Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as always
Yet another entertaining and fun Discworld book. Sam Vimes is one of my favourite Discworld characters and it was a pleasant change to see him handle crime outside of the city of Anhk Morpork
Published 5 months ago by Chris Gow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More Sam Vimes
It's a bit weaker compared to the other Night's Watch books, but still an entertaining experience. 90% of the story takes place outside of Anhk-Morpork, so if you're only into Discworld for the city, you may want to skip this one.
Published 4 months ago by Dan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed reading, March 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snuff: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
You can't go wrong with Pratchett and Vimes put together. This book was plain fun. I love his entire series, and was grateful to have yet another addition in which to dive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More Sam Vimes, Dec 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snuff (Mass Market Paperback)
It's a bit weaker compared to the other Night's Watch books, but still an entertaining experience. 90% of the story takes place outside of Anhk-Morpork, so if you're only into Discworld for the city, you may want to skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as always, Nov. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snuff (Mass Market Paperback)
Yet another entertaining and fun Discworld book. Sam Vimes is one of my favourite Discworld characters and it was a pleasant change to see him handle crime outside of the city of Anhk Morpork
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How Does Pratchett Keep Doing It??, May 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snuff (Mass Market Paperback)
Like all of Terry Pratchett's books, I learned more about our own culture than Discworld's in the end. I cannot speak highly enough of this latest installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars snuff-ink wrong with this one, Jan. 29 2013
By 
D Harwood (Glastonbury, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snuff: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
textbook discworld adventuring, i have been readnig discworld since i was a nipper and sir terry never disappoints. sam vimes is one of my favourite characters so this book was a winner from the cover. also whets the appetite for this upsoming discworld tv series The Watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pratchett in fine form, Nov. 28 2011
By 
F. R. Ogbarf (Canada west coast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was wondering if Pterry's battle with Alzheimer's meant his writing wouldn't be up to snuff. Happily, I can report that Pratchett is writing as well as he ever did.

Snuff takes place outside Ankh-Morpork, at Lady Sybil's "country place" (some place! hundreds of servants!). Young Sam is now seven years old, and takes a prominent part in the book, in the process developing a profound interest in poo; and there is the usual cast of villains, good guys, clowns, and so on. Pratchett even comes up with yet another race, the goblins, to incorporate into his multi-species world.

I was especially pleased to spot one of Pratchett's endless in-jokes: a very fat woman, a member of the Ankh-Morpork Watch, a woman with a big heart. Named "Precious", I'm sure in tribute to Alexander McCall Smith's Precious Ramotswe, the chief character in the Number One Ladies Detective Agency series.

Anyway, a good read. Pratchett lovers, go to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not really a pratchett, Jan. 5 2012
really discouraged with snuff, have all of the discworld novels and this is not a pratchett. It is his idea and the start is pratchett writing but as you turn the pages its less of pratchett's writing and more of someone that has no idea of how to write or at least how to write like pratchett. If you are a true Pratchett fan you might find this book very hard to read it is lacking his insights and wittiness and basically everything that makes the discworld pratchett's and his books a blast to read. After this book im not really expecting another book written by pratchett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa1dabdc)

This product

Snuff: A Discworld Novel
Snuff: A Discworld Novel by Terry Pratchett (Mass Market Paperback - July 23 2012)
CDN$ 12.99 CDN$ 11.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews