Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Conclusion to a Great Trilogy
After reading "Blue Mars", I can safely conclude that Kim Stanley Robinson's trilogy is in fact one of the most ambitious projects ever attempted in science fiction. There are, of course, countless projects that tried to tell the entire story of human history and feature huge plot events where the fate of entire planets hangs in the balance. But nobody, to my...
Published on Oct. 3 2003 by not4prophet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow Way to End, But...
On the one hand, I love this series. Robinson's recurring characters, the survivors of the "First Hundred" and their offspring, are memorable and fascinating. Another fascinating aspect of this story is the ever-unfolding terraforming of Mars. We start from the bare-minimum survivability achieved at the end of Green Mars, and eventually move on to seeing bees,...
Published on March 13 2004 by Bart Leahy


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Blue Mars, Aug. 31 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
I found the story very slow, and could not get interested in the female characters. Ann I found very annoying. The story became boring into the last third. I'm sorry to say I found the book a disapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hard for trilogy and even harder to finish it, April 2 1999
By 
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
It is a pity I could not feel good about this trilogy because of missing the SF favors. I agree with most of the reviewers. Red is better than Green and Green is better than Blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Mars Series" is great for the teenage male in your life, March 28 2003
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
The three books in Kim Stanley Robinson's "Mars Trilogy" are my absolute all-time-favorites. He is truly gifted at writing about advanced science and technology and equally adept at creating "real" characters, because he understands psychology. This is a rare talent: to be scientifically knowledgable and a master at creating believable characters. The books are part action, part scientific explanation (like Michael Crichton of Jurassic Park fame), and part character development.
In "Red Mars" (the first in the series) Robinson paints a totally believable picture of what our future might be like as we get ready to explore and colonize Mars. Mega-corporations, earthly power struggles, and the selection process for determining who might get to be the first to go to Mars, are all very possible and Robinson crafts a story around these topics with ease.
In the second book, "Green Mars," Robinson portrays the struggle to get vegetation growing and to create a breathable atmosphere. He also describes more political struggles between those on Earth and those on Mars. This was probably my favorite of the three, but mainly because I am more interested in the science that would be needed in this phase of colonization.
In the third book, "Blue Mars," the planet become more Earth-like. The atmosphere is more developed, water travel becomes possible, and more. (I don't want to give it all away!)
The books can be kind of scholarly at times, but I was so impressed with these books that I gave them to my teenage brother. He was so impressed with them, that he gave them to one of his very best pals. And we all had a blast discussing them together. If there is a teenage male in your life -- or if you love sci-fi and have always wondered what it might be like to go to Mars -- then this trilogy is definitely for you. Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kim Stanley Robinson Does Mars - BLUE, Nov. 22 2011
By 
fastreader - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
This whole series: RED, GREEN and BLUE, fully explore Mars like we wish we could, but can't afford.

Character development is great as are the various scientific aspects of the books.

Lots of adventure and excitement throughout make it an enjoyable read from start to finish. I've read this series twice now, IT'S THAT GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star is one too many, March 2 2000
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
Disappointing. The author started out promisingly enough with 'Red Mars', but by 'Green Mars' becomes too involved in his strident anti-capitalist agenda to present a decent story. 'Blue Mars' simply continues in this vein, hobbling an otherwise promising story idea. Too bad, Kim, next time stick to the science over the transparent dogma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feminist PC Sci-Fi, March 10 2002
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
The science was OK but the fiction was decidedly female, even feminist, and rife with 1990's-style political correctness. Unworthy of a Hugo. Try Dan Simmons or Vernor Vinge instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feminist PC Sci-Fi, March 10 2002
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
The science was OK but the fiction was decidedly female, even feminist, and rife with 1990's-style political correctness. Unworthy of a Hugo. Try Dan Simmons or Vernor Vinge instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Robinson needs an editor, Oct. 24 2003
By 
Larry A. Brown (Nashville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read almost all the Hugo and Nebula winners and I don't know of any works less deserving of these awards than the Mars trilogy. If all three books (1900 pages or so) had been condensed to one 300 pager, it might have had enough plot, exciting characters, intriguing ideas, to have been worth it. For a classic tale of Mars colonization, I much prefer "The Martian Chronicles."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, Feb. 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
Political tripe set on another planet so it can masquerade as science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Mars
Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson (Mass Market Paperback - June 2 1997)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews