Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Re-opening a murder case
Lorna Kepler has been dead for 10 months and the police have not come up with any answers as to why that will satisfy her mother Janice. There is no proof of murder, but also there's no other evidence as to how she died. Janice goes to Private Investigator Kinsey Millhone to find out what really happened to her daughter. As Kinsey probes into Lorna's past, she finds...
Published on Feb. 11 2003 by Karen Potts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Huh?
I've always enjoyed this series of mysteries and have read about 6 of them. I don't expect great literature, but a decent mystery, and because I'm female, I enjoy the writing more than I would a very male-oriented mystery, and it's more down-to-earth. Anyway, I found this book fairly enjoyable and engrossing until the last chapter or so. It seemed like Grafton couldn't...
Published on Jan. 12 2004


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Huh?, Jan. 12 2004
By A Customer
I've always enjoyed this series of mysteries and have read about 6 of them. I don't expect great literature, but a decent mystery, and because I'm female, I enjoy the writing more than I would a very male-oriented mystery, and it's more down-to-earth. Anyway, I found this book fairly enjoyable and engrossing until the last chapter or so. It seemed like Grafton couldn't figure out how to end the book or was using this book as a tryout for some angle or intellectual pretense she was toying with. I think that idea, if that was her incentive for this story, is disappointing her reader who probably is used to, and wants, just a good satisfying mystery. I couldn't even really figure out what was happening in the end nor what did, nor why. I had to read the ending about three times and still wasn't sure. Actually, I figured out a little more from reading some of these reviews, so that helps, but I would definitely not rank this book towards the top of the Kinsey Milhone series, but towards the bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re-opening a murder case, Feb. 11 2003
By 
Karen Potts (Lake Jackson, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lorna Kepler has been dead for 10 months and the police have not come up with any answers as to why that will satisfy her mother Janice. There is no proof of murder, but also there's no other evidence as to how she died. Janice goes to Private Investigator Kinsey Millhone to find out what really happened to her daughter. As Kinsey probes into Lorna's past, she finds out that she was involved in a lot of unsavory activities. She also suffered from some health problems that might have contributed to her death. Kinsey places all of Lorna's associates and friends on her list of suspects and her investigation takes her into some pretty seedy places and situations. The reader remains as puzzled as Kinsey as to who the actual perpetrator is. When the killer's identity is revealed there are a few interesting plot twists and Kinsey begins to wonder what true justice is. Also all of the loose ends are not tied up neatly as in most of the Kinsey Millhone books, and some questions remain, even after the last page. This is an interesting addition to Sue Grafton's widely-read series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unanswered Questions, Sept. 15 2002
By 
Mariela Cantera (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
The story begins with Lorna's mother seeking professional help in the investigation of her daughter's death. Throughout the novel, Lorna is depicted as a beautiful loner who couldn't resist flirting with danger. Maybe a possible cause of her death. As the plot progresses more and more questions are raised in regards to her death. While the cops suspected homicide, they could find neither motive nor suspect. Worse yet, was the circumstances in which the body was found: so badly decomposed that it couldn't be certain she hadn't died of natural causes.
Overall, this novel offers a dark and complex story in respect to the matters that it involves. I must say that the book misleads the reader into believing answers will be provided at the end. Grafton, not only leaves unanswered questions that surfaced as the novel progressed, but she leaves new questions floating around in the last couple of pages. So if anyone is interested in reading and providing their own conclusions then this may be the perfect book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing outrageously bad but nothing great either, Aug. 13 2001
I have read one or two books in the Kinsey Millone series previously and have found them to be enjoyable, easy reads that, generally, provide interesting plots, etc. This book was, however, a disappointment.
Kinsey is hired by a grieving mother to investigate the death of her daughter some months previously. In the eyes of the police, the case has turned cold, yet Kinsey begins to discover that the dead girl led a rather complex life which may well have resulted in her death. Without revealing too much about the plot, the premise is interesting enough and Kinsey's investigations lead to a lengthy list of suspects. However, the ending of the book is a complete anti-climax - the killer is discovered almost by fluke and there is no consideration of motive, method or anything else which a crime fiction reader expects to see.
Grafton spends page after page developing a rather interesting plot only to let it fall apart completely at the end. Sadly, given the ending, the reader is left thinking "So what?" and disappointed at the effort expended in reading all of the preliminaries with no result.
Readers of this series may find the book enjoyable enough. I have to confess that I do not read these in order and therefore, cannot comment on the development of Kinsey Millone as a character. Newcomers to the series may just want to leave this one on the shelf. Overall, a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A seedy underworld and sheer greed, Jan. 31 2001
Lorna Kepler was found dead in cottage - probably murdered, but this cannot be easily established as it was weeks before her body was discovered and most evidence had been destroyed by then, decomposed. Janice, Lorna's mother comes to Kinsey Millhone looking for answers.
At first glance Lorna seems to be an ordinary sort of girl, early 20's, had a job at the Water Treatment plant - but then Janice pulls out a tape which she has been sent - it seems Lorna led a darker life for the tape is a pornographic and there is Lorna in it, large as life. Not only that, it seems that for someone who worked just 20 hours a week in a clerical job she had amassed quite a fortune, half a million dollars no less. Janice is convinced her daughter didn't die of natural causes, and now she wants to find out. And who sent her the video? and why?
It seems Lorna liked living on the edge - she was a high-priced call-girl and Kinsey must start her investigations in the seamy world of adult movies, and with Lorna's friend Danielle, another prostitute.
Kinsey has to sift through the evidence, the two older sisters who clearly didn't like Lorna much; there is Lorna's landlord and his jealous wife; perhaps someone who made the pornographic film; or even one of Lorna's clients. The evidence constantly conflicts and Kinsey must sift through the evidence and alibis to find out just what happened to Lorna and why. Behind all this is there seems to be a darker element lurking, the hint of something underworld.
Kinsey is definitely my favourite female detective, she makes addictive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good story and worth reading, but has many flaws, Sept. 9 1999
By A Customer
The stregnth of this particular story was the level of realism Grafton displayed. None of the characters were typecasts. Even the toughie, teen prostitute, Danielle was better written than most characters of this type. In the first scene she was introduced, she spoke in a jabbing, staccato, almost Bronx like manner -- I kept thinking, this in Southern California? In later scenes her dialog was clean and the street language was obviously an act, and likely a survival trait. Also, what I find admirable in Grafton's narrative voice, coming in the first person of Grafton's detective character Kinsey is the character's sense of detachment from the people she investigates. Kinsey characterizes them with near objective precision. When the novel becomes unraveled is when Grafton throws in thriller elements into the story that do not belong in it. Kinsey is briefly kidnapped by Mafiasos. Unnecessary. Kinsey becomes emotionally unglued by the gratutious murder of someone close to her near the end. There is a revenge element at the end that is inexplicable from what has gone before, and the act of revenge is weird and out of character. All of these formula elements distract from an otherwise elegantly crafted story. Except for two complaints, the writing is wonderful to read -- very fluid and professional. There is a tendency to dwell on insignificant details in describing homes, roads, yards and teeth, and there is an excessive use of the word 'foyer'. This later tendency was especially distracting because I always knew when the word was coming, and it instead of it's synonyms, 'lobby' or 'entrance' came many, many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I felt grimy just reading this. . ., Oct. 18 2000
. . .much as I did when I first read "The Chamber" by John Grisham (my least favorite in his series of books, as this one is in the Grafton books). If you're reading this one as your intro to the series, you should know that it it not at all like the other books. There's very little humor in this outing--Kinsey is depressed here, dealing with issues of an extended family split and relatives who want to know her after all these years, and the case she's taken on is sadder and seamier than her previous ones--which definitely doesn't help her disposition here. Most of the characters in this book, like the ones in "H", were so slimy and snaky that my skin crawled and I wanted to take a shower when I finally finished the book. "L" was better, but let's hope Kinsey gets her groove back soon. She's too likeable a character to stay this depressed forever. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Feeling paralyzed, Sept. 9 2002
By 
Jannis Kopeck (St.Mary's Univ., San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
Much to my surprise, Sue Grafton leaves the ending to "K is for Killer" open for questions. In the end, Kinsey is attacked with a stun gun that leaves her temporarily paralyzed. The reader tends to feel the same way when finding out that, as she has regained her mobility, the killer has "left the building" with the mobster-type crew introduced earlier in the novel and is never seen or heard from again. This is not your typical Sue Grafton ending, but the reader does get the sense that justice prevailed in the end. Overall the book was typical Sue Grafton style. Kinsey is up to "old fashioned" detective work trying to unwind the mystery of the death of Lorna Kepler. Lorna has many secrets in her life that Kinsey unravels. Her adventures do not seem to be too dramatic, but the job gets done, nonetheless. Good book overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A dissapointed Fan, Jan. 8 1998
By A Customer
I have been one of Grafton's biggest fans, but K is for Killer is an embarrassment. It's bad enough that every plot twist is brought about by Kinsey making a lucky discovery, but the resolution is as ameturish and just plain ridiculous as any I have ever read in a book. You read 300 pages and then in 2 lines the book ends and nothing in the preceding pages is explained. In fact if you go back in the book after seeing who the killer is, you see incredible holes in the plot that make the ending incomprehensible. It really appears that Grafton ended this book 50 pages too soon. Probably cares more about deadlines that her fan's hard earned money which went to buy this trash. An complete waste of time and this is from someone who loves everything else she has written. Shame on you Sue!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing ending - not up to Grafton's standards, Aug. 23 2001
By 
johnstonhall (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
I love Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone - and I enjoyed this book right up to the end - but the end left lots of unanswered questions and loose ends. The killer of the first murder victim was identified (and the fate of the killer was indicated), but what was the motive? There were two distinct different possibilities. Also, the reader might reasonably think that this killer was also responsible for the second murder (although that was never revealed), but what about the third attack and resulting death? There was no explanation, or motive given - and no indication that the same killer was responsible. Grafton is a great writer - if she had just written 4 or 5 more pages to resolve the unanswered questions, it could have been a good book instead of a very disapointing one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

K is for Killer
K is for Killer by Sue Grafton (Audio CD - March 5 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 19.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews