Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Finish to the First X-Wing Set!
The Bacta War was the first X-Wing novel I ever read. It's dynamic storytelling hooked me right away even though I didn't know all the history of the previous 3 books. Stackpole is at his best mixing up space dogfights with brutal firefights and large scale planetary conquest. Yet for all its grandeur, this story is an intimate one. The moment when Corran Horn meets...
Published on Feb. 20 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good stuff
fast reading.
Published on Dec 7 2000 by John L. Arscott


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Finish to the First X-Wing Set!, Feb. 20 2004
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Bacta War was the first X-Wing novel I ever read. It's dynamic storytelling hooked me right away even though I didn't know all the history of the previous 3 books. Stackpole is at his best mixing up space dogfights with brutal firefights and large scale planetary conquest. Yet for all its grandeur, this story is an intimate one. The moment when Corran Horn meets his girlfriends father is hysterical yet at the same time totally believable. This is Star Wars on a new level. The characters introduced and continued in the first 3 novels come alive with a vividness that is startling. The villain is totally evil and because of the way Stackpole played in the treachery of a Rogue, the story takes on a more personal note for the reader. They identify more with the renegade Rogues, creating a tense and sweeping space yarn. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fun!, June 2 2003
By 
Matt (Minnesota USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Set after X-Wing: The Krytos Trap. The Rogues have resigned their post as New Republic "wingcreatures" and have become a band of "Pirates" (Wedge doesn't think this properly fits them) to oust IceHeart from Thyferra. Booster Terrik surfaces and works with Talon Karrde on getting good deals for the Rogues' supplies. A group of Twi'leks join them in their pursuits, as well as an Alderaanian War Cruiser. (it's spooky). Spies are in the mist and the Ashurn Rebels on Thyferra are pretty cool. They sneak around and when their opponents are least suspecting, they get 'em. Read it and you'll find out. This is a fine literary example that proves reading can be fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars, Xwing, Jan. 14 2003
By 
A.J.W. "wcu_rosebud" (robbinsville, nc United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
This series is interesting. It follows Rouge Squadron through various missions. Corran Horn, along with others, was introduced in this series. I would recommend reading this series. The books should be read in order though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grab a broom and a dust pan..., Sept. 3 2002
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
...because it's time to take out the trash! That's right, now that the New Republic has Corsucant and, because of political reasons, is focusing its military might elsewhere, the now freelance Rogue Squadron has to take on Ysanne Isard and her Bacta Cartel alone. But that's okay, impossible is what Rogue Squadron does best. A fitting close to the first cycle of stories in the X-Wing series. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stackpole Does It Again In Book 4 !!, July 29 2002
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Once again, Michale Stackpole promises an exciting and suspenseful adventure. Boy, does he ever deliver! As we enter this, the fourth book in the X-wing series, the members of Rogue Squadron have resigned their commissions. Their intentions are very clear - to free Thyferra from the clutches of Iceheart, better known as Ysanne Isaard. They get some help along the way, some of it from unlikely sources.
This novel is rich with action - dogfights galore! And the plot twists! Plus, this novel heralds the return of some of the older squadron members (from the comic book series), as well as expanding on such characters as Iella Wessiri and Mirax Terrik. Booster Terrik puts in his appearance in this novel. And Expanded Universe fans are also given a real treat as Talon Karrde puts in an appearance.
Although some parts of the book are rather predictable, others will blow you out of the star system! But be warned, there is very little in the way of ground fighting in this part of the series. It's almost all starfighting! As far as I'm concerned, this book holds it own with the others in the series, although boook three is still my favorite thus far. Stackpole seems to have ironed out the kinks in the series that he experienced in the first novel. Now the action is fast-paced and intense, enabling the reader to become so engrossed that they nearly finish the novel in one day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Ending, But Not Without Faults, April 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Michael Stackpole finishes what he started with this, the fourth and final book in the first storyline of the X-Wing series. Taking what he has learned from the first three books, Stackpole improves on his previous work in many areas. Unfortunatly, he falls short in others, and a few of the faults which define all of his work still remain.
In the plus column, this is possibly the fastest paced of Stackpole's X-Wing books. Very little of the slow, largly uninteresting scenes which plagued the previous three, especially Rogue Squadron. Also, characters other than Corran Horn get some real attention in this book. Iella Wessiri, in particular, recieves the treatment she deserves. Booster is a good addition, even if he occasionally seems to derive some of his traits from Talon Karrde, who makes a welcome cameo here. Mirax is also a great character, tough and independent (note to other males out there: women who can take care of themselves are much more fun than brainless bimbos. Sorry, personal opinion). Gavin is also getting some further devolpment.
On the downside, this books suffers, perhaps worse than the previous three, from what I call "Rebels Always Win Syndrome." Throughout the book, the Rogues suffer no serious losses in their battles. Not one of the main characters dies. Furthermore, it seems like they are having no problems wiping out Star Destroyers left and right with little more than a squadron of X-Wings.
Another issue, one which seems to be ongoing with Stackpole, is the characterization of the Imperials. Honestly, Ysanne Isard, Fliry Vorru and Erisi Dlarit never once seem threatening. Isard is possibly at her lowest point in the series. While she has never been Grand Admiral Thrawn, she showed promise in books one and two of becoming a very dangerous and cunning adversary. Here, she is a joke, and it is a shame that Stackpole squandered her initial promise.
Still, despite the fact that I tend to hit on the negatives more than the positives (I'm a born critic, what can I say?), the combination of action, interesting characters and character interaction, and quality writing combine to make this an above average entry into the world of Star Wars literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good conclusion!, March 17 2002
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
This has been, overall, a great series, and this book was one of the best. Tieing up most of the loose ends, (Isard, Mirax and Corran, etc) it also didn't shy away from showing some of the best character interactions I've seen yet, which really made me care about these characters. On a lesser note, we finally get to find out where Bacta comes from! I've been reading the New Jedi Order for a while, so I know what happens to Corran later in life, but still, I was very pleased, if not surprised, by his devopments in this book. I'd recommend this series mostly to teenagers and adults, due to some adult themes. Besides that though, this book was highly enjoyable and I look forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best X-Wing book, Nov. 5 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
the bacta war was my favorite X-Wing book.it boasted a lot of action and fighting.the best book of them all. it is a fun book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Suitable Conclusion for the first four X-Wing novels., Aug. 22 2001
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Mike Stakepole does a nice job of wrapping up the first four books of the X-Wing series in "The Bacta War". It is clear after reading more than one of these novels that the author has a real flair for descriptions of combat and dog-fights in space. This stems somewhat from the fact that the books are loosely based on the "X-Wing" and "TIE Fighter" computer games released by LucasArts in the mid-1990s. Fans of these games will find a near instant familiarity with many of the terms used in those games, as will long time fans of the movies who have paid attention to the chatter of pilots. And indeed it seems to be the space battles which this book is based around. Although I found the majority of the book enjoyable Stakepole really shines when surrounded by the chaos space combat. Buy this book for the intricate battle set pieces but not for a deep character driven story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This time, the battles are land-based... but still stupid!, Aug. 21 2001
By 
L. Korossy (East Coast, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Again, the cut-and-dried, bland, Corran-saturated, boring plot as in the first three books... this time about approx. a dozen people freeing a whole planet... totally stupid and unbelievable. Idiotic characters add to the general atmosphere of badness, topped off by a heaping dose of exciting-wannabe action. Follows in the mediocre tradtion of its prequals. Skip this and go on to the next book, Wraith Squadron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb45b38e8)

This product

The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing)
The Bacta War: Star Wars (X-Wing) by Michael A. Stackpole (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 1 1997)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews