Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Mystery
When phony obituaries begin appearing in the Crozet, Virginia's local newspaper Harry knows that something strange is going on. But when dead bodies start turning up, she begins investigating. But even before she can find out what's going on her furry companions, Tee Tucker (Welsh Corgi), and Pewter and Mrs. Murphy (cats) are on the case trying to find out who will turn...
Published on Oct. 1 2002 by Erika Sorocco

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A bad joke.
It is a good thing I didn't bother with the 15 reviews preceeding mine before I read through this book. As of this date the majority of those who have read these reviews and bothered to vote on them have not found any of them helpful even though the book has received a perfect, stellar, rating. And it is also a rather good thing that I am able to get this...
Published on June 7 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Mystery, Oct. 1 2002
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
When phony obituaries begin appearing in the Crozet, Virginia's local newspaper Harry knows that something strange is going on. But when dead bodies start turning up, she begins investigating. But even before she can find out what's going on her furry companions, Tee Tucker (Welsh Corgi), and Pewter and Mrs. Murphy (cats) are on the case trying to find out who will turn up murdered next, and trying to keep their owner out of danger.
Rita Mae Brown has done it again. This is one of the best Mrs. Murphy mysteries to date, and a must-read for fans of the cat-cozy genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lightweight but quite entertaining book, July 9 2002
By 
the_frog (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle this isn't, but nonetheless the book does manage to entertain the reader for its duration quite well. Although it does follow the standard Sneaky Pie Brown construction, the actual mystery is really little more than a vehicle for the inspired, witty commentary of the animals that inhabit Brown's Crozet, VA. The book is enjoyable for the one-liners, and teasing dialogue between the all the characters, but the mystery is of little challenge, (and should have been more easily resolved by the characters within). Nonetheless, it is an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A bad joke., June 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl (Hardcover)
It is a good thing I didn't bother with the 15 reviews preceeding mine before I read through this book. As of this date the majority of those who have read these reviews and bothered to vote on them have not found any of them helpful even though the book has received a perfect, stellar, rating. And it is also a rather good thing that I am able to get this "mystery" series in the paperback swap section of my local library. It certainly isn't worth spending good money on. Rita is the only mystery author I know of who has the audacity and mendacity to give a sales pitch for merchanise tie-ins at the end of every book in her series. Bad form.
Just exactly who is dear Rita trying to kid with the likes of Jody Miller? Jody's behavior is at the very least outragious and nobody bothers to find out why. Nor is there any indication that serious efforts were made to find out who really gave her that shiner. It must really be nice being a juvenile delinquent in Rita's version of Crozet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Characters Enhance Lightweight Mystery, Jan. 21 2002
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
MURDER ON THE PROWL is one of the better novels in Rita Mae Brown's popular "Mrs. Murphy" series, and like all books in the series it is set in Crozet, Virginia--a small town where cats and dogs occasionally set out to help their humans solve whatever murders occur in their midst, which in this story center around a private highschool.
The premise is extremely whimsical, and the plot is scarcely the tightly structured creation found in classic detective and mystery fiction; in fact, most readers could safely float a battleship through some of the holes. But even so, Brown's talent for creating entertaining, likable characters makes for an extremely enjoyable read, and if you're able to accept the premise and overlook the plot's foolishness you'll have an extremely good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the best one yet!, May 22 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie have teamed up once again to write another wonderful mystery. In this mystery one fake obituary put in the paper really gets the small town of Crozet in uproar. Especially when they find out that the guy isn't really dead! Only Mrs. Murphy, Pewter, and Tucker figure out who it is before their misteress Mary Minor( Harry) Hairsteen figures out who it is. This book will keep you guessing who it is every chapter. As usual the first two or three chapters are boring but once on the fourth the chapter the story will have already got your interest and you won't want to pu the book down! I would rate this book 10 stars if I could. So Happy Reading!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, May 5 2000
By 
Peter Werner "peterwerner4" (Essingen, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
What a well constructed plot! The characters seem to be living persons! I have never read anything like this. Whereas plot and setting remind you of the traditional English mystery, the animals are a brilliant new idea. Even more ingenious is the idea that animals can understand human beings but not vice versa. This gives the plot a lot of dramatic irony. This was my first Mrs. Murphy novel and I am going to read them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie Brown are a PURR-fect team!, July 10 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie brown make the purr-fect team in writting adventurous mysteries! If you like thrilling mysterys where to the last page you are trying to figure out who the attacker was then you will love any one of the books in this series. Tee-tucker, Pewter, Mrs. Murphy are just a step ahead of Harry and would do anything to protect their "mother".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!! Very well written, and a joy to read!!!!, April 25 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl (Hardcover)
The Sneaky Pie Brown mysteries series is a pleasure to read. The books are well written, and the historical reseach is accurate and blended into the story line with ease. The characters, are well defined and with each new book become as welcome friends. Also, the descrpition of small town life is accurate and to the point!
Bravo to Ms Brown on this series... and I am looking forward to many more installments!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a well written novel. I couldn't put it down!, March 31 1999
By 
TiGy17@aol.com (Greeneville,Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
I think that Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie Brown really out did themselves on this one.I loved this book,more than any other in the Mrs.Murphy series.I could relate alot better to "Murder on the Prowl"seeing as I'm 18 years old and this one had a wider cast of younger members.I think anyone who enjoys mysteries,young or old,will appriciate this one,and enjoy it just as much!
iti
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, engrossing, and hilarious, March 21 1999
This review is from: Murder on the Prowl (Hardcover)
In Crozet, Virginia, the sleazy headmaster of the private school gets a nasty surprise when someone puts his obituary in the newspaper (false of course). Sometime after, his best friend also gets one sent to him. As predicted, they both are eventually murdered. The problem comes in when there are suspects, but little motive for murder. Mrs. Murphy and her partners decide to do some of their own investigating. The results are comical. Excellent plot overall. I just wish Rita Mae Brown had gone into more detail of the cause of the headmaster's death. There was little said about it. Despite a strange motive for the murders, the story is an enjoyable romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb459eb58)

This product

Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery
Murder on the Prowl: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery by Rita Mae Brown (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 2 1999)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews