Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
loved it
Published 26 days ago by Cheryl Leukefeld

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars eve, eve, stop your wallowing
ms. johansen weaves a great tale, but eve has got to get it together. thisis not healthy my friend! the books real good though!
Published on Feb. 5 2004 by Nicole


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous story., May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved the twists and turns right at the end. Highly recommend this book. Want to read more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Body of Lies, April 25 2004
This review is from: Body of Lies (Hardcover)
This novel was an excellent read. I wasn't able to put it down once. She made this book a wonderful suspense. The plot was excellent, by introducing the troubles in people lives and there sacrifices to cope with bad experiences. I'd recommend this novel to everybody who loves learning new things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars eve, eve, stop your wallowing, Feb. 5 2004
By 
Nicole "nix100" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body of Lies (Mass Market Paperback)
ms. johansen weaves a great tale, but eve has got to get it together. thisis not healthy my friend! the books real good though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Better used to prop up furniture..., Jan. 12 2004
By 
A. Cruikshank "Harsh Reality" (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body of Lies (Mass Market Paperback)
This was by far, the worst book I have read in a number of years. It was lent to me by a friend and I have to admit, I owe him a beer because he made me promise not to burn it and I did anyhow.
The dialogue is laughable. The characters ridiculous. A gradeschooler with ADHD probably could have polished this novel. In short, don't waste your time with this book. It will make you hate your self and hate the world.
That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What an awful book, Jan. 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Body of Lies (Hardcover)
I got the unabridged recorded book from the library. I kept listening to it (9 CDs!) amazed by how flat and stupid it was. It's hard to believe that the author has any experience in writing novels. The dialog is terrible, and the relationships unbelievable. The conspiracy behind the whole plot is ludicrous.
The reader, Cristine McMurdo-Wallis, is very boring to listen to. One character is supposed to be from Liverpool, but he almost never sounds English, let alone "Liverpudlian." The other characters are all from the south, but they seldom sound southern. Her voice just drones on and on. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Starts off with promise, anyway., Dec 1 2003
This review is from: Body of Lies (Mass Market Paperback)
Iris Johansen, Body of Lies (Bantam, 2002)
I picked this up after having the first two chapters sent to me on the chapteraday mailing list and reluctantly allowing myself to get intrigued. The first chapter really does pack a wallop. I just with the rest of the book could have carried out the promise.
It doesn't, unfortunately. After the first chapter comes long, drawn-out setup that is in no way justified by the payoff. Robert Parker does the same thing, but he does it in about a third of the number of pages per novel used by Johansen. The woman could use a few lessons in tight prose and how it heightens tension in a novel. But this one's a lost cause; by the time her protagonist finally gets around to reconstructing the face on the skull, will the reader still care? Not this one. (zero)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More like a passing grade 3 and a half., June 5 2003
By 
nobizinfla "nobizinfla" (Windermere, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body of Lies (Mass Market Paperback)
Iris Johansen's "Body of Lies" is a fairly entertaining novel.
The cat and mouse aspect is well done, as the hunted do not use super human powers to keep on the move. As the story progresses, a ticking clock subplot propels the action.
A secret society lends an almost credible conspiracy theory to the mix.
Throw in a resourceful hardboiled British bodyguard with a dubious background, a corrupt Senator, a seemingly average reporter, a skillful assassin and a covert research project involving fuel cells and things move rapidly.
Forensic sculptor Eve Duncan is terrific when doing her job recreating the face on the skull of an unknown murder victim. When fretting about her romance everything bogs down and becomes a pitiful soap opera.
Colorful villains, some wolves in sheep's clothing and the nefarious secret organization keep Eve and Atlanta detective Joe Quinn hopping and the pages turning.
The ending was too pat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Proficient but routine thriller, April 29 2003
By 
This review is from: Body of Lies (Mass Market Paperback)
The book centres on a forensic sculptor ,named Eve Duncan who is living in Atlanta with her lover, Joe, a cop, and her adopted daughter.She is slowly putting her life into some semblemce of order following the death of her young child ,Bonnie ,whom she sees in dreams (or are they visions from the other side ? the question is kept open )
She is a driven woman ,obsesssive where her work is concerned and determined ,as a mission statement almost ,to ensure the unidentified dead are given face and form by her work.
She is pressured by a Presidental aspirant Senator Melton to take on a job in Baton Rouge -identify a skull recently uncovered that may have implications for his career.When she refuses someone goes to great lengths to ensure her relationship is placed in jeopardy and ,under duress she takes on the job .Soon two people are murdered and she herself almost dies from poison.
She together with Joe .and a Liverpudlian hit man ,named Galen ,not to mention an environmentalist/journalist set out to strike back at those responsible -a secret society ,named with stunning lack of imagination ,the Cabal ,and it all build to an implausible climax in Florida
It is solid second string work and its major drawbacks for me where a lacklustre plot and the stylistic unremarkability of the prose .Eve is given more than her share of neuroses and traumas but is a likeable heroine although for me as a Brit the most interesting figure was Galen.A working class guy from Liverpool,he is not the conventional cold and cynical hit man nut a gregarious gastronome with a sly and at times inappropriate sense of pich dark humour
I want more of these two and hope that a stronger plot can be found as a basis for additional Eve Duncan books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Body od Lies, April 28 2003
By 
Coreen (Ravensdale, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body of Lies (Hardcover)
Image your life is just starting to settle down; life is turning up for you. Then disturbing things start to happen around your house and you get a letter that brings back your cold and chilling past. Life is turned upside down and you don't know what to do next.
Well, this is what happened to forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and her family in the book Body of Lies by Iris Johansen.
In the story, Eve has finally found peace living with Joe Quinn and her adopted daughter Jane. Eve gets a haunting reminder of her past which promps her to leave her home in Atlanta and go to Baton Rough to do a project that no one will tell her what it is about. Eve is not even there a day when the first death occurs.
All of Iris Johansen's books are filled with dangerous adventures and murders. Along with many plot twist; Body of Lies is no exception. In one incident there was a bombing and then a high speed car chase. What happened was this: while Eve and Joe were hiding from the bad guys while working on the skull, her daughter Jane went to stay with her grandmother. The bad guys wanted to hurt Eve so the bombed the apartments where Jane was staying. Everyone was safe except Eve and Joe because now the bad guys knew where they were. Joe and Eve decide to flee the safe house, but before they could get out of the driveway they saw headlights coming their way. The booked it on to the highway with the bad guys right on their trail. There was some bumping and grinding and Joe decided to take matters into his own hands. He told Eve to get out and wait at the gas station and before she could say "no" he was off back on the road. It was not for another hour until Joe came back again with the car just barley holding together.
If you want to find murder, mystery, and dangerous adventure go pick up this thriller. It is filled with explosions, plot twist, trained killers, and murder. The intrest level is so high you will be done with it before u know it. Iris makes the characters fit the book so well. You'll love Body of Lies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body of Lies
Body of Lies by Iris Johansen (Mass Market Paperback - March 4 2003)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews