Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Walton's Wal-Mart Story
Absolutly a wonderful story! Hard to believe something that started over fifty years ago as a dime store in small town Arkansas has become the world's largest company today. Mr. Walton's down to earth approach in telling his story makes it an easy read. From his humble beginnings in rural Arkansas, Sam was a go "getter" from early childhood.
The sucess of...
Published on Dec 15 2002 by Neel Roberts

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Made in the USA?
Does anybody remember the "promise" Wal-Mart made on commercials to buy "American Made" products and offer them for sale whenever possible? How long did that last? 6 months?? Now...Sam Walton's company is the largest retailer of products "Made in China". Would he be proud if he were still alive? Probably not.
Published on Nov. 27 2003


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Walton's Wal-Mart Story, Dec 15 2002
By 
Neel Roberts (Vulcan, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
Absolutly a wonderful story! Hard to believe something that started over fifty years ago as a dime store in small town Arkansas has become the world's largest company today. Mr. Walton's down to earth approach in telling his story makes it an easy read. From his humble beginnings in rural Arkansas, Sam was a go "getter" from early childhood.
The sucess of Wal-Mart is actually based a few simple principles. Offering value to the customers, shareholders and associates and managing the business in a common sense way. Are you an entreperneur or want to be one? Invest in this book today! Not only will you gain valuable insight, but Mr. Walton is open about the hardships and obsticles he faced, especially in the early days. After reading this, I don't feel alone in my challenges as a small business man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Work & Common Sense, March 14 2004
By A Customer
What initially attracted me to this book was the title, Sam Walton: Made In America. I was curious if Sam would be about "buying American" or selling American-made products in his Wal-Mart stores.
I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the book was an easy to read publication about his personal history, about how the discount giant, Wal-Mart, came into being.
The book covers his early life in retailing - a single department store - through his final years, when Wal-Mart had become a discount giant. In between are his experiences, which include failures as well as success, and the methods he used to achieve his success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Zero to One Of The Biggest in America, Jan. 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
Think about this. This guy starts from zero, loses his first store to the landlord - gets kicked out, he is in some small state (that is not an insult) but starts a new store up the road and then keeps on going right up to one of the biggest retail chains in America - all in one generation.
He drives a pickup truck, lives in a modest house, and makes all of his family members billionaires when he dies. And then the business still continues to grow after he dies. This is truly an amazing free enterprise story. He liked to be thought of as a country boy that went hunting with his dogs, but he was a business retail genius.
His secret is simple (other than he was an excellent leader and manager) sell for the lowest price and sell what people want to buy. He could figure out that formula and make it work.
Excellent book for business owners - I like how he kept costs down even to the point of sleeping in new stores during setups and having his own trucks and distribution centers.
Jack in Toronto
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a person dreaming of becoming the nations largest retailer, Oct. 15 2002
By 
bob (Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
Sam Walton was always competitive. Before building his retail empire he worked at a JC Penney store and then worked at a Ben Franklin Store. He wanted to become the largest retailer in the nation instead his retail store became the largest in the world. At first his store was named Walton 5-10 but he changed it to Wal-Mart. He did have another store as well called Sams wholesale club but was shortened to Sams Club. Sams Club is the largest warehouse store while Wal-Mart is the largest retail store. I wont say anymore about his stores but he had a dream and his dream came true. There is also a Wal-Mart cheer and he has rules for following a business. He followed those rules and it worked for him. The point is he had a dream and it came true. I mean not anyone can build the largest retial opperation in the world. If you really believe in yourself it just might come true. There are eighteen chapters in this book. Here are the chapters in order:
*Contents
*Acknowledgements
*Forward
1 Learning to Value a Dollar
2 Starting on a Dime
3 Bouncing Back
4 Swimming Upstream
5 Raising a Family
6 Recuiting the Team
7 Taking the Company Public
8 Rolling Out the Formula
9 Building the Partnership
10 Stepping Back
11 Creating a Culture
12 Making the Costumer Number One
13 Meeting the Competition
14 Expanding the Circles
15 Thinking Small
16 Giving Something Back
17 Running a Successful Company:Ten Rules That Worked for Me
18 Wanting to Leave a Legacy
*A Prostscript
*Co-Author's Note
*Index
Well those are the 18 chapters that Sam Walton himself and John Huey wrote. Its pretty much all about Sam Waltons life and his success behind it. Its a great book even if you don't like the guy or his stores. It also gives you good advice on making a business. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves Wal-Mart and/or wants to know more about business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, down-to-earth basics, March 23 2004
By 
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
sam walton gives a simple and almost humorous edge to how to make your business give you good returns. i thoroughly enjoyed every bit of the book and i must admit that my own copy of the book has been bookmarked on almost every page!entrepreneurs can get going with the principles this great business man outlined in 'made in america'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read Business Book, July 28 2003
By 
B. Morrison "Innovator" (Newport Coast, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
This is truly a must read business book. Sam Walton is without a doubt, the greatest business man that ever lived. Aspiring business owners are rejoicing the fact that this business genius put his secrets on paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get's your managment blood pumping!, July 17 2003
By 
J. Leith (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an awsome read and is a must for all retail managers on any level. From the mouth of the best in his class, retail managers learn what it means to put your heart into it and get excited about what you do for a living. Sam teaches us; when you are fired up about your business and your team your people will follow suit and they will be fired up also. Mr. Walton is an inspiration in this business and even though he has passed his words of wisdom live on. I would recomend this book to anyone and has became a personal favorite in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, May 8 2003
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
Mr. Sam's book is an excellent look into the dedication, leadership, and hard work that made Wal-Mart the most successful company in the history of the world. He teaches the reader about the basic values of money, hard work, and family. At the same time, he gives insight into some of the details about starting and running a retail enterprise. All throughout the book, he interjects little stories about getting caught with tape recorders in the competition's store, or flying around with his hunting dogs to look at potential Wal-Mart land sites. This book was not only a great series of lessons on entrepreneurship and management, but it was also very entertaining and at times funny. It was amazing to read about Mr. Sam's predictions when he wrote the book (10+ years ago) and to see how contemporary Wal-Mart has far surpassed even Mr. Sam's wildest dreams of success.
I recently visited the museum in Bentonville, AR. This book was an excellent supplement to that trip. Reading this book and visiting the Wal-Mart visitor's center in Bentonville are highly recommended for any Wal-Mart fan or any business fan as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Business Strategies Book, April 15 2003
By 
Jeffrey Miller (Janesville, WI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
Sam Walton truely gives us a great model on how to run a business in Made in America. It is not so much the autobiography of Sam but the autobiograph of the Wal-Mart Corporation. This book give a great model for how to try to get big in business and still remain small. Sam Walton used his knowledge along with many ideas from other companies to form what Wal-Mart is today. These and many other strategies for running a business are all included in this book. I feel that this would be a great book for a class on general business. It gives great ideas on how to run a business weather it is big or small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! What a book!, Feb. 12 2003
By 
This review is from: Sam Walton: Made In America (Mass Market Paperback)
I am so happy i bought this book and took my time reading it. I have read a number of autobiographies by CEO's but this one is special. Sam Walton talks straight from his heart- simple language no management jargon we see spewed all over these days. The passion of the man which transends in the 300 odd pages of this book, is the same which went into making Walmart what it is - The #1 company in the world. Great enterprneurship secrets lay within this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sam Walton: Made In America
Sam Walton: Made In America by Sam Walton (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 1993)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews