Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a Wonderful Life
Any successful pilgramage requires that the traveler have knowledge of both the destination and of the path to be traveled in order to arrive at the destination. As a clinical psychotherapist, I have come to realize that this is especially true of the pilgramage to becoming fully alive! There are some incredibly helpful resources in religion, philosophy and psychology...
Published on June 30 2000 by Les

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source for Self Reference
I found this book to be quite interesting. However, it did seem to emphasize the negative aspects of almost all of the personality types. Thus the 3 stars. It is probably the best beginners book for the enneagram. It goes into a lot of detail regarding the types, wings, etc.
Published on Dec 31 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The book to get!, March 12 2000
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
If you only read one Enneagram book in your life, it ought to be "The Wisdom of the Enneagram". It gives you clear and concise explanations of the system and the types along with tests and exercises to not only figure out your own type, but to learn from it and grow! Every time I read this book I feel that God is speaking directly to me through these words and I am able to let go of some more of my baggage. The message is brought forth with compassion and clarity without ever being condescending. It is an invitation to live a more fulfilling life. Don't say no! Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can a book cahnge your life?, Nov. 19 2003
By 
Bart Keller (Norman, Oklahoma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
The answer is yes. I can easily say this book will astound you. This is NOT a cult book. Now that that's out of the way, buy this book, pass it around. I am not exagerrating when I say that this bok will show you things that you never even knew about yourself. This book will at LEAST challenge you. Basically, this is a self-discovery book, and you'd be amazed at how little you know about yourself. Give the Enneagram a shot, and do it with this book. This is by far my favorite Enneagram book and I HIGHLY recommend it for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A TOP NOTCH ENNEAGRAM BOOK!, Aug. 20 2001
By 
Tarin Frances (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Amongst the myriad of books about personality, The Wisdom of the Enneagram stands out as one of the most clear, focussed, and nurturing.
I love the charts, graphs, and explanations about high/low level functioning of the types as well as the easy flow used when describing an intricate theroy. This really should be required reading for all -- would improve all types of relationships and help reduce the divorce rate!
For the person looking for answers about his or her life choices, this is a good place to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, though a bit diffuse..., June 13 2000
By 
Alan F. Bradley "alabra" (Nashville, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
I have purchased every Riso or Riso/Hudson project, my all time favorite being the revised, orange-covered "Personality Types." The style and content of "Wisdom of the Enneagram" is broader than "Personality Types" and perhaps tries to accomplish too much, with the effect of losing some of the clarity and succinctness of "Personality Types." BUT (!), ANY Riso/Hudson book about the Enneagram is a GOOD one and a MUST HAVE! There are lots of fresh insights and "spins" on Enneagram wisdom in this one. Of all the growing number of Enneagram authors out there, Don Riso has been, is, and will likely remain my favorite. His understanding of the Enneagram - in both theory and application - is rich and deep. Something about his interpretations seem to resonate more harmoniously with "how I see it", too. A definite "must" purchase to round out one's collection of Enneagram literature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un livre complet, Feb. 19 2004
By 
Matt (Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Riso et Hudson, en plus d'expliquer clairement et de manière précise les différentes caractéristiques de chacun des types, amènent des nuances très intéressantes et nous permettent d'étudier et de comprendre les divers niveaux de "santé" relié aux types (i.e. niveaux de développement). Puis, les auteurs ouvrent la porte au développement personnel. En bref, le livre le plus complet qui m'a été donné de lire jusqu'à présent sur l'ennéagramme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reader in Denver, Oct. 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Incredible work! This is THE BEST Enneagram book available, combining the psychology of the personalities with the spiritual force at work in all of our lives. This powerful combination allows the reader to move from mere typing of themselves or others to an actual practice of learning to release him or herself from their ego mind. This book is the real stuff, a true gem from gifted spiritual Teachers who come from a place of understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start, Jan. 6 2004
By 
Susan F. Krusleski (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
This book has good insight into the personality types and can really open your eyes. It has a chapter for each type with a quiz at the beginning, quotes, levels of development, descriptions of behaviors or preoccupations, tips for breaking free of them, and profiles for each wing and variant. I found it very informative and easy to read, so I would recommend it to beginners. The only problem for me was that at the end of each chapter, it goes into this mystical talk about spiritual growth and "Essence." That may appeal to some, but it got on my nerves. (For someone who merely wants to the system from a logical viewpoint without so much spiritual mumbo-jumbo, ... Aside from that, this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars if you are looking for something practical this isn't it, June 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Big, thick, fluffy heavy book...Nothing about what personality gets along with another. A waste of my money - really a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding key to insight on how people think, Feb. 16 2001
By 
Conrad B. Senior (Easton, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
.
*********************************************************
The theory is basically this:
There are three main type of personality types. Feelers, Thinkers, and Relators. Each of these has three sub-types, and each of these sub-types has a healthy, average and unhealthy sub-sub-type.
Additionally, your personality type varies depending on whether you are under stress, relaxed, or average (sometimes called childhood state). The Enneagram is an ancient symbol that diagrams the relationship of the different personality types move to other types depending on your state of mind.
It is not the whole answer to how people think, but a large part of it. You will be amazed.
Consider this. If you read this book and determine what personality type a friend or relation is, you can then predict, with a high degree of accuracy, how they will react. With time, you can get quite good at it.
Some examples of the nine principal types: Helpers-the type of people that give you many small gifts, but then look for the big payoff, Performers-who sacrifice feeling for gold stars and high grades, Observers-who fear the unknown, and have a sense of awareness of their environment and understanding or people that is almost supernatural, Leaders-who see only black and white, and never shades of gray, and the Flakes, who break plans if something else more interesting comes along. There are nine of them. Study them all.
Find out what personality type you are. Unless you are a type 7 you will find this very informative. If you are a type 7 it probably won't do you any good.
Any book an the Enneagram is a book that will open your eyes, your vision will be expanded. Read it.
*********************************************************
Conrad B. Senior
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best for beginner and expert, April 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
As someone who believes the Enneagram is the most profound and practical way of understanding ourselves and others, I use the Enneagram to help me increase personal and spiritual growth, enhance my work as a psychotherapist, and relate & communicate more appreciatively with others. Wisdom of the Enneagram is my favorite Enneagram book and the one I reccomend for both beginners and experts (though Don and Russ's other books are 5 star as well). I'm constantly impressed by how Don Riso and Russ Hudson can write such a comprehensive far ranging book of great depth and make it so readable and appealing. Especially since it is so well organized with many very interesting tables, charts, and sections; this is a book you will read and refer to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews