increased power of government, democracy (U.S. is NOT a democracy), helping the needy, liberalism, use of force (not in defense), non-thinkers, the U.N., censorship, liberal arts, cultural supremecy, and those that say there is no "right" or "wrong".
If you hate rich people, businesses, those that disrespect nature, and hate people that are greedy. If you think we should all love and/or serve others, repent, follow a higher power, give more to the "unfortunate". If you are any of those just mentioned, don't waste your money, you will hate it. Don't buy it because it will make your brain hurt.
This book helped me realize a couple of important things: I have a right be happy. I have a purpose. I will pursue my goals and dreams to make as much money as I can earn from my ability. I am, therefore I think. Best of luck to you all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2004
There are two books everyone should be required to read in their lifetime: "The Fountainhead" and "Atlas Shrugged." Both are eye-openers and there's no way you can experience these two books and not have them change your life. While "Fountainhead" is a much easier read and shorter, "Atlas" is by far the better book. The thing that most amazes me about "Atlas" is that I read it when I was twenty and it changed my life, then I re-read it at thirty and it did the same thing again (in a different way). But the sad part is that life in America, or anywhere for that matter, hasn't changed very much since Rand put pen to paper and created this masterpiece.
This is not a quick easy read, but do yourself a favor and try to get through this book. It's more than just temporary brain candy--it's food for thought for the rest of your life.
Also recommended: Steinbecks "East of Eden," and McCrae's "Bark of the Dogwood."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2004
I have to respond to a reviewer a few places below on the page. First of all, ending the review with "Go Howard Dean!" shows that you had no interest in writing a review but only in championing a politician. Then you give advice to Rand for when she writes her next novel. Rand is dead; Atlas Shrugged was written in the 50's. Finally, why should Rand include God and family on her novels? Atheism was one of the core tenets of her philosophy. You may not agree with her, but why should she have included something which she clearly states in her philosophy is something she rejects?
That said, I did enjoy this book. It shows the logical extension of liberalism that could occur if it were allowed to flourish to its conclusion. This book and The Fountainhead were the two reasons that my political idealogy changed from that of a liberal to a libertarian. For a thought-provoking book that might challenge your beliefs, in addition to an excellent story with gripping characters, read Atlas Shurgged. Although I give it 5 stars, I must voice the most common complaint against Rand's writing. Her characters, with very few exceptions, are black and white. People are either all good or all bad, and while I enjoyed her capitalistic politics, I disagreed with her A is A, B is B "rational" explanation for all things. She attemps to justify this part of her philosophy by making the characters extremes, so much so that they hardly seem human.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse