Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best random picks I've had!
After going through the reviews post-read, I find myself absolutely astonished by some of the lesser-rated ones I read. As someone who'd never experienced Flewelling's work before, I went into this book rather skeptical, as I usually do when picking up a random read. The first couple of chapters were slow, and I felt a little uneasy about the choice, but as soon as the...
Published on Oct. 22 2008 by A. Ferland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, but a good read overall
As a whole, I saw this book-to paint a picture-as like a barbell... It's heavy at the beginning, kind of long and mild in the middle, then it gets heavy again at the end. The beginning of the story pulls you in for sure; then, as you get into the story, it just turns into one long story. There are a lot of important elements in the middle of the story that are needed to...
Published on Jan. 16 2004


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best random picks I've had!, Oct. 22 2008
By 
A. Ferland (Winnipeg, MB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
After going through the reviews post-read, I find myself absolutely astonished by some of the lesser-rated ones I read. As someone who'd never experienced Flewelling's work before, I went into this book rather skeptical, as I usually do when picking up a random read. The first couple of chapters were slow, and I felt a little uneasy about the choice, but as soon as the meat of Tobin's story began, I was completely engrossed. I found the entire story fascinating, and the concept of dealing with a personal haunting to be something I'd never read in fantasy before.

As for the story itself, it *is* a coming of age story, but while some might find Tobin's "meekness" to be irritating, I found it very sweet and realistic. The way I would imagine reacting to things if I were a child. I found the character progression to be well-paced, considering this is the first book of a trilogy, and thought the main characters-Tobin, Ki, Arkoniel, Lhel, Tharin-to be interesting in each their own way. Some I liked more than others, and for reasons that went unsaid in the book itself. The stuff you had to think about.

I think the fact that by the end of the book, I was chomping at the bit and went out to buy the second novel that day says something.

If you are looking for an action-packed read, this is not the book for you... but if you're more a fan of character development, dark undertones in plot, and a touch of the macabre, I'd say pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A New Favorite Author, Dec 14 2010
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
This was one of the best books I have read in a very long time. The strong character-driven plot draws you in from the moment the book begins. I could barely wait to read the next when I had finished this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strong character-driven fantasy, July 6 2009
By 
I. Mitchell - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
This series is a sort of prequel to the author's Night Runners series - I personally enjoyed this series more. The setting is fairly generic for the most part, and the story seems a bit stereotypical on the surface (true heir to the throne being raised in hiding), but Flewelling adds enough twists to make this book stand out. The beginning might be a bit disturbing for some readers (it involves an infanticide committed by the "good guys") - like many modern fantasy books the lines between good and evil are not clear-cut. The real strength is the characters, which are more fully developed than those in most fantasies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, March 18 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading and loving Lynn's other series, the Nightrunner books, I was a bit wary about taking on this onebut I am glad I did. It is wonderfully writen and a genuinely interesting read. While the book would ultimately be considered a fantasy novel, it is not the typical, overblown, "unicorns, knights and talking animals" fantasy so it may appeal to fans outside of the genre as well as from within. The characters are well developed and the story moves quickly.
I found myself not wanting to put it down, reading late into the night.
Make sure you have Hidden Warrior on hand as you near the end of this one because you'll want to stay in this fictional world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Write faster, Lynn!, June 17 2004
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the best "I picked it up in the grocery store" books I've ever read. After finishing, I immediately ordered all of Lynn Flewelling's books.
As the years go by, I've found that it's become more and more difficult for a book or a movie to scare me. This one did. Not the "I'm frightened out of my wits and will never be able to sleep" sort of scare, but more of a delicious chill that sends goosebumps up my spine and leaves me feeling delighted at the same time.
One of the nice things about "The Bone Dolls' Twin" is that so much of it is told in shades of gray. There is no absolute right or wrong here, and in addition to being entertaining, it's a story to really make you think. I can hardly wait for the third book in the trilogy to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I read this in two days!!, May 17 2004
By 
R. Richardson "alldabooksgone" (Burlington, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
And believe me I got upset if anyone interrupted me! I even took it to work and read a few chapters there! This book was very well written and the characters grab you. I am going to find the sequel to this today and order it. By the way, Im wondering what book the other reviewer was reading that had pornographic sex scenes? Sounds like a different book altogether, the only characters having sex were the wizard and the witch and i don't think they got to deeply into that. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, but a good read overall, Jan. 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
As a whole, I saw this book-to paint a picture-as like a barbell... It's heavy at the beginning, kind of long and mild in the middle, then it gets heavy again at the end. The beginning of the story pulls you in for sure; then, as you get into the story, it just turns into one long story. There are a lot of important elements in the middle of the story that are needed to understand the beginning and the end, so it's kind of justifiable, but I felt that the author needed to pick up the pace in certain instances and leave other things out.
Overall, this is a good read. The story and characters do pull you in and, I feel, makes you want to finish the book. There are quite a few books that I could not finish because I just could not get into them; but this one kept me.
The ending of the story truly makes me want to read the second novel. I'm really interested to see how things turned out for the main character and the other characters as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and creepy, Jan. 12 2004
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
I had never read any of Flewelling's books before and picked this book up at the bookstore at random. It is everything the book jacket says it is, dark, creepy and engrossing.
I usually don't enjoy the macabre aspects of fantasy, but the writing is so entertaining that I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I waited so long to read this!, Nov. 15 2003
By 
"celes1" (Havre de Grace, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
Throughout Skala's history a line of warrior queens have protected the land but when King Erius usurped his sister's throne, plague and drought overran the land. The only way to change this is to restore the female line to the throne. However, finding a new queen of royal blood is no easy task since every female who has even a distant claim to the throne is murdered. That all changes when Ariani, the King's sister, gives birth to twins; a boy and a girl. The boy twin is murdered so that, through dark magic, the girl can take his form. Consequently, young Tobin grows up, unaware of his true identity and perpetually haunted by the ghost of his murdered brother.
Very interesting fantasy that borders on dark fantasy. I loved Lynn Flewelling's Nightrunner series so I ran out and bought this one as soon as it came out. Then I stupidly let this gem of a book sit on my bookshelf for two years. Normally when a character in a fantasy novel is a child I'm bored to tears until they grow up but that wasn't the case with Tobin. I adored him and a lot of the other characters, although not quite as much as the Nightruner characters. However, I do think this book is a much more fluid read than the Nightrunner books. Anyway, this book is highly recommended even if you haven't read any of the author's previous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, but a bit stale., Nov. 15 2003
By 
LKN (New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bone Doll's Twin (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book because I am absolutely in love with Flewelling's earlier series, Nightrunner. This book is a prequel of sorts, highlighting the life of one of the warrior queens of Skala, and the prospect of filling in a bit of Skala's already rich history seemed more than worth my reading time.
The writing, is as always, very good, with the quality of voice that make you think Flewelling has been in the forests and travelled the roads she describes. There are some images that I still find stuck in my head, even after reading this book only once. And there is a lot in this one installment; we're taken from Skala's capitol, to the holdings in the woods, and to the mountains to visit an Oracle. And all the places have a texture that makes them easy to see and grasp and hold onto.
After the initial action, the birth and early, early childhood of the main character, which is slightly terrifying, the book got -- I hate to say it -- boring. With a few exceptions, I didn't care. Tobin didn't seem to have a personality so much as personality traits, and he's the main character. Imagine how the rest of the cast fared.
The thing I loved about Flewelling's other books was that she stuck to her plot, and if she failed to do so, I was disappointed. However, this trilogy seems to be taking the opposite extreme, and is just about the story. The characters, their relationships, smaller, cultural, or personal events are of no consequence. And that's what makes writing rich. After I finished the first book of the Nightrunner series, I couldn't get my mind off of it, I needed to have the second one...With The Bone Doll's Twin, I just sort of closed the book, tossed it off to the side, picked up something else. I didn't notice when the second book came out at all; my mom picked it up for me.
If you are looking for a well-written, compelling fantasy novel, or if you loved Nightrunner to death and are interested in the Skala backstory, you should pick this up. Just be aware that you'll be fighting to love the characters, and you'll be fighting to care about what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bone Doll's Twin
The Bone Doll's Twin by Lynn Flewelling (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 2 2001)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews