Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the VERY FIRST Star Trek novel!
During the late '60s/ early '70s, James Blish (of "Cities In Flight" fame) tackled the job of turning the Original Series episodes into short story form. He put six or seven in each book, titling each book with a number ("Star Trek", "Star Trek 2", etc), but died before he finished the last book. His widow Judith Lawrence finshed that one...
Published on Aug. 3 1999

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Concept ... and Nothing More
If you enjoy wasting your time, pick up this book. Blish takes a pretty cool concept and then methodically whisks and purees the soul from the Trek characters and lore until we're left with a colorless sketch that seems designed merely to show off the author's ready access to engineering dictionaries.
The original characters simply did not speak the way Blish writes...
Published on Nov. 30 2001 by kentuckyreader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars SPOCK MUST DIE!, June 5 2002
By 
K. Jump (Corbin, KY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Spock Must Die! was the first original Star Trek novel, and in fact is one of the best. When the Klingons unexpectedly invade Federation space, the Enterprise heads to Organia to see why the all-powerfufl Organians haven't intervened. A transporter experiment en route backfires horribly, creating a duplicate of Mr. Spock. Evidence surfaces that one of the Spocks is a Klingon agent--but which one?
Written by renowned sci-fi author James Blish, who adapted most of the original TV series into short stories, Spock Must Die! is a remarkably fast and easy read, despite the author's regrettable tendency to let his characters lapse into opaque techspeak at every opportunity. Blish understood the Star Trek characters thoroughly though, and this comes through in his prose, particularly his portrayals of Kirk and Spock. While Spock Must Die! certainly doesn't mesh with established Trek continuity since its original publication date, the novel remains a fun, thrilling tale, escpecially for those of us who still wax nostalgic about classic Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the VERY FIRST Star Trek novel!, Aug. 3 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
During the late '60s/ early '70s, James Blish (of "Cities In Flight" fame) tackled the job of turning the Original Series episodes into short story form. He put six or seven in each book, titling each book with a number ("Star Trek", "Star Trek 2", etc), but died before he finished the last book. His widow Judith Lawrence finshed that one as a legacy, but Blish had not gotten around to doing the two Harry Mudd episodes. Lawrence did those herself, filling out her book with a Mudd novelette, calling the book "Mudd's Angels". But while Blish was still alive, he wrote the very first Trek novel about Spock getting accidentally transported into an energy barrier. His original is held in the transporter buffer, but the barrier bounces a mirror image back as well. So when the dazzle clears, there's a Spock on each of two pads. "This here starship ain't big enough fer the both of us, yuh huh huh". That's the dilemma right there--which Spock is the original? One of 'em's got to go. Don't look for any of these books in the back pages of present-day Trek novels--it's a different publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Concept ... and Nothing More, Nov. 30 2001
By 
kentuckyreader (Louisville, Kentucky USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
If you enjoy wasting your time, pick up this book. Blish takes a pretty cool concept and then methodically whisks and purees the soul from the Trek characters and lore until we're left with a colorless sketch that seems designed merely to show off the author's ready access to engineering dictionaries.
The original characters simply did not speak the way Blish writes them: everyone gets a lengthy, wandering monologue filled with multisyllabic, techno-jumble.
Blish's representation of Scotty's brogue is outright incomprehensible. I kept thinking, This is supposed to be Scotty, not Groundskeeper Willie from The Simpsons. (I expected to "hear" Scotty call Bones a "croquet playing mint muncher" or something.)
The best thing I can say about this book is that it is blissfully (Blish-fully?) short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well, at least this Star Trek book makes sense!, Nov. 29 2000
By 
Kevin G. Whitty "Kevin Whitty" (Oak Park, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This book, although not a great literary work, was a relief to read. It is presently the only book standing between me and a sweeping condemnation of ALL Star Trek books.
The story is interesting and even engrossing. Each chapter ends with a little cliff hanger, and (most important) it keeps in continuity with the television series. It is a good follow-up story to the episode "Errand of Mercy," but is it guilty of the same annoying flaw as the original series and most Star Trek books - way too much focus on Kirk and Spock.
I give this book four stars for the story and continuity, and I take back one star for the reason stated. (Am I the only Trekkie who feels this way about the original Star Trek?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maintains continuity with the series, April 23 2000
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This novel is more like the series than any other that I have read. Blish wrote many of the screenplay-to-paperback adaptations. His wife wrote the rest after his death. Blish had the feel and the taste to do justice to the series. Most of the authors who penned the myriad novels that followed, were too nerdy and lacking in scientific creativity to meet the high standards set by the writers who penned the screenplays.
The plot goes roughly like this: Spock is duplicated by a force unknown to the crew of the Enterprise. Which Spock is the original and which is the copy? Was the duplication a freak accident or are sinister forces involved? Read the book to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Star Trek Novel - The original Star Trek Novel, Jan. 11 2000
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
It is so good to see this book republished.
As a collector of Sci-Fi and other paper backs I always feared that this masterpiece would be lost forever. To be truthfull it is not the best ever Star Trek novel ever printed, but it was the first! It almost certainly created the written Star Trek universe.
A MUST read!
The original cover is magic: A STAR TREK NOVEL, SPOCK MUST DIE, By James Blish, An exciting new adventure of interplanetary adventure.
Go on - Buy it ( but it only cost me 25 English Pence for my copy, published 1970 Bantam Books ). If you think that you collect Star Trek books then you can only believe in it when you have this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Fascinating ...", Aug. 9 1999
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Unfortunately, the STAR TREK books often times slump to the level of merely readable adventures continuing aimlessly from the small or the silver screen; they rarely reach beyond a limited focus and explore a grand tapestry with which to weave the tapestry of a novel. SPOCK MUST DIE, much like the Reeves-Stevens work in the Trek universe, goes well beyond the typical tome, giving us the plotlines on a galactic scale, characterizations true to those we know from the series, and posing interesting scientific 'what ifs' (always a benchmark of the great stories).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The original novel based on Star Trek characters., July 22 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Since this 1972 edition was printed, Star Trek novels have undergone a total reformation in style, length, and subject matter. Spock Must Die! deals with a very specific theme (obviously) and is written to appeal to the fans of the late 1960's.

The novel is a must read for any Star Trek fan. It is what inspired so many authors to pursue their writing dreams. Many of whom wrote their own novels based on the Star Trek characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well...., April 26 2000
By 
Thorn "thornsilver" (Forest Hills, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I cannot say I liked this book, but I cannot honestly say that I disliked it either. It's style and subject matter struck me as somewhat dated. It also has a bit more of "science" then most ST novels, at least recent ones. I think I would have enjoyed reading it more if it did not involve the StarTrek universe. I'd have to say that this book is for serious ST fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Blish = guarantee of quality, Aug. 20 2001
By 
This review is from: Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
It was a pleasure to read this perfect sequel to "Errand of Mercy". The story line based of transporter malfunction creating two Spocks (of course, the original one and the "evil twin") maintains a great tension from the beginning to the very end. It is a must-have for every Spock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel
Spock Must Die!: A Star Trek Novel by James Blish (Mass Market Paperback - March 1 1985)
CDN$ 8.50
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews