Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars High tea has again been served.
I always find it fun to read on Amazon.com what others have to say about the books I like to read. Interesting and quite valid points usually get made somewhere in the process. ... If there was ever a professional victim, Scarpetta is it. And what teen-ager has never acted at one point like a brat? At least Arch has the potential of growing out of it. Some teens never do...
Published on March 17 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Culinary Mystery, Recipes Included
Caterer Goldy Schulz has been hired to cook an authentic Elizabethan luncheon and dinner at a castle (shipped over from England in pieces). But on the cold February morning of the luncheon, someone shoots out her living room window. Meanwhile, her police officer husband, Tom, is away on a case, and two of Aspen Meadow's most influential citizens are determined to see...
Published on Oct. 8 2007 by Debra Purdy Kong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars High tea has again been served., March 17 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
I always find it fun to read on Amazon.com what others have to say about the books I like to read. Interesting and quite valid points usually get made somewhere in the process. ... If there was ever a professional victim, Scarpetta is it. And what teen-ager has never acted at one point like a brat? At least Arch has the potential of growing out of it. Some teens never do. And as I recall Ramses Emerson in Elizabeth Peters' Peabody series is a rather precocious fellow.
In comparion to other mysteries (Dr. Gidion Fell, for instance) Davidson's is rather lite reading. Read it for fun like I do. It is considerably better than Tamar Myers Pennsylvania Dutch series. Magdalena Yoder is totally off base to begin with. She makes Goldy look only slightly neurotic.
I enjoyed this novel. Like her other novels in this series you have to read this one every day until you finish it in order to keep the train of thought. As long as you do that you will do well with it. Davidson hasn't quite noticeably slipped yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sticks and Scones, Nov. 20 2001
By 
L. A "miki4" (Canon City, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
This is the 10 book in a series and I'm not bored yet. Diane Mott Davidson is a truly good writer. I feel as though I know the characters and care about them. The descriptions are accurate. Fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Mystery, Nov. 9 2001
By 
Moe811 (New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
Things aren't going well for Goldie Schultz. Her catering business is slow, her husband is away on an assignment,her exhusband has been released from jail without the parole board notifying her as promised, and now someone has shot out her front window. Fortunately, her clients have invited her to stay with them in their authentic English castle. On the other hand, a couple she accused of child abuse after seeing the husband shake the child into unconsciousness, seem to be the castle owners' best friends and have the run of the castle, they even have keys! Goldie finds a dead body who turns out to be the fugitive her husband is looking for. He arrives at the scene, only to be shot in the shoulder. Is this enough action for anyone? This is all in the first couple of chapters.
I have never read any of the books of this series before and I was very happy with this one. The characters were very well developed and interesting. The story line was very interesting and very fast moving. I will definitely read more of these mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best but................., Oct. 20 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
reading about Goldy the caterer and her most unusual life is always entertaining. True, sometimes Goldy's behavior, as well as her son's, Arch, frustrate me but the characters are well developed now and I actually feel as if I know them all personally. And as for Tom, Goldy's husband, he sounds like just the kind of man most women would like to have in their life. He has been developed to be most appealing. Sticks and Scones doesn't have the same edge as some of Davidson's other books but I still devoured it quickly and attentively and I look forward to Goldy's next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes and fun mystery......, Oct. 15 2001
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
Diane Mott Davidson has done it again, another fun mystery involving Goldy, the caterer/sleuth along with murder and missing valuable stamps, not to mention an appearance by Goldy's husband's old girlfriend. The story begins with Goldy's picture window being shot out, a suspect in a police case turning up dead near a catering sight, and after that , the clues and suspects mount up faster than the calories in the recipes!! There are wonderful recipes for scones, shortbread cookies and the totally fantastic and irrestible chocolate emergency 911 cookies!!! Davidson's mysteries are fun and interesting, and while some may find them a bit of a stretch for their imagination, the story is very entertaining and enjoyable. You will not be dissapointed. The characters are interesting, and some of them are really out there, and that is what makes the story move! I have read all of this series of books, and while some are better than others, this one is one of the most fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you can't stand the heat...., Oct. 12 2001
By 
srchristie1 (Bronx, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
If you can't stand the heat...leave the kitchen and go curl up with Goldy's latest escapade. I've read every one of Davidson's culinary mysteries and I can't get enough. Those reader's who just jump in in the middle or who start with this book may not fully understand the dynamic between the characters (hence another reviewer's mistaken assertion that Davidson is a man-hater). If you've followed along with Goldy Bear Shulz you know that she is a kind and giving woman who, if anything, is entirely tooo forgiving of that Jerk of an ex-husband. I not only recommend Sticks and Scones, I thoroughly recommend that you read ALL of Davidsons books. They're better than dessert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you can't stand the heat...., Oct. 12 2001
By 
srchristie1 (Bronx, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
If you can't stand the heat...leave the kitchen and go curl up with Goldy's latest escapade. I've read every one of Davidson's culinary mysteries and I can't get enough. Those reader's who just jump in in the middle or who start with this book may not fully understand the dynamic between the characters (hence another reviewer's mistaken assertion that Davidson is a man-hater). If you've followed along with Goldy Bear Shulz you know that she is a kind and giving woman who, if anything, is entirely tooo forgiving of that Jerk of an ex-husband. I not only recommend Sticks and Scones, I thoroughly recommend that you read ALL of Davidsons books. They're better than dessert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Trite, man-hating tripe, Oct. 4 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
This was the first, and last, Davidson title that I've read. It was dreadful tripe.
The main character, Goldy, is totally unsympathetic. She's a professional victim, always whining about her ex-husband, when she isn't spying on him and his new girlfriend, or interfering with his relationship with his son, that is.
As for the plot, what plot? It's an incoherent mishmash of totally unbelievable coincidences and wild changes in direction.
A bitter divorcee might enjoy this book, but only for the ex-husband bashing. Everyone else would be well advised to stay far, far away from this steaming pile of dog doo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Recipe for Success, Sept. 15 2001
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
Diane Mott Davidson takes her formula cozy and adds some wickedly clever ingredients. Yes, they are lighthearted, far fetched - and absolutely delicious. Goldy Bear Schultz, caterer extraordinaire, starts her morning with a bang ... and then proceeds to have the worst couple of days anyone could fathom. The writer gets the Testy Teen just right (again) as well as the dinner and particularly the scones. This tale also provides a dollop of stamp collecting, a couple of cups of Elizabethan England, garnished with a lovely castle, a luscious labyrinth and some truly tangy individuals - not to mention a pinch or two of morality and romance. The pace is fast, but I did miss Marla who is very much in the background, as well as a trip to church with Goldy. Somehow Ms. Davidson manages to whip up an unexpected variety of ingredients and come out with a scrumptious culinary cozy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What's with the Arch-bashing?, Sept. 8 2001
By 
Pipkim (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sticks & Scones (Hardcover)
I find Goldy's son Arch to be a very likeable character-haven't any of you parented a fourteen year old boy? For someone who has a father who was abusive to his mother and whom he must visit in prison, Arch seems to be a relatively well adjusted, likeable kid. He wants Goldy's approval, and he clearly cares deeply about her (no matter what his father says to him), especially as she is often too busy for him. It is Julian who is just too good to be true-he's this amazing gourmet vegetarian chef who inherits a Land Rover and just drops everything to help out in the kitchen. I agree with some of the other reviewers that we need less of Marla and The Jerk, however. I like Tom, too, and I think he handled Goldy's jealousy and suspicion excellently in this book. But please, give poor Arch a break, people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sticks & Scones
Sticks & Scones by Diane Mott Davidson (Hardcover - April 3 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews