Customer Reviews


250 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Trilogy and Amazing Gift!
The box set includes 3 Hunger Games books - which is the complete set. This would be an amazing gift for any teenage girl or guy and even an adult who likes science fiction. These books have it all - action, drama, adventure, sci-fi, love, loyalty, friendship. All 3 books had me on the edge of my seat, flipping and reading the pages as fast as i can.

The books...
Published on Dec 2 2010 by Cozy Evenings with a Book

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A tale for teenagers
A tale for teenagers, since it is written with simpler style & words with few characters. I had just finish "The Wheel of Time" & the comparison was too big not to acknowledge it.
Published 2 months ago by Pascale-Nancy


‹ Previous | 18 9 1025 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, May 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games Trilogy Box Set (Hardcover)
Great Read for the little ones.....Great Read for the little ones.....Great Read for the little ones.....Great Read for the little ones.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, April 24 2013
By 
Garth Curwin "Read: It's good for you." (Moncton, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games Trilogy Box Set (Hardcover)
I bought this set of books becauseof reviews i had read.I was not dissapointed.They are a great read from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read, April 16 2013
I couldn't put these books down. Surprises at every turn, with a heroine that I pitied, identified with and even disliked at times. An epic struggle through the worst of human nature and frailty, with a bit of hope and healing in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, Even If Not The Target Demographic, April 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had the opportunity to purchase the complete Hunger Games Trilogy for the low price of five dollars on Amazon.ca a few weeks ago, so I thought "Why not?" If only to see what the buzz about the novels were, even though I'm not really the target demographic.

I found the series to be a very easy read of a dystopian society set in the not so distant future. If you take two of the Bachman books, "The Running Man" and "The Long Walk" and make a hybrid of them for teen readers you will end up with "The Hunger Games Trilogy". The themes of the book; starvation, oppression and eventually, revolution are disturbing topics for young adult readers and Suzanne Collins taps into the psyche of her characters very well.

The series is well written, with the exception of a few chapters and has a nice pace to it. I would recommend it if you are a fan of dystopian fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Storyline, March 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games Trilogy Box Set (Hardcover)
Good read, good series, good characters...books are just that...’good’.
Unfortunately it dragged out and I lost my interest a bit. First book was good, made you want to read the second...then it just started declining on the intrigue scale. Glad it was only a trilogy and not a continued series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Trilogy, March 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Met and went past what was expected. Suzanne brought to light a dimenion of a life that could really exist. Frome page to page you wonder who will die next and what will be the final out come.
We need more authors of this calliber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, March 23 2013
By 
Lorina Stephens (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hunger Games Trilogy Box Set (Hardcover)
As many know, I don't readily give out 5-star reviews. In this case I'm compelled to do so. Why, when this isn't a literary series of books, but rather genre fiction? Because Suzanne Collins clearly demonstrates mastery of her craft, and by virtue of that talent she deserves high accolades.

If I had to use one word to summarize The Hunger Games trilogy it would be riveting. It isn't often a writer creates plot and characters so real, so compelling, I am haunted by them throughout both waking and dreaming hours.

Although the premise is simple: evil overlord/government reigns through tyranny, oppression and manipulation, it's this latter, Collins weaves so deftly through her story and thereby creates screaming tension and sense of outrage.

The language throughout is simple, conversational, written in first person present tense, not an easy feat, but certainly one done so deftly as a reader this literary device slides by almost unnoticed. And yet it is the use of first person, present tense which enhances the immediacy of the story. Like the children who are forced to participate in the killing-field of the Hunger Games, the reader is held suspended in the now, aware of the horror of the past, and the promise of only more horror to come. And although Collins periodically weaves in a moment of hope, they are so fleeting as to be like sunlight through storm clouds, and because of that poignant.

Simple moments become moments of import, both terrible and glorious. She has a way of setting up her reader, and then not only pulling out the rug, but the floor, collapsing the walls, leaving you wounded in rubble.

If you haven't already found yourself caught up in the hype around The Hunger Games I can assure you the trilogy is well worth the time and emotion you will expend.

I have every confidence this series will be studied in classrooms alongside other SF greats like The Lord of the Flies, 1984, and Brave New World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure meets loyalty, March 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series is one that I have read cover to cover numerous times. Not for the violence and gore, though there is lots of that, the trial and tribulations that these people face relate to today's world in the sense of how we take so much for granted and so few think as to the origins of products and what living conditions are suffered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read, March 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games Trilogy Box Set (Hardcover)
This was an incredible series that I had been looking at for a while and finally picked up to read. It was great to have all the books readily available with no waiting to start the next book. The price was good and the delivery was fast. I highly recommend the product to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love these books, March 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games Trilogy Box Set (Hardcover)
Enjoy these books and have read them numerous times at this point
Looking forward to them being interpreted on to the big screen and really hope they stay as true to the books as possible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1025 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunger Games Trilogy Box Set
The Hunger Games Trilogy Box Set by Suzanne Collins (Hardcover - Aug. 24 2010)
CDN$ 59.97 CDN$ 37.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews