Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Eerie, Fast-Paced Page-Turner Not to Be Read in the Dark
Dylan O'Connor and his autistic brother Shep are on a road trip when they are ambushed by a stranger. Dylan is injected with something that is supposed to change him, something wonderful...if he doesn't die first.

Jilly and her plant Fred are also traveling the same route and she discovers that she too is a "carrier" like Dylan. She joins forces with the...
Published on Aug. 15 2006 by Cheryl Tardif

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite. Not by a long shot.
I have been a fan of Dean Koontz for a long time. Ever since I found a copy of "Watchers" in a second hand shop and bought it on a whim. I loved it straight away and couldn’t put it down.
But this is not Watchers. Not by a long shot. I found myself struggling to get to the end, and when I got there I was sorely disappointed -it reminded me of...
Published on June 1 2004 by Sophia Domiguez


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite. Not by a long shot., June 1 2004
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been a fan of Dean Koontz for a long time. Ever since I found a copy of "Watchers" in a second hand shop and bought it on a whim. I loved it straight away and couldn’t put it down.
But this is not Watchers. Not by a long shot. I found myself struggling to get to the end, and when I got there I was sorely disappointed -it reminded me of X-men, in the not so good way.
The story revolves around Dylan O'Connor and his autistic brother, Step. Who are staying at a motel when a crazed doctor injects them with a strange liquid. From there things only get weirder. The pair meet up with Jillian Jackson, a woman who has also been injected. That's when the strange substance kicks in, giving them all special powers. Dylan gets the urge to help people, Jillian gets strange hallucinations and Step becomes able to teleport through space and time. Together the three of them run around trying to escape from the evil government agencies that are, for some reason, trying to kill them...sounds better than it actually is.
If this is your first Dean Koontz novel, I suggest you put it down and go find yourself a copy of "Watchers" or "Lightening." Something worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dean, Dean, Where Did You Go?, May 30 2004
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Dean's novels, with "Watchers" and "Lightning" as my all-time favs. But, this one was so juvenile I had to force myself to finish it. A good novel traps and holds your attention; a great novel puts you there with the characters - this was neither good nor great. In fact, it was downright terrible. The writing is stilted, the characters are 2-dimensional, the main characters are outright rip-offs from previous books, the plot doesn't thicken - it coagulates. Ughh - I felt like I was knee-deep and sinking. And the tone of the book was so pious, I kept waiting for references to the 700 Club to appear. I wanted to believe what was happening to the main characters could actually happen, but the whole book, from start to finish, was so implausible as to make believeing impossible. The ending was over-the-top and way too influenced by the recent influx on the big screen of comic-book characters turned SuperStars. I think Trixie actually wrote this one (sorry, Trix, but you suck); please, Mr. Koontz, make the dog step away from the typewriter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Eerie, Fast-Paced Page-Turner Not to Be Read in the Dark, Aug. 15 2006
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
Dylan O'Connor and his autistic brother Shep are on a road trip when they are ambushed by a stranger. Dylan is injected with something that is supposed to change him, something wonderful...if he doesn't die first.

Jilly and her plant Fred are also traveling the same route and she discovers that she too is a "carrier" like Dylan. She joins forces with the brothers, and their race for survival relies on their quick wit in evading those who follow them and Shep's ability to remember the man who injected them.

The story has a "Rain Man" mood, laced with Dean Koontz' expert ability to create suspense and mystery. What is the purpose of the injection? Is it for the good of mankind or is it pure evil? For years, I've read Koontz, back when he was Dean R. Koontz, and for years I wondered whether he was a pseudonym of Stephen King's, like Richard Bachman. Regardless of who Koontz is, he rates as one of the true masters of suspense and horror. Sometimes the scariest things are those based on fact rather than fiction. And Koontz has a way of making us believe anything is possible. A great read!

By the Light of the Moon should be read with ALL lights on! I salute you, Mr. Koontz!

~Cheryl Kaye Tardif, [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I Wish I Could Rate This in the Negative Numbers, March 25 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
Turn on your fans and get out the air freshener, folks! This one is truly a stinker!

I didn't like this book at all. That stupidly unappealing Jillian character made a bad story even worse. I did not like her AT ALL. She was truly demented! I wish I could warn people about just how poor this work is. In some ways it reminds me of the movie "Minority Report," that is the part about anticipating crimes before they occur. I didn't like that movie either, but even it was better than this book.

Shepherd may have had autism, but that stupid Jillian made him look neurotypical and socially savvy by a long shot. At least Shepherd didn't bestow an identity to some plant and pretend it was something one could have conversations with. At least he was polite and not looking for ways to insert verbal daggers like Jillian did. For Pete's Sake! And people criticize folks with AUTISM for having poor judgment and a general lack of social skills!

If you want to read about "folding into time," read L'Engle's 1962 classic "A Wrinkle in Time" instead. That is vastly superior to this and is an excellent read for all ages. If you want a GOOD story with some supernatural elements, read Duane's "Wizard Alone." Duane's book portrays a wizard with autism in a sympathetic and interesting way and does not rely on heavy-handed cliches as this book does. Autism is explained in an intelligent, forthright manner in "Wizard Alone." Although Duane's book is geared for the young adult audience, it is still an excellent and unique look at autism and is well written with delightful characters. If you want to read an excellent book about realistic characters with autism, read Elizabeth Moon's book and Mark Haddon's "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time." Those are outstanding works that speak volumes.

Be warned about this book. There is a plethora of better selections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very plainly.........., July 8 2004
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
In my humble opinion, it is the worst, or should I write least favorite book I've ever read. Shep this, and Shep that. The novel was extremely irritating to the point I just wanted to pull out the pages and sling it across the room. This is my second Koontz book I've read. The first was "From the Corner of His Eye", which was wonderful. It is on my list of top novels. This book, by my opinion, is garbage. Find out for yourself if you like it or not. I would strongly recommend getting and reading "From the Corner of His Eye" though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A BIG YAWN!, July 4 2004
By 
Danny (Dallas, TEX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
Koontz's typical silly amalgam of anti-government paranoia and right wing propaganda (the good guys are warm and kind to everyone and hate Alec Baldwin, the non-governmental bad guys take drugs and believe in global warming). Simplistic fiction with nothing redeeming nor exciting.
A plant crossing over the USA? C'mon guys, there are several better authors than Mr Koontz in all over the USA. Give them a chance instead of praising this rubbish pot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Painful, June 28 2004
By 
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
It is a rare thing for me to give up on a book, I hardly ever even skim read. With this novel however, I went from the determined "it must get better" thoughts to "well I'll skim read this bit" to "I give up, where's the bin ?".
There was so much needless description, the process of trawling through all that prose just to discover that it was a hot day or that a burger bar was clean and sterile was just not worth it.
Shame, if the book had been trimmed by two thirds I would have been able to finish and sum it up properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fast Pace, July 6 2004
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, Koontz finally has written a book without a dog in it. Though they do show up in a puzzle. :) This book shows that the author has a command with the english language. His descriptions are beautifully crafted. Even so this book is a very fast read. But the end of the book leaves you wanting more. It is as if he did not finsh it, or their is a sequel in mind.
By the Light of the Moon follows the tried and true formula, normal people who are unwillingly brought into a government conspiracy. This time the bad guy is a mad-scientist. While the good guys are a sensitive he-man, his impaird brother and a man hating heroine. Our trio ends up on the run from ex-special forces teams.
Our trio are injected with a serum by a doctor who claims that the substance will either kill them, or drastically change them for the better. But now that they are injected, the men who are looking to kill him, will want to kill them as well. And so the three begin their flight from danger. But their flight takes on various directions as they are lead by Dylan's new ability of precognition.
Our heros are Dylan O'Conner, who is an artist and guardian of his autistic brother, Shep. Dylan is a man who has sacrificed everything to take care of his brother. Then their is Shep, Dylan's autistic brother. Who is a walking thesarus. His episodes may seem redundent, but imagine what it is really like. I think that Koontz did a good job of writting this character. And finally our heroine, Jillian Jackson. Jillian is a commedienne that is just filled with angst. She verbally vents her anger on anything that she perceives as a slight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By the Light of the Moon, May 27 2004
By 
B. Viberg "Alex Rodriguez" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
One night in an Arizona motel, he-man artist Dylan O'Conner and stand-up comic Jilly Jackson are forcibly injected with "stuff" by a guy who looks like a mild-mannered doctor or salesman. The assailant tells each of them that guys in black SUVs aim to snuff him and the stuff, and they will kill Dylan and Jilly, too, so they better hit the road in 20 minutes. Since Dylan's autistic brother, Shep, goes wherever Dylan goes, it takes a little pushing, but they hit the asphalt just as Jilly's beloved Coupe de Ville--just stolen--blows up, immolating a driver whom they think is Frankenstein, as Dylan has dubbed the doctor-salesman-whatever. On the lam, Dylan and Jilly discover they have fantastic new powers. He is psychically compelled to track down evildoers, and she can make psychically powered leaps in space. And golly, Shep can leap around in space and time! Seems Frankenstein stuck him, too. Koontz's latest is mostly a chase, with all the principals, including Frankenstein (a stooge was in Jilly's Caddy) and Jilly's favorite broadcaster, a psychic who has also been injected, eventually gathering for a Mexican showdown. The only really startling thing in it is the remark, made of Dylan and Jilly's downtime chitchat about movies, "as though Hollywood-produced entertainments could possibly have serious relevance to them now." Maybe Hollywood isn't relevant to characters in a story, but this story--a real load of laffs, action, schtick, and product placement ops--isn't seriously relevant to anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dean Koontz--By The Light of the Moon (2002), May 24 2004
By 
This review is from: By the Light of the Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
With his previous successful string of novels such as "False Memory", "From the Corner of His Eye", and "One Door Away From Heaven", Dean Koontz is writing on a high that all of his reading fans hope he never comes down from. "By the Light of the Moon" is no exception; with his gleaming and terrorizing elucidation of how the increase of technology and science can ultimately lead to our civilization's doom. Koontz has the great aptitude for knowing what truly scares people and develops complex, decipherable pieces of work that illuminate the mind and often move the soul.
While staying the night at an innocent-looking motel, Dylan O'Connor and his autistic brother Step are mysteriously injected with a strange substance by a crazed, maniacal doctor. Proclaiming that introducing the weird potion is his last resort and cautioning them that they need to run for their lives from the evil, governmental men that will want to get to them; the scientist is brutally gunned down by a group of agents. Teaming with the frazzled comedian Jillian Jackson, the three set out together in a cat-and-mouse chase from the evil henchmen who want to do more than just chat. As the hunt persists, the effects of the potion kick in, causing Dylan to have an incredible urge to help people, Jillian to have horrific hallucinations, and Step to have the brilliant power that allows him to teleport himself and others throughout space and time. As the government agents get closer and closer to their prey, the trio must learn what their qualities mean, how they use them to survive, and ultimately why fate chose them as the recipients.
Much faster paced compared to his two previous novels (which were both well over 600-pages in length), "By the Light of the Moon" explodes from the first page and never stops running. Koontz skillfully depicts the autistic Step in a very honest fashion; using the frustrated Dylan to portray exactly the difficulties of dealing with someone that has such a challenging psychological disorder, but also the love and triumph that comes from the way the two sacrifice for each other. With a middling conclusion that seems slightly rushed (sometimes a common theme with Koontz novels that are so well-written from the initial chapter; it appears as though any conclusion does not fit the bill), "By the Light of the Moon" is not one of his absolute bests, but will certainly thrill his fans and perhaps even draw in a few who have never read his immaculate work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbc37cf6c)

This product

By the Light of the Moon
By the Light of the Moon by Dean Koontz (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 4 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews