Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to Understand Through Love!, April 10 2009
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction (Paperback)
David Sheff, a professional journalist, has written a powerful account of his journey with his son, Nic, as he attempts to help him to recover from a meth addiction. This is a real-life story that is filled with a gamut of emotions such as fear, compassion, frustration and triumph. What is most compelling about his recollections is that they follow in an easy-to-read prose the daily struggles that both parent and son endure in order to get a handle on this deadly addiction. What Sheff ends up telling his readers is how to build a long-standing filial relationship with an addicted son by practicing love leavened with a lot of mercy and wisdom. On a more practical level, Sheff provides his readers with all the gruesome and sordid details of what it is like to become a crack addict, right down to the physiological and mental destruction such a dependency causes. I picked up the book because it was recommended to me by another colleague on staff who deals with crack users in her program. As I read it over a couple of nights, I couldn't help feeling that Sheff is a very unique person who expresses a solid commitment to seeing healing taking place in his son's life as well as his own. Seeing the tangible proof of Sheff's genuinely heartfelt desire to help his son while knowing that it might still not be enough make a difference is the real reward of reading this book. I was personally challenged to understand afresh what it really means to be a parent of a child going through such agonizing adversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent observation, hope and courage., Sept. 3 2008
By 
Erol Aydin "Erol" (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent self observation of an entire family. David Sheff takes us to his own and his son's painful journey in fight with addiction and proofs that once a father always a father. A father never looses hope, never gives up even though sons and daughters give up. My boy always will be the "beautiful boy" addict or non addict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book hit home, and I've been there, Aug. 28 2012
By 
Marc Lewis (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction (Paperback)
Memoirs of an Addicted Brain: A Neuroscientist Examines his Former Life on DrugsI don't have much to add to the excellent comments above. But I read the book about 2 years ago, and it was completely heart-breaking. Having been an addict myself, this was one of the few books that brought me tightly into the perspective of "the other" -- the family -- those who get hurt almost as much as you do, in fact maybe more. It's one of the few accounts I've read that get you to hate addiction without having to stoop to a moral judgment, one way or the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sad journey, June 5 2010
This review is from: Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction (Paperback)
This book was a sad journey into a dad's life with his drug addicted son and how it affected him and the rest of the family. I found it well written and honest and it made me feel alot of the same feelings that he himself felt going through all of the pain and heart ache with his son. I applaud him for being so open about something that has been hidden for so long because of embarassment and people not wanting friends and family to know about drug addicted family members. A must read for anyone going through something similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touching Account, April 6 2010
By 
Sharon (Calgary, Alberta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction (Paperback)
This is a book about a parent's agonizing journey through their child's addiction. With deep love and dedication, the author delivers a raw account of his son's fall into a life of drugs and his own struggle to do all he can to save him, save his other children and ultimately save himself. This book is the most open and powerful account I have ever read with no black and white answers, just honest and raw emotion. It is a must read for any parent struggling with their child's addiction. It offers a commonality of war and a solace in final acceptance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading this story is very much like reading my own story with my son, July 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction (Paperback)
Reading this story is very much like reading my own story with my son. So close to our family situation. Every parent who has a prodigal with addictions, needs to read this book. Knowing you are not alone in your struggle is of some consolation. A book full of honesty, encouragement and comfort. David Sheff has put into words, quite eloquently, what we parents feel, do and hope for, for our lost children.

I highly recommend this book to anyone struggling to understand the shackles of an addicted loved one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Honest account, April 29 2012
This review is from: Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction (Paperback)
To learn of an actual journey, to feel the pain, the loss, the questions ' is simply necessary if addiction is present in your life. Relevant information about the disease, conflicting information to consider. The author pulls no punches and tells his story with blatant, heart-wrenching honesty.Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful view into a family's journey through addiction., Sept. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After reading Nic's book, the view from the father's perspective was very powerful and provides insight into a family's struggle and opens one's eyes to the ugly world of addiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction
Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction by David Sheff (Paperback - Jan. 6 2009)
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews