Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars love the series
My first Kinsie book was V. After reading V I proceed to buy books starting at A and to date have not been disappointed. I really enjoyed K
Published 10 months ago by Karen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Huh?
I've always enjoyed this series of mysteries and have read about 6 of them. I don't expect great literature, but a decent mystery, and because I'm female, I enjoy the writing more than I would a very male-oriented mystery, and it's more down-to-earth. Anyway, I found this book fairly enjoyable and engrossing until the last chapter or so. It seemed like Grafton couldn't...
Published on Jan. 12 2004


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars love the series, June 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My first Kinsie book was V. After reading V I proceed to buy books starting at A and to date have not been disappointed. I really enjoyed K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who Killed Lorna? Kinsey Will Have to Find Answers!, April 8 2004
By 
J. Kirkman "book jen" (St. Petersburg, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a great book and I found it hard to put down. The question throughout the whole story here was, "Who caused Lorna's death?" Lorna's mom hired Kinsey to dig up the dirt and find out, and as Kinsey searches further, the answer becomes clear. But not before this mystery killer kills other people too.
Was it Lorna's dad, or one of her 3 remaining sisters? Or could it have been Roger?
You'll have to read the book to find out, but foul play is definitely in the works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Huh?, Jan. 12 2004
By A Customer
I've always enjoyed this series of mysteries and have read about 6 of them. I don't expect great literature, but a decent mystery, and because I'm female, I enjoy the writing more than I would a very male-oriented mystery, and it's more down-to-earth. Anyway, I found this book fairly enjoyable and engrossing until the last chapter or so. It seemed like Grafton couldn't figure out how to end the book or was using this book as a tryout for some angle or intellectual pretense she was toying with. I think that idea, if that was her incentive for this story, is disappointing her reader who probably is used to, and wants, just a good satisfying mystery. I couldn't even really figure out what was happening in the end nor what did, nor why. I had to read the ending about three times and still wasn't sure. Actually, I figured out a little more from reading some of these reviews, so that helps, but I would definitely not rank this book towards the top of the Kinsey Milhone series, but towards the bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re-opening a murder case, Feb. 12 2003
By 
Karen Potts (Lake Jackson, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lorna Kepler has been dead for 10 months and the police have not come up with any answers as to why that will satisfy her mother Janice. There is no proof of murder, but also there's no other evidence as to how she died. Janice goes to Private Investigator Kinsey Millhone to find out what really happened to her daughter. As Kinsey probes into Lorna's past, she finds out that she was involved in a lot of unsavory activities. She also suffered from some health problems that might have contributed to her death. Kinsey places all of Lorna's associates and friends on her list of suspects and her investigation takes her into some pretty seedy places and situations. The reader remains as puzzled as Kinsey as to who the actual perpetrator is. When the killer's identity is revealed there are a few interesting plot twists and Kinsey begins to wonder what true justice is. Also all of the loose ends are not tied up neatly as in most of the Kinsey Millhone books, and some questions remain, even after the last page. This is an interesting addition to Sue Grafton's widely-read series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No one is perfect., Oct. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: "K" is for Killer (Hardcover)
This may prove to be one of the better entries in the Millhone series. Any self respecting, competent P.I. in real life will probably tell you that they probably won't always find all the answers in every case they take. Though they probably find out most of the answers most of the time. Millhone didn't find all the answers she needed on this case. And it isn't necessarily clear how she figured out who the killer was. It isn't even clear how she figured out who he was in cahots with. But she thought enough of herself to do something about it. Not everyone will like that but there it is.
Enjoy the book, then go on to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unanswered Questions, Sept. 15 2002
By 
Mariela Cantera (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
The story begins with Lorna's mother seeking professional help in the investigation of her daughter's death. Throughout the novel, Lorna is depicted as a beautiful loner who couldn't resist flirting with danger. Maybe a possible cause of her death. As the plot progresses more and more questions are raised in regards to her death. While the cops suspected homicide, they could find neither motive nor suspect. Worse yet, was the circumstances in which the body was found: so badly decomposed that it couldn't be certain she hadn't died of natural causes.
Overall, this novel offers a dark and complex story in respect to the matters that it involves. I must say that the book misleads the reader into believing answers will be provided at the end. Grafton, not only leaves unanswered questions that surfaced as the novel progressed, but she leaves new questions floating around in the last couple of pages. So if anyone is interested in reading and providing their own conclusions then this may be the perfect book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Feeling paralyzed, Sept. 10 2002
By 
Jannis Kopeck (St.Mary's Univ., San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
Much to my surprise, Sue Grafton leaves the ending to "K is for Killer" open for questions. In the end, Kinsey is attacked with a stun gun that leaves her temporarily paralyzed. The reader tends to feel the same way when finding out that, as she has regained her mobility, the killer has "left the building" with the mobster-type crew introduced earlier in the novel and is never seen or heard from again. This is not your typical Sue Grafton ending, but the reader does get the sense that justice prevailed in the end. Overall the book was typical Sue Grafton style. Kinsey is up to "old fashioned" detective work trying to unwind the mystery of the death of Lorna Kepler. Lorna has many secrets in her life that Kinsey unravels. Her adventures do not seem to be too dramatic, but the job gets done, nonetheless. Good book overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark but good, Feb. 6 2002
By 
D. P. Birkett (Suffern, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the darkest in the series, although that is a relative term because Kinsey Milhone's sharp wit adds a spice of humor to almost anything. It begins with an unsparing description of a mother's grief over a murdered daughter and then Kinsey uncovers some apalling things about the dead girl's life and family. The clues to the killer's identity come abruptly at the end and the killer's motives are not completely convincing. The most compelling part of the book is the psychological study of Lorna's family. We learn a lot about water treatment plants.
Those who want an intriguing traditional puzzle plot with "why-didn't-I-think-of-that" clues planted early on should try B is for Burglar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, Dec 6 2001
By 
"pilotgirl2003" (Tallahassee, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "K" is for Killer (Hardcover)
In the town of Santa Teresa, California, homicides are not a rare occurrence. However, this one involves a young woman, Lorna Kepler, who has been dead for 10 months. Janice, Lorna's mother, called on the services of a private investigator, Kinsey Millhone. Kinsey is hired to look into Lorna's death. Lorna was found two weeks after she died, in her isolated cabin. Janice believes it was murder. There were no signs of any violence or indication that there was a murder, so the police concluded the Lorna died of natural causes. (...) This book ends with the exposure of Lorna's killer, but it leaves a lot of unanswered questions. Sue Grafton is a wonderful writer, but this book could have been better if she had resolved the unanswered questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What was that?, Nov. 27 2001
By A Customer
It took a lot of talk and time to finally get the plot of this story going only to end with no answers. I wish I hadn't wasted my time on this one. Skip it, if you can. Hopefully, L has a good ending and we want Dietz back!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae15b594)

This product

K is for Killer
K is for Killer by Sue Grafton (Audio CD - March 5 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 16.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews