Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest account from an honest man.
"Cometh the hour, cometh the man" is an adage that was penned for men such as General H. Norman Schwarzkopf.

It is very easy for Englishman to prefer British heroes over those from other countries. Some might say it is even easier for United States citizens to acknowledge the achievements of their own citizens whilst deprecating those of any other nation...
Published on July 3 2007 by Ned Middleton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocrity at its Best
The thing that really irks me about this book is that it is really a 600+ page resume to help a retired Schwartzkopf find civilian employment. He spends loads of time distancing himself from the Army. He portrays himself as a folk music loving, sensitive, open minded, liberal, kinda guy who was kinda sorta against the Vietnam War but just happened to excell at...
Published on June 17 2001 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest account from an honest man., July 3 2007
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
"Cometh the hour, cometh the man" is an adage that was penned for men such as General H. Norman Schwarzkopf.

It is very easy for Englishman to prefer British heroes over those from other countries. Some might say it is even easier for United States citizens to acknowledge the achievements of their own citizens whilst deprecating those of any other nation. Eisenhower, for example, was a great man - but so was Montgomery!

This book, however, is about a man who is not in open comparison to any. He tells an account of his own life which, as others have already stated, is so honest as to be brutally so. How odd that the fickle finger of fate is able to steer any man towards his ultimate destiny. What if Eisenhower (or even Montgomery) had joined the Navy?, what if Norman Schwarzkopf had railed against his father's wishes and "not" joined the US Army?

But they did and I am unable to avoid that cliché which demands that "the rest is history." Having said that, I would suggest General Schwarzkopf's contribution to that history is as great as any man's.

Other reviewers have sought to express their views in their own ways and quite rightly so! Some of those reviews give the reader a quick impression - "it's a great book" and all that, whereas others seek to paraphrase the book and, is so doing give the reader a better impression of what is found within it's pages.

Me, well, for the very first time in a long time, I feel as though I have read a book. Just think about that. Take a moment to look at any of my book reviews, then click on that button which says "see all my reviews" and you will see what I mean. Some of those books are on subjects I feel very passionate about. Some are great books and well worth the 5 star rating given. Others are less than ordinary and not even worth the single star one is required to donate to the charitable cause that best describes that particular offering in print.

Then I find a biography from a retired general who came to prominence during the first Gulf War, the biography of a man who recognised it does not take a hero to order men into battle, the biography of an ordinary bloke who did good, served his country and the cause of freedom well and expects nothing in return.

Buy it. Read it. Only then will you also appreciate what I mean by having "read" a book. There will come a time when you will read it again.

NM
Retired British Army major.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't take a hero used book from Redstone Books, Dec 20 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback)
The service was excellent and the book from Redstone books was in excellent condition. Eaglecandy is excellent too. keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent narrative, May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An honest story, which will inspire many, all over the world for years to come . I didn't put it down, cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Schwarzkopf, the Cosmopolitan, Oct. 2 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback)
I read this autobiography just as the terrorist attacks occured...it was like deja vu, reading that Schwarzkopf, Cheney, Powell and President Bush were in the same kind of talks 10 years ago as they obviously are today.
To characterize Gen.H.Norman Schwarzkopf as a man and a great leader, it only takes this quote from his Farewell Remarks to Departing Troops in Saudi Arabia on March 8, 1991:
"...And you are going to take back the fact that ISLAM is not a word to be feared. It's a religion to be respected just as we respect all other nations. That's the American way."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book that brings Norm to a personal level., Oct. 7 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback)
A very good book that brings Norm to a personal level in which you understan true character and patriotism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, filled with adventure..., June 23 2004
By 
This review is from: It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback)
This is a great book written like a novel. Norm takes us with him, we feel like we are there reliving his life events. We also get to see the softer side of Stormin Normin, as he nearly punches out a MP in Vietnam who was less than respectful of an asian college. Softer, you ask? Read the rest of the book to see what he gets like when mad. I also liked the part of the book where Norm was talking about the problem with the NVA attacking, then running across the Cambodia border so the USA Army could not attack. One day Norms platoon is attacked and the NVA runs away, so Norm calls another soilder and asks for the map. The other soilder points to Cambodia and says "they crossed the border". Norm takes the map, licks his thumb, and proceeds to erase/smudge the part of the map that shows the border. Norm then says "Nah, they are still in Vietnam, lets go get em".
Just be warned, after reading this book you might feel like going to the local Army recruiting station. It is a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive biography of the general., Feb. 5 2003
By 
ROBERT KINGSLEY (Fort Collins, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback)
H. Norman Schwarkopf provides us with a detailed look at his professional life in this fine book. Schwarzkopf describes his life from his formative years through his entire military career. This look allows the reader to see how his outlook on military operations and strategy developed and how he put forth in action his military philosophy during Desert Storm.
Schwarzkopf candidly reviews the performance of his army and it's officers during the conflict with Iraq. This assessment has got him into hot water with the U.S. military establishment, but for the reader it delivers an outstanding behind the scene look at the operation.
My only complaint about the book is it's editing. Many of the stories, while providing a personal glimpse of Schwarzkopf, could have been omitted and the book still would have had the same effect. But overall, this is an outstanding read and given the current events of 2003, almost a must read for people who want to understand the current conflict with Iraq.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soldiers story..., Jan. 1 2003
By 
Paul Fogarty "Hopeless film addict!" (LA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback)
"It doesn't take a Hero" is the remarkable story of a remarkable man, the title of which comes from a quote Schwarzkopf gave during an interview with Barbara Walters in 1991; "It doesn't take a hero to order men into battle. It takes a hero to be one of those men who goes into battle."
Schwarzkopf's story is very different from his compatriot, the now Secretary of State, Colin Powell. The two men are of completely different temperaments, and their tales are told in ways that reflect their personalities. Powell's book is rather dry, with the occasional flash of self-depreciatory humor... and you get the feeling that this was included on the advice of his co-author!
"It doesn't take a Hero" is full of blunt, sometimes brutal, soldiers wit; one of the funniest examples concerns a Sergeant who swore relentlessly, and had to tell his assembled troops that they were now being commanded by a Colonel - not Schwarzkopf by the way - who didn't take to profanity in any way, shape, or form. The sergeant lined them up, and cursing with practically every other word, told them to cut out the ... swearing or else! Although this may look terribly contrived, when you read the book, you simply know that it happened, just the way Schwarzkopf says it did.
When you read Powell's story you respect him for what he achieved, mainly his rise from immensely humble origins to high political office, but when you read Schwarzkopf's, you can't help but like the man, warts and all.
As well as the brutal humor, Schwarzkopf is also brutally honest about his home life. He came from a well-to-do middle class family, his father was a West Point graduate, who later led the hunt for the Lindbergh kidnappers, and served President Roosevelt on a special assignment in Iran between the Great Wars. They lived in the best house in their town, and even employed a maid, but there was a dark family secret... his mother's alcoholism. The hurt and the pain this caused himself, his father and sisters, is dealt with openly and honestly, and you cannot help but feel that the inclusion of this was a very difficult decision for him to make.
The part of the book that deals with his duties in Vietnam is very well written, and like Powell, he also rails against the stupidity and arrogance of the politicians and 'Brass' who ordered young men to lay down their lives in that far away land for no good reason. And like Powell, he became equally convinced that he had to do something to change the army from within; it was either that or resign. In that respect he and Powell were remarkably similar in their thoughts and actions.
But far and away the most interesting part of the book is his telling of the Gulf War, Desert Storm. It is probably true to say that without "Stormin'" Norman, there wouldn't have been a, successful, Gulf War. His experiences in the Middle East as a young man, he lived with his father when he was posted to Iran, gave him a unique insight into the Arab world that served him personally, and the coalition as a whole, very well indeed.
He was able to play on the links his father had with Arab Royalty, and then forged his own links with the current Saudi Royal Family, working with Crown Princes on a first name basis to get things done, everything from releasing endless millions of dollars in payments to the US - what is the daily rental on an aircraft carrier?! - to arranging for "tent cities" to be erected to shield the incoming troops from the scorching desert sun.
But for me, the most interesting aspect of the Gulf War section was the politics of the coalition, especially in the Arab world, something that was almost completely missing in Colin Powell's telling. In this crucial, although mostly unknown area of the War, Schwarzkopf's experiences in the Middle East were invaluable. Middle Eastern politics are a lethal mine field at the best of times - us Brits have had our fingers burnt on more than one occasion over the years! - and pouring hundreds of thousands of free thinking, free drinking, Western troops of endless religious and moral persuasions into the autocracy that is the kingdom of Saudi Arabia, should have been a recipe for utter disaster!
Schwarzkopf's deft handling of the endless 'difficulties' involving religious services, the consumption of alcohol, the reading of magazines of dubious 'artistic' merit, even the receiving of Christmas cards and the erection of Christmas decorations, were handled with a skill and subtlety that one would not have thought a mere 'soldier' possible. And then of course there was the Israeli question. The one thing above all else that would have blown the coalition apart would have been Israel attacking Iraq in retaliation for the Scuds that fell on Israeli territory. Although much of the efforts to keep Israel out of the action were handled direct from Washington, Schwarzkopf's handling of the Saudi's in particular, on the ground as it were, was masterful.
"It doesn't take a Hero" is a fascinating tale, a real inspiration, it shows what one man can achieve through clear thinking, a positive attitude, boundless enthusiasm, and a profound love, not only of his own country, but of mankind. I would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carry On, Dec 5 2002
By 
Carmen Matthews "The Serene Samurai" (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback)
While it's been many years since I was in the army, reading this book, as I followed the details of both Schwarzkopf's personal and public life, I felt as though I was there with him. And I was comfortable metaphorically traveling through the life of a born determined soldier.
Regardless of what you may think of the Gulf War, or of the military, this is a wonderful story about someone who is determined to live the life that he has been sent here to live.
"It Doesn't Take a Hero," reflects his message, "No matter your history, or the history of the organization in which you most identify with, you can still reach your highest dreams."
This book will make you laugh quite a bit, as you follow his determination to avoid politics, and remain true to his basic soldiering identity. This is not to say that he would be less of a leader, nor less of a person to have aimed for a political position. He became the soldier that all of his life experiences led him to be.
As I read this, I could almost hear his voice, jokes and all.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT DOESN'T TAKE A HERO, Feb. 15 2002
By 
David L. Eastman "DAVE EASTMAN, OL 23,-24" (Center Sandwich, NH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback)
I received this book as a Christmas present from a fellow Vietnam veteran a few years back, at the conclusion of Desert Storm. It is interesting to see the difference between Norman Schwarzkopf's two tours in Vietnam. During the first tour, he is avidly impressed with the Vietnamese Airborne troops he is advising, and has a comfortable time back at West Point recounting his experiences. The second time is with the Americal Division, and there is all the contrast in the world between these two assignments. Such works have been helpful to me as a Vietnam vet, and I relish my time as a helicopter pilot in the Mekong Delta in 1966-67 all the more, especially because I had neither of these experiences. I was lucky. This book is a keeper, and a wonderful portrayal of conducting the war in the desert of Iraq.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae15b594)

This product

It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf
It Doesn't Take a Hero: The Autobiography of General Norman Schwarzkopf by Norman Schwarzkopf (Paperback - Sept. 1 1993)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews