Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars at the top of her form
"Prime Cut" is Diane Mott Davidson at the top of her form, and the recipes---although fattening and non-too healthy!---are scrumptious in this book. Goldy's grand-spanking-new kitchen is left in a mess by an unreliable contractor, so she is catering "on the road" and has a contract for lunches for a group of fashion models at a catalogue shoot...
Published on Aug. 26 2003 by Karen Sampson Hudson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising
This was my first read of any part of this series. I found the main characters warm and engaging and this alone will ensure that I locate and read the rest of this series.
The plotting however was loose and confusing and the motivation of the "bad guys" equally unclear. Nevertheless, it was an interesting and fun read.
Published on Aug. 17 2000 by Helen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars at the top of her form, Aug. 26 2003
By 
Karen Sampson Hudson (Reno, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
"Prime Cut" is Diane Mott Davidson at the top of her form, and the recipes---although fattening and non-too healthy!---are scrumptious in this book. Goldy's grand-spanking-new kitchen is left in a mess by an unreliable contractor, so she is catering "on the road" and has a contract for lunches for a group of fashion models at a catalogue shoot.
This tale of murder in the Rockies, served up in great form by Davidson, will keep you turning pages till the end. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tasty goulash of mystery and recipes, Feb. 14 2003
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to admit, I enjoy the Goldy (Bear) Schulz character and especially like the recipes. Goldy is not facing off against a rival that has a backer with deep pockets. Her hubby gets suspended without pay, her kitchen, her source of livihood and sanity, is trashed. And than there are the murders.
Read the book to find out how Goldy gets out of this one and what new culinary dishes she has come up with - if you like a murder mystery and cooking, you'll love this book (as well as the others in the seiries).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in the series., Oct. 3 2002
By 
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
PRIME CUT is perhaps the eighth in the series that started with CATERING TO NOBODY. And this is one of the best. A good, solid story with a lot of side stories for color. It's a bit too long for me, at 368 pages, but it held my interest throughout. This enjoyable series just keeps getting better. It's not essential, but it will help if you read them in order -- esp. in the case of this one, because several characters show up from past books and play significant roles. (But you'll get by just fine either way.) This time there are lots of goings-on with Goldy and her friends, and also lots behind the scenes and in historical flashbacks. There are plenty of nogoodnik characters to spice up the action. Why was there a break-in at the museum? What's that got to do with the dead guy? Will Goldy be able to save her catering business? Ha! Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Delight to Read, Aug. 12 2001
By 
Deborah Di Gioia "Dynamic Diva" (Middle Village, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was chosen for my monthly reading group and I was amazed on how I enjoyed this book so much. I found the characters very entertaining and the story held my interest. Plus the recipes sounded so good it was hard to stay on my diet. I intend to read the whole series and I would recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better books in the series, July 12 2001
By 
Carol Peterson Hennekens (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
In the last two years, I've been reading (or re-reading) the Goldy series in order. I strongly urge anyone considering reading these books to try to read them in order also. Quite simply, half of the fun of this series is following Goldy, Tom, Arch, Julian, Marla and the rest of the gang as their lives evolve. Sure, DMD provides sketchy background fillers, but it really helps to know what has happened in the past to understand the present in this book.
That being said, this is a good read. The book is broken up into more or less equal parts of Goldy's home life (Tom's suspended and decides to remodel the kitchen, Julian's back and Marla's being audited, and Arch is talking about finding a girlfriend); trying to salvage her business against a ruthless new competitor; and poking her nose into the murders of (1)the contractor who trashed her kitchen and, then, (2) her cooking mentor. Lots of the action takes place in an old homesteader's cabin - the site of a catalog modeling shoot which was also the site of the murders. Goldy is feeding the models and starts to wonder.
As a Colorado resident, I continue to enjoy this series. DMD does a nice job in this book of working a little bit of local history into modern day life in Colorado. Skimpy models wearing lingerie in a homesteader's cabin in the mountains. Just thinking about it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Promising, Aug. 17 2000
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first read of any part of this series. I found the main characters warm and engaging and this alone will ensure that I locate and read the rest of this series.
The plotting however was loose and confusing and the motivation of the "bad guys" equally unclear. Nevertheless, it was an interesting and fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't quite measure up....., July 15 2000
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
The series of Mott Davidson's mysteries featuring Goldy the caterer is among my favorites. But I've come to expect a bit more of her than what I read in "Prime Cut". The story revolves around the murder of a shyster contractor, Goldy's current catering assignment at a modeling shoot, and the historical museum in her Colorado town. In her defense, I will chalk part of it up to outside distractions as I did not have as much to devote to reading this book as I would have liked. But even so, the book seemed choppy to me. I enjoyed it, but only because I've already come to know and love Goldy and the other recurring characters such as Tom, Goldy's "lawman" husband; Marla, her well-dressed and even better-fed best friend; and Julian Teller, her vegetarian apprentice. However, I would not recommend that "Prime Cut" be the first Goldy mystery you read, lest it discourage you from reading her earlier, and in my opinion, more engrossing books. The characters in this one seemed one-dimensional and hard to get a handle on. Even the ones I KNEW I was supposed to like, such as Andre, Goldy's mentor, and Cameron Burr, a friend erroneously accused of the murder, left me apathetic. And as for the various women popping in and out of the modeling shoots and the artifact museum....who the heck WERE they? Even after finishing the book, I couldn't have told you. The final solution to the mystery, though, was imaginative and fun. I still love Goldy, and can't wait to dive into "Tough Cookie", which, as a matter of fact, awaits me on my nightstand.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Recipe for a Great Read from D.M. Davidson, June 10 2000
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
Prime Cut was a fun book to read. Goldy the caterer/ mystery solver, is back in action. Her kitchen is nonfunctional, her catering jobs are being stolen or sabotaged, her best friend is being audited by the IRS and the contractor that never finishes his jobs (her kitchen, her friends homes...)is found murdered at a friends home. This is a wonderful blend of mystery and delicious recipes, (Keepsake Cookies and Jailbreak Potatoes and Andre's Coq au Vin) The biggest mystery comes at the end. This was another great read from Diane Mott Davidson. I enjoyed it and the recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No focus on the murder, May 8 2000
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book I read by Diane Mott Davidson. I was disappointed. The victim was murdered to early in the book. The author didn't build the charaters before the murder happened. The story line had too many other things going on besides focusing in on the murderer. I even considered not finishing the book. The last few chapters were good when everything started coming together. I would not read another book by Diane Mott Davidson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Un-Cut, April 30 2000
This review is from: Prime Cut (Mass Market Paperback)
I read almost every murder mystery novel that comes out. This was one of the rare ones that I couldn't even finish. It rambled on with the secondary plot endlessly and was way to cutesy. If you have nothing else on your shelf it may be a good past time, other than that, there is more suspense in a Julia Child's cook book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad73f714)

This product

Prime Cut
Prime Cut by Diane Mott Davidson (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 29 2000)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews