Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Watch your step, this place can get a little rough...."
"Mos Eisley Spaceport," says Obi-Wan Kenobi to Luke Skywalker as they stand on a mesa overlooking the Tatooine metropolis in a transition scene in Episode IV. "You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be careful."
Of all the many eye-catching and memorable sequences in Star Wars (aka Episode IV: A New Hope), the...
Published on Feb. 11 2004 by Alex Diaz-Granados

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars
This is a collection of short stories. It is an interesting book and fills in some gaps. The main movie characters are in the stories only briefly, if at all.
Published on Jan. 14 2003 by A.J.W.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Watch your step, this place can get a little rough....", Feb. 11 2004
By 
Alex Diaz-Granados "fardreaming writer" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
"Mos Eisley Spaceport," says Obi-Wan Kenobi to Luke Skywalker as they stand on a mesa overlooking the Tatooine metropolis in a transition scene in Episode IV. "You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be careful."
Of all the many eye-catching and memorable sequences in Star Wars (aka Episode IV: A New Hope), the fateful meeting between Luke Skywalker, Ben Kenobi, and a pair of smugglers with a starship for hire is perhaps the most intriguing. It's not only important dramatically or even as far as the change in the film's pacing goes (from this point on, there will be chases, shootouts, rescues, and battles), it's also visually intriguing. The dim lighting, the tense atmosphere, all those aliens, and, of course, that funky cantina band playing Benny Goodman-like tunes.
Of course, in the film, the focus was on Kenobi, Skywalker, Han Solo, and Chewbacca as they negotiated a charter flight to Alderaan. But there were others in the cantina that day on Tatooine...many other minor players and eyewitnesses on that fateful day. Who were they? What about their stories? What were some of them doing in Chalmun the Wookiee's Mos Eisley speakeasy?
Star Wars: Tales from the Mos Eisley Cantina, edited by novelist Kevin J. Anderson (The Jedi Academy Trilogy), is a collection of 16 original short stories set during and after the events depicted in Star Wars: A New Hope. Within such stories as Kathy Tyers "We Don't Do Weddings: The Band's Tale" there are little tidbits of heretofore unknown data that add depth and nuance to the scene in the film. Want to know the name of the cantina band? (It's Figrin Da'n and the Modal Nodes). What are those two women who look like twins doing in the cantina? (I'm not giving any more free info away here...read Timothy Zahn's "Hammertong" to find out.) All 16 stories are well-written and move almost as fast as the Millennium Falcon, and they all seem to fit into the Star Wars storyline without feeling, well, forced.
Perhaps the most interesting aspect of this anthology was discovering that authors better known for writing about the Star Trek universe also moonlight in the Star Wars Galaxy. A.C. Crispin, who has written such Trek classics as Yesterday's Son contributed "Play It Again, Figrin Da'n: The Tale of Muftak and Kabe," while Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens wrote "One Last Night in the Mos Eisley Cantina: The Tale of the Wolfman and the Lamproid." Reading these stories and marveling at how they captured the essence of George Lucas' "galaxy far, far away," I realized that they are not only good writers of Star Trek fiction, but they are good writers, period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Star Wars, pick this one up., July 7 2003
By 
Tom Knapp "Rambles.NET editor" (Lancaster, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
The Mos Eisley cantina is the setting for only a single brief, if pivotal, scene in the first Star Wars film. (That's A New Hope for those of you who weren't around when it opened in theaters the first time.) It is there we first see the formidable fighting skills of Obi-Wan Kenobi, get our first glimpse of the hirsute Chewbacca and witness the cunning ruthlessness of Han Solo (at least in the original version; George Lucas applied revisionist history to the recent re-release, spoiling a good scene by making Solo play nice with the bad guy). It also provided us with a quick glimpse of the many diverse lifeforms that populate the spacefaring regions of the Empire.
Star Wars: Tales from the Mos Eisley Cantina provides a peek into those lives via 16 short stories, each intertwined in some way with the characters and events of that brief movie scene. Each character has little beyond a split-second cameo in the film, a flash on the screen to demonstrate the cutting edge in alien makeup. Now, each has a story.
Each also gives readers a slightly different perspective on the droids' failed entrance into the cantina, and each has a different angle on Kenobi's fight at the bar and Greedo's demise. The stories unfold like a great Tatooine tapestry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must read for Star War's fans., June 13 2013
By 
J Reader (CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
If like me you love to know the side stories of lesser known characters this is a novel catering to you. It highlights the lives of the motley crew of characters we see briefly in the cantina in Star Wars A New Hope.

I found the creativity behind the individual's tales the most enjoyable aspect of this collection of short stories. The path's that lead each of these people to the cantina are diverse, dramatic and exciting.

Everyone will have their own favorite stories. But I really enjoyed the moisture farmer, the wolfman, the stormtrooper. That's the beauty of this collection there is something in here for every reader. It might not be a bad read for the casual Star Wars fan as well because you would only have to have seen the first movie to be able to relate to the characters.

I recommend you to read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Assortment, June 3 2003
By 
Matt (Minnesota USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a compilation of 16 short stories. It explains some of the lesser known characters that were featured in the cantina scene During Star Wars: A New Hope. The Imaginations of these authors, some of which known for writing Star Wars Novels, some science fiction authors and some new authors, altogether. Each story is about 20 pages long. Some are divided into chapters, while most aren't. Some interesting characters featured in this are: Greedo, The Bith Musicians, Momaw Nadon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars, Jan. 14 2003
By 
A.J.W. "wcu_rosebud" (robbinsville, nc United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a collection of short stories. It is an interesting book and fills in some gaps. The main movie characters are in the stories only briefly, if at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, April 30 2002
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
Another fine set of tales that fill in all the gaps left by the movies. The Jawa that wants to lead a rebel, The old man that wants to steal Ben Kenobi's soul and the true history of Gredo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you just had to know, April 30 2002
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
All those nagging Star Wars questions have now been answered. This fact filled book will give you an in-depth view of the cantina characters who have forged themselves into the darkest, most deepest part of you cerebellum. Imagine! Purchase this book and you'll no longer have to wonder.....
1. Whatever happened to Greedo's body after Han killed him?
2. Whatever became of Ponda Baba and the doctor after their run-in with ObiWan?
3. How did the band get their gig and what were those instruments they played?
4. Learn who the dude is at the bar smoking from a hookah? (Hint: He wants you soup)
5. The two chicks with the dark hair? (Hint: they are in disguise)
6. Why does the bartender hate droids?
7. Hammerhead is an exiled priest who talks to plants?
8. How did Han escape from Hanger 94 so easily? (Hint: A Stormtrooper went renegade and shot his leader in the back)
9. What the hell is that giant polar bear looking thing sitting at the table (Hint: He's a thief, not an albino Wookie)
10. So what's it like to be a Jawa on a mission of death?
You'll no longer wonder, now that the truth is finally here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, March 30 2002
By 
Chris Letempt (Bentonville, AR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
Ever wonder what happened to the bartender at the cantina? What was Hammerhead's story? What is it like to be a stormtrooper in Mos Eisley? All these questions can be answered with this excellent little collection of really good stories. The only story I didn't like was the one about Walrus Man and the doctor. Where did that bit of cliche gothic horror movie come from?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, it's got the Star Wars name!, Oct. 22 2001
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
Star Wars: Tales of the Cantina is exactly that. Remember all those goofy characters we saw in Star Wars: A New Hope during the cantina scene? Even those that were only on-screen for five seconds now have their own chapter in this book. This is an awesome extension to the Star Wars galaxy, opening new insight on the different species and races that inhabit it. The stories themselves tie in very well with the Star Wars trilogy and are written with enough fast-pace to keep you entertained. If you're a big fan of the Star Wars movies, then there's no doubt you'll like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, no major Star Wars knowledge needed to enjoy, March 28 2001
This review is from: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars (Mass Market Paperback)
While I am fairly well versed in Star Wars literature, this was the first of the tales books I've read, and I have to say I was impressed. It's amazing how many other struggles between life and death were going on at the same time as A New Hope. Each story in this book is excellently well crafted, and it is amazing how just about every character in the Mos Eisely Cantina scene not only had a name, but also an intire backround as to what they happened to be doing and why by pure chance they happened to be there on that particular fateful afternoon. Also, in order to read this book one doesn't have to be particularly well versed in Star Wars, unlike many of the other novels, which are practically impossible to read unless you have read every single one that takes place before it. This book only requires that you have seen the movies. The authors were chosen well too, and I recognized many of them as authors of Star Wars novels I have read. The stories are: We Don't Do Weddings: The Band's Tale, this is the story of Figrin Da'an and the Model Nodes, the band who was playing in that scene.
A Hunter's Fate: Greedo's Tale, as you can probably tell from the title, this story is about Greedo the bounty hunter, and is surprising heartfelt and sad.
Hammertong: The Tale of the "Tonika Sisters", at last I know what a Mistryl is! This story tells of the two women masquerading as the Tonika sisters in that scene.
Play it Again, Figrin Da'an: The Tale of Muftak and Kabe, a heartwarming story of friendship and love.
The Sand Tender: The Hammerhead's Tale, a sad and haunting story of an exiled Ithorian caught under the heel of the Empire.
Be Still My Heart: The Bartender's Tale, ever wonder about the sweaty bartender who orders Threepio and Artoo out? this is a surprising sweet story of how even the most hardened people can eventually be reached.
Nightlily: The Lover's Tale, one of my least favorites, but still a pretty interesting story, very surprising ending.
Empire Blues: The Deveronian's Tale, a somewhat depressing story about the little devil guy hanging around the cantina.
Swap Meet: The Jawa's tale, an interesting story of a Jawa overcoming fear to take revenge on a pack of imperials, we don't get the true outcome until we read the next story.
Tradewins: The Ranat's Tale, a companion story to the previous one, have to read one to understand the other.
When the Desert Wind Turns: The Stormtrooper's Tale, even Imperials are human beings, just like anyone else, learn the name of the "Look Sir, Droids" stormtrooper!
Soup's On: The Pipesmoker's Tale, possible the most disgusting of them all.
At The Cross Roads: The Spacer's tale, the guy who Ben talked to before Han.
Docter Death: The Tale of Docter Eveson and Ponda Baba: ever wonder what happened to the guy who picked a fight with Ben?
Drawing the Maps of Peace: The Moisture Farmer's Tale, a sad, but uplifting story of people like Owen and Beru.
One Last Night in the Mos Eisely Cantina: a fitting finale, and extemly haunting story.
Anyway I would recommend this book to any Star Wars fan, especially those just getting into Star Wars since it provides very interesting backround.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars
Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina: Star Wars by Kevin Anderson (Mass Market Paperback - July 1 1995)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews