Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Pern needs more novels
I have read a lot of Anne McCaffrey, and this may be my favorite of all the series. No story tries to reach too far, dealing with just a handful of people and situations. The series is enhanced by being told by many different characters, whose stories frequently overlap. Dragon Drums is the third of the three Harper Hall books. the first tow deal with Melonie and this...
Published 2 months ago by Debra

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A Let-Down
This book focuses more on Menolly's friend Piemur instead of her and the antics of her clutch of fire-lizards. The beginning was intriguing, but a good part of the book was confusing without a backround history of Pern, and the end seemed rushed. I don't recommend this book as your first read by this author.
Published on Sept. 29 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Pern needs more novels, Feb. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragondrums (Paperback)
I have read a lot of Anne McCaffrey, and this may be my favorite of all the series. No story tries to reach too far, dealing with just a handful of people and situations. The series is enhanced by being told by many different characters, whose stories frequently overlap. Dragon Drums is the third of the three Harper Hall books. the first tow deal with Melonie and this last with a character introduced into the second book. Piemur was apprenticed younger than usual because of a superb soprano voice and was also a known prankster...his answer to staying one step ahead of the older and sometimes cruel apprentices. Here his voice begins to change and he must try to find another talent useful to his guildhall. Here his sharp and curious mind becomes both an asset and a point of envy to others, but Piemur must learn to keep what he knows to himself as the head Master himself takes an interest in using Piemur to keep an eye on troublemakers on the continent. Piemur grows up a little when he finds himself cut off from his friends, but manages to keep a dream or two alive and well on his journey. I like all the books in the Pern series, each one make the world a little bigger and the dragonmen and women a little more human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reign of Fire Lizards, Jan. 23 2007
This review is from: Dragondrums (Paperback)
"Dragondrums" is the third book in Anne McCaffery's "Harper Hall Trilogy" and is set on the world of Pern. Three years have now passed since "Dragonsinger", when Menolly first arrived at the Harper Hall. She remains a favourite of Masterharper Robinton, an still enjoys the company of her nine fire lizards. However, there have been some changes. Now a journeyman, she is much more confident and no-one questions her place at the Hall : in fact, she now seems to hold a certain amount of authority. However, although Menolly appears in "Dragondrums", she isn't the central character : this book tells the story of her friend and ally, Piemur.

"Dragondrums" begins with a disaster, albeit one that wasn't entirely unexpected : Piemur's voice breaks. As a result, his career as a singer has to be put on hold - something that also costs him his position as Shonagar's apprentice. Despite his initial fears, Piemur soon finds himself apprenticed to the Masterharper himself and working, at times, with Menolly and Sebell - another journeyman. As his tasks for Robinton will not be public news, however, he will officially be apprenticed to Olodkey, the Hall's drummaster. Although delighted with the prestige of working for Robinton, and hopeful that his work will include a visit to the Southern Continent, things aren't altogether easy for Piemur, His new classmates on the drum level make his life as difficult as they possible can - and his missions for Robinton are not without their peril.

Although the final book in the Harper Hall trilogy, "Dragonsong" didn't really seem to 'fit' - partly because the focus has shifted from Menolly to Piemur, and partly because it didn't really bring any 'ending' to the trilogy. Although Menolly does appear in a supporting role, there were some loose <ahem> Threads that could've been dealt with and were ignored. I also thought Piemur's choices at the end of the book were a little strange, given everything that had been so important to him up until that point. However, like the previous two instalments, this is an easily read and enjoyable book that contains, for me, a stronger adventure element.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not What Expected but Great Read, June 7 2004
By 
Melissa McCauley (North Little Rock, AR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragondrums (Paperback)
I was hoping that this third installment of the Harper Hall trilogy would be about my favorite character, Menolly. Instead, the book is about Piemur, Menolly's friend, whose golden voice changes with puberty, and he is forced to reassess his life. Piemur runs away from Harper Hall and finds adventure in the jungles of the Southern Continent. Menolly is mentioned here and there, so we find out what happens to her. Maybe it's because I'm female, but I just couldn't get as attached to Piemur, as immersed in his world. Still a great book by one of my favorite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dragondrums, Dec 29 2003
By 
Kat,Kat (Iowa City, IA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragondrums (Paperback)
Piemur has always known that he is at Harper Hall because of his perfectly perfect voice and that some day his voice will change. But on the day his voice does begin to change he wonders for the first time where he belongs. No longer having the perfectly perfect voice that he used to Piemur is sent to the drummer heights to learn to be a drum messanger. But only when he goes with a journeyman harper to a far off hold and is strangely misplaced to a place even farther away does Piemur begin to understand who he truely is.
This was a marvelous book, although I still really like Menolly, Piemur is a funny character who always has something up his sleeve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Piemur's Incredible Journey..., May 23 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragondrums (Mass Market Paperback)
Piemur is arguably one of the best singers in Harper Hall. He is eagerly anticipating his performance singing the role of Lessa in a new piece that Master Dominic has commissioned, when his voice starts to change. If Piemur can no longer sing, what role can he play at the Harper Hall? He has no patience for scribing, no skill for creating instruments and he doesn't compose, all he does is sing. Luckily, the Masterharper has a special job just for him. He is to become one of the Drummaster's apprentices and learn the drumbeats that deliver messages over the continent of Pern. Unfortunately, he is not well received in the drummer's tower and barely escapes lasting harm when his fellow apprentices play some nasty pranks on him. But the Masterharper is not done with Piemur yet and quickly sends him out with Sebell to do some unobtrusive information gathering at Lord Meron's hold. Piemur is excited to be of help, but his natural curiosity gets the better of him and he finds some fire lizard eggs. Ever since he started helping Menolly feed her fair, he has desperately wanted a fire lizard egg of his own, a queen, naturally. He cannot resist the temptation and steals one of the eggs. When it is noticed, Piemur is forced into hiding and finds himself on the largely uninhabited Southern Continent. Unsure of who is friend and who is foe, Piemur sets off to make a home for himself and to forge a new life with his fire lizard, Farli, his runnerbeast, Stupid, and his own quick wits to aid him.
Dragondrums tells the tale of Piemur, one of the first harpers to befriend Menolly (Dragonsong & Dragonsinger) when she came to Harper Hall. He was a rascal in those books, but a very loveable character. I gave this book 4 stars because I felt that Piemur changed quite abruptly from that fun-loving boy into a secretive, solitude-seeker, which is completely opposite from what he was before. I know that it is high time that he grew up and changed, but I did not feel that it was in necessarily a good way. I still enjoyed the book and feel that anyone reading McCaffrey's excellent Pern series will not want to miss it because it offers some critical links as to what is happening on Pern in general between Dragonsinger and The White Dragon, but I enjoyed Dragonsong & Dragonsinger (book 1 & 2 of the Harper Hall Trilogy) much more so I was a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Piemur's Incredible Journey..., May 23 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragondrums (Mass Market Paperback)
Piemur is arguably one of the best singers in Harper Hall. He is eagerly anticipating his performance singing the role of Lessa in a new piece that Master Dominic has commissioned, when his voice starts to change. If Piemur can no longer sing, what role can he play at the Harper Hall? He has no patience for scribing, no skill for creating instruments and he doesn't compose, all he does is sing. Luckily, the Masterharper has a special job just for him. He is to become one of the Drummaster's apprentices and learn the drumbeats that deliver messages over the continent of Pern. Unfortunately, he is not well received in the drummer's tower and barely escapes lasting harm when his fellow apprentices play some nasty pranks on him. But the Masterharper is not done with Piemur yet and quickly sends him out with Sebell to do some unobtrusive information gathering at Lord Meron's hold. Piemur is excited to be of help, but his natural curiosity gets the better of him and he finds some fire lizard eggs. Ever since he started helping Menolly feed her fair, he has desperately wanted a fire lizard egg of his own, a queen, naturally. He cannot resist the temptation and steals one of the eggs. When it is noticed, Piemur is forced into hiding and finds himself on the largely uninhabited Southern Continent. Unsure of who is friend and who is foe, Piemur sets off to make a home for himself and to forge a new life with his fire lizard, Farli, his runnerbeast, Stupid, and his own quick wits to aid him.
Dragondrums tells the tale of Piemur, one of the first harpers to befriend Menolly (Dragonsong & Dragonsinger) when she came to Harper Hall. He was a rascal in those books, but a very loveable character. I gave this book 4 stars because I felt that Piemur changed quite abruptly from that fun-loving boy into a secretive, solitude-seeker, which is completely opposite from what he was before. I know that it is high time that he grew up and changed, but I did not feel that it was in necessarily a good way. I still enjoyed the book and feel that anyone reading McCaffrey's excellent Pern series will not want to miss it because it offers some critical links as to what is happening on Pern in general between Dragonsinger and The White Dragon, but I enjoyed Dragonsong & Dragonsinger (book 1 & 2 of the Harper Hall Trilogy) much more so I was a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful McCaffrey book!, Aug. 30 2002
By 
Dawn Smoker (Mechanicsburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragondrums (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third book in the Harper Hall trilogy. The heroine of the two previous books, Menolly, now a confidant journeywoman, does appear and has some wonderful romantic moments, but it mainly revolves around her friend,the charming, young scamp Piemur. He believes his beautiful Soprano voice is his only asset to the Harper Hall. When his voice begins to break, he feels at a loss, but finds out that his ingenuity and intelligence are just as valued by the Masterharper Robinton as his youthful voice was. After a period of rough adjustment and a violent encounter with jealous rival apprentices, Piemur's other talents gain him a fire lizard and take him farther from the Hall than he ever dreamed--all the way to the mysterious Southern continent of Pern. This book allows the reader to glimpse at the hidden side of the Hall. Teaching and entertaining are not the only tunes a Harper can play in Pern!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't pass this up, July 15 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragondrums (Mass Market Paperback)
All of Anne McCaffry's books are expertly written. She writes books that are great for kids: not too complicated, funny, and involves characters that are kids. She also writes for adults: touching and emotional. No matter what your age, Anne's books are a must read. This is one of those books that sucks you in and makes you feel as though you are actually there in the action. The books are set on a different world with an entirely different way of life. You find yourself sitting, after finishing the book, and thinking that this could actually happen in the future. You have to read all the books in the series, no one is better than the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first 'adult' book I ever read., Aug. 16 2001
By 
J.L Atwood "khymaera" (Carrollton, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragondrums (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the first 'adult' book I ever read, some twelve years ago. I was nine. For years I loved the covers of my parents books; dragons most of all. And, when they let me read DragonDrums, a whole new world opened before me. It caught me, hard and fast.
DragonDrums is a sweet tale of a young boy who, through guile and gumption, gains his dreams and a eventually centeral seat in the history of his world (in later books). Piemur is bold and brash, that gap-toothed boy down the street you knew as a kid. A scrapper, in the classic sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book, but........., July 4 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dragondrums (Mass Market Paperback)
I have thoroughly enjoyed the harper hall books, but, this one, in a way, fell short of what I expected. When Piemur's point of view was added to the book, and in fact, took up most of it, boredome and disapointment was constant. Although I kept on reading, only awaiting the parts when Sebell and Menolly were the points of view you looked from. The only thing that gave me pleasure in this book was that Menolly and Sebell really hit it off. And I mean REALLY hit it off. All in all, I think this book would be awesome if it was from Menolly's point of view, and if it were longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2306e04)

This product

Dragondrums
Dragondrums by Anne McCaffrey (Mass Market Paperback - March 4 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews