countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$9.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 30, 2016
Great series! Recommend if you like sci-fi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2016
Love the book and the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
SON IN LAW NOW HAS COMPLETE COLLECTION
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
An absolute classic in science fiction and human history. A fabulous pondering of what is and what may one day be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2004
I enjoyed the Foundation series very much, and I would recomend it to anyone. If you have read the first two then there is no reason to not read the Second Foundation, I just found it anti-climatic. I generally enjoy more of a firm ending, and I know that Asimov goes on to write more in the series, but I wanted an end with more of an explination about Seldon and his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2004
This is the final book in the original Foundation trilogy.
With the advent of the Mule, the Foundation is set off from the Seldon plan irreversibly. Or is it? The second book ends with a theory that the Second Foundation established by Seldon, is one consisting of the scientists using Seldon's own method of mathematical psychology. As such, it would make it a natural complement to the physical scientists of the First Foundation. However, very little is known about the Second Foundation and they haven't shown their face in all the centuries of the Foundation history. Do they exist? Do they have the power of Seldon's psychology? Are they the true keepers of the Plan or are they the enemy?
This novel details the search for the Second Foundation - whatever that entity happens to be. There are two books: the first detailing the Mule's own search for the Second Foundation (to destroy it and thus establish his supreme dominion of the Galaxy) and the second, detailing the search by some people from the Foundation itself (by which time, it is seen as a hostile force from the Foundation's perspective).
I found the second book to be better, but, while enjoyable, they both suffer from a flaw missing from the previous Foundation novels. The others were concerned largely with physical force and even at that were pretty packed with conspiracies, double-crossing and the like. Because the Second Foundation deals with the mind, these elements escalate to the point where I though it was a bit too arbitrary. The climaxes of both books are a bit like a wild goose chase, where the reader's conception of the situation is shattered and a new one built up in its place several times over within a few pages. It seems a bit over-the-top.
Still, a great finish to the trilogy. It's still a very entertaining novel and other than that flaw, it has the great mega-epic quality of the others: a whole civilisation's essence is epitomised in a few hundred pages. The book ends on a quite unresolved note, hundreds of years away from the projected establishment of the Second Empire, but it's the potential uncertainty that I liked (a good thing for the purists who don't accept the later Foundation novels as being in the spirit!). It certainly wraps up the whole basis of what the Plan was/is and why things happened like they did (although, of course, it doesn't fully satisfy by a longshot). This makes it a worthy ending to the monumental trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2003
This volume of The Foundation Series is my favorite of the entire set. The First Foundation, sent out to survive the fall of the Empire, now faces an insidious enemy. The Second Foundation may have originally been set up by Seldon to influence and maintain the plan, but now they are undoubtedly corrupted by a mindchanging influence. The plot takes many delightful twists and turns, making this a masterful mystery as well as a good sci-fi tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2003
Again, like Foundation, it is a little dry, but character development is hard in a story that spans over multiple centuries...something that is easier to manage in the Second Foundation because it is more focused on one generations struggle for their part in the evolution of the Foundation. A very solid read and classic Asimov.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2003
Of course, we all know by now that the Trilogy was just the beginning of the Foundation story. We had prequels and sequels but these three remain the core of the saga. In FOUNDATION AND EMPIRE we were introduced to the Mule, a mutant with mental powers so great he could change the course of history. Since Seldon had set up two Foundations - one known, one unknown - it would be a catastrophe if the Mule ever discovered the location of the secret one.
This is a tale of innocence, of a 14-year old girl (Arkadia) and her friendship with a man we come to discover is the Mule. The final battle - as in all books of this type - correct all wrong and allows us to discover that the location of the Second Foundation was at "Galaxy's End" - the center of the galaxy, Trantor, where Seldon had resided.
The real trick now is creating the alternate robot stories that would intertwine and eventually unite with the Foundation Series creating a new entity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.39