Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
The 4-Hour Chef is a great and massive book, but just like The 4-Hour Body, it's often filled with stories that won't really help you in any shape or form and only serve to make the book look much longer than it actually is.

The advices are amazing, mind you. They're comprehensive, simple, and really easy to follow, but I felt like there was still a lot of...
Published 21 months ago by William

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A cook book for the days you forget to take your ADHD meds
As someone with severe ADHD reading this book made my brain ache, it's informative, insightful, witty and a complete unmitigated mess. The literary version of a having a migraine while being locked in a drum and a very angry person with a hammer trying to open it all at the same time....maddening. Whoever edited, and copy wrote this should take less psychotropic...
Published 18 months ago by J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, Dec 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
The 4-Hour Chef is a great and massive book, but just like The 4-Hour Body, it's often filled with stories that won't really help you in any shape or form and only serve to make the book look much longer than it actually is.

The advices are amazing, mind you. They're comprehensive, simple, and really easy to follow, but I felt like there was still a lot of fluff talk and the book could've easily been 100 or 200 pages shorter without losing anything of value.

Would definetly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A cook book for the days you forget to take your ADHD meds, March 25 2013
By 
J. Young - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As someone with severe ADHD reading this book made my brain ache, it's informative, insightful, witty and a complete unmitigated mess. The literary version of a having a migraine while being locked in a drum and a very angry person with a hammer trying to open it all at the same time....maddening. Whoever edited, and copy wrote this should take less psychotropic substances while doing their job....

So it starts at the beginning( I am still not sure how I made it past page 100 but I was intrigued) with a foundation on the authors approach to learning disparate skills using compressed learning. Ok great I like learning new things too, why not double dip. The anecdotal detours can be a little odd but have a point...then we get a warning "other cook books start by telling you to buy all this expensive crap you shouldn't have to buy"(paraphrased) and then proceeds to tell you the authors approved and essential list of expensive things he wants you to buy( with some alternatives that can be considered economical) and the list comes at quite a hefty sum once you add it all up(500$ blender, 400$ sous vide bath, 150$ knife,) it was a little much, not for me I personally had most of the items already, it was the hypocrisy it was just not needed and left a bad feeling.....

And that feeling was justified by the ENTIRE "Wild" section, I bought what I thought was at its base a guide to help me be a better cook, maybe a healthier one...what use would I have with an entire section devoted to outdoor survival, firearms, legal explosives, hunting knives, along with the varied ways to kill small fowl with my bare hands, and how to eviscerate and quarter my very own freshly shot deer!!!!! And where I need to go to find said deer and which gun I should shoot them with.....it became a little surreal at this point....then the last section swung firmly back to fine dining, like I just hadn't read "how to catch a pigeon in the city and totally not kill it, but here's a guide on how to dismember and rip it apart WITH MY ONLY MY THUMBS!!!!!!!" WTF!!!!!

The cooking part was ok, if brief and a little condescending...but what the rest of it was I am still puzzled, did he want me to buy an arsenal and move to the forest to feast on freshly killed woodland creatures as part of becoming a better chef???? My head hurts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cook-Book Ever, Dec 4 2012
By 
Patrick Gagnon (Saint-Eustache, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Tim Ferriss' enticing new book, the 4-Hour Chef, is THE-BEST-Cook-Book Ever. Makes a man out of you and chef out of every man. It's graphically awesome and chockful of tips, from impressing a girl with your cooking to saving her life by surviving in the wild. A must read for anyone who wants to learn how to learn, be it about cooking, life or just living an adventure from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, motivational, Dec 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Very interesting book, covering far more than just cooking. It is basically "how to be good at anything, using cooking as an example". It is hard not to be motivated after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than just a cook book..., July 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Brilliant book, it teaches you SO much more then just dishes, and the ones it does teach have a purpose; to teach you a specific skill required to become a competent chef.

All the other sections, including hunting and how to break down your kill, eating insects and a practical guide to meta learning really keep you interest up.

You should absolutely buy this, especially if you liked 4 Hour Work Week or 4 Hour Body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Hour Chef - Christmas x639, Dec 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
This book is visually stunning, easy to read, endlessly entertaining, easy to navigate and contains a ton of immediately useful information. A must read and a 'must keep it handy' kind of book. I've already put a clear plastic film on the book to protect my investment.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Tim Ferriss, Aug. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Another great read from Tim Ferriss. It greatly enhanced my kitchen skills in a fun, easy way and added several new regular meals/snacks to my food rotation. Beyond the cooking sections, a ton of useful info on advanced learning of new skills and languages. I reopen this book weekly since completion, well worth your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, March 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Extremely helpful . If you are interested in meta learning this book is a pure gold ! Highly recommend . The only thing I regret is that I didn't buy it earlier...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I can cook!, Jan. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Nice and simple recipes, easy to follow along, and some unexpected bonus extras in the book . I love !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skill Set building without limits, Nov. 27 2013
By 
Yves Farges (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life (Hardcover)
Amazing. Giving multi-faceted people a textbook and (more importantly) encouragement in their quest to be themselves living the life of three or four people (if not more ...). This book is all about turning on that switch everyone has to take a step up in their lives.

I would recommend this book to anyone. It is simply outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Any Skill & Living the Good Life
CDN$ 46.00 CDN$ 28.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews