Customer Reviews


1,195 Reviews
5 star:
 (701)
4 star:
 (160)
3 star:
 (99)
2 star:
 (95)
1 star:
 (140)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This book made an impact on me!
In case this is your first encounter with this book, It is a fresh story but a continuation to Ayn Rand's philosophy that started out with books like "We the living" where she new something was wrong but could not put her finger on it. She progressed to books as "The Fountainhead" where she could describe the problem quite well. Now in "Atlas Shrugged she has come up with...
Published on Nov. 23 2006 by bernie

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy another edition of this book
This edition of the book is not too great. The font is too small and the pages are hard to open, so I would recommend buying another version of the book.
Published on May 25 2012 by mdimitro


‹ Previous | 1 2120 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy another edition of this book, May 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This edition of the book is not too great. The font is too small and the pages are hard to open, so I would recommend buying another version of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book made an impact on me!, Nov. 23 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Atlas Shrugged (Hardcover)
In case this is your first encounter with this book, It is a fresh story but a continuation to Ayn Rand's philosophy that started out with books like "We the living" where she new something was wrong but could not put her finger on it. She progressed to books as "The Fountainhead" where she could describe the problem quite well. Now in "Atlas Shrugged she has come up with a plausible answer to the problem. In essence your head can work without your hands yet your hands can not work without your head.

The story is not unique but it still holds you attention. The world is becoming more socialized and it is harder for individuals to make an impact without having a multitude of parasites on their back. Some chose to fight, others chose to ignore, some do not have a clue as to what is happening. The world seems to be gearing down is just coincidence or is there some one taking a hand in it. "Who is John Galt?"

I can tell you of my experience with the book. I must have been a late bloomer or just unlucky, because I did not come across "Atlas shrugged" until I was 20 years old. I was in the military and needed some reading material. My younger sister sent me the book. It looks just a little thick to me but I started reading, and reading and reading. I do not know if it was the story or the clarity of thought. Now I saw everything in a new or different light. It felt weird to see the newspapers and politics paralleling the book.

I was in New York (West Point) at the time and three things stood out to this day. The was a public service announcement on the TV "The law says that an apartment owner can not charge more than 30% of what you make" and at the same time the apartment buildings were closing down. The postal carriers went on strike and the military had to deliver the mail. That winter the snowplow drivers went on strike. When the strike was over the snowplows were missing. They found them the next summer in an empty lot.

There is nothing quite as convincing as watching the world and book parallel. I have mellowed out some sense then. However, I really think that this book should be read by high school where it would have maximum impact of one's train of thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who is John Galt?, June 21 2004
By A Customer
Is he a destroyer or a liberator?
Why does her have to fight his battle not against his enemies but against those who need him most? Why does he fight his hardest battle against the woman he loves?
You will know the answers to these questions when you discover the reason behind the baffling events that play havoc witht he lives of the amazing men and woman in this remarkable book, Atlas Shrugged by renowned author Ayn Rand. You will discover why a productive genious becomes a worthless playboy. Why a great steel industrialist is working for his own dstruction...why a composer gives up his career on the night of his triumph...why a beautiful woman who runs a transcontinental railaroad falls in love with the man she has sworn to kill.
Now a modern classic, Atlas Shrugged offers the reader the spectacle of human greatness, depicted with all the poetry and power of one of the twentieth centuries leading artists.
Atlas Shrugged is the astounding story of a man who said he would stop the motor of the world and did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to believe that this is a novel, June 18 2004
By A Customer
Nearly 1100 pages long, Atlas Shrugged flows like a 100 page book. I found this great book by Ayn Rand to be an absolutely delightful read. In fact I couldn't put it down.
After reading all of the sub 5 star reviews from people who obviously never read the book, I thought I would interject my own thoughts and subit a review.
Although a book about economics, Atlas Shrugged i s written in the form of a novel. This nearly 1100 page classic expertly demonstrates why capitolism is the system most beneficial to all people, rich and poor alike; and how punishing those individuals who are responsible for creating wealth (through burdomsome taxation and government regulation) can bring the economy, and the entire country, to a standstill (take a look at what happened to the American economy after Clintons tax hike, the biggest tax hike in history)
Atlas Shrugged is must reading for anyone who wants to uncover the truth about creating wealth and what forces can be used to slow down or impede that growth. Atlas Shrugged is a favorite book among the most financially successful people that I know.
This 40+ year old classic by Ayn Rand is must reading for all entrepreneurs and wealth builders. Read it, use it and profit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rand's philosophy is shown right on this review page., June 16 2004
By A Customer
Warning: Those of you who haven't read this book yet will have no idea what I'm talking about below - I encourage you to read the book and think about which type of person you are.
I think Ayn Rand would laugh pretty hard if she read these reviews. No offense to those of you who did not enjoy this book, but in reading many of the reviews on this page, it seems to me that we have a few John Galts and many James Taggarts, right here on this webpage. That in itself proves that Rand is right about the people of the world - there really are two types (three if you separate the looters from the moochers), and there's no changing which one you are.
The people who love Ayn Rand's work are the ones that drive the world and who understand the loneliness of being a John Galt or a Howard Roarke in a world full of people who want to tear them down for having the audacity to take pride in work well done. I suspect the people who hate her work or say they "don't get it", hate it PRECISELY because they DON'T see those characters in themselves - instead, what they see in themselves is a Lillian Rearden, or a James Taggart - any or all of those other characters - and they despise Rand for rubbing their noses in it. How fabulous.
Even if you agree with it, Ayn Rand's books and philosophy won't change your life. But it might just validate the feelings you've had about the world but couldn't put into words. That's what her work did for me. And at it's very least, it's encouraging to know that there are others out there like us, however rare we are.
- A Dagny Taggart wannabe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book by Ayn Rand, June 14 2004
By A Customer
This book was a hard book for me to read and fully appreciate. Having been brought up in an Italian, Catholic and Democrat family, I was brought up with all of the misconceptions about wealth and money.
"Money is the root of all evil." My parents would say. But funny how tightly they held on to it! Even as a child I felt that something was wrong. The first reference I got was from our Priest who clarified that terrible misquote from the Bible and said "the love of money is the root of all evil."
None the less Rands book seemed too capitalistic to a smalltown boy like me. I was introduced to this book in high school and had a hard time accepting it's contents.
In fact, I had to read it several times to understand it so deep were the roots of democrat, small town thinking.
Even though Atlas shrugged is a novel, I am continually impressed by the quality of people that I have met who have achieved high levels of wealth and recommend this book.
It is a bit of a hard slog, read a few pages per day. Evenif it takes several weeks. It will be worth it. As an aside, I also recommend the tapes to play in your car. Beats listening to murders, robberies or democrat commercials.
Al in all, this is a great book and tape set. Highly recommended. By the way, my Priest now recomends this book as well. Nothing evil about money. Thank you Ayn Rand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Misunderstood Masterpiece, June 6 2004
ayn rand beseeches us to acknolowedge our duty to engage the modern material svadharma (not in these words). 'atlas shrugged' illustrates the dangers of rampant apathy, or wantonly misplaced idealism (on the part of the masses) in the midst of catastrophic collective illusion.
she conveys the very nature of compassion; and it's not flowers for all (not yet!). the protagonists are modern arjunas. in today's world, maybe it's not possible without revolutionary change -- the essence is too diluted. this is a new scenario, that goes further by proposing a plausible contemporary social modus operandi. (where can i meet dagny?!)
an epic hyperbole, every word has its place. the thrilling pace devours itself (my first read took less than 1 week). so relax, and let her take you on a trip. written from 1946-1957, this is a utopian, salt-of-the-earth 1984 -- without big brother. it purports a means, not an end. the individual must incorporate, improvise, and reflect upon the possibilities of capitalism if its citizens totally embodied thee greater good.
currency represents potential in material form. any 'spritiual' society has 'jobs.' what wonderful opportunity to do good with that! this is the author's challenge to each of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE OF LIES, May 13 2004
This review is from: Atlas Shrugged (Hardcover)
An old lie about this novel is cropping up again in some of the reviews below, and readers considering whether or not to buy and read *Atlas Shrugged* should not be fooled by this lie.
Critics who don't like the novel's politics charge that the author (Ayn Rand) was, in this novel, advocating the murder of her opponents. This is the reverse of the truth - a "Big Lie" on the scale of a Goebbels whopper.
Here's an example. One reviewer writes that in *Atlas Shrugged* "the bulk of the human race [is murdered] so that an ultra-talented, atheistic cabal can inherit the world." He then speaks of "the resultant society of mass-murderers."
The truth is that the novel shows its heroes persecuted for years by statists - fascist/communist types who destroy freedom at the point of a gun and send the country (and the world) down the drain. In response, the heroes do no violence to the villains. They don't lift a hand against them. Instead, they withdraw to a secret valley where they can no longer be harmed. As a result, their talents are no longer available for the villains to take advantange of and the villains' society and government collapses. (The resulting state is described as being akin to the "chaos" of pre-industrial China.) Just after this happens, the heroes return to rebuild and their rights are better appreciated.
Now, to believe that this story is an advocacy of *murder* is the same as believing that standing up to crooks is "robbery." After all - this so-called argument runs - not allowing crooks to steal what you have is the same as taking it from them. If there were such a thing as vampires, the Vampire Lobby would holler that people who resisted them are guilty of "murder" - because vampires die without the blood they obtain by violence.
Bullies are deprived of "self-esteem" when their victims stand up to them. More power to the victims, I say.
Would you accuse the opponents of slavery in the 1800s of mass-murder for "trying to starve the South" - since cotton (which was picked by slaves) was the basis of the South's economy, and without slaves the economy would collapse and people would go hungry? Thought not.
The amazing irony of the lie about ~murder~ being told about *Atlas Shrugged* is that it's the novel's villains who are violent, coercive, murderering - while the heroes practice only non-violent resistance. In fact, the climax of the story is when the villains have the main hero strapped to a torture machine, trying to force him to join the government and become a dictator! (So that their government would be preserved.)
(One hero, Ragnar, does steal back what governments stole from the heroes, which involves gun battles at sea. But he is an exception among the heroes - and he places all the enemy crews in lifeboats before he destroys their ships!)
In short: the critics of *Atlas Shrugged* are accusing non-violent resisters of murder. The robbed are being called the robbers. The good are being called evil. That's why I call this lie a "Big Lie" - a lie so stupid it just might work. Don't let it work with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read classic, May 6 2004
By A Customer
As noted above, Atlas Shrugged is the "second most influential book for Americans today" after the Bible, according to a joint survey conducted by the Library of Congress and the Book of the Month Club, gives you a good starting reference on how enduring the story is, decades after publishing.
This is one of the few books I have ever read multiple times. The first couple times as just a great novel, then as societal commentary. So I guess both need to be addressed in a review.
As a novel: The story follows Dagny Taggart, executive of a railroad as she struggles, along with other achievers, to succeed while the bulk of the human race stands idle. Eventually, the achievers start disappearing and the resultant society of "looters" begins to fail on a grand scale, without a system of work ethics or morals to guide them.
Good character development in the leads, supporting characters are numerous and provide ideas and contrasts more than anything. Provides examination of complex issues, and raised a lot of thought provoking questions. The only downside to the book is the overly long speech by a lead character at the end, otherwise moves along quickly for its' size.
As a commentary on society: The storyline parallels today's America to a point, as we become more and more of a welfare state and a society of self-described victims who don't take personal responsibility for our choices to chain-smoke, overeat, etc, etc.
I recommend it as a novel, regardless of your take on the philosophical portion because it has a great epic storyline. An even more satisfying read if you are a self-starter or small-businessperson type who has dealt with government bureaucrats and assorted hangers-on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Gives a whole new meaning to the term 'heavy-handed', May 5 2004
By 
I have nothing to say for or against Rand's philosophy, but I have a lot to say against this book. There's unsubtle, there's undisguised propaganda, and then there's Atlas Shrugged.
I didn't think this before I picked up the book. Yes, from the beginning, the worldview is completley one-dimensional and Rand admits no possibilty of any other ideas having merit, but I had expected that from having reading The Fountainhead. There came a passage in the middle of the book, though, which just made me _stop_ and reread it a couple times. It describes a train wreck, caused, of course, by shoddy workmanship and laziness, in which all of the passengers on the train are killed. Rand as narrator says something like: "You may believe that victims of accidents have no responsibilty for their deaths. However, the passengers on this train..." and she goes on the list why some of the passengers on that train _deserved to die_, namely because they weren't proper objectivists.
Am I the only one who thinks that's just slightly objectionable?
I almost never get offended, and I'm not one to snap at authors for being insensitive or un-p.c.
But _holding accident victims responsible for their own deaths because of philosophical shortcomings_ seems to cross a line.
I found The Fountainhead readable (and I'm giving this book two stars instead of one) because of the sheer energy and conviction which Rand communicates through her work. It's obvious that she cares very deeply about her mission. It's difficult for the reader to work up the same enthusiasm, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2120 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlas Shrugged (Centennial Ed. HC)
Atlas Shrugged (Centennial Ed. HC) by Ayn Rand (Hardcover - April 26 2005)
CDN$ 46.00 CDN$ 28.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews