Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Gibson did it again
William Gibson has again proved himself an extraordinary writer with Mona Lisa Overdrive. The story takes place in a futuristic world where big corporations run everything and the entertainment business is the world's largest source of income. It is here that we meet Gibson's remarkable cast of characters including Angie, a famous "stim star" that has the ability to...
Published on Nov. 30 2001 by Jacob Hoberg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Neuromancer Underdrive
Gibson has both developed and regressed in this piece, which appears far from the noirish heights of Neuromancer, and yet somehow more mature. Mona Lisa Overdrive is a complex book, which tracks the overlapping stories of five characters, using neat chapter-size sections for each. He develops each character with startling skill, no mean feat for the man who filled...
Published on Oct. 26 1998


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction at its Strongest: Mona Lisa Overdrive, May 24 2000
By 
Roland P. Petalver (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
The form of this novel reminded me of a sea urchin, radiating out from a center; dense in the heart, sharp and threatening from numerous points. As spines, the narrator offered a beautiful mix of technology and humanism: at one point exploring the matrices of cyberspace while at another delving into the complexities of drug addiction and celebrity. And in keeping with this eclectic style, no single character or theme dominated the story. Moreover, by narrating clearly and entertainingly the novel ends up as a cohesive whole. It was uncanny, really, how the narrator was able to use language to not only tell a great story, but detail a universe where permanent habitats exist off of Earth, where computers commune with extra terrestrial life, and where mankind slowly continues to merge with technology. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay in that universe just a bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Splendid End to William Gibson's "Cyberspace" Trilogy, May 3 2001
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
"Mona Lisa Overdrive" is an insightful look into the meaning of celebrity as it is shaped and distorted in Gibson's cyberspace future. Characters from "Neuromancer" and "Count Zero" return, showing new facets to their already complex personalities. Those who haven't read the previous two books in the "Cyberspace" trilogy should read them first, in sequence, before delving again into richly textured landscapes which Gibson evokes through his sparse, lyrical prose. Yet I can assure you that "Mona Lisa Overdrive" is well worth waiting for. The plot moves along at a more leisurely pace here than before, allowing Gibson time to delve more deeply into his character's minds. Anyone wishing to read a great work of literature that is also classic cyberpunk science fiction won't be disappointed with "Mona Lisa Overdrive".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gibson's Vanilla science fiction book, Nov. 2 2000
By 
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
I've been reading many stuff about Gibson nowadays - that he "lost his touch", can't do good books anymore, etc.
Truth is, the big "Wow!" factor of Gibson is really lost - he's not a "new" author anymore, he has become his standard and is now writing on his own style, not trying to do many new stuff.
With this book, Gibson does a thrilling "cyberpunk" science fiction book. With post-modern science fiction from the start to the end, this is a book I enjoyed reading a lot - it doesn't get lost on any crazy philosophy/political discussion at the middle of it.
It's different from previous of Gibson's books in the point that's much more of a "consumer/pop" book - easy to read, and the story itself looks much more like a hollywood-movie script - but still a book to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neuromancer, and then some, Dec 2 2002
By 
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
Gibson has done it again. Every element that made Neuromancer a hit is present. The hard-nosed Molly, now know as Sally Shears, returns to supply all the action one could ever want. There is the familiar merging of two A.I.s. But the clincher here is that Gibson presents a slough of characters who's stories are intricately woven together. Each character allows us experience aspect of a tainted society. There's Angie, the pop-star of the sim-stim world, Mona, an orphan-turned-stripper, Slick, the mechanic tortured by the past he can't remember, as well as many more. Each character deals with there similiar problems in a unique way that presents their point of view and character. Gibson's writing abilities have definately matured, and he takes us to the next level with Mona Lisa Overdrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book rocks. True Gibson artwork., Nov. 4 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
I could seriously not put this book down. I read Neuromancer, which I thought was an awesome book, and I read Count Zero, which was good but sort of boring. Mona Lisa Overdrive however was a true masterpiece true to Gibson. The environment, so dark and un-organic paints a dark picture in your mind that is so real and tangible in a way. Cyberspace and the computer-driven networked world also played so much of a part in this simply amazing imaginary world. When it matches with the characters so nicely you can't discount the book because it's so enthralling. I loved this book and I know a lot of others that did too (although most of them tell me it's a cult following to like Gibson's work).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent conclusion to the "Sprawl" series, Sept. 14 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed "Mona Lisa Overdrive" and "Count Zero" more than "Neuromancer" but the reason is that I read "Neuromancer" before "Burning Chrome" (Gibson's collection of short stories) and the other two after "BC". It makes a big difference because "BC" gives you a lot of necessary background. "MLO" is almost better than "CZ". The introduction of some new characters to go with the story of Angela Mitchell and The Count worked well, I thought. I liked the relationship bewteen Molly and Kumiko too. I think it's time I re-read "Neuromancer" to get a second perspective on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Takes off slow, then hits hypersonic speeds., Nov. 13 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
Is this book good? Definitely. Is it worth reading? Absolutely. Is it the best Gibson can put out? Not quite. After reading this book, which appears to be the final chapter in the Sprawl series, the most I can say is that it could've been more gripping, but it wasn't, and that's really okay; Gibson is a master of his work, and the complex story he weaves of cyberspace gods and corporate strangeness- although slow to pick up and somewhat confusing- is worthy of its predecessors. True, Neuromancer and Count Zero were better- but this book has a special reward or two in store for those of us who paid attention through the rest of the series. You'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Every pop icon should be wary...., July 11 2002
By 
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
I could see exactly how Angie Mitchell is today's Britney and Janet Jackson or any other pop star. But the story, action and complete contrast to the other characters, who are just as real and human as Angie (if not more) is what makes this a masterpiece. Just as easily can we imagine the squeamish response from a pop star about smelling fish, can we see the landscape of trash and refuse that is Dog solitude as it's lonely residents feel trouble in a big car rolling towards them.
And remember never to just snort the stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Picture this..., March 10 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
I had never seen Count Zero in the stores, so I thought this one was the sequel to Neuromancer instead of the 3rd. I followed it okay, and enjoyed it too, but definitely felt like I was on the outside looking in, always playing catch up. So, read the first two first, then this one, and enjoy! Much more of this one takes place in the real world than Neuromancer, so I found it much easier to "see" what was going on. And since it's not so caught up in the gadgetry, the characters come through more fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simstim?, May 31 2001
By 
Terence Dunne (Davis, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
Third book in the series. Do not read this book if you have not read the first three. This one keeps the reader on the edge of their seat with great characters, technology and an interesting view of drugs in the future. The reader will be left thinking about many of Gibson's concepts after the book is over. It has a better ending then Count Zero also but as usual it leaves the reader hanging. I really enjoyed the return of Molly (who might just be the best female action character of all time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mona Lisa Overdrive
Mona Lisa Overdrive by William Gibson (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 6 1997)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews