Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow love the duke!
This was so good. The Duke was so sexy and when he falls for her it is so wonderful to see.I really liked this hero!!!
Published on April 24 2002 by sostlund3

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Magistrate miraculously regains sight
I was moderately diverted by the plot, despite increasingly silly heroine, until the courthouse scene presided over by magistrate Sir John Fielding (younger brother of Tom Jones author Henry Fielding). John Fielding was blind (either since birth or an accident at age 19) and could not have "surveyed the women with a steady reproving stare", nor "regard the...
Published on March 27 2003 by glendene


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Some things are better left undone, Nov. 10 2003
By 
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
This book of the percentage of Jane Feathers other books, was quite a dissapointment. The last half of the book was quite unneeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Magistrate miraculously regains sight, March 27 2003
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
I was moderately diverted by the plot, despite increasingly silly heroine, until the courthouse scene presided over by magistrate Sir John Fielding (younger brother of Tom Jones author Henry Fielding). John Fielding was blind (either since birth or an accident at age 19) and could not have "surveyed the women with a steady reproving stare", nor "regard the two complainants" nor "rest.. his gaze...". Neither could he have later accurately described the heroine's red hair and green eyes.
While it is always interesting to find real historical personages peopling a novel, the author is obliged to get the facts right. It would be like writing a biography of Van Gogh & forgetting the part about his ear. In the end it is all the reader notices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and repetitive, revolting premise, March 11 2003
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
A man who will do anything to save a family estate is not going to be the most attractive hero. Tarquin is not only all that, but he is completely selfish and unable to grasp Juliana's feelings about anything.
She is so determined to fight him that she gets herself into ever more dangerous predicaments, and her campaign to reform the prostitutes takes up way too much time in the book which should rightfully have been spent with them getting to know each other and falling in love.
As for the 'love scenes' he is there for all of two seconds and then pulls out without so much as a kiss and walks off. It is evident this author does not like writing those parts of the book, in which case let us please use our imaginations rather than be so badly let down. By the time the book is half over all the love scenes vanish anyway.
He is a selfish man who moves people around like pieces on a chess board because he is wealthy and can do it. The idea of anyone loving him because of himself, and not because he is a Duke is totally thrown away. And the idea of them living happily ever after just does not ring true.
A much better book if it were half the length as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cute, spicy, yet v. formulaic romance novel, Dec 2 2002
By 
Tanya Lamnin (West Bloomfield, MI, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
I am probably going to say what most everyone said about Tarquin: he was very, very hot--sexy, handsome, amazing lover, close to a genius, a good guy underneath it all (of course). Juliana was cute and likable, particularly her clumsiness--I mean, having worn a full-skirt dress once in my life, I can say that it's no mean feat--and I can definitely relate to the poor clutz. Her strange drive "to help the girls of Russell street" seemed a bit fake, though--as did her instant to-die-for friendship with them. In that respect, her relationship with Tarquin is worked out much better.
The plot was formulaic--Juliana gets into all kinds of trouble; Tarquin comes to her rescue, time after time (three times in all, I think, throuhgout the book). (I mean, the book could've been called "Tarquin saves the day"). I would have liked to know more about him--his parents, his childhood, his relationship with his brother Quentin, Lydia, and that woman who broke his heart--all of this is just hinted on. His relationship with Juliana is endearing--as is the fact that he calls her "mignonne," literally "cutie"--particularly from Quentin's eyes.
All that said, the book would have been bad had it purported to be anything but the most blatant romance novel, the "guilty pleasure" kind. Because it does not, it is quite good... Also, lots of curious details about the life in London at the time, etc.
All in all, if you like spicy romance with fairly captivating characters and not-to-bland a plot, you will probably like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars speculative., May 20 2002
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
i really liked this book it had alot of qualities i liked however i thought that Juliana was alittle too childish i mean trying to get back at Redmayne in the most obsurd ways her character needed just a little mor maturity but i liked the book in general it had alot of humor in it and one thing that the two character were not perfect Juliana being clumsy and all added a certain charm to it. it's worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow love the duke!, April 24 2002
By 
"sostlund3" (Regina, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
This was so good. The Duke was so sexy and when he falls for her it is so wonderful to see.I really liked this hero!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WOW..., June 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
What a different story. Love, mystery, a great hero and an evil sick man. I have read just about every book Jane Feather has written and I absolutely liked this one. Highly recommend for a different story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well written with just enough spice, Jan. 15 2001
By 
"kamisi" (Newtown Square, pa USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
Over the years, I have enjoyed reading all of Jane Feather's novels. I find her stories to be quick reads with interesting plots, complex ( albeit sometimes quirky) characters, erotic sex, and a few twist and turns to keep one reading all through the night. I found "Vice" to be an entertaining story with the right mix of plot and chemistry. However, with that being said,I thought the book's characterizations were not as strong as some of her previous novels ( Velvet, violet, virtue).It is the reason I did not rate the book higher. The darkely handsome Duke, Tarquin remains a bit too emotionally removed from the story's adventures for my taste. I think it would have helped to delve a little more into the history and psych of this smoldering, private hero. The heroine, Juliana, a true firebrand and good match for Tarquin becomes a bit too reckless and fiesty. I found myself tiring of the constant bickering between the two lovers; although, things resolve nicely by the end. With that said,if you are a fan of this author, read Vice,it is still an interesting well written story .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Up All Nighter, Feb. 24 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
Jane Feather is great. I've read Vice two times now, and each time I could not put it down. Tarquin and Juliana make such a wonderful couple. I just loved how Tarquin blackmailed Juliana into marrying his sickly cousin, then fell in love with her himself. I just get lost in the wonderful world that Jane Feather creates. Keep them coming Jane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very NIce!!, June 20 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Vice (Paperback)
I thought this book was one of the better ones out of all those other extremely fake and boring historical romances books. The characters had depth, except that I thought Juliana was a bit unnatural in her tendency to fire up whenever she talked with Tarquin. I mean, how is she gonna live after she gets married--argue all the time? I loved Tarquin, the hero, who is dashing, attractive, and just plain breath-taking. THis is a must-read, so go and get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e106d8)

This product

Vice
Vice by Jane Feather (Paperback - May 2 1996)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews