Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What to get for the linguistics-and-history-obsessed trivia nut.
It isn't that often that you can say, "I enjoy history, linguistics, and trivia," and have all your interests addressed and satisfied in the same book. Billy Bryson manages this in Made in America, which is, true to its subtitle, an informal history of the English language in the United States.

Bryson's engaging style and unfailing humour shine in this book. He...
Published on Dec 31 2010 by Ria (Bibliotropic)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Packed full o' facts! Patchy research.
USA writer living in the UK, Bill Bryson takes stock of America. This book provides a humorous and critical re-look at the history of American and its version of the English language. I thoroughly enjoyed the book initially. The irreverant look at "real American history" rather than the fabricated and polished "offical version" was refreshing and enlightening. However,...
Published on July 16 2002 by sir_isaac_newton


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What to get for the linguistics-and-history-obsessed trivia nut., Dec 31 2010
By 
Ria (Bibliotropic) (Saint John, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
It isn't that often that you can say, "I enjoy history, linguistics, and trivia," and have all your interests addressed and satisfied in the same book. Billy Bryson manages this in Made in America, which is, true to its subtitle, an informal history of the English language in the United States.

Bryson's engaging style and unfailing humour shine in this book. He breaks down his research into different categories rather than just starting at America's earliest point in history and jumping around from there. Thus, each chapter is fairly well self-contained, and it's easy to look up a fact or idea just from the chapter categories rather than trying to remember where in America's history something occurred.

I say "fairly well" self-contained because there are a few problems with this system, most notably in the inconsistancy Bryson has in bringing up facts that he already mentioned in previous chapters. He does his best to make sure that the earlier chapter gets the detailed explanation, and the problem doesn't lie so much in no explanation at all but rather in getting the explanation repeated.

Still, as this doesn't happen incredibly often, it's easy to overlook so that the rest of the book can be enjoyed without problem.

With great style and wit, Bryson accomplishes what so many teachers cannot - he makes history, and language, intensely interesting. This is one book that comes with a high recommendation from me. It's not for everyone, but anyone with an interest in history or linguistics will find something to appreciate. In this book, you'll learn things that you weren't even aware that you didn't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable, but keep the word 'informal' in mind., March 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
Bill Bryson's book, "Made in America", is thoroughly enjoyable on many levels. First, he blithely debunks many of our folk legends - legends which we learn as schoolchildren and carry with us through life as if they were fact. Things like: the Puritans actually landing on Plymouth Rock; the ringing of the Liberty Bell on independence day; Patrick Henry's famous death-defying words about liberty or death, just to name a few. If these anecdotes are as true as he claims, then our school history textbooks seem canned and artificial by comparison.
Second, by saying aloud the early American pronunciations that Bryson describes, the reader can clearly grasp how 18th century colonists sounded in speech.
Third, Bryson's wry style gives the reader a good laugh on just about every page - a comparable textbook on early American language would never do that.
However, it's very important to keep in mind the word 'informal' in the book title. Several geographical errors in the 'Names' chapter led me to realize the potential number of inaccuracies in such a thick book. For instance, in that chapter he mentions the towns of Ipswich and Agawam as being quite close to each other in Connecticut. In fact, the two towns are in Massachusetts, on opposite sides of the state. One quick glance in an atlas by Bryson's editor would have cleared that up.
So read this enjoyable book for its humorous take on history, and not as a scholarly work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, entertaining, and highly educational, Aug. 26 2003
By 
Bill R. Moore (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
This wonderful book's title is something of a misnomer. It is as much a plain history of America -- albeit in very loose, mostly anecdotal form -- as it is a history of the English language in the country, though it does that very well. The word "informal" in the title is key. Though the book is, unquestionably, a scholarly work, and clearly was exahustively-researched, Bryson writes in a very loose, personal style, such as a scholar might share with you over a drink (if you've ever managed to corner an English or History professor in a non-classrooom setting and engage them in conversation, you know the feeling.) His writing style is very appealing, and it keeps the book going smoothly: though absolutely bursting with information and endless factoids, the book is a very quick read, thanks to Bryson's personable writing style. Bryson begins his story with the landing of the Mayflower, and then proceeds to give a pre-history of America, and winds his way all the way up to the very latter part of the 20th century. He examines the English that was spoken by the early colonists, and how it has since evolved. The book is then split into chapters that deal with various aspects of American life -- shopping, war, sex, travel, etc. -- and how they have altered and added to our language. In every such chapter, Bryson details how the words that we use in relation to them came about, where they come from, when they were first used, and much, much more. Along the way, he discourses on such perenially-interesting topics as swear words, slang, cultural taboos (the chapter on sex is particularly enlightening), and he even takes a -- quite thoughtful -- swipe at the PC debate. Many of these facts are, to say the least, quite surprising. Trust me, however much you know about the subject of American English going on, you will know a lot more after reading the book (I, for one, had no idea that there was such a wide difference between American and British English.) That said, the book is almost as much a history book as it is an etymology book. Quite thoughtfully, Bryson not only gives us information on the origins of words, but also relays to us the social contexts in which they emerged -- a background without which much of the etymological information would be rendered meaningless. In a stark contrast to the standard high school textbook interpretation of history, Bryson gives us a highly anecdotal fly-by-the-seat-of-the-pants history of the United States; buckle up, friends, it's one wild ride. These stories are almost consistently interesting, frequently witty, very often funny, invariably surprising, and sometimes quick simply shocking. They are the kind of stories that will make you want to stop in the middle of your reading, find the nearest person to you, and shout out breathlessly, "Did you know...?!" Along the way, Bryson manages to debunk many of the most-cherished American stories -- I won't spoil any of them for you here, but rest assured that you will be quite shocked -- while confirming others, and creating some anew. As one commentor on the book succinctly said, If there is a more popular American pasttime than creating myths, it is trying to debunk them. Bryson, an American living in the U.K. at the time this book was written, seems generally proud to be an American, affirming the greatness of many of its folk heroes while holding the bright flame of truth up to some of its longest-standing fables, all in the admirable spirit of fierce, if tempered, patriotism. Due to this dichotomy, some sections of the book get very weighed down in almost list-like paragraphs detailing the origins of words, while some chapters, conversely, consist almost entirely of anecdotal histories with hardly any etymological content at all. All in all, it makes for very fun, interesting reading that goes by quickly and smootly; you'll learn a lot while reading it, and you'll enjoy yourself while doing it. This great book, which is much, much more than the title suggests, is a great read for anyone interested in the subjects it deals with, and an absolute must for scholars of American English and American History. Such is the enjoyment inherent in its nature, that I even recommend it to the general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Packed full o' facts! Patchy research., July 16 2002
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
USA writer living in the UK, Bill Bryson takes stock of America. This book provides a humorous and critical re-look at the history of American and its version of the English language. I thoroughly enjoyed the book initially. The irreverant look at "real American history" rather than the fabricated and polished "offical version" was refreshing and enlightening. However, the "packed full o' facts" style gets tiresome after a while. Some of the "startling revelations" (Bill's special style)are intriguing -- but made me start to question his research as much as the accuracy "official history". I noticed a large number of factual errors particularly when he compared English-English and US-English -- many words and phrases that he claims are dead in England are in fact in very common usuage and some that he claims are alive in the US I have never heard or read in the US (or not in works published in the last 100+ years), and vice versa. It got to the point where the author had to some degree discredited himself in my eyes. Hopefully readers will not take his assertions at face value. Although ostensibly humerous, this book is actually formatted as something of a candid, factual modern update on the history of America and the contemporary American and English languages. A lot of people love Bill's work, but regretably I cannot recommend this particular book. [Hard-nosed BBC interviewer, Jeremy Paxman seemed to encounter similar problems in his recent book about the English -- perhaps this seemly innocuous subject matter is more challenging than might be expected?]. By all means try this book, it has redeeming qualities and my relations love Bill's work, including this book -- but take it with a pinch of salt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Witty Collection of American Anacdotes, March 15 2002
By 
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
This is a big Bill Bryson book, his thickest effort yet, I believe. It's also a book with a split personality, but one that works in the end.
"Made in America: An Informal History of the English Language in the United States," is more than the title suggests. Much of the book is given over to an exploration of American English etymology and phraseology. However, Bryson spends considerable time venturing off into what can best be described as an anecdotal journey through American history.
It works. In fact, the anecdotalisms are the best part of the book. I've noticed in this and "The Mother Tongue" (his exploration of the King's English), Bryson's word histories sometimes run towards long lists with not enough exploration to make them interesting. That same pattern is true for the early part of this book. However, Bryson soon gets sidetracked in discussing various historical oddities and characters that make very interesting and usually witty reading.
This is a good, light book that can be enjoyed in small pieces if desired. It's anecdotal parts most resemble one of those "1001 Things Everyone Ought To Know About American History Books" -- in short, a collection of brief and interesting stories that are well written and evoke the occasional guffaw.
His word derivations and explorations are more scholarly and exact. Often fascinating, they sometimes are a bit too list oriented and crowded. But, ultimately they are still interesting if one would like to know why we: "Keep the ball rolling," live in many places named after Indian words, call our soldiers "GIs drive in "cars" and "autos" or speak in the numerous ways that are not literal nor necessarily logical but are definitely American.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, May 22 2001
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
After reading "The Lost Continent," Bryson's often whining and largely overrated travelogue on small-town America, I hesitated before picking this one up. However, this is a very enjoyable book. Ostensibly a study of American English, its development and impact on the English language in general, this book is more of a compendium of linguistic facts and historical trivia that cover the entire scope of U.S. history from the colonial period to the present. Bryson quite unabashedly plunders the works of historians, other scholars and writers who dealt with the same subjects, so what he offers here is hardly new. But the presentation and organization are impeccable. While informing us of the origins of many words and expressions common to American English, he also provides a wealth of particularly useful information on things like American cuisine or the origins of America's highway system and car culture (one of my only criticisms is that he failed to mention the origin of quintessential car-related Americanisms like "rumble seat" or "to ride shotgun"). Bryson's engaging writing style and dry humor keep the book moving, so it is never dull and always very amusing - it seriously lives up to that old cliché about how learning can be fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bryson Breaths New life and Wit into American History, March 21 2001
By 
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful and very witty look at the English language and how it has evolved in America. Did you ever have an English teacher that lectured you about the use (or more likely misuse) of a certain word? Forget all of that! (Or at least loosen up about it!) This book is a testament to the fact that language is alive and a reflection of the culture that uses it.
Bryson walks you through American history as he presents story after story usually leaving you laughing and often simply just amazing you with how some word came into common usage. As he tells his story of the English language in America, you will probably learn more about American history than you ever knew before--and all of it is very entertaining.
Don't miss the amazing story of Squanto, the Indian who helped the Pilgrims survive at Plymouth, Massachusetts. There is more to Squanto's story than you think and it is just one of hundreds of gems that Bryson has uncovered.
This is a fast reading, educational, and very fun book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars irresistible, Oct. 16 2000
By 
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
I can truly say that I read every word of this delightful, well-presented informal history, and as a former Scot, was debunked of many myths and misconceptions I'd held about America, so much so that I'm noticing a new awareness, enthusiasm for and understanding of my chosen country after 32 years here. This book is so full of interesting detail, written in a way that no one group of people is the loser (i.e., we have all contributed), that it is impossible not to read it all the way through with enjoyment and to feel regret when one reaches the last page. This is how history should be taught to our children. Captivating in its scope and interest (the humanitarian, humorous and charming underlying voice of Bill Bryson throughout is an endearing presence), this great little book contains everything to enrich our awareness, and encourage reflection while providing a handy rationale (e.g., the reason for Levitt's building of tract homes to provide affordable housing -- equipped with appliances -- during the 50's). The chapter about the Wright brothers was so compassionate in its understanding of Orville and Wilbur that I was reduced to tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An English Language book for the rest of us!, June 4 2000
By 
J. Liesenfelt (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
I'm not a student of the English language, though the history of words does interest me, therefore I've tried to read William Safire's books but with little success. I picked up this book only because of Bill Bryson. The book is not what you think, "An Informal History," describes the book exactly. Bryson fills the book with more historical antidotes than a formal study of the English language in the United States.
Bryson takes you along for a history of the United States and how our language has changed from English into its current form today. The other half of the book contains chapters dealing with specific topics such as names, the movies and cooking. Each of the subjects deals with the words and phases that entered the language at the time or involving the subject.
There are some reviews that question Bryson's accuracy on some of the items, and this book is not filled with Bryson's usual humor, but the writing is enjoyable with just the right amount of wit throughout. Make sure you check out the chapter dealing with Puritan morality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, Grouse, Awesome!, March 24 2000
By 
saliero (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Made In America (Paperback)
I love language and all its peculiarities and variations. Scholarly works like David Crystal's Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language are great reference books. So is this, in a very different way. Not only is it a good "people's history" of some aspects of US history, it is one of those books you reach for when your 'favourite' language pedant starts waxing on about how terrible it is that noone speaks's proper any more, or "the kids of today..." As an Australian, and therefore being trilingual (British, American and Australian English) I love to be able to stop some fool in their tracks with the information that some 'vulgar Americanisms' are actually much older forms of English that were transported and survived, at the same time as English mutated in its homeland. The Grammar Pedants won't have it that English is a living language, that usage, spelling and grammar 'rules' change ... this book shows how it does and also demonstrates how some of the most common words we use to deal with life in our age were once US-invented neologisms or even slang. All this (and more) delivered in Bryson's wry and ironic (read witty) tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made in America
Made in America by Bill Bryson (Paperback - 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews