Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has profound wisdom
This book is greatly helpful for most people except those who are caught up with religious doctrines without being able to understand the spiritual message behind the doctrines.

This book focuses on sanctification (transformation), it provides a road map to help us transform spiritually into loving individuals. Love and compassion comes from spiritual maturity...
Published on July 17 2007 by C. Cheng

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source for Self Reference
I found this book to be quite interesting. However, it did seem to emphasize the negative aspects of almost all of the personality types. Thus the 3 stars. It is probably the best beginners book for the enneagram. It goes into a lot of detail regarding the types, wings, etc.
Published on Dec 31 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Reader in Denver, Oct. 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Incredible work! This is THE BEST Enneagram book available, combining the psychology of the personalities with the spiritual force at work in all of our lives. This powerful combination allows the reader to move from mere typing of themselves or others to an actual practice of learning to release him or herself from their ego mind. This book is the real stuff, a true gem from gifted spiritual Teachers who come from a place of understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A TOP NOTCH ENNEAGRAM BOOK!, Aug. 20 2001
By 
Tarin Frances (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Amongst the myriad of books about personality, The Wisdom of the Enneagram stands out as one of the most clear, focussed, and nurturing.
I love the charts, graphs, and explanations about high/low level functioning of the types as well as the easy flow used when describing an intricate theroy. This really should be required reading for all -- would improve all types of relationships and help reduce the divorce rate!
For the person looking for answers about his or her life choices, this is a good place to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive book on pyschology, June 27 2001
By 
Dave Love (Marina del Rey, ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
I am the biggest arm chair shrink in the world. This was my first book and I always go back to it for reference. Forget the "annegram" reviews. This is a book about personality types. This book clearly shows the nine personality types and explains them from healthy to unhealthy behavior. I cannot stress enough the importance of this book. If you are ever going to understand yourself and others you must know the pyschological basis of personalities. You will be writing down all of your friends and family names on the pages where they correspond. By doing so, you will be able to deal with difficult people and in an awe inspiring moment, be able to identify yourself and why you are the way you are. It is an amazing book and Riso is one of my all time favorite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best for beginner and expert, April 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
As someone who believes the Enneagram is the most profound and practical way of understanding ourselves and others, I use the Enneagram to help me increase personal and spiritual growth, enhance my work as a psychotherapist, and relate & communicate more appreciatively with others. Wisdom of the Enneagram is my favorite Enneagram book and the one I reccomend for both beginners and experts (though Don and Russ's other books are 5 star as well). I'm constantly impressed by how Don Riso and Russ Hudson can write such a comprehensive far ranging book of great depth and make it so readable and appealing. Especially since it is so well organized with many very interesting tables, charts, and sections; this is a book you will read and refer to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source for Self Reference, Dec 31 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
I found this book to be quite interesting. However, it did seem to emphasize the negative aspects of almost all of the personality types. Thus the 3 stars. It is probably the best beginners book for the enneagram. It goes into a lot of detail regarding the types, wings, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a Wonderful Life, June 30 2000
By 
Les (Marietta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Any successful pilgramage requires that the traveler have knowledge of both the destination and of the path to be traveled in order to arrive at the destination. As a clinical psychotherapist, I have come to realize that this is especially true of the pilgramage to becoming fully alive! There are some incredibly helpful resources in religion, philosophy and psychology that give us insight into what being fully alive looks like. They detail the essense of this way of being and do it in such a way that something deep within us stirs with recognition. This stir of recognition moves us to know that there is "MORE" to us than we are. Unfortunately, these resources most often leave us frustrated in the learch between recognition and actualization. They help us recognize the "what", but give little insight into "how" to get there. Other resources point us in our search to "The Destination." Unfortunately, they fundamentally operate from the perceptual framework that believes we do not need an apriori recognition/validation of the destination. If we just "do it this way" and "take these steps down this path", then we will recognize the destination when we get there. Both resources are important, but incomplete.
The "Wisdom of the Enneagram" provides both. The pilgram who reads and uses this "complete atlas" of the soul will find their recognition stirring within and their path unfolding before them. If caring for the Soul, yours and that of others,is for you, the path you travel, then The Wisdom of the Enneagram IS "the" essential! It clearly and concisely details the landscape of the Soul. Theoretically sophisticated and practically useable, it equipts the reader to DO the work, which sets us free to truly BE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book to get!, March 12 2000
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
If you only read one Enneagram book in your life, it ought to be "The Wisdom of the Enneagram". It gives you clear and concise explanations of the system and the types along with tests and exercises to not only figure out your own type, but to learn from it and grow! Every time I read this book I feel that God is speaking directly to me through these words and I am able to let go of some more of my baggage. The message is brought forth with compassion and clarity without ever being condescending. It is an invitation to live a more fulfilling life. Don't say no! Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most readable, comprehensive explanation yet available., Aug. 15 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Use of the Enneagram, a remarkable tool for personal understanding and spiritual growth and development, has been limited by its appearance of overwhelming complexity. Despite the book's remarkable depth, Riso and Hudson have managed in WISDOM to explain the system in an easy-to-read format which incorporates most of the refinements they have introduced (such as levels of development and instinctual variants) which make it possible for almost any reader to find themselves in the system and begin to grow through it. As a bonus, the authors have added a validated self-assessment tool, as well as elucidating common mistypings. The final section contains recommendations for incorporating Enneagram work into a spiritual practice aimed at personal transformation. This book is, in my opinion, the ONLY one you need to begin your personal journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all enthusiasts of personality typing!, July 17 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Those of us who have been following Riso's (and Hudson's) writings with gratitude and anticipation will celebrate their latest contribution to our growing understanding of the Enneagram. Each successive book, enriched with fresh insights, has explored this complex system of personality typing from a new angle. What's new about The Wisdom of the Enneagram?
Correctly identifying one's personality type is often difficult because the same traits can stem from very different, largely unconscious, inner dynamics. Both theorizing Fives and practical Ones, for example, can appear detached and logical. Based on matching two choices drawn from each of 2 sets of 3 descriptions, the new QUEST tool (pp. 13-18) is both simpler and more effective than their detailed RHETI questionnaire. The first group actually distinguishes Horney's assertive, withdrawn and compliant styles; whereas the second (or Harmonic) group corresponds to the authors' positive outlook, reactive and competency categories (pp.60-68). (It would be worth the effort to polish the wording of these 6 descriptions further to make them as accurate, neutral and balanced as possible.) You can then confirm your initial diagnosis by jumping to your specific Type Attitude Sorter (TAS) which rates your responses to 15 attitudes characteristic of your suspected type.
By distinguishing 9 (= 3 grades of healthy, average and unhealthy) levels in each type, Riso's 'vertical' analysis explained how an empathetic, people-pleasing Two, for example, could disintegrate into its seeming opposite, namely a domineering, self-centered Eight. This classification made it difficult to account for the curious ways in which healthy and unhealthy traits from different levels often combine to create contradictions characteristic of each type. In this regard, Helen Palmer's more 'intuitive' approach offered more colorful descriptions of the 'trap-door' mechanism through which principled Ones flirt with their repressed desires (compare p.114 on 'escape hatches'), or of the push-pull attraction that makes for the stormy relationships of tragic romantic Four. Now, by disassembling each type into a cluster of well-defined 'signatures' and focusing separately on each trait in turn, Riso and Hudson have largely recovered this lost territory. Such welcome nuances are seen in the application of new concepts such as Acting Out and the Security Point. Under stress, cerebral Fives act out, in the manner of unhealthy Sevens, the neglected appetite for sensory stimulation. The tough domineering Eight reveals its hidden vulnerability and tender feelings within the familiar circle of loved ones. This is a positive addition to Riso's previous critique and synthesis of Freudian, Hornevian, DSM-III(R) and other mainstream psychological theories. Riso was a Jesuit for thirteen years, and Hudson is an accredited specialist of East Asian religions. While endeavoring to demonstrate the centrality of the Enneagram to work, love and other sustained personal relationships (in books to be released soon), they never lose sight of the ultimate goal of self-fulfillment, of transcending one's type and thereby unleashing its full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A popular extension of Personality Types Revised Edition., June 19 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types (Paperback)
Done in something of the format that made The Artist's Way such a popular success, Don Riso and Russ Hudson have made a fine, though busy, addition to their body of work. For me, nothing will ever replace their extraordinary accomplishments in Personality Types, Revised Edition; it will remain the "highly recommended" systemtatic bible and centerpiece for anyone truly studying and applying the enneagram in depth as its horizontal and vertical revelations unfold in an increasingly integral world. I found the omission of an index disappointing, but have nothing but gratitude and respect for anything Riso and Hudson add to the enneagram literature with their incomparable precision and vision. I don't know if I'd call this the "complete guide" to either psychological and spiritual growth or the nine basic types, but -- bravo, nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfd3b744)

This product

Only search this product's reviews