Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
Enjoy Louis L'Amours writing, I'm reading all the Sackett books. They keep me guessing, and wanting more... However river the ride is my favorite
Published 1 month ago by Lisa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts : A novel
Was a gift. What more can be said as I do not read this type of book. I am sure it is a good read.
Published 16 months ago by Elaine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, June 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Enjoy Louis L'Amours writing, I'm reading all the Sackett books. They keep me guessing, and wanting more... However river the ride is my favorite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, April 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My first by L'Amour. A good intro. Sound characters but not a lot of depth. Good enough to want to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, March 30 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Louis L'Amour is always a good read . I am interested in following the Sackett family in the New America
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts : A novel, March 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Was a gift. What more can be said as I do not read this type of book. I am sure it is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superbly written adventure story, April 5 2004
Dramatically narrated by John Curless, To The Far Blue Mountains is an flawlessly recorded audiobook presentation of yet another of Louis L'Amour's classic western novels featuring the hardy endurance of the Sackett clan as they addressed the challenges of life in the Old West. To The Far Blue Mountains follows Barnabas Sackett, who is on the run with his steadfast wife Abigail and his only escape is to the west. This is a superbly written adventure story of earning a life for oneself on the frontier, surviving all manner of hazards both human and environmental, and eventually prospering despite the hostilities of nature and man alike. To The Far Blue Mountains is an enthusiastically recommended audiobook for personal and community library collections!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, April 20 2003
By 
Mark Butler (Northwest Washington USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked up this book because the intro on the back cover sounded good and I've liked almost every L'amour book I've read. Its written in a first person narrative as though he was sitting across from you on the couch telling the story.
The first half of the book is terrific, following his escape from England. We learn of his thirst to be out in the wild open spaces of the newly discovered America, he is falsy accused and is running from the law collecting people to join him as he describes the new beginnings they can have in the New World. Its very tightly written (though I think his escape from prison was way too easy) and you really love the character.
Once the group got to America things changed. In an effort to show the WHOLE life of Barnabas the whole story changes, now we have 50 years of history in 100 pages. So the narrative changes from a day-by-day upbeat story where friends are joining the group to a list of significant events, usually where one of the group dies from an indian raid. It becomes a series of "we built a fort", "xxx died in an indian raid", "the fort burned down", "we went down to sea and traded our skins for supplies", "yyyy died in an indian raid", "we built another fort", etc.
I didn't like the ending either, I think the whole story basically got pretty depressing towards the end with all the group dying or leaving to go off and do other things. All the next generation were grown up and strong but we don't have the emotional connection with them that we did with the first group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, Oct. 9 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book a long long time back, but I still remember it very well.great characters and an entertaining story.A worthy sire to a wothy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific sequel, just as good as the first one, Sept. 22 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
L'Amour is oustanding, no other writer has his attention to detail and imagery in their writings. Barnabas, Jeremy Ring, and others are once again beautifully presented and brought to life. definately a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best!!, April 6 1999
By 
fitzo5@home.com (Baltimore, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
In this novel some the best setting for stories are combines. The prisons of England, the high sea in the age of piracy, and the still wild American frontier. Here the author has created a masterpiece!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was the best book I've ever read., Dec 13 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Barnabas Sackett is the hero in the best novel I've ever laid eyes on. This one is superb.I especially enjoyed the uncertainty of what would happen next. His journey to America and back is full of unexpected surprises. Jenny J.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts: A Novel
To the Far Blue Mountains: The Sacketts: A Novel by Louis L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 1 1984)
CDN$ 6.99 CDN$ 6.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews