Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars SF NOIR...POETIC DREAMSCAPES OF A DISTOPIC FUTURE...(Part 3)
I have read this masterpiece (together with the other two of the Sprawl series: NEUROMANCER and COUNT ZERO) during my university years, about a decade ago. Since then I have re-read it countless times.

Many a times the third book of a trilogy is published only to fulfill contractual obligations: this is definitely NOT the case here. Every one of those three is...
Published on Sept. 6 2007 by NeuroSplicer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice story
I quite like Gibson's vision of a near future. The images and characters are lovely and vivid, it is easy to see how this work helped shape our vision of a cyber universe. The rating here reflects the immaturity of the writing, there is very little linguistic play and the eventual convolution of the story line or quite obvious compared to the later work.
Published 9 months ago by Pierre N. LeBlanc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite of the Sprawl novels, Nov. 23 2001
By 
frumiousb "frumiousb" (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
Like other reviewers, I was happy to see Molly again-- can I be an over-thirty razorgirl? Even though all the books were great reads, somehow _Mona Lisa Overdrive_ managed to flow together with every click perfect. The other two were heartbreakingly close to perfect, but for me this one just did everything right. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply my favorite fiction, ever., Sept. 27 2001
By 
Stephen Dodd (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
Gibson's writing is gritty urban poetry. Every phrase is polished, shaped. This is THX writing. Science fiction doesn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I should have read Count Zero first..., Sept. 25 2001
By 
Ashley Wynn "polijn" (Mountain Pine, AR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
But who cares? Molly was there. I love that razorgirl. Makes me want glass eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Third of three, very good, Aug. 26 2001
By 
tzadik "tzadik" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
Read the other two first. I find this series to be the best of his stuff, but you need to be into it. Gibson, like most of his Sci-Fi contemporaries, is an acquired taste. Iduro is also very good, and more accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simstim?, May 31 2001
By 
Terence Dunne (Davis, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
Third book in the series. Do not read this book if you have not read the first three. This one keeps the reader on the edge of their seat with great characters, technology and an interesting view of drugs in the future. The reader will be left thinking about many of Gibson's concepts after the book is over. It has a better ending then Count Zero also but as usual it leaves the reader hanging. I really enjoyed the return of Molly (who might just be the best female action character of all time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why I read it more than once, May 9 2001
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
In such a rapidly evolving world as our own, the future is only just around the corner, and yet for the majority of us, beyond our imagination.
Gibson has a gift; he writes of a time, not far away, in which our current technological progress has succeded and is hungry for more. The world of which you read is protratyed so convincingly that, for the reader, this vision soon becomes the backdrop for the stories Gibson has to tell. A time in which the interaction between man and machine is as easy as breathing. Gibson writes of the future as if it were history.
This novel is the end of a trilogy and yet comfortably stands alone as an individual piece. With this book Gibson gives greater insight into his previous works and tells a sharp, page turning tale of corporate manipulation, zaibatsu war, and plain survival in a world that is hard to escape from. Not unlike Gibson's AI's, this story loops, intertwines and mutates what has gone before.
For a newcomer to Gibson, this book will be an eye-opener - for those who know this writer's work, it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Splendid End to William Gibson's "Cyberspace" Trilogy, May 3 2001
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
"Mona Lisa Overdrive" is an insightful look into the meaning of celebrity as it is shaped and distorted in Gibson's cyberspace future. Characters from "Neuromancer" and "Count Zero" return, showing new facets to their already complex personalities. Those who haven't read the previous two books in the "Cyberspace" trilogy should read them first, in sequence, before delving again into richly textured landscapes which Gibson evokes through his sparse, lyrical prose. Yet I can assure you that "Mona Lisa Overdrive" is well worth waiting for. The plot moves along at a more leisurely pace here than before, allowing Gibson time to delve more deeply into his character's minds. Anyone wishing to read a great work of literature that is also classic cyberpunk science fiction won't be disappointed with "Mona Lisa Overdrive".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gibson's Vanilla science fiction book, Nov. 2 2000
By 
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
I've been reading many stuff about Gibson nowadays - that he "lost his touch", can't do good books anymore, etc.
Truth is, the big "Wow!" factor of Gibson is really lost - he's not a "new" author anymore, he has become his standard and is now writing on his own style, not trying to do many new stuff.
With this book, Gibson does a thrilling "cyberpunk" science fiction book. With post-modern science fiction from the start to the end, this is a book I enjoyed reading a lot - it doesn't get lost on any crazy philosophy/political discussion at the middle of it.
It's different from previous of Gibson's books in the point that's much more of a "consumer/pop" book - easy to read, and the story itself looks much more like a hollywood-movie script - but still a book to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ghost was a gift from her father..., Sept. 22 2000
By 
"klik66" (San Francisco, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
As usual, Gibson opens with an intriguing line then proceeds to send the reader on a wild ride in a beautifully imagined world. This is the third in the Neuromancer trilogy and would be confusing to those who haven't read Neuromancer or Count Zero. Of course if you've read either of the first two books you probably can't wait to read this one. Well, it's worth the wait. These stories will be hallmarks of 20th century literature and that's no mere hyperbole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction at its Strongest: Mona Lisa Overdrive, May 24 2000
By 
Roland P. Petalver (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mona Lisa Overdrive (Mass Market Paperback)
The form of this novel reminded me of a sea urchin, radiating out from a center; dense in the heart, sharp and threatening from numerous points. As spines, the narrator offered a beautiful mix of technology and humanism: at one point exploring the matrices of cyberspace while at another delving into the complexities of drug addiction and celebrity. And in keeping with this eclectic style, no single character or theme dominated the story. Moreover, by narrating clearly and entertainingly the novel ends up as a cohesive whole. It was uncanny, really, how the narrator was able to use language to not only tell a great story, but detail a universe where permanent habitats exist off of Earth, where computers commune with extra terrestrial life, and where mankind slowly continues to merge with technology. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay in that universe just a bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mona Lisa Overdrive
Mona Lisa Overdrive by William Gibson (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 6 1997)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews