Customer Reviews


533 Reviews
5 star:
 (404)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convoluted, but amazing
I'm not sure how the author does it, but while other sprawling fantasy epics can have the characters and plotlines blend togther to the point where no one really cares anymore, this guy manages to make many different viewpoints and people distinct and three-dimensional. He juggles what seems to be an insane number of contenders for the throne to the Seven Kingdoms, and...
Published on Feb. 5 2004 by Elizabeth K. Roth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin
I have to admit, I thought this book was long, and it took me a while before I could finish it. A month and an half, actually. But even though it took me so long to read it, doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it. In fact, I really really liked it ! Hence the three stars… but I guess I only needed to digest it slowly.

Just like in the first book,...
Published 5 days ago by Read and Be Joyful


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convoluted, but amazing, Feb. 5 2004
By 
Elizabeth K. Roth (Brooklyn, New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Two (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not sure how the author does it, but while other sprawling fantasy epics can have the characters and plotlines blend togther to the point where no one really cares anymore, this guy manages to make many different viewpoints and people distinct and three-dimensional. He juggles what seems to be an insane number of contenders for the throne to the Seven Kingdoms, and makes you realize what makes everyone different, and differently (or not) qualified to rule.
He is not afraid of killing his characters and what I also like is that everyone is believably shaded, morally. To often there are books like this with a hero that has one, single stock flaw, fighting villians that are plain crazy or evil without reason. These books have people that range all over the moral chart and it's refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the story I've been waiting for my entire life., July 18 2014
By 
Andres Consumer (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
-----
Quick Review (TL;DR)
These books are great. Expansive well described settings and extremely complex and detailed characters. You'll find yourself loving character you hated in a previous books and feeling compassion for psychopathic torturers.
Nothing happens the way you think it'll happen and no one you want to live lives. Everyone dies except for the ones you expect to.
I would highly recommend reading this series as long as you don't mind waiting 1-2 decades as the following books are released.
-----

Full-er Review:

--If you want to support a story you enjoy and get the entire series at the same time you should buy this. --

All my life I've been waiting for something like this story. Every time I watched a movie where the good guy had some kind of distress or trouble and the bad guy seemed ahead, I still always knew who would win. As I am sure you all did. (granted this applies more to shows/movies than to books)

Every time a fairy tale ending occurred with the action hero walking into the sunset with his girl, I got tired. Every. Single. Time.

Good guy wins, bad guy loses/gets away and everyone is happily ever after. Sure there are some exceptions, but not really. Either everyone dies at the end or some other trope occurs. But the bad guy never wins over. Not at the end. Like some horribly boring, predictable formula.

This is the show I've been waiting for. Everything you think will happen doesn't happen. Or it does and then does a complete 180. No predictability at all. I absolutely love it.
You hate the character who paralyzes kids and then you grow to like them and empathize with their flaws as they grow into their character.

Your [favourite] characters die and others live, but you never know which or how they'll do it. Your most hated character become your most loved characters and then they also die. Or maybe not. Maybe they become hated again.

---

This is the story after the happily ever after. The story of the brave warrior who becomes king but is unable to rule, he doesn't know how. Of course he doesn't, he's a boy who knows how to fight, why would he be equipped to rule a kingdom?
This is the story after the king marries a famous beauty.
They're not happy 20 years later, they resent each other and each grows to hate the other more and more. The king drinks and has his way with whore while the queen does the same with her brother.

They are human. They do not live happily ever after. The nice honourable man dies, children die, the scheming betrayer lives. In fact he thrives.
This is the story for those who want to know what happens after the "... and they lived happily ever after". Love, loss, anger, hatred, life and death. No linear storyline with predictable outcomes. No more of that.

If any of that sounds appealing to you then read the books, watch the show, immerse yourself in this world and watch what happens when people have to go through life with real problems and real consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin, July 24 2014
By 
I have to admit, I thought this book was long, and it took me a while before I could finish it. A month and an half, actually. But even though it took me so long to read it, doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it. In fact, I really really liked it ! Hence the three stars… but I guess I only needed to digest it slowly.

Just like in the first book, the story changes of point of view at every chapters. I think that really helped because it was making a change and if you got tired of a certain character, you knew that in a few pages it would maybe be one that you prefer. For myself, I really enjoyed Arya’s, Tyrion’s, and Jon’s chapters but really had a hard time going through Theon’s and Davos’ ones.

In conclusion, this second book of the series was really good ! But I think I am going to take a break and read other books for a while before starting the third one because otherwise I think it would become kind of heavy to read so many massive books in a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent follow up to Game of Thrones, Jan. 18 2012
By 
J Reader (CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Two (Mass Market Paperback)
A Clash of Kings is a great follow up to The Game of Thrones. The story is heavy with political intrigue. Even more so than the first of the series. If you are looking forward to exciting battle scenes you will have to wait until the final 100 pages.

The characters' stories and back stories are what I love most about this series. A Clash of Kings follows the same main characters as The Game of Thrones, with some interesting new ones added to the mix. Everyone is written with great care and detail. There are no stereotypical heros or villians. All of the characters are complex with clear, identifiable motivations.

This book continues where the last left off, with twists and turns, many of which caught me by surprize. I have yet to encounter a predictable story line in either of the first two books in this series. I enjoy the type of story where no one is safe and the plot is unpredictable. Nothing comes easy for the people of this fantasy world and seldom do things turn out as you would expect.

If you are interested in delving into a world of King's, Queen's, magic and betrayal take up this series. It is not a light read and at around 1000 pages each the first two books are substantial. That said, there are no lulls in the story and it flows easily from one story line to another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loses direction, often gratuitous, too many major characters, July 5 2004
By 
Trevor Kettlewell "trevsbookreviews" (Nowra, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Two (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved the first book (maybe even an A+) but was disappointed in this one because of some of the things that pleased me in the first. Primarily the way that he lets awful things sometimes happen to good characters he's developed (like disability or death) - you really didn't know what was going to happen. He also was developing some very interesting deeper structures outside the basic warring noble families. The second novel keeps that going, but it seems like at times he's just casting dice to decide on plot lines. It may be he (rightly) feels his world and characters are robust enough to cope with such haphazard treatment, and that it reflects the context of the massive uncertainty of a civil war - but some sort of direction is enjoyable in a novel. The larger things are still there (the mysterious atrocities rising beyond the wall; the return of magic with Danerys and her dragons), but there's not much of a sense of a deadline with them.
In one way this may be good - you can just enjoy the interaction of substantial characters in a coherent fantasy world without it being forced into a typical exposition-rising tension-climax-dénouement structure. But I didn't enjoy it as much because the first did always seem to be more clearly going somewhere. Furthermore, while this is recounting the descent into treacherous conflict, the sheer volume and ubiquity of sickeningly brutal murder, molestation and mutilation of innocents is a bit overwhelming. George, are you just getting a little too much pleasure out of all this? I mean, it's your world and your narrative - you don't have to linger quite so long or often over these accounts. Or you could even pick things up a little!
I hope he doesn't go too Orson Scott Card, but there are getting to be a few too many world/era changing characters. The only one I've seen get away with this is Saberhagen in his Swords series. Each of a dozen God-forged swords are world shakers, and each book resolves itself, but the swords pop up here and there, interacting in novel ways, and could keep doing so indefinitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, epic fantasy done right, June 11 2004
By 
By now, most fantasy fans have heard of this popular series. The hallmarks of George R.R. Martin's series have been political intrigue, swift and deadly violence (even main characters are killed without a second thought), and gritty, "realistic" fantasy. If this sounds like your cup of tea, dig in. If not - maybe you like a little more magic, a little more flash - tread carefully.
Here in volume 2, Martin picks up where he left off on A Game Of Thrones (quite literally) and further expands his epic masterpiece. In this second volume, A Clash Of Kings, Martin again pits lords and ladies, armies and rogues, and warring factions against one another in a sprawling, massive tale.
Featuring a huge page count and a tremendous cast of characters, this tome is dense, even moreso than A Game Of Thrones. More subplots are thrown into the mix than before, and more storylines are twisted together into ever tighter knots, expending the scope of the already lengthy tale. Like the first volume, Martin pulls this off by using fairly short, punchy chapters, each focusing on a different character and each serving to move the plot forward and keep this otherwise hefty book moving along at a rapid pace.
That's not to say Martin doesn't stumble slightly here and there. Unlike A Game Of Thrones, which was the leanest 900-page book you'll ever read, not every page in A Clash Of Kings is vital. A few of the subplots are given too much time, developing over a longer period than they need to; they serve only to slow the narrative. Also, several chapters appear to fill time rather than push the plot forward or offer an important revelation.
But these criticisms are minor. Martin weaves and twists plots as well as any, paints characters we can truly believe, and builds builds builds to a rousing, thrilling and surprising climax that is superior to the wrap up of volume one. All in all, this installment lives up to the expectations set by the first. And they were lofty expectations indeed.
Without question George R.R. Martin has once again given readers one of the best fantasy novels to hit the bestseller list in a long, long time. This is some of the best the genre has to offer right now and is a must read for any fan of epic, gritty high fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Feb. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have watched the series and even if you've read the book, the audiobook brings it all together. You can picture in your minds eye the characters, places and events and Roy Doltrice narration is excellent. The great thing about audiobooks is they allow you to use your mind during long drives or while on the bus and are an excellent break from the constant chatter found on most radio morning shows.
Delivery and service were as promised, with the book arriving in the minimum time promised....Thanks Amazon and your team of people who make this excellent service possible.

DH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, Feb. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Full of twists and unexpected changes, one can never guess what is coming.

Very exciting. As with all big books, there are boring parts, few however. that is the reason for four stars, not five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book. Nothing less, maybe even more!, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a physical product, this book is really a good one. Hard cover, sober black with the title engraved in metallic color on the side, really a good quality product.

It's on the inside though that one can find its great value. As you know, it's the second tome of a series. And the first is worth reading too. But this one stands out from the first in a way that really makes the story fly and go further. Some very neat turnovers in the story are to be read, some totally unexpected deaths of beloved characters (just like in the first one) and above all an extraordinary writing style. Even for me, a french speaker, it is a fairly simple book to read because of the simplicity of the writing style and the way the author progressively picks up a steady storytelling pace and keeps the reader entertained.

In conclusion, this book is amazing. But don't read it unless you have read the first, or watched the first season of the TV Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great continuation of the saga, Oct. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Two (Mass Market Paperback)
A great continuation of the saga that is George R. Martin has started, and further fuels the need to continue delving into the fantastic and treacherous world created by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Two
A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Two by George R.R. Martin (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 5 2000)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews