march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars174
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$4.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 12, 2015
Unfortunately, the font is too small for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2015
Fast shipping and so far an excellent read! Would recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
It's Treasure Island!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
Love this Book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
book to small
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tough read since the English is from 1886 but a really cool story. Makes you want to go out and find ye burried treasure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Using this version of the original text as a read aloud for my grade 3 class. The Classic Starts version is making this story accessible to my students without taking away from the story or old-english style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
Actual Book was too small. Can't read the print. The downside of ordering anything on-line.Had to repack and send to Mississauga. More trouble than its worth. just go to the mall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2012
I read this classic for book club and although the book club really didn't like it I found it kept my attention and was a nice short read. I thought the dialogue was pretty impressive as compared with what a person would find in modern fiction. Wish I had read it when I was younger since it would have caught more of my imaginations. I wouldn't hesitate to give this to a young reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
The free download for Kindle of "Treasure Island" is hardly a feature rich edition of the classic, but it does have the most important part, which is the novel itself. Originally the book was serialized in "Young Folks" between 1881 and 1882, but was then published as a book on May 23rd of 1883. "Treasure Island" is a wonderful adventure for younger readers, and has had an impact on popular culture. The popular stereotype of pirates, and buried treasure marked by an X on a treasure map, all comes from this story.

Most of the story is narrated by Jim Hawkins, the son of the owners of an inn, who becomes involved in a mystery involving sailors and treasure, though there are a few chapters narrated by Doctor Livesey, whom Jim looks to as a trusted magistrate. The adventure takes place at some point in the 18th century, though one cannot determine the exact time frame and regardless it isn't important for the story.

This is a great work for younger readers as it is full of adventure and interesting characters, and a young hero in Jim Hawkins. The best known of the characters, though, is Long John Silver. Hired as a cook for the expedition, it is no surprise that Silver turns out to be much more. Silver has much more complexity and depth than any other character in the story, and that is perhaps the main thing that makes the story as engaging as it is. There is no shortage of film adaptations and TV shows based on this work, and though its story is clearly of a time, the enjoyment of reading it is timeless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$16.17