Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I honestly don't understand why some people complained about the book. If your reasons for not liking it are because Tyrion or Dany weren't in it, then that's the stupidest reason not to like it. The book helps give new perspectives of other characters in the world, and it also gives a chance for the reader to learn more about what's going on all throughout Westeros,...
Published 2 months ago by Omeed Jasar

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great.
I was very pleased to find, that after all these years of waiting, the characters and the setting still have the same feel. I was afraid that the vision of the story had changed or that Martin had lost interest and that the series would flounder. That just doesn't seem to be the case.
The writing is top notch. This book continues with the same tight prose full of...
Published on Nov. 21 2005 by C.Batt


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars treading water, June 8 2011
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
The flaw in this book is not so much in the writing, which is fine and as gripping as ever. It does represent a flaw in the series, in that we ignore characters from previous books, including several that I missed very much. Also, the plot only gets advanced in limited ways. Lots happens, but when it comes to the overall story of the series, not much has taken place. It's hard to see how this could be avoided in this format, telling a complicated story from the point of view of an extensive list of characters. Some reviewers complained in particular about Brienne but her adventures are no more pointless than the rest in here. Much depends on the next book - moving the story forward again will make this one worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :D, June 23 2014
This review is from: A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
My husband loves this series. So it make it more complete for him to read. He also loves reading as well. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dislocated, June 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed the first three books but felt a real jolt from this one. What seemed to be missing was the masterly story flow, replaced by what felt like a lot of filler, dealing with a limited range of the main story plots without providing any real resolution. This book was a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adding fluff to cash in when you know you have a blockbuster., Dec 18 2013
This review is from: A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
Good business maybe (in the short term). Like many, the series is good enough that I'll see it through, but this book is hardly first rate. If the first book was this good there wouldn't be a TV series right now. My guess is that George R.R. Martin saw the phenomenal success of his first offerings and decided to take what would have been a concise well written 3 or 4 book series and expand it. The one word that best describes this book is 'verbose'. Martin tends to say in 30 words what can be better said in 10 words. He reminds me of a child writing a 1000 word essay. After writing and only coming up with 700 words he stuffs in fluff to fill in the extra words. The storyline of Brienne of Tarth better not be some dead end just to demonstrate that good people die in Martin's books. Eddard and Rob's death had a point in the bigger storyline. If this just proves that undead Lady Stoneheart is now a total bitch, then the entire storyline with her was a total waste. Adding Dorne and multiple Pyke story lines starts to make the series too busy. He's spinning too many plates at the same time now. That being said, its still an acceptable read. The storyline with John Snow was done well, as was watching Cersei think she's brilliant while she screws herself. The evolution of Jaime Lannister's character was also good to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars to be continued, Dec 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
All the people you see reviewing this series that are putting down the last 2 books are just jealous that they have no talent to write such a spell binding story. Wonderful continuation of the series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint of heart, Nov. 3 2013
By 
Alison (Bath, Maine, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Outstanding writing. Tremendous and original detail, even of horrific experiences. Pus, stenches, guts, corpses, rape---no detail is spared. Thank goodness for engaging characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Going on too long., Oct. 26 2013
By 
Kotter "kotter49" (Caledon East, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
I am afraid I have completely lost all interest in this series even though I have fought through all of the books. The author seems to have no idea where he is going with plot or characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, Sept. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
a great continuation of a fascinating series, I can't wait for the next book but I am trying to pace myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the american LOTR, July 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent, even if you don't read much fantasy. The fourth book was probably the "slowest" one in the series, but a bunch of things happened which needed to wrap up some loose ends. The HBO series departs from the books quite heavily, so if you want a richer story experience, read the books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love these books. Especially given the fact that I now own the whole set in hardcover. If you like fantasy, you should check these out. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Four
A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Four by George R.R. Martin (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 26 2006)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews