Customer Reviews


633 Reviews
5 star:
 (499)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable
This one takes the cake! However excellent readers found his previous volumes, Martin's A Storm of Swords surpasses them all by leaps and bounds (as impossible as that may seem)!
This is truly epic stuff--I always stayed up too late to read this, so had to force myself to bed for health's sake...but I found I had trouble sleeping, because quite frankly, the novel's...
Published on Oct. 27 2004 by Curio

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enough already!
I surrender - I couldn't get through this volume. After devouring Books 1 & 2, I was eager to immerse myself in Book 3. But the death, misery, horror, cruelty, despair, and mercilessness is too much. I love you George, but there's no escapism here, not a scintilla. I know escapism is "out" these days, but have some pity on your readers!
Published on June 18 2001


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, Oct. 27 2004
By 
Curio (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
This one takes the cake! However excellent readers found his previous volumes, Martin's A Storm of Swords surpasses them all by leaps and bounds (as impossible as that may seem)!
This is truly epic stuff--I always stayed up too late to read this, so had to force myself to bed for health's sake...but I found I had trouble sleeping, because quite frankly, the novel's storyline and characters kept flip-flopping through my head. Will Arya ever find her way back? What is Dany doing? How the hell will Robb get out of this one? The suspense this series oozes will become as a drug...the trials that each character faces becomes truly personal...you just want things to work out so bad!
Just looking back, I would that if there were a list of the top 10 scenes thus far, 7 alone would come from this book. "Jaw-dropping" does not even begin to describe some of the things that come to pass.
As a last note, perhaps most interesting is the new Jaime POV. Readers have come to despise this character, but Martin really humanizes him, proving with a certainty that it is difficult to hate someone after at last seeing things the other way around. A wonderful change in perspective, and expertly done.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enough already!, June 18 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Storm of Swords: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Three (Hardcover)
I surrender - I couldn't get through this volume. After devouring Books 1 & 2, I was eager to immerse myself in Book 3. But the death, misery, horror, cruelty, despair, and mercilessness is too much. I love you George, but there's no escapism here, not a scintilla. I know escapism is "out" these days, but have some pity on your readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love George RR Martin, Jan. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I based my rating on the overall layout of the book and me wanting to know what's going to happen with the character after the chapter ends . Great suspense and one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic!, Nov. 2 2002
The superlatives used by the majority of reviewers almost can't describe the overwhelming excellence of George R.R. Martin's groundbreaking fantasy epic, which reaches yet another level of greatness with this third book of a fantasy series, which will be the ultimate measure for the next decade of novels of this genre.
After taking us into a world of intricate political machinations, breathtaking heroics, fatal betrayals, foredoomed affairs of the heart and blood, and an awakening magic about to return to a world at the eve of eternal chaos with the first two books of the 'Song of Ice and Fire' series, Martin manages to capture the readers attention once again. Additionally he succeeds in raising the suspense and the fascination for the stunned reader to yet another new level. The moment you start reading 'Storm of Swords' you won't be able take a break from reading this astonishing masterpiece of contemporary fantasy literature.
So, what's it about?
After the Lannisters have fend off the assault on King's Landing by Stannis Baratheon, their ascent to undisputed dominance over Westeros appears to be only threatened by young Robb Stark, King of the North. The Baratheon line has been decimated to the last stronghold of Lord Stannis, the Starks are under pressure from an unexpected foe threatening their heart lands, and the remaining political and military powers seem to flock together under the banners of juvenile, but cruel and ungoverned King Joffrey Lannister. But the Lannister's reign is shadowed by the unpredictable fate of the brothers Jaime - still under captivity by Catelyn Stark, and Tyrion - severly wounded since the fight at King's Landing. While Tywin Lannister tries to secure his grandson's hold to the Iron Throne, mysterious powers beyond the frontiers of Westeros are steadily growing, threatening the balance of life itself on the lands devastated by war, famine and anarchy. In the far north, Jon Snow struggles to uncover the secrets of the wildling hordes while attempting to preserve his very integrity as a Black Brother. And on the other side of the world, Princess Danaerys has yet to master challenges of warfare and treachery to lay the final claim to her rightful seat on the Iron Throne.
What makes this book so extraordinary is far more than just a complicated and thrilling pattern of medieval strife and heroic exploits. Martin uses down to the bone honesty to describe human ambitions and passions. He reminds us that the line between benefactors and criminals is never pin sharp. And success and failure stand only as separated from each other as chance and circumstance permit. His plot is witty and never predictable, the dialogues used are charming, sharp and spirited, and rarely I have seen such a huge cast of carefully outlined characters. It's been a long time (in fact since Donaldson's Gap series) since I have experienced so many different feelings for the main protagonists, ranging from cheers to hatred and from sorrow to utmost astonishment and joy - and more than once I had to discover, that my personal feelings concerning a specific character had undergone a 180-degree turn from rooting to booing (or vice versa).
Admittedly Martin is no easy-going read. His style of narration and writing competes with the likes of Iain Banks and Umberto Eco, his tales are full of symbolism and hidden meanings and the plot is so thick and rich of surprises and backyard information, it can be really tough to keep all details in mind. But whatever it takes to follow Martin's ambitious writing: It's worth every piece of paper and minute spent reading. Cuz the way Martin gets the reader involved in his story is simply outstanding and when you finally reach the final pages of 'Storm of Swords', there are only 2 things left to say: First 'Wow!' and second 'When will Book 4, 'A Feast for Crows' finally be available...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant series! George R.R. Martin doesn't disappoint when it comes to action-packed scenes and unexpected twists., May 17 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Three (Hardcover)
My Thoughts:

1. I don't know why I keep hoping for a happy ending when I should know by now that GRRM is never nice to the characters.

2. Don't let the size of this book put you off from reading it! There's so much that happens that time flies by while reading it.

3. I'd say the pacing was very comfortable for the majority of the book but it especially picked up near the end (with a double cliffhanger!). There was never a dull moment in the book, it had me on the edge of my seat the entire time!

4. This book was such a roller-coaster ride in that I never expected any of the twists in the plot. It had me speechless (and cursing at GRRM) and kept wanting to read more.

5. OH MY GOD THAT EPILOGUE....HAD ME SPEECHLESS!!

6. I loved how the author added Jaime and Samwell's POVs in this book. Jaime's character development was amazing; you definitely see a different side to him and you understand why the does the things he does.

7. All of the cunning strategies and schemes made in the second book finally comes into play and people are being betrayed, people betraying others, and making unexpected alliances. I LOVE IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Three (Hardcover)
Excellent book. So far, the best of a Song Of Ice And Fire serie. Just hasten to read the others books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great continuation of the saga, Oct. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great continuation of the saga that is George R. Martin has started, and further fuels the need to continue reading deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the american LOTR, July 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent, even if you don't read much fantasy. The third book had the most action. The major narrative within the overall story arch comes to its climax in this book. The HBO series departs from the books quite heavily, so if you want a richer story experience, read the books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the series, June 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Three (Hardcover)
So much craziness happens in this book..... the 3rd season of the show missed the boat a little by skipping some of the details, but you know it`s because they intend to setup the 4th season with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is awesome!, Feb. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like fantasy type stories with medieval thrown in, then you will probably enjoy this book.The novel just sucks you right in, the detail and imagination that George R.R Martin has put into his novels is amazing.
I chose to get the audiobook as well as the actual novel. I think it adds to the experience.
Roy Doltrice does a good job of narrating in the audiobook, he is good at doing multiple characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Storm of Swords: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Three
A Storm of Swords: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Three by George R.R. Martin (Hardcover - Oct. 31 2000)
CDN$ 38.00 CDN$ 23.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews