Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars WHY DO PEOPLE HATE THIS BOOK? IT IS AWSOME!
I personally think, that this is one of the best sci-fi novels ever written, I am sure that the other books are going to be better! I still have to get them! It starts out when Han and Chewie are trying to establish connections to Kessel. They get captured, and are held prisoners. Luke comes up with the idea of forming a Jedi Academy to train a new order of Jedi Nights...
Published on May 23 2001 by chrissall88

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated Star Wars
The Jedi Academy Trilogy was one of the first set of novels to appear after Lucas gave his blessing to a new series of original books in the Star Wars universe, and unfortunately it shows.
The story is basically about the efforts to establish a new order of Jedi Knights, to replace the old order that was wiped out by the Empire. While Luke Skywalker searches the...
Published on Aug. 13 2003 by D. B. Killings


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Jedi Knights of a new generation....., Feb. 18 2004
By 
Alex Diaz-Granados "fardreaming writer" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is a time of transition in the galaxy. A few years after the Battle of Endor, even though the evil Empire now only controls a quarter of its vast territory and Grand Admiral Thrawn's campaign to destroy the fledgling New Republic has been defeated, the former Rebels still face many challenges -- and many foes -- as they strive to restore peace and justice to the galaxy.
Thrawn's campaign (chronicled in the 1991-93 trilogy by Timothy Zahn) and subsequent events not only prolonged the continuing conflict between the New Republic and the dying Empire, but they also highlighted the Republic's biggest weakness -- the absence of a strong Jedi Order to help protect its values and its citizens. Where once there had been 10,000 Jedi Knights in the days before Palpatine's rise to power and the demise of the first Galactic Republic, only Luke Skywalker remains as a full-fledged Jedi.
Luke, of course, has been trying to train his twin sister Leia in the ways of the Force, but her duties as a member of the Provisional Council and her brother's recent experiences -- including a fall to the dark side and almost a repetition of their father Anakin's mistakes -- have impeded her progress as a Jedi apprentice. Leia's marriage to Han Solo and the birth of three potential Jedi children also demand her attention, so Luke must look elsewhere for Jedi apprentices.
Kevin J. Anderson's Jedi Search is the first of a three-book cycle that chronicles Luke Skywalker's endeavors to set up a new Jedi Academy and to restore the order of Jedi Knights. With very few records left over after the Great Purge inflicted by the late Emperor and his own father, Darth Vader, Luke must not only scour the galaxy for data on the training of new Knights, but he also needs to find new candidates to teach.
Even as Luke gets approval from the New Republic to set up a Jedi academy, new challenges and old enemies arise. On Kessel, Han Solo and Chewbacca are captured by Moruth Doole, a cunning mine official who now runs the entire spice mine complex -- and the individual that had, several years before, tipped off the Imperial tariff authorities that Solo was hauling a load of spice destined for crime boss Jabba the Hutt. The Millennium Falcon had been boarded, but not before Han had jettisoned the spice...which had saved him and Chewbacca from a stint in Imperial detention blocks but not, unfortunately, from a debt to Jabba.
Elsewhere, a new threat emerges as Admiral Daala, the beautiful but ruthless woman (and only female flag officer in the Imperial fleet) in command of a squadron of Star Destroyers assigned to protect a top-secret research facility, prepares to unleash a new campaign against the Rebels who killed her paramour and destroyed her beloved Empire. With her four massive warships and several powerful super weapons at her disposal, Daala bides her time, waiting for the proper moment to start her devastating strike....
Anderson, a technical editor and writer at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and author of other non-Star Wars novels, has become one of the most prolific authors of Star Wars Expanded Universe material. He loves the universe created by George Lucas in his five films (even though some of the Jedi concepts here are radically different from data established in the two prequels released in 1999 and 2002) and knows the characters and situations well enough to write interesting and entertaining "further adventures" novels, comic book series, and short stories set "a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Why Zahn and Daley are Great Authors and Anderson not, Dec 4 2003
By A Customer
After reading Zahn's excellent Thrawn trilogy in the early 90's, I was hungry for more and picked up this book. By the first chapter I knew I wouldn't even read the rest of it. Well, actually I did skim through it and read a few more scenes, but they were just as bad as the first.
Here's an important example...
On page 5 of "Jedi Search," Han and Chewbacca are flying towards a planet when two TIE fighters come up out of the atmosphere, begin shooting, and fly back to the planet. Now they see an old X-wing come up behind them and Han says, "Chewie, contact the X-wing and tell him we'd appreciate whatever help he can give us."
When I read that, I was like, "What? Even I'd know not to trust a strange ship." But Han just keeps looking ahead, gets blasted from behind, and yells, "We've got to get out of here!"
I mean, give me a break. This is C3PO driving the Falcon, not Han.
Now check out Chapter 12 of Zahn's "Heir to the Empire." Here Han is also flying towards a planet, and also sees an X-Wing come up beside him. It has Republic markings, and they even hear Luke's voice over the radio, but while Leia is relieved to see him, Han is still on guard.
"It was Luke's X-wing, all right. Or at least, it looked like Luke's X-wing. 'So,' he said casually, swiveling the laser cannons around to target the other. Situated the way it was, the X-wing would have to yaw 90 degrees around before it could fire at them. Unless, of course, it had been modified... Somehow, they needed to make a positive identification, and fast."
He can see it's Luke's own X-wing, and hear his voice, but still doesn't trust it. Is even watching out for an unexpected attack. In short, here's a pilot I'd trust. And an author I trust as well.
Also, check out the language. In Anderson's book, Han says, "Chewie, get over here. I'm taking the laser cannon." Would Han really say that? In Zahn's book he says, "Chewie, take over; I'm going to fire up the quads."
Of course, the best Star Wars action writing is to be found in Brian Daley's Han Solo trilogy. On the very first page of "Han Solo at Star's End," as they're about to be attacked, Han says, "Charge main batteries, Chewie, and shields-all." Quick and to the point - just what a seasoned pilot would say.
And Daley, too, knows well the art of deception in war. In fact, he's a Vietnam veteran from the 11th Armored Cavalry. Here's Han's advice to other pilots before a battle: "'Since we're protecting a ground installation, we'll have to ride our kills. Don't think just because he's nosediving and leaving a vapor trail that he's out of it. That's an old trick. If you get an explosion from him, fine. If you get a flamer, let him go; he's finished. But otherwise you ride your kill all the way down to the cellar.'"
All Anderson's Han is able to say is "Chewie, I think you'd better get our forward deflectors up," and "Turn it around!"

So while I hate to dump on any author, Anderson's book just doesn't make the grade set by Lucas, Daley, and Zahn. If you've read them all and want more, go for it. But there's no need to start here when there's so many better works to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dated Star Wars, Aug. 13 2003
By 
D. B. Killings "Dagnabbit!" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Jedi Academy Trilogy was one of the first set of novels to appear after Lucas gave his blessing to a new series of original books in the Star Wars universe, and unfortunately it shows.
The story is basically about the efforts to establish a new order of Jedi Knights, to replace the old order that was wiped out by the Empire. While Luke Skywalker searches the galaxy for potentials, Han and Chewie stumble upon a very powerful candidate while stuck on the mining world of Kessel, Leia is up to her neck in politics and trying to be a good mother for her twin children, and Lando tries to schmooze his way to the next Big Deal. Added to this mix are a hidden Imperial weapons research facility, a very dedicated female Imperial Admiral, and a petty Imperial loyalist with delusions of grandeur, and what you end up with is a hefty assortment of plot lines and potential entanglements for our heroes, all inter-spaced with the usual dollop of gun play, space battles, and a light saber or two.
The story moves at a rapid pace, almost as if KJ Anderson were trying to stuff about ten episodes of a television series into one book. The general effect of this is that the novel tends to be more episodic than a smoothly flowing tale, and some of the sub-stories feel so irrelevant to the main plot that they come across almost like filler, as if Anderson were trying to pad his page count just a little. Because of this characterization suffers; the regulars (Han, Luke, Leia, etc.) all come across as a little flat, and the new characters (Kyp Durron, Admiral Daala) feel a little rushed and cardboard. But the ending is pretty good space opera, although a little improbable on the coincidence side, and enough interesting threads remain hanging to draw you to the next book.
Sadly, the biggest problem with Jedi Search, and indeed the series as a whole, is that the books have become incredibly dated since the advent of the First Trilogy. We know a lot more about the original Jedi and their practices now, and quite frankly the image as depicted in the books doesn't quite mesh with what we've seen in the movies. Yeah, I know, the Star Wars authors have attempted to get around this by saying that all knowledge of Jedi training was lost with the purge, but logically you'd think that even the public knowledge (like, that Jedi didn't marry and were discouraged from fraternizing) would have filtered down to Luke's time -- it's only 20-30 years later, after all, not hundreds or thousands of years! You'll have to put all of this down to the fact that the authors were pretty much making things up without being privy to Lucas's thoughts on the matter, and the end result is the distinct impression that you're reading something that is taking place in a slightly alternate universe to the movies.
Anyway, rant aside, Jedi Search is adequate for most Star Wars fans. I don't think I'd give it anyone who wasn't interested in the SW universe, though, but if you're looking for a Star Wars Classic fix, it's worth an afternoon or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, Bad characterizations, simply poor quality, June 3 2003
Kevin Anderson might be a very enthusiastic about writing for the Star Wars universe. I happen to be on a project reviewing all the Star Wars book that have come out and since I have read and own all of them, I reread them in anticipation of these reviews. The first book in the Jedi Academy Trilogy is not the worst of the series, but it is poor and simply put it gets worse with every read. I was in junior high when I first read this book and it did not seem too bad, but now I review it as a college graduate and it's simply terrible. Wedge Antilles piloting a contruction droid instead of a starfighter? Ok perhaps Wedge needed some time off but come on. Lando Calrissian reduced to poverty? No. Princess Leia, who was quite advance in her Jedi training during the Thrawn Trilogy is now a barely compatent apprentice. I mean the characterizations of the classic characters are all out of whack (technical term). Useless characters are constantly being introduced: Admiral Daala, the most incompatent Imperial officer ever written. She was supposed to be a feared tactician but all she looks like is totally pathetic commander. Gantoris and the whole "dark man" idea, just a little bit predictable. Kyp Durron, the Luke Skywalker clone. While Durron has evolved into a solid character in the New Jedi Order books, most Star Wars authors for the pre-NJO simply avoid him because he is a poor character. Qui Xu, why have her? A scientist who invented the Death Star didn't know what it was used for? Ok brainwashing is understandable to a point but come on. Then Wedge has to fall in love with her, yeah makes perfect sense; and last but not least, another superweapon. One as big as an X-Wing and more powerful than the Death Star: The Sun Crusher. Bad name, bad idea, simply a bad story. Book 2 is even worse, before book 3 comes back a little
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow Pace and Characterization Flaws the Book, March 20 2003
By 
Bryan DEmilio (Reading, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jedi Search by Kevin J Anderson is the first of book in the Jedi Academy Trilogy. It is in this book that the famed Jedi Academy is recreated by Luke Skywalker. It is unfortunate that the narrative voice and poor characterization slow the pace of a story that has so much potential.
First, a poor narrative voice hurts the novel. There is a saying among writers - "Show, Don't Tell." While the story is being shown to the reader, Mr. Anderson unfortunately continuously delves back into the past films and other novels as reference to what is currently occurring. These comparisons, or secondary thoughts, do not help to move the story along. As a matter of fact, it slows the novel down to a very slow pace. The novel is 353 pages long, but when all the unnecessary description is taken out the novel could have been told in 250 pages. What hurts the narrative the most is the constant reference to the Dark Empire comic series. If the reader didn't read the comic series, he or she would be lost for several pages in the book.
The narrative voice also is hurt by some of the language that Mr. Anderson uses. One example would be that Lando goes to see a blob race in order to identify a man who could have Jedi Power. When the race begins, the narrative voice calls the blob's racetrack a "Blobstacle Course". I don't know if it was the author's intention to make the reader laugh at the term, but I certainly laughed.
Poor characterization is also shown in the book. The dialog in several cases didn't seem natural to the characters. Also, when Leia is confronted with situations, it didn't match her normal reactions. When Han disappeared for a long period of time, she showed no emotion except her inner anger. Han is her husband, and she should have naturally felt worried and would investigated his disappearance sooner.
So with all these comments, why was it given 3 stars? Some plot lines and the character of Kyp Durron save the book. If the reader can look past the poor characterization and narrative, the plots of Luke trying to find the students academy, Han caught in the spice Mines of Kessel, and the story of Kyp Durron all help to keep the story alive. Though most of the main characters seemed to be one dimensional, the character of Kyp was far from that. From the first moment he was seen, he showed his potential at being a great character in the Star Wars universe, and I look forward to seeing what happens to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just feed anderson too a Rancor already, will ya lucas., Feb. 9 2003
Well, there are three types of readers out there for star wars novels. Hard core fans that want too see how the charachters have grown and developed from the sometimes hot,sometimes not, movie series. Even more hardcore fans that wear star wars undewear and will read anything with its title, and those that dont really care bout star wars, but like Sci fi and want something good too read.
For Those that love the charachters and series, and those that want a quality novel, just stay away. Far away. See that Star wars novel written by Zhan? Read that instead. For those that must read star wars, why are you even bothering reading this? You know your going too read it despite what others think or say. Just go ahead and buy it.
Going by the other reviews, you will see why so many dislike Anderson as a writer. Lame plot points. Lame characters. Silly events, dialouge, and flashbacks. Really interesting characters from previous series (winter and wedge from X-wing) are now just really really irritating. And why is the supposed brilliant Admiral Daala so insanely incompetent? Oh, get this... Wedge antillies, the guy that has lost friends and family fighting death stars and World devastators, Falls in love for the scientist that invented them.
For an historic note, Future writers of the series spent time writing novels that undid the rediculous plot points that took part in Andersons Novels. Too much applause from the fans I might add. And as for people that wonder why hasnt he written for the new jedi order? Rumor is that Lucas himself asked him too stop writing for the star wars series. And if you dont believe me, Try reading the once great Tales of the Jedi Graphic novels. Once ripe with wonderful Jedi action sequances and spiritual and moral turmoil for the characters... (those were written by Tom Veitch by the way) When anderson took over the series... they eventually became VERY unpopular.
This book is a prime example of andersons horrible writing skills. Which is a shame because it was obvious he enjoyed writing for the series. But Not one hard core star wars fan misses his books. Do not read unless you really want too waste your time with a book you will not enjoy in the least. there is just so much better out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The worst of the trilogy., Nov. 2 2002
I will make two sets of remarks. The first regards this book specifically, and the second regards the trilogy as a whole.
1) Jedi Search is the weakest book in this trilogy. You feel like you've seen most of it before, and that what isn't old is just plain silly or stupid. You gain next to nothing new from it, and you wonder, "Why did I read this waste of time?" Jedi Search is an utterly shallow book. Way too large a portion of the dialog is taken directly from the movies, as are descriptions of how people are feeling, etc. One is forced to wonder how mind-numbingly boring the 8 years since Return of the Jedi would have had to be for Luke to have no other points of refrence than, for instance, how he felt in the garbage compactor on the Death Star or the rancor pit at Jabba's palace. The original episodes Kevin J comes up with are even more shallow. It's Star Wars, right? So there have to have alien worlds and seedy venues and such..."Okay," thinks Kevin J, "I know, let's have...BLOB RACES!" Yes, this is in a Star Wars book: multi-colored slime racing around obstacle courses like in a Nickelodeon show!! This is the kind of stuff the book is chock full of: silly, depthless additions to the Star Wars universe that frankly make no sense. At the core of Star Wars is a deep sense of culture, which in part comes from the well thought-out use of bits of our own cultural heritage; Lucas constructed the Star Wars universe as rich, elaborate tapestry of human tradition in which his audience could find deep resonance. Perhaps Mr. Anderson thought "You Can't Do That on Television!" was deeply enough ingrained in human thought patterns to count as a part of this cultural tapestry. Ahem. I think he was wrong. In short, then, this book is unimaginative and unintelligent. The bad guys are pathetic, the good guys are like cardboard cut-outs of themselves in the movies--with no dynamism, no personality, and no likeability. For instance: Leia's entire role consists of fretting about dividing her time between politics and her family. Just fretting. And the twins...they're like bad stereotypes of 2-year-olds...totally unrealistic and totally obnoxious.
2) The essence of what I have to say about Jedi Search applies to the trilogy as a whole: lines taken from the movies, unoriginal and ridiculous episodes, awful treatment of the characters. The overall plot is pretty bad, if only because it hasn't got a shred of credibility. An Admiral losing her fleet so easily? The existence of a weapon with the Sun Crusher's capabilities? Kyp's use of it and the relative lack of consequences for his actions? A 4,000 year-old ghost at "the school" holding Luke's spirit hostage? A two-year old possessed by his uncle's spirt lightsaber-fighting a mutant dragon-thing? It's all so poorly thought out that it's half frustrating to read, half humorous. But the characters are the worst part. It's not just the way Kevin J makes our favorites from the movies totally unlikable, it's also the totally lame new cast of characters he introduces: Streen, the batty old man; Tionne, the dreamy girl with a guitar; Gantoris, the grumpy dark guy...they're all charicatures of themselves, and are totally one-dimensional. The only character with any hint of substance in this trilogy is Kyp Durron, the main contribution Kevin J makes to the Star Wars universe. I'll preface this by saying I like Kyp, a whole lot, in fact. He's a sympathetic character in the book (why, I will never know, seeing as he's a mass-murderer and nearly kills Luke), but mostly I like him because he's been made dynamic in the New Jedi Order. I feel like Kevin J had a potentially good idea: a massively powerful Jedi who disagrees strongly with Luke. This could create some interesting dialog and tension among the Jedi (as it does in NJO). Unfortunately, KJ went and totally sensationalized this idea, making Kyp into a "dark" version of Luke and having him act in a totally incredible way that often seems inconsistent with what little character Kevin J gives him. With all this in mind, the Jedi Academy trilogy is really only worth reading if 1) you are really, really bored, like you're stuck in a very small room for a long time or something; 2) you are a hard-core Star Wars fan and want to read everything; or 3) you care to meet Kyp Durron as he was initially conceived. Fortunately, if you just want the basics of the plot you can read Michael A. Stackpole's infinitely better book, I, Jedi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worst trilogy...EVER!, May 15 2002
By 
N. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me start off by saying that I truly despise this trilogy. I find Anderson as a writer weak, simplistic, and too oblivious to realize it. The fact that some people actually think this trilogy is good, and that this trilogy, according to one review, made Anderson "all but assume the title of Chancellor of the Star Wars Universe," only compound my dislike. I guess there is no accounting for bad taste. I have three words for anybody who thinks Anderson is a great SW writer: Zahn, Zahn, Zahn!
That being said, however, Jedi Search, BY ITSELF, is a halfway decent book. Okay, yes, there are major downpoints. Dialogue = weak. Humor = slapstick. Chapters = rushed. Luke's petition for a Jedi Academy = super-rushed (THAT was all it took to get an Academy? I guess a galactic senate isn't as red-taped as a national one). Lando's subplot = stupid. Leia being angry at Han for not showing up = even stupider. Daala, Qwi Xux, all MAW Installation = LAME (Daala, supposedly persevering over sexism, only supports male stereotypes with her incompetence, Xux, the "brilliant" scientist, is too naive to be believable, and Maw Installation...well, the idea of a weapons facility in the middle of a cluster of black holes is actually somewhat original sci-fi, at least for me, but the whole Sun Crusher thing didn't do it for me--could we come up with a more original super weapon than what is essentially a souped-up Death Star (It destroys systems, not just planets!)).
Along the same lines, Doole's character, in the tradition of laughable Anderson villains, is incredibly moronic. But then, if he wasn't, I suppose there wouldn't have been much of a plot. And the Kessel spice mines are a big disappointment, especially the spider-things. Since Anderson was dealing with an actual aspect of the SW universe, as opposed to something he was making up himself, the stakes were a lot higher for him to come up with something believable. And he failed.
With all that being said, this book has its moments. For example, the scenes on Eol Sha are really well written--I could almost see some of the action scenes in a movie, and they come close to capturing the spirit of Zahn's books. I like Gantoris and Kyp Durron, and the idea of Streen being proficient with the weather aspects of the Force--Anderson trying to create unique potential Jedi. I like Skynxnex's double-barreled blaster (at least until he fires it). I like the Death Star prototype, or at least the concept of a Death Star with just the structural frame. And the starting plot--Han going to Kessel, caught on Kessel, rescued by Luke--is actually pretty well conceived given that the galaxy should be starting to slow down from the Imperial fervor.
And I admit that Anderson had some tough stuff he had to work with, the above-mentioned fact that the galaxy should be cooling down being one of them. He also had to seemlessly incorporate the events of Dark Empire, and while he failed, I'm not sure if he could have done much better (this book would be a lot better from a SW overall plot POV if Dark Empire hadn't happened yet). And while the Maw is not particualrly believable of Star War-ish in my opinion (and certainly shouldn't have been part of Kessel), it is a noble attempt to explain why Han Solo measures his Kessel Run in terms of a distance, not time.
So again, this book by itself is bearable, and created some potential for the Jedi Academy Trilogy. But the other two books spiral downwards in what in my opinion is one of the worst Star Wars series ever written. DO NOT READ UNTIL YOU HAVE READ EVERYTHING ELSE AND UNLESS YOU ARE A DIE-HARD SW FAN AND WANT TO KNOW THE SPECIFICS OF THIS ERA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It only gets worse, Nov. 28 2001
By 
Kevin Major (Barrington, NH United States) - See all my reviews
I hope I'm able to convince any potential buyers to stay away -- far away -- from this book and trilogy. Fortunately, there's been enough time since the trilogy was published that most anyone that reads Star Wars novels knows to stay away from it.
Okay, where to begin. Well, to say that this book isn't very original would be akin to saying the Great Wall of China is kinda big. A gross understatement. Not only is the Death Star (well, another version, anyway) in this book, there's yet another "superweapon," the Sun Crusher, in this book.
The main villain, Admiral Daala, is...well, she's an idiot. She has no grasp on tactics, no clue as to how to be subtle, no idea of what manipulation is. She manages to lose the Maw Installation and the Sun Crusher, along with getting the Death Star destroyed with one of her Star Destroyers.
What's really funny, however, is that the book has very little to do with Luke Skywalker searching for potential Jedi apprentices. We have Han Solo and Chewbacca in the spice mines of Kessel, we have Admiral Ackbar acting pouty, we have Wedge falling in love with someone that has feathers, and we have Daala acting like an idiot, but there's only about two chapters devoted to Luke's quest to form an Academy.
Amazingly, this can be considered the best book in the series. The next two get thinner and thinner, leaving us with Kevin J. Anderson grasping at straws. It's not pretty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Novel that should be a comic book, Oct. 11 2001
Kevin J. Anderson is the guy that really got Star Wars comic books going, and it shows in a painfully glaring way in his writing. First of all, he seems to think that what he writes will have pictures accompanying it so that all he really needs is dialogue. The book (and entire series) is virtually devoid of decent, or even below average, graphical descriptions.
Secondly, as a previous reviewer pointed out, there are way too many superweapons in the series, which goes back to the comic book tendency; generally, for comic books to succeed, something monumental must happen in every comic, or there must be some impressive icon, such as a superweapon, to keep the reader involved. Anderson seems to think this is also needed in his novel. The last point I have to make is that Admiral Daala is a pathetic bad guy. Anderson spends all this time building up her character, and talking about how she overcame all the odds and how she's a brilliant tactician, and then she loses every battle she engages in throughout the series. This book is not worthy of your time.
The only reason I give this book two stars instead of one is because several of the characters which Anderson created in this book are well done. This is the ONLY reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The Jedi Academy: Jedi Search: Volume 1
Star Wars: The Jedi Academy: Jedi Search: Volume 1 by Kevin Anderson (Audio Cassette - Feb. 1 1994)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews