Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a page turner
I am a member of a book club....thought it might get me to read a bit more as I usually don't . This book was chosen by our group and for me....I have to give it a 10 out of 10. I was so able to relate to the characters in many ways and the more I read...the more I HAD to read. There are many books I have not been able to finish that the group chooses...but this one...
Published 12 months ago by Sally Gilchrest-Unrau

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CULINARY MYSTERY IN OCCUPIED FRANCE
This is a novel in two parts: a childhood in occupied France and a return to the same village in old age. One part struggles for a story and the other reads like the novel is should be.
Joanne Harris has written a novel about secrets that were buried in the past but come to the surface in the present by a daughter's inheritance of her mother's obscure cook book and...
Published on June 25 2009 by James W. Derry


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CULINARY MYSTERY IN OCCUPIED FRANCE, June 25 2009
By 
James W. Derry (Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a novel in two parts: a childhood in occupied France and a return to the same village in old age. One part struggles for a story and the other reads like the novel is should be.
Joanne Harris has written a novel about secrets that were buried in the past but come to the surface in the present by a daughter's inheritance of her mother's obscure cook book and journal. It is about the relationship of a single mother, her three children, and a German soldier who befriends Framboise, the heroine. Like all war stories, this relationship with the enemy ends in tragedy.
The present day sections of the novel flow quickly and the character of Framboise is of more interest as she discovers there is more to her mother's treasured cookbook than recipes. The author nicely connects the coded journal notes to the village in the past but I found these sections about fishing in the Loire and buying on the black market rather slow and undramatic, especially when compared to a similar but greater novel like Suite Francaise.
This is a book with much potential and I wished it had been written slightly different, perhaps spending more time on the three siblings relationship after the war. As children they are not that interesting, except for Franboise misunderstanding of her mother. This is captured in the title, the scent of orange that drives the mother to have crippling migraines because the daughter has hidden the peel in the house.
Yet I liked this novel, and as a cook, was intrigued by the culinary references. However, it does not inspire me to read more by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a page turner, April 11 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a member of a book club....thought it might get me to read a bit more as I usually don't . This book was chosen by our group and for me....I have to give it a 10 out of 10. I was so able to relate to the characters in many ways and the more I read...the more I HAD to read. There are many books I have not been able to finish that the group chooses...but this one keep my interest right at the start. I would reccoment it to anyone with a mother or a sibling.....so that gives you an idea of how good it was. I found the mystery of the mom's past..and how it was finally all put together....suspensefull. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., June 15 2003
This review is from: 5 Quarters Ora (Paperback)
This is a book that, no matter how hard I tried, I could not get into. I could not sympathise with any of the characters, and the plot just did not grab me. Perhaps someone will like this more than I did...I couldn't even finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five Quarters of the Orange, Sept. 20 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 5 Quarters Ora (Paperback)
I HATE this book. I have to read this for my bookclub and HATE it. It is BORING, wordy, did I mention BORING ? Will never read another book by Joanne Harris again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different and dark, Sept. 19 2001
By 
Lesley West (St James, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I liked "Chcolat" and therefore it was with anticipated pleasure that I began this book. It is quite well written, and the characters are well defined, and there is the pleasures of childhood in the French countryside all nicely laid out before us. But it isn't long before the allure of the story gives way to its much darker nature. There are the broader themes of the WW2 French resistance and German collaborators interwoven with the childhood memories, and how our heroine, now an elderly widow, strives to remain anonymous in a town that still despises her family because of its involvement in these matters so long ago.
It is this darkness that makes me give this book 3 stars when I might have rated it higher. The idyllic childhood is nothing of the sort - the children are neglected by their ailing widowed mother, and they quickly become infatuated with the Germans and the thrills of being involved with them in what they think is harmless fun, but secretly know to be otherwise. Our heroine is actually quite a spiteful and manipulative little girl, and although she interseperses her memories with pity for her mother, this doesn't take the edge off that spite. And even though our heroine improves with age, the current day characters of her nephew and his wife take on that continuing unpleasant role.
The novel also takes its time getting to the truth that is the core of that darkness and the reason our heroine wishes to remain anonymous. When I finally got there I was almost beyond caring about it, and I was frankly disappointed that I was able to work out what happened even before the event finally was revealed. What should have been the most suspenseful part of the book fell way short of expectations.
So all in all this was a novel that had a fascinating and complex idea, dealing with issues that are still sensitive today. However, it somehow misses the mark, and whereas it was an interesting and quite well written read, it left me feeling vaguely uncomfortable, and I'm not sure whether or not I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Fraction Off!, June 25 2001
By A Customer
Because Harris wrote a book that Hollywood turned into a pretty fair romance - Chocolat - people now seem to think she is a "good writer." Five Quarters of the Orange is poorly writen. Actually, all of Joanne Harris' books are poorly written. Although the ideas behind them are somewhat imaginative, the tedious style and self involved characters spoil the read. Five Quarters of the Orange is full of spiteful, sick, egotistical people who are totally unlikeable. Framboise Simon continually boasts of her strong and independent nature with sayings such as "I had never liked to be touched." She is a cold and hateful person - as are most of the characters in this story. If one wants magic, better to stick with Alice Hoffman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, June 14 2001
By 
This book sucked majorly. I'm sorry. If you think that informing on your Jewish neighbors to the Nazi occupying forces in your village is child's play, then maybe you will think that this is an okay book. I found nothing redeeming about that. The book is based on a premise that some readers will romanticize morphine addiction. This was one reader who didn't. The book magnifies the dysfunctional relationship of a mother and daughter and the plot alludes to a mystery being revealed toward the end (with movie offer fanfare, no less) but lacks coherence to evoke sympathy in this reader at least, or to draw compassion for such an uncompassionate group of characters. The Resistance movement against fascism and Nazism is alluded to in the book and what is particularly disappointing about the ending is that resistance is pronounced futile, which I found extremely irresponsible. To set the historical record straight, I would like to remind readers that the Resistance movement in Europe did much to stand against Nazism and fascism, and unless you were interested in dying in a concentration camp, Resistance was a good thing. This book is a disappointment that will only sneak by apolitical readers who were asleep during this century or have no concept of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchantingly Sour, June 4 2007
The novel Five Quarters of the Orange written by Joanne Harris is an intriguing family novel that explores the secrets and tragedies of the post war France era, as it is set in a quiet village on the Loire. Joanne Harris incorporates the many traditions and values of France by using the tangy quality of an orange as the relationship that a German man had to this torn and confused family. Harris developed this stirring journey by taking Framboise through the experiences and effects of the frightening and demanding world of war. This exciting and shocking story of love and betrayal displays how a single German man involved himself in the destruction of a family. This must-read, powerful world of secrets, is hidden amongst the mother's favorite recipes in her cookbook as Framboise scrambles across her family tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark but very compelling, July 19 2004
This review is from: 5 Quarters Ora (Paperback)
Mirabelle Dartigen is a brilliant cook whose legacy to her daughter Framboise is her talent and a notebook containing her recipes. She is also a widow who is plagued by blinding migraine headaches, and addicted to the morphine she needs to survive them. These debilitating, crippling headaches are always preceded by the smell of oranges, so she will not permit an orange in her house.
Tormented by pain, drug addiction and mental illness, Mirabelle attempts to raise three children alone in war torn France after her husband is killed by the Germans. She is not up to the task, physically or mentally, and the children are left to raise themselves.
Framboise, wild to begin with, has hardened toward her mother, whose afflictions have made her distant, mean and unapproachable. In order to ensure that her mother doesn't interfere with her plans, which alternately involve telling the town's secrets to a charismatic German who brings her and her siblings presents, and trying to catch a giant pike thought to grant any wish to whomever catches it (and to bring tragedy upon anyone who sees it without catching it), Framboise steals an orange and places it in her mother's pillow in order to trigger one of her migraines.
Throughout the book, she uses oranges to control her mother, who reacts to the odor by shutting herself into her room for days in screaming, sleepless pain, while the children fend for themselves, and do as they wish.
Years later, the elderly Framboise, looking back and reading through her mother's diary-like notebook, gains some insight into the woman's agony and her own part in it. She has returned to her home after decades, hiding her identity from her town, which remembers her family as conspirators with the Nazis, and responsible for the murder of a German and the execution of several townsfolk. She lives among them because it is her home, but is terrified that she will be found out and recognized as "Mirabelle Dartigen's daughter".
The book alternates between the nine-year old Framboise, and the elderly Framboise. It also follows two dramas, the one during WWII where her and her siblings' best friend is a Nazi who trades chocolate for secrets, and the present day where one of her relatives is blackmailing her and threatening to expose her.
The complexity of the relationships and the characters is outstanding, and the story's suspense keeps building and building. The writing is excellent. This isn't a book to read if you're in the mood for something light. Pick this up in your deeper moments when you can shift into Framboise's dark world, which seems all the more frightening because it all seems so plausible.
Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark but very compelling, July 19 2004
This review is from: 5 Quarters Ora (Paperback)
Mirabelle Dartigen is a brilliant chef whose legacy to her daughter Framboise is her talent and a notebook containing her recipes. She is also a widow who is plagued by blinding migraine headaches, and addicted to the morphine she needs to survive them. These debilitating, crippling headaches are always preceded by the smell of oranges, so she will not permit an orange in her house.
Tormented by pain, drug addiction and mental illness, Mirabelle attempts to raise three children alone in war torn France after her husband is killed by the Germans. She is not up to the task, physically or mentally, and the children are left to raise themselves.
Framboise, wild to begin with, has hardened toward her mother, whose afflictions have made her distant, mean and unapproachable. In order to ensure that her mother doesn't interfere with her plans, which alternately involve telling the town's secrets to a charismatic German who brings her and her siblings presents, and catching a giant pike thought to grant any wish to whomever catches it, Framboise steals an orange and places it in her mother's pillow in order to trigger one of her migraines.
Throughout the book, she uses oranges to control her mother, who reacts to the odor by shutting herself into her room for days in screaming, sleepless pain, while the children fend for themselves, and do as they wish.
Years later, the elderly Framboise, looking back and reading through her mother's diary-like notebook, gains some insight into the woman's agony and her own part in it. She has returned to her home after decades, hiding her identity from her town, which remembers her family as conspirators with the Nazis, and responsible for the murder of a German and the execution of several townsfolk. She lives among them because it is her home, but is terrified that she will be found out and recognized as "Mirabelle Dartigen's daughter".
The book alternates between the nine-year old Framboise, and the elderly Framboise. It also follows two dramas, the one during WWII where her and her siblings' best friend is a Nazi who trades chocolate for secrets, and the present day where one of her relatives is blackmailing her and threatening to expose her.
The complexity of the relationships and the characters is outstanding, and the story's suspense keeps building and building. The writing is excellent. This isn't a book to read if you're in the mood for something light. Pick this up in your deeper moments when you can shift into Framboise's dark world, which seems all the more frightening because it all seems so plausible.
Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1247c24)

This product

FIVE QUARTERS OF THE ORANGE
FIVE QUARTERS OF THE ORANGE by HARRIS JOANNE (Paperback - 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 6.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews