Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars All-Star conclusion to Allston's X-Wing Trilogy
As the final powerhouse story in Allston's Wraith Squadron Trilogy, Solo Commander is an impressive feat. Based on the continuing hunt for Warlord Zinj, General Solo along with Commander Antilles and his loyal pilots continue to show off their skills in ways that make this a fun and exciting read. The Lara Notsil/Gara Petothal issue is resolved in a way that is both...
Published on Feb. 25 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars We want Stackpole back
I have to give some credit to Allston for his contribution to the Star Wars fiction universe by picking up the X-Wing series, but I must say I don't enjoy his writing as much as Michael Stackpole, as it is much less 'believeable' as far as things go, and too punny and convienient for the characters that are presented. If you've read the first 6 books, you'll probably...
Published on June 2 2003 by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars All-Star conclusion to Allston's X-Wing Trilogy, Feb. 25 2004
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
As the final powerhouse story in Allston's Wraith Squadron Trilogy, Solo Commander is an impressive feat. Based on the continuing hunt for Warlord Zinj, General Solo along with Commander Antilles and his loyal pilots continue to show off their skills in ways that make this a fun and exciting read. The Lara Notsil/Gara Petothal issue is resolved in a way that is both satisfying and leaves the reader wanting more, perhaps an opening for another X-Wing book. Anyway, the main story sees the defeat of Zinj, although not permanentaly as well as some of best action in the expanded universe. With this trilogy, Allston gave us memorable characters including Face, Donos, Elesser, Tyra and others, but he fleshed out those that already existed especially Melvar and Zinj two bad guys who hardly get mentioned in the book where they play such a big role (The Courtship of Princess Leia) as well as giving Han Solo a chance to be a general. That was one of the best developments in this series. Allston contributed excellently to the X-Wing series. He also wrote one more X-Wing book as well as two of the better New Jedi Order books. He is really an excellent contributer to the Star Wars universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid and satisfying conclusion to the Wraith Trilogy., Oct. 28 2003
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Rogue and Wraith Squadrons team up under Han Solo to take out Warlord Zsinj once and for all, Lara Notsil's treasonous past is finally revealed, and...ah heck JUST READ THIS BOOK! A complete blast from beginning to end with a nice emotionally satisfying conclusion that also sets up Dave Wolverton's The Courtship of Princess Leia and one that will have you rushing out to find the next volume in the series, just to see if certain plot threads are picked up and woven into the next story. I for one hope they are, these characters really grow on you and I hate to see them go. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss my Wookie, June 18 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Han makes a war lord real made in this one. This book sets up part of the plot in the Courtship of Princess leia.
Allston is one of my favorite writers in the SW universe. I even read his NJO book, even though it is a "post SBS book". Aaron uses humor and action to tell a goood, fun to read story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars We want Stackpole back, June 2 2003
By 
Matt (Minnesota USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to give some credit to Allston for his contribution to the Star Wars fiction universe by picking up the X-Wing series, but I must say I don't enjoy his writing as much as Michael Stackpole, as it is much less 'believeable' as far as things go, and too punny and convienient for the characters that are presented. If you've read the first 6 books, you'll probably want to read this one, but be warned, its not real impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can't look dignified when you're having fun, April 10 2003
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Wraiths return once again! Now they're under the command of General Han Solo himself!
Again, Aaron Allston does a terrific job, and the humor we all know and love from the Wraiths is top notch. Who is Kettch, and what's his deal? Who said "Nice rear, Lt!" to who?
The characters in the Wraith books are very well-rounded and believable, and the book deals with serious issues, as well as humorous situations, and does so in a way that ties them together.
(The only scary part is that Wes Janson is actually, next to Wedge, one of the most MATURE members of the squadron!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Xwing, Jan. 14 2003
By 
A.J.W. "wcu_rosebud" (robbinsville, nc United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of my favorite Star Wars series even though most of the movie characters are not a big part of the books. Although they do show up every now and again. In this particular book for example, Han Solo makes an appearance. These books are centered around the xwing fighters and Wedge. The characters in the stories are interesing and often funny. I would recommend reading this series of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best . . ., June 10 2002
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
WOW and double wow. I thought that iron fist was good, but Allston has actually outdone himself on this one! Just when I thought things couldn't get any better, Han Solo arrived on the scene to shake things up a bit . . .
Allston is a literary master of characters and plot, and he has discovered something that was first used by Timothy Zahn: the personalities of characters are important! For the first time reading some books, I discovered that I could relate to the characters. I really connect with Myn Donos, (heck even though i'm a girl), with his nagging feelings that he has to be in control, yet his subconcious desire to be like everyone else. Solo Command has fullfilled this, pulling the relationships of the characters to a close, and succesfully passing the baton to another author and another book (the courtship of princess leia).
I was rolling with laughter at what has become known as "wedge's revenge", and crying with pain when Lara gave her speech to the ewok pilot on "we're both lies."
I also liked how they broght Tetran cowell (?) face's opposing actor, into the book. He's so evil, its wonderful, even though he's only in one scene.
The dialogue is great, the scenes are wonderful, and I hope that Allston writes more books in the future, whether they are star wars or not!
PS Yub yub forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He does it again!, April 17 2002
By 
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Better even than the previous two X-wings, Solo Command is another masterpiece by Allston. The plot is good, and the characters are well written. I can't count the number of times that I almst died laughing (Like about Janson's Ewok 'swimsuit' and the whole mutiny sceme) You can't miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet!, March 28 2002
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Just as Iron Fist focused on "Face" Loran, so does Solo Command focus on a character who's intrigued me from the beginning, Myn Donos. Also, finally we get right down to it with Zsinj, who is troublesome as ever. While the Courtship of Princess Leia portrayed Zsinj as an almost cartoonish villain, this author makes him seem much more threatening, and even interesting as a character in his own right. Each of the Wraith's continue to grow as characters and as a team in general, and we can easily see the contrast between these fighters and the overly "goody" rogues. This book is definitely the best one yet, as it wraps up this particular storyline and increases the tension a hundred fold. The down side? This is the last book about the Wraiths! I definitely think this author is one of the best we've heard from in the Star Wars universe, and I can't wait to see what he does in the New Jedi Order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, March 24 2002
By 
Nikara (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) (Mass Market Paperback)
Aaron Allston successfully finished up the series with an excellent bang! This book is exciting and interesting, bringing back oldies like Han Solo, yet focusing on some very interesting characters such as Lara Nostil and Myn Donos. WARNING-SLIGHT SPOILER If you like your wraiths super crispy, you will especially enjoy one of the earliest scenes in this books. Very cute Wes Janson(hee, hee, hee!) END SPOILER This books is excellent and I highly recomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc25f9678)

This product

Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing)
Solo Command: Star Wars (X-Wing) by Aaron Allston (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 2 1999)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews