Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has profound wisdom
This book is greatly helpful for most people except those who are caught up with religious doctrines without being able to understand the spiritual message behind the doctrines.

This book focuses on sanctification (transformation), it provides a road map to help us transform spiritually into loving individuals. Love and compassion comes from spiritual maturity...
Published on July 17 2007 by C. Cheng

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source for Self Reference
I found this book to be quite interesting. However, it did seem to emphasize the negative aspects of almost all of the personality types. Thus the 3 stars. It is probably the best beginners book for the enneagram. It goes into a lot of detail regarding the types, wings, etc.
Published on Dec 31 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best for beginner and expert, April 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
As someone who believes the Enneagram is the most profound and practical way of understanding ourselves and others, I use the Enneagram to help me increase personal and spiritual growth, enhance my work as a psychotherapist, and relate & communicate more appreciatively with others. Wisdom of the Enneagram is my favorite Enneagram book and the one I reccomend for both beginners and experts (though Don and Russ's other books are 5 star as well). I'm constantly impressed by how Don Riso and Russ Hudson can write such a comprehensive far ranging book of great depth and make it so readable and appealing. Especially since it is so well organized with many very interesting tables, charts, and sections; this is a book you will read and refer to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully detailed, Dec 1 2012
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
This was my first 'big' introduction book to the Enneagram, which I have now been studying for year and use regularly in my clinic. It is extremely detailed and comprehensive, and yet is accessible for both the educated and the non. A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book to get!, March 12 2000
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
If you only read one Enneagram book in your life, it ought to be "The Wisdom of the Enneagram". It gives you clear and concise explanations of the system and the types along with tests and exercises to not only figure out your own type, but to learn from it and grow! Every time I read this book I feel that God is speaking directly to me through these words and I am able to let go of some more of my baggage. The message is brought forth with compassion and clarity without ever being condescending. It is an invitation to live a more fulfilling life. Don't say no! Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can a book cahnge your life?, Nov. 19 2003
By 
Bart Keller (Norman, Oklahoma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
The answer is yes. I can easily say this book will astound you. This is NOT a cult book. Now that that's out of the way, buy this book, pass it around. I am not exagerrating when I say that this bok will show you things that you never even knew about yourself. This book will at LEAST challenge you. Basically, this is a self-discovery book, and you'd be amazed at how little you know about yourself. Give the Enneagram a shot, and do it with this book. This is by far my favorite Enneagram book and I HIGHLY recommend it for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A TOP NOTCH ENNEAGRAM BOOK!, Aug. 20 2001
By 
Tarin Frances (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Amongst the myriad of books about personality, The Wisdom of the Enneagram stands out as one of the most clear, focussed, and nurturing.
I love the charts, graphs, and explanations about high/low level functioning of the types as well as the easy flow used when describing an intricate theroy. This really should be required reading for all -- would improve all types of relationships and help reduce the divorce rate!
For the person looking for answers about his or her life choices, this is a good place to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, though a bit diffuse..., June 13 2000
By 
Alan F. Bradley "alabra" (Nashville, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
I have purchased every Riso or Riso/Hudson project, my all time favorite being the revised, orange-covered "Personality Types." The style and content of "Wisdom of the Enneagram" is broader than "Personality Types" and perhaps tries to accomplish too much, with the effect of losing some of the clarity and succinctness of "Personality Types." BUT (!), ANY Riso/Hudson book about the Enneagram is a GOOD one and a MUST HAVE! There are lots of fresh insights and "spins" on Enneagram wisdom in this one. Of all the growing number of Enneagram authors out there, Don Riso has been, is, and will likely remain my favorite. His understanding of the Enneagram - in both theory and application - is rich and deep. Something about his interpretations seem to resonate more harmoniously with "how I see it", too. A definite "must" purchase to round out one's collection of Enneagram literature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un livre complet, Feb. 19 2004
By 
Matt (Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Riso et Hudson, en plus d'expliquer clairement et de manière précise les différentes caractéristiques de chacun des types, amènent des nuances très intéressantes et nous permettent d'étudier et de comprendre les divers niveaux de "santé" relié aux types (i.e. niveaux de développement). Puis, les auteurs ouvrent la porte au développement personnel. En bref, le livre le plus complet qui m'a été donné de lire jusqu'à présent sur l'ennéagramme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reader in Denver, Oct. 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Incredible work! This is THE BEST Enneagram book available, combining the psychology of the personalities with the spiritual force at work in all of our lives. This powerful combination allows the reader to move from mere typing of themselves or others to an actual practice of learning to release him or herself from their ego mind. This book is the real stuff, a true gem from gifted spiritual Teachers who come from a place of understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source for Self Reference, Dec 31 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
I found this book to be quite interesting. However, it did seem to emphasize the negative aspects of almost all of the personality types. Thus the 3 stars. It is probably the best beginners book for the enneagram. It goes into a lot of detail regarding the types, wings, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars if you are looking for something practical this isn't it, June 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Big, thick, fluffy heavy book...Nothing about what personality gets along with another. A waste of my money - really a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews