biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars322
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$44.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 22, 2013
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading every one of these books. They are all awesome and easy to get hooked on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
The trilogy i bought was perfect! Exactly what i expected! Love it! Has all the books, in perfect condition and looks great on my side table!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
My daughter has read this series over and over again since buying them for her. Highly recommended for the tween - teen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2013
I purchased this series for my son, who's an avid reader. He read all the books in one week, and started reading them again, he enjoyed them so much. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
Great serie! If you loved the movie you'll love the books! The boxset is practical and beautiful, i loved it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
Great Read for the little ones.....Great Read for the little ones.....Great Read for the little ones.....Great Read for the little ones.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
I bought this set of books becauseof reviews i had read.I was not dissapointed.They are a great read from start to finish.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
Good read, good series, good characters...books are just that...’good’.
Unfortunately it dragged out and I lost my interest a bit. First book was good, made you want to read the second...then it just started declining on the intrigue scale. Glad it was only a trilogy and not a continued series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As many know, I don't readily give out 5-star reviews. In this case I'm compelled to do so. Why, when this isn't a literary series of books, but rather genre fiction? Because Suzanne Collins clearly demonstrates mastery of her craft, and by virtue of that talent she deserves high accolades.

If I had to use one word to summarize The Hunger Games trilogy it would be riveting. It isn't often a writer creates plot and characters so real, so compelling, I am haunted by them throughout both waking and dreaming hours.

Although the premise is simple: evil overlord/government reigns through tyranny, oppression and manipulation, it's this latter, Collins weaves so deftly through her story and thereby creates screaming tension and sense of outrage.

The language throughout is simple, conversational, written in first person present tense, not an easy feat, but certainly one done so deftly as a reader this literary device slides by almost unnoticed. And yet it is the use of first person, present tense which enhances the immediacy of the story. Like the children who are forced to participate in the killing-field of the Hunger Games, the reader is held suspended in the now, aware of the horror of the past, and the promise of only more horror to come. And although Collins periodically weaves in a moment of hope, they are so fleeting as to be like sunlight through storm clouds, and because of that poignant.

Simple moments become moments of import, both terrible and glorious. She has a way of setting up her reader, and then not only pulling out the rug, but the floor, collapsing the walls, leaving you wounded in rubble.

If you haven't already found yourself caught up in the hype around The Hunger Games I can assure you the trilogy is well worth the time and emotion you will expend.

I have every confidence this series will be studied in classrooms alongside other SF greats like The Lord of the Flies, 1984, and Brave New World.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
This series is one that I have read cover to cover numerous times. Not for the violence and gore, though there is lots of that, the trial and tribulations that these people face relate to today's world in the sense of how we take so much for granted and so few think as to the origins of products and what living conditions are suffered.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse